(2008/06) June 2008

poky,
hehe.. too bad liao.

ooo Poky,
i used to dislike mutton too....esp once i went to blue lobster and my colleague ordered one of their mutton dish. I felt it wasn't very nicely done as the shao wei was very very very very strong when I tried it....was one of my first few times trying mutton and it din leave a good impression lor
Got once business class on SQ served lamb shank....i took one bite and it was heavenly! Really nice....
So i think needs skills in cooking mutton....if its nicely done, won't really have the sao wei one.....

ooooo, first post in 2010 and I am toking about food....yummy!

ZuEn/Poky,
Those few days of Christmas holidays, my boi was done with flu right, he also ko at night very fast...machiam his head touched pillow den he slept liao...so at night i got more time to myself during those days!

Feifei,
HAHAHAHAHAHA, the link you posted for Gaia is actually for fitted sheet, quilt cover etc.... I also want to buy a small comforter for my boi, but I saw the price is like S$55 before shipping....a bit ex hor....

Happie New Year! Anybody here? I am working. Half day. Sian..

Poky,
We were on SQ and no luck with friendly fellow travellers. Everybody was either sleeping or watching their movie or playing games. So I quite paiseh when my girl fusses and disturb other people.

Buttercup,
My girl oso down with flu. Yday got fever somemore. Super cranky.

Re: Falling Sick
Wanted to check all these while. Do your kids fall sick more frequently now? When Lil ZuEn is a small baby, she seldom fall sick. Not even when the cousins (whom she mingle with in the day) fell sick. But as she grew older, it is almostly like a monthly affair. Is this normal?

zuen,
breastmilk helps baby against virus when she's younger,
now that she's "on her own",
she need to get sick a few timed to increase her immune system.

Lots of mummies at this time till start on supplements.
Best is still a balance diet.

Lengleng,
What kind of supplements?
Whenever I check on vitamins, it is always stated for children 2 YO and above.
The only thing that she's eating now is fish oil.
What else is good for them?

Lengleng,
I was shock to see so many. Haha.
I dun rem taking any of these supplements when I was a kid. ;p

The Colostrum and Sambucus are in liquid form?
To be taken daily? I think I should start investing. Lil ZuEn enjoys cod liver oil. I hope she enjoys the rest too.

Hi zuen,
we are not so choosy with foods when we're young as compare to our kids now... hehehe...

The Colostrum is powder,
can add into milk feeds.
Sambucus is liquid.

I gave my kids Colostrum in the morning & Sambucus at night daily.

Lenglng,
Daily ah... Wah, so many things for them to eat daily...

Are you organising any iherb spree. Hehe. Tell me when you are hor. ;p

Being the off-scene reader, it must be emphasized that this forum is especially useful in attaining raw, processed and explicit information, allowing me to better understand and appreciate the challenges faced by both mummies and daddies.

Instead of hijacking the salient points discussed previously, i would like to seek opinions / considerations taken in choosing a child care centres (other than location/price).

Since all mummies are generally more merticulous than daddies, it would be nice if i could gather some feedback (on curriculums/hygiene/food/hidden charges i.e. for bungalow CC, there is no proper delineation between Nursery and Kindergarten since all of them have classes at the main hall) for the following educational platforms that i have shortlisted for my 18mth old monster:

1) Chiltern House
2) YWCA
3) Carpe Diam
4) The Moral Childcare Centre
5) Little Wonders Monstessori Childcare

Any recommendation of CC towards the West, preferably Hillview area would be nice too.

On blogs:
Drawing reference from the blogs exhibited in this thread, mMay i check how did the mummies include pictures under the sidebar? Apparently, i could only insert one picture as per my son's blog (see http://www.ashtonyong.blogspot.com/ for illustration on sidebar). For guidance,pls.

Many thanks and Happy New Year to all!

Hihi Mummies,
Happy New yr to all.

Zu-en,
Your gal is nt alone, my gal also seem to be prone to falling sick. Esp towards end of the yr when it's e flu season, she never seem to be spared from it.

Leng Leng,
Can I check with u, some mummy friends of mine told me can give our babies DHA. U have any recommendations? And why do we need to give colostrum to our kids, is it for immune system or?

Sorry for my long winded qn, juz tot I might really need to start her on supplements since she had been falling sick so frequently.

Me already start my monday blues, so scare of tomoorow. As bb going child care liao, was so worry that will stress her up...hai.
Think i am going to have a sleepless night liao.

Shinely,
think i can identify with you...monday blues, as well as sleepless night on bb first day to child care....u are not alone...
so fast hor, long weekend is over liao.

Morning ladies...

Mon blues for me again..hiaz...Yest brought char to the zoo, surprisingly it was not crowded at all, guess becos its sch reopens today...But charlotte din behave, din want to walk or sit in her stroller, kept on sticking to me, wan me to carry. Now my arms are aching..haiz..

Any mummies is experiencing ur toddler always lao gei at nite before bedtime at nite? It has been a week when charlotte does that lor..Now she will pull our hands and asked us to take things or do things, if we dun, she start to fuss, sometimes we can use other things to distract her, but most of the time can't. So i just let her cry there, after abt 15-20mins, she stopped and then ok le...Me still wondering y leh...haiz...Anyone experience this too?

Its bery vexing to have her crying every nite lor..duno y also...kepto n laogei lor, we are trying to hold bk the cane and other smacks but am afraid can't hold bk for long..hiaz..

Do u find your toddlers bery attention seeking now? I realise and quite heartpain to see char so lonely and bored at times when we dun play with her lor, like so kelian le..hiaz..But hope she will feel better when she starts her cc in march..

zuen
My gal also seldom fall sick (fever, etc) when young. mayb also bcos she taken care by inlaws when i return work. Not much interaction with other kids.

But there was a period few mths back when she start hvin fever on a weekly/monthly affair. But it only lasted less than 2mths. Right now, she back to b4, dosent fall sick often again.

Mayb ur gal the same? Need awhileto "rebuild" immune system??

jsmurf
the sidebar pic, r u referin to the one that is of ur boy when still at bb stage? I supposed that is added as ur profile pic? If so, try goin to layout. At the sidebar area, add gadget - add pic.

Tinkerbell,
Hello! =)

Feifei,
so which animal does char love most?? =)

poky,
i tink its elephant cos durign the show, she shouted WOW...haha...so funny hor =).. E rest of the animals, ask her wan to see, she says "mai"..hiaz...whole trip kept on saying mai, only when got tibits to eat, she she nod her head...hee

feifei

Maybe it will be better if u can set up a sleep routine? have some quiet activities before sleeping so tat char will understand tat its sleeping time. Cos tots usu dun know the time. Simple things like putting on long pants, switching off the lights, putting away the toys etc. Books suggest tat sleep routine shd be around 1 hr as toddlers need time to adjust to sleep.

My boy only fuss like wat u describe when he is over tired or over stimulated, wanted to sleep but can't sleep so he will ask us to carry and point to tings, want to do tis and tat but seems frustrated and dunno wat he want. Then we will let him cry for awhile and he will settle down after tat. He will sometimes react like tis during nap time bec his nap time is not fixed and thus sometimes he end up over tired.

I read tat when a kid is over stimulated or over tired they will behave like tat. to overcome tis is to put them to bed before they r over tired, e.g. when u see first signs of tireness e.g. rubbing of eyes, and to put to bed at a fixed timing cos if over the sleep time they will be over tired.

Ellysia,
Tks ger...cos hor, for the past 1wk, also like that leh...even if she has taken her nap frm 5.30pm-7pm lor..hiaz... It only started recently and we are still monitoring lor..

<font color="aa00aa">Morning mummies!

My new year was spend at KKH *sigh*
YuJie suddenly had fit on the eve when we r out to see the new year celebration. Luckily was at neighbourhood area so rush back home to pack and bring her to KK. Then she was there in observation for few hour and doc want us to admit her despite she's ok for that period there. But as she was crying when see so many nurse and doc wear mask, we decided to bring her home. Then whole nite hubby din sleep at all, coz need to monitor her condition.
But in next morning she had another fit after she drank her milk. We again rush to hosp and then admit her. She had another 3 more fits within 12 hr in hospital. She was put in drip. And even gone thru the CT scan as she had no fever and no oth special factor that wud cause her to be fits. The only thing is she's hvin diarrhae for few days oredy and doc said her blood sugar level is a border level.
We had to keep our eye on her 24 hr as afraid she might hv another seizure again. If she's had another seizure then doc will need to put her to high depedency unit for special monitoring. Luckily she was ok for the past 24hr and finally she's allow to be discharge yesterday evening.
Argh...is really a very bad experience for me and hv probia even wanna bring her out now.
Thou doc said there's very very minimal chances she'll had fits again unless she's not eating well, diarrhae or fever, but i'm just cant be relax.
The only consolation from the hospital stay is YuJie no longer afraid of nurses and docs wearing mask. hahaha....</font>

feliciarosey,
maybe she didn't have enough rest &amp; dehydrated?
I have an uncle who has fits whenever he's too tired,
didn't eat or drink enough water...

So far i didn't give any supplements. Previously given calcium but specialist ask me to stop giving bec' she say excess calcium will cause stones and supplements is best to take with nutritionist guidance. Didn't give any fish oil either bec he has been consuming fish often, so can't give too much else will over consume on mercury content. Can't give colostrum cos they contain milk which my boy is allergic. Not giving multi-vit too cos he often snack on fruits.

Zu En

Most likely is this age is the active stage cos our tots like to roam and run around and touch a lot of things outside then put their hands in their mouth which tranmit disease. Tats why can fall sick more easily.

Felicia

Previously my boy also had fits when he had diarroea and vomitting for few days, doc say is provoke seizure cos my boy is dehydrated and body too weak so its a reaction, although he doesn't had any fever then. But since then whenever he had high fever we will go KK just in case, and they give us priority cos for fits history.

feifei

My boy have v bad sleep problem few mths back, i develop a sleep routine and it helps a lot. U can try and see how.

I manage to bake a vegan cake (free from dairy and egg) yest tat is nice, after 4 failed tries. Happy tat i finally able to do it

I am back! Took half day leave to accompany my girl to her 1st day at playgroup this morning and I am uber angry. Super bad experience. Will share later. Haiz!

As I was saying, I brought Lil ZuEn to playgroup this morning.
I didnt recce this playgroup bcos my intention was to send her to CC, but my mum wanted to kill some time and suggested for her to go playgroup.
The playgroup is supposed to be 2 hours session but 1st 2 weeks only 1 hour to help the kids get use.

It was bad to begin with bcos it was raining and the school did not open the door until a few mins before 9am. Then they take super long to take temperature cos they are still using those oral themometers.

Then, oen teacher started calling parents of kids who didnt turn up while the other teacher started asking parents to fill form while pouring toys for the kids to play.

Lil ZuEn should be the youngest among the lot and she wasnt entertained for long. Then she started fussing and crying bcos we tried to keepher in the room.

At 9.30am, the teacher was still trying to collect $$. Faint. I picked up my girl and we left.

The teacher did follow us out but with the intention of taking back soem forms. I really blew lor and blasted at the teacher. Haiz.. poor teacher. But the school is really unorganised. Is this how 1st day should be? So chaotic? Or the playgroup no good? Sob!

zuen, the playgroup is so bad. may i know which playgroup ur gal attend? most fot the time is wasted doin all the admin stuff.

my gal starts her playgroup today as well and she does not have any problem adapting to the environment. i hope it will last... haha...

the teachers there r friendly and some even know my gal's name even before i told them. n the teacher does not even teach her. impressive hor??? hehee...
the only thing is they did not take temperature before allowing kids into the class. maybe i shld feedback to them.

BBC,
Little Learners at JW, next to JP.
By the time we left at 9.30am, they haven even start lesson proper.
Haiz, we were so looking forward to her 1st day. All screwed up. Now I am wondering if I should send her back. I paid one month's school fees and 1 month deposit. They did say before that it is not refundable. But if I really think they not up to standard, then I will demand for them to refund me.

zuen,
Cornelius's no better, this morning my hubby panicked...

Was told 1st day is half day, need a parent to accompany,
Corenlius attended his 1st day with hubby last saturday...

Sekali this morning,
hubby was told, today is half day for playgroup,
need a parent to be around for 1st 3 days...
My FIL was with him for the morning,
he's back home &amp; sleeping now...

zuen,
Ahyo, its a terrible experience leh...hiaz...or mayb becos its raining and 1st day of sch dats y so chaotic? U wan to give it another try tmr? Becoz I dun tink can get bk ur deposit leh..

Lengleng,
ur boy ok?

so we meeting at compass point tonite?

Lengleng,
haha, ok as in din cry in sch lah..hee..

Can meet me 6.30pm at compass point? Cos i scare traffic jam so meet u at 6.30pm lor..Tink i shd be going cold storage to get huggies ultra diaper cos on offer lor =)..Might need to get 4 packs..faintz...hee..

BBC,
I hv soem frenz whose kids are in talentplus, feedback is that it is good...

lengleng, feifei, BBC,
Yup, will give them a final chance. If still bad, then I will take Lil ZuEn out and demand for refund. I must be one of those demanding and irritating parents. Haha.
I just tot that if their playgroup is able to take in 19 months baby, then they must be able to take care mah. They cannot expect 19 months baby to behave like a 2.5 YO kid mah.
If this is the kind of attention that Lil ZuEn is gg to receive, then no point. She's still in diaper and sometimes doesnt tell us when she poo-ed, especially when she's playing. I cannot imagine no teacher find out and help her change. Or worse she cried, then they tried to dismiss it by giving her some toys. -.o"

BBC,
Now I really regret not finding out more before enrolling Lil ZuEn lor. I tot it is just an interim solution until we enrol her into CC at about 24 months. But now that we are also considering getting a maid, plans will change and she will probably not go CC.
So duno what to do now. Especially if they refuse to give me refund.

feifei,
he's been there few times already,
the elder ones birthdays, meet the parents' day,
christmas parties, etc.

Do you still want to toothpaste?

zuen,
ask for termination now lor,
then only join the class for 1 month.
Within this 1 month, you still observe &amp; consider.

Get a maid also need time mah.

Lengleng,
yes, i wan the toothpaste still...tks ya.. =)..How much huh? Later I pay u cash hor =)..tks..so we meet at old chang kee there ya...

hehe, i see, so he is quite familiar there le..

Zuen,
hmm, hope tmr will be better...

feifei,

yah. i almost register my gal in talent plus. but my MIL wan my gal to another playgroup that she find. den i suit her lor... lucky the playgroup is not bad.

zuen,
if really does not meet ur standard, den attend for 1 month n take back ur deposite. in the mean time, find another 1.

feifei,
$6.78,
can you sms me when you hop on to the train pls?
I'm going to post office at 4+,
will hang around till you reach,
if you can't make it, pls let me know,

lengleng,
Tks ger, i pay u later. Err, me will take e company transport to compass point lor..shd reach b4 6.30pm.. Tks alot ya..Today will make it cos my boss not in..hehe...See u hor..

BBC,
Lucky wor..