(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="808080"><font face="tahoma">Hi Mummies!
Long time never log in to chat.Recently Jared kenna a stomach flu virus, non-stop vomitting &amp; the rest of us also kenna, but not too serious. Then he was prescribed a pro-biotic call " Biogaia Drops" to Boost immune system &amp; improve gut health, and he got well after, never vomit again, but those few nights were very tiring, as he wakes up every hour in the night asking for " neh neh"

He is going to be 17 months on 16th Nov, but he is only about 10kg, havent really put on since 12 months old, according to the health book, his wt is average, he's 84cm HT, consider tall.

He picks up " Dad", "Mum" from his 9yrs old brother, as my elder calls us Dad &amp; Mum, rather than Daddy &amp; Mummy.

He also says "Mum Mum" (Food), Gai Gai ( go out), Ba Ba (bye bye), shoe, car, ba (bus),ball, button,chor chor ( Kor Kor,哥哥)I am worried as I saw another boy who is 1 month older can say Kor Kor without any problem, but he cannot say it , that boy is also very advance, can say sentences already, like " I want to eat noodle/I want to eat bread etc , when he saw babies, he says "di di", no matter if girl or boy

Although he didnt speak alot, i think he understand most things we say, from the response we get from him,like when we ask if he wants to go Gai Gai, he will go &amp; pick up his shoe, point to where the key is, and walk to the main door.</font></font>

feifei,

maybe. I just hope she gain some weight. yesterday, i saw an ulcer in her mouth. hopefully is not HFM as no red spots on her hands n foot. keeping my finger cross.

zuen,
ur child can speak alot of words.

muffin,
mine can say afew words like daddy, mummy, yeh yeh (grandpa), nai nai (Grandma), no more, nei nei, mum mum, xie, Xia( downstair), turtle, apple and barney.

BBC,
I read somewhere that at 18 months, must be able to say 20 words and at 24 months about 50 words.
I think my girl can say more words bcos she has her cousins to model after. It really helps wor.
The more difficult words that we realise she can speak are "umbrella, ice-cream, tiger, airplane, xiao shu". I said "realised" bcos not hb or I teach one. I suspect that she picks up from her cosuins or TV lor.

zuen,
wow, ur ger clever wor.. =)...Like that my charltote jialiat cos can onli say barney, sometimes say ball only lor..oh no...

when i went to clinic for his recent assessment, it only require the baby to speak at least 3 words other than mama and papa.

Fennie

Last mth or so, my boy and our whole family also vomit and diarroea. My boy is admitted to KKH and given probiotics also, then discharge after 2 days 1 night.

hi gals...

zuen...
wow... to say 20 words at 18 mths can be quite tough for some kids,esp boys, cos they tend to develop speaking later than girls.
your girl is quite smart to be able to say those words!

feifei...
all the best for your exams! =) when are u going japan? i bet u will go crazy at kitty land... haha...

Feifei, BBC,
Not clever lah. Maybe more talkative? Wahahahaha. You all make me feel so proud of my girl. Maybe not as much as 80 words lah, cos we take in words that that she understand too like ear. She knows where is her ear but she cannot pronounce. And also sound that she made in replace of words like "a-tah" for "peekaboo".

So discount here and there, probably 60 words? Actually, they do know many words if you really go and count. That day, hb and I counted bcos we bo liao. Haha.

BBC,
She only know a few 3 syllabus word -
1. umbrella - "um-bi-la"
2. mickey mouse - "mi-mi-mao"
3. peekaboo - "peek-boo"

Soyabean,
Agree, agree.
I dun think my girl is particularly fast too. When I bring her to playgym, I see kids her age developing even faster wor.
I am thankful that she has her cosuins to grow up with.

Zuen,Ellysia Just need a lot of patience,then can survive haha

My bb can says papa(his fav word),mama,nainai(grandma),phopho,uncle(although auntie he hasn't said yet),adik or dedek(malay for little brother/sister),kakek(grandpa in malay),aircon,apple,yogurt,bath bath,hungry,soup,bobo(sleep in malay),mouse(recent new word),card(any card like credit card,mrt card or name card,he will say card),cup,n,s(some of his name letters),two,eight,
clock,poopoo(sometimes before he pass motions,he
will tell me,sometimes after),train,car..etc etc.
but no 3 syllabbles yet

morning gals!
isaiah also duno how to speak at all.. not even mama or papa, just goes eh eh but he understands wat we talking abt, ask him point at his head, bring tings to gong gong etc he will do it.. just refuses to speak, also getting worried

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Took one day MC yest as hvin headache and sore throat plus flu.

YuJie oso din speak much, only 'ah ma', 'bao bao', 'mum mum'. Occasionally 'pa pa' and 'ma ma'. She rarely calle me, but there's once she ask my hubby to bring her up to the double decker bed, and my hubby refused and tell her to kiss 'ma ma' and she really kiss me. Then my hubby tell her to call 'ma ma', else wont bring her to the bed. And she actually open her mouth big big and slowly called out 'ma......ma'. So conclusion is she know how to call 'ma ma' but just refused to do so! So sad!

Btw, she now started to imitate animal's sound. When she heard the dog bark, she'll 'hor hor' oso. She start to get more and more mischevious, climb up and down, and even step on the toys.</font>

Good morning

I am quite sure kyler is still below 10kg. I would be glad if he even hits 9.5kg.

roxy,
kyler only knows how to say mama and papa. Like Isaiah, he understands what we are talking about, brings towels for papa, keep his toys, brings his shoes, on the fan etc. he also refuses to speak but instead he signs to me when he wants milk, sleep, eat, more food, to be carried, points to direction he wants to go etc.

same. he goes around eh eh eh or speaks in his babyish language

morning...

bonjovi, roxy...
dun worry so much... i believe they will start talking soon and when they do, they wldnt stop! :p
thats wat happened to my elder boy... until now he is still a very chatty fellow and we only get peace when he sleeps.

felicia...
hope you get well soon. drink more water!

soyabean,
Maybe she matured early like her mummy. Hohoho.
She's actually a preemie (if you still rem), born at 34 + 5 week. We were quite worried about her development in the past. But she has caught up fairly well. I think since she's one. So at least it set our mind at ease. Hehe.

soyabean,

will remind myself that each child is special and unique. And, that's a time for everything

Zuen,
happy for u that little zuen doing well even as a preemie. Actually, i heard preemies are very very intelligent

zuen, bonjovi...
yes... i heard abt preemies being intelligent too. maybe they are smart, dats why they decide to come out into the world earlier... keke...

Just keep talking to them and they will slowly absorb what we say. you will be surprise how well they can speak once they start talking.

zuen,

i actually have 2 friends who are preemies. both r very smart

don't worry about them not talking now,
enjoy the peace,
once they actually start to talk,
there's no way to turn them off!!!... hehehe...

Lengleng,
You are so funny. Must be speaking from experience. I totally agreed. My elder niece is countering every single sentence that we say now with "why?" now. Drive me nuts sometimes.

Re: Preemie
Smart ah? Good, good. At least I dun feel so guilty towards her.

Soyabean,
Come out eraly = smart meh? My womb supposed to be more comfortable mah. Hohoho.

At what age children should stop drinking milk thru milk bottle? I now then know my ger have been drinking milk thru cup or spoon feed by MIL. Is it good or bad? Now I scare one day she refuse to drink milk thru bottle.

Sharon,

Lucky u that your ger can stop drinking milk from bottle. I'm trying to do that for my boy but now still cannot, he only managed to hold his own cup(without straw or spout) &amp; drink water wif no or minimal spillage, milk he refuse to use cup with/without straw. Still insist on bottle. Have read that if there are any habits to break, it should be done by 2yo or else difficult to break later. I'm still trying hard to dump the bottles.

After dumping bottles will be dumping diapers, still waiting for him to be ready. Headache...

Mag,
Cornelius is opposite,
he refuses milk in bottle,
only wants to drink from straw.

Water, juice &amp; other liquid in milk bottle ok for him...

Keen on setting up a Home-based business opportunity (not MLM)

Ruben &amp; Shire is a premier lifestyle healthy dried fruits &amp; nuts provider. The company is looking for resellers to expand its network. Very low start up cost but profitable margins.

Very suitable for mommies looking to supplement their income.

Please note that this is NOT an MLM biz.

Please PM me if keen

Sharon,

My reanne is also spoon fed. She refuse to drink from the bottle for 2 months already. Good or bad...i don't know..but to me, as long as she drinks her milk...any way also can.

Mag,

Hello girl...long time no "see". =)

Yo Leng leng,
I know every child is different but I find June Babies got especially lots of "pattern". U still BF Cornelius? Not latching liao?

Jan,
Ya long time no chat liao. Hope everything is going well for u.

Reanne so good, if Athan can like that I happy liao but I haven't tried spoon feed, only tried MagMag straw cup nia. I should try to spoon feed but I headache cos now he only drinks twice a day, when he wakes up &amp; b4 he go zzz... so quite bad time to not use bottle. But maybe I'll try give a bit of milk from cup in the afternoon n c how.

Mag,
the naughty ones,
our #3 is the most mischievious at home.
He refuse to wean, went on strike,
milk strike, water strike, food strike,
even refuse his fav. foods &amp; drinks!

If I let him latch on for a few mins,
he'll be willing to eat after that.
Yah, lots of pattern compared to our elder 2s.

Leng,
U still up so late? Handling sprees har?

U steady still can bf.

I was doing my assignments, very sian so came in to forum for awhile.

Mag,

I have trouble introducing 3 meals to her due to her sleeping pattern. She is only taking 3 times of 180ml of milk, cereal for lunch and porridge for dinner.

Her daily routine:

10:30: wake ups and drink 180ml milk
12 noon: 12 tbsp of HT cereal with fruits
1:30pm - 4pm: nap for 2-3 hrs
4pm-4:30pm: 180ml milk
6pm: 1 1/2 rice bowl of porridge
8pm: nap for about 1 hour
10:30pm: 180ml milk then sleep till morning 10:30am

In between, she will snack on some biscuits, but not much.

How ah? 2 meals like not enough right? I wonder how to intro breakfast when she wakes up so late.

Mag,
yup, placing order for spree.

janiviy,
as they grow older, they'll sleep lessee,
may reduce to 1 nap at about 2-3 yr old,
also may wake up earlier.

Jan, u still awake too ah?

I think our child's feeding schedule quite similar.

8.30am wakes up &amp; drinks 210ml milk
9.30-10am give him piece of Kiri cheese and 1/4 slice of bread or watever I'm having for breakfast
11.30am - 2pm Nap
2-2.30pm 1 Chinese bowl of cereal with fruits/veg
7-7.30pm 1 Ch bowl of rice wif soup &amp; meat/veg
10-10.30pm 210ml of milk wif Si Shen brown rice b4 zzz.

On top of all these, he takes avg 500ml of water everyday.

In between, I also give biscuits/fruits/veg as finger food.

I'm quite worried wif his routine like that, dun know how to send him go childcare.

Yesterday Athan kee siao cos he nap from 12.35pm till almost 5pm so only had 1 meal at 5.30pm (1.5bowl of porridge) then dinner only took cheese and finger food, couldn't take rice cos he was still full fr 5.30's meal.

lengleng,

Monitoring her nap...hope to adjust it soon.

mag,

ya..i think my thyroid is acting up again. Cannot zzzzz ...sianz

I am skipping the CC. Plan to bring her to Julia Gabriel next year, am on waiting list now...sigh~ then go to St. James when she is 3.

Mag,

He not kee siao...there is 1 day Reanne also like that..1pm - 5+pm. I was shock..she like super tired. Then after that ...few days later...fall sick. So you better monitor..
just in case hor.

Jan,

Oh dear, pardon my ignorance but I din know thyroid can cause insomnia. Must b terribly uncomfy for u, pls take care yah.

I can only send Athan to CC if I start work so planning to send him for enrichment classes for the time being. Can't plan too far unless after I graduate.

So u trying for No.2 boh?

Mag,

No...not trying. I don't want liao. 1 is enough for me, .....unless accident.

weather is damn bad...everybody seem to be down with flu and cough. Reanne and I just recover only.

when you graduate?

Mag,

Your bro added me in FB...dunno by accident of what...anyway, he is into cars huh? make me drool only...especially he mention that he drove the GTR at 240km/hr...fierce ah!..i like! hahaha

Actually my hubby told me want to have one more cos scared Athan will b lonely next time but we've been trying since Athan was 4mths, I stop bf since late July but until now still no news. I told him if he's serious abt No.2 then we better go get Clomid again cos if by next yr still not pregnant, then I dun want liao cos got no time if I start work. I'm graduating in June 2010 hopefully.

Better pump more Vit C in Reanne's and your diet, just in case.

Jan,
I think my bro added by accident, so paisay. Ya he's very into cars, I dare not see the pics cos scared I buay tahan. Hehe....

I also got to zzz liao, take care ya, tok to u soon. Nitez......

<font color="aa00aa">Wah, is so happening in the midnite here! haha....

Jan,
really envy you leh. Reanne only wake up at 10am plus. YuJie will woke up before 7am, and sometimes at 6am. I hardly get to wake up late during weekend lor.

Mag,
Jia you! on your 2nd try! Let us know if you have good news!But dont be too stress, ya!</font>