(2008/06) June 2008

sorry to intrude..., i have a BP on "Contact-less Thermoguard Infrared Thermometer", please PM me if you are interested

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3099778.html?1255423002

Feifei,

I have started giving Childlife Fish Oil to Athan, it's a clear oil wif no taste but mild strawberry smell. I personally feel the smell is not very nice cos it reminds me of children's cough syrup. One thing is there's no fishy smell or taste. Maybe u can consider getting a bottle for Charlotte to try.

Morning ladies...

Mag,
Tks for the infor...Athan likes it? I hv been giving charlotte the emulsion yu gan you lor..so far she ok, no pheglm etc..I will take note of this Childlife fish oil, mayb will get a bottle of it later on to let charlotte try...tks ya =)...Hows things? Exams over? My exam is in 3wks time... =(

<font color="aa00aa">morning mummies!

Now, u draw fr Medisave, Baby Bonus for pneumococcal jabs .
Pls read on below article from StraitsTimess.

More protection for babies
Parents can draw on Medisave, Baby Bonus for pneumococcal jabs
PARENTS will be allowed from next month to draw on their Medisave and Baby Bonus accounts to vaccinate their babies against a family of bacteria that attacks the brain, lungs, blood and ears.

The Government is adding the pneumococcal vaccine to the childhood immunisation programme, putting its stamp on what it thinks is important for children to be protected against.

It arrived at the decision following a recommendation by its expert committee on immunisation, which decides on the jabs for the programme.

The committee found that in the United States, where most babies have been getting this protection since 2000, illnesses and deaths from serious pneumococcal disease have dropped by 75per cent.

Five other vaccines, such as those against diphtheria, polio and tuberculosis, are on the list. Four are free to Singapore babies at polyclinics, while the fifth vaccine, against HepatitisB, costs $37 for the three jabs, which can be paid out of Medisave.

The pneumococcal vaccine, which has been available since 2000, costs $510 for the recommended three shots at a polyclinic.

Felicia,

If now taking booster jab for pneummoccal, so can use the medisave from next mth?

Becos we book an appt at end of tis mth, so if can use from next mth then will have to change the appt to next mth.

feifei

18mth jab is 5-in-1 booster i tink.

Yest my kitchen start leaking. it seems to be from wall behind the kitchen cabinet on top of my fridge. Can be either pipe or other sources. Very ma fan bec' need to dismantle the kitchen cabinet in order for repair. Then also need to relocate my fridge etc.. and it will be v messy so kitchen a lot of stuff need to temp relocate too. haiz... headache.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
From natinal immunisation chart, 18mths was for DPT/DT - 1st Booster
Oral Sabin - 1st Booster

Ellysia,
Is better for you to check with the clinic. But i think even is booster jab, shld be entitled to use medisave.</font>

FElicia,
i see..tks ger...so this means they can deduct frm medisave also lor...I going to bring char for the 18mth jab early dec lor..u?

One colleague told me that MMR is compulsory if not child won't be able to enter into Pri sch. Yu Zhe haven't taken MMR yet bec of his egg allergy. But i read somewhere tat can still take but must be under supervision of doc in hospital.

Roxy,
So excited for you. Wow, time passes so quickly and your no. 2 is going to be here soon. Hehe. Jia you, jia you.

hi feifei
the 18th month jab is the last of the 5 in 1 booster....i tink dis one cannot pay using medisave, only pnuemoccal.. we didnt go for the preview cause hubby n isaiah sick, dun want to pass to other kids.. prob go dis sun instead

hi felicia
thanks for the info... just in time for no2 to use medisave.. hee but does this mean if use medisave needs to be done by polyclinic instead of PD?

hi zuen
Heee, yes, time passes very fast hor!! I cannot wait for her to be out!! just went for gynae check up today, she's 2 kg at 33wks...gynae says abit skinny but everyting is ok and im confirmed gg for csect from 26 nov - 1 dec cause placenta still low... im counting down the weeks
How's ur ttc? Hope to hear good news from u soon, bb dust to u!!

hi ellysia
I havent let isaiah take mmr jab also because of fear of autism... will wait till he's 2 yrs old then let him take it... dis jab is free at polyclinics

Ellysia,
only Measles is compulsory. Mumps and Rubella are not.

do u think our kids are too young for childcare? thinking of sending mine to CC but so scared he'll cry

Morning ladies...

Talking abt MMR, hmm..Charlotte has taken hers and so far, we are on the lookout for autism...Everything is so far so good *touchwood*...Personnally I just feel if I wan to send her to cc, its better for her to take all the jabs becos I am a KS mummy lor, worried that she might get mumps etc so just a protection lor =).

kye,
Hmm...i feel 18mths is still too young lor...But by the tiem they are 24mths, I tink its good to let them go play play, either those dou dou class or enrichment classes lor...For myself, I am also sandwhiched in btw cc or dou dou class...

There are pros and cons of sending out kids to cc lor...Pros is they can learn more things, learn from peers. Peer pressure will let them learn together. Cons will be they will fall sick easiy since there are so many kids in e cc. Some kids might pick up the bad habits too....

Yesterday I saw the new...
They're talking about "MMRV"!
It's a new cocktail.

feifei,
I'll be bringing Cornelius for chicken pox jab next month,
he's joining the elder 2 in CC in dec... :p

Lengleng,
I see...charlotte has taken her chicken pox jab le, dec will bring her for her 18mth jab..u sending him to the same cc?

My kitchen water leakage is given me and hb so much stress. Yest the whole kitchen cabinet is full of water and water dripping down the floor. headache

roxy

I tink pd can oso use medisave. the news say upfront there is no need for any cash payment, just need to fill up form.

kye

Is there any separate jabs to take in this case?

Anyway, i maybe will check with the allergy specialist before letting him take the jab, since it contains egg.

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies,

Juz to share the reply i got from MOH regarding MMR injections.

Dear Felicia,
We refer to your query below and thank you for allowing us to clarify.

We would like to share that under the Infectious Diseases Act (IDA), both measles and diptheria vaccinations are required.  However, MMR (Mumps, Measles and Rubella) immunisations, a combined vaccination, are all listed in our National Childhood Immunisation Schedule, as they are all highly recommended against a slew of potential complications from contracting the diseases.  In addition, MMR is also provided at no cost if the Schedule is adhered to and are taken at polyclinics. 

Furthermore, the combined vaccination is to reduce the number of times a child would have to be injected and hence visits to the doctor.  For a comprehensive listing of the schedule, you may wish to refer to this website by the Health Promotion Board (HPB).

We hope that clarifies.

Thank you and we wish you and your family good health.
Yours sincerely,
John Heng
for Quality Service Manager
Ministry of Health, Singapore </font>

feifei,
yup, same CC.

ellysia,
I was told by the nurse at the polyclinic years ago,
if our child is allegy to egg yolk,
still can take MMR, but it's another type,
without the yolk stuffs.
But they do not have it at the polyclinic,
need to take it at KKH.

Long time didn't come in to chat le..

Hope everyone is doing well!

Lengleng: Ya... I oso saw the MMRV on news.. But i have let my ger taken her MMR so got to continue with it...

Leng Leng

thks, i also read somewhere tat they will recommend to take at hospital, also to monitor the kid.

Felicia

I read that some parents let their kids take separate jabs instead of the combined jabs. But not all clinics offer separate jabs.

<font color="aa00aa">
YuJie oredy taken her MMR when she's at 12mths, so chicken pox will need to take separately.
Pity the kids, need to take so many jabs! *sigh*</font>

18 mths need to take booster jab for 5-in-1 leh..

i feel if want to take MMR can maybe postpone, dun take together with the booster jab or else its v strong.

Yu Zhe still have the pnemoccal booster jab to take too, which is also v strong.

janiviy,
after ur ger took e jab, do monitor cos normally takes 5-7days before can see effect de..meaning rashes or fever lor..Charlotte has some rashes on her tummy and back on the 8th day, and abit feverish for 1day , then she ok le...

Re: Jabs
Lil ZuEn took the new MMRV jab last week wor. Together with the pnuemoccocal jab. She cry like anything.
MMRV need 2 jabs to complete. The doc asked me if I wanted the MMRV when I was there. I tot better since can reduce the no. of jabs. I really dread bringing Lil ZuEn for jabs now.

I am so confused now over what jabs she is left with. I know one more jab for pneumoccoal but cant rem how many months apart from the 1st jab. Then MMRV jab, oso duno how far apart from the 1st jab and the 18-month duno what jab.

What is the 18th-month compulsory jab huh?

Roxy,
I just started TTC this month. 1st attempt already on clomid. No choice leh, menses went MIA. No fix cycle, totally cannot guess when I ovulate or whether I actually did. I hope that this time will be easier. No strength liao. Hoho.

Your princess - 2kg at week 33 is ok. Dun worry. Lil ZuEn was only 1.9kg at birth but big and healthy now. Hehe.

Morning ladies...

ZuEn,
Poor little ZuEn...the pnuemmoccoal is the most painful jab as told by my PD lor...that time charlotte also cry like wat lor, but we gave her rasins then she ok le...

Hmm...the 18mth jab hor, tink its a booster leh..

hehe, Jiayou for ur TTC ya =)...Work hard hor =).

poor zuen, the pnuemmoccoal last jab is most painful de... luckily isaiah was quite brave, no tears n cried abit
Thanks! Im hoping to deliver 4 more weeks later, beef her up somemore....
Cycle went haywire is it because of bf? can use OPT to test ovulation?
Jia you for your TTC!!

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Re: Pneumococcal
I plan to give YuJie this jab when she turn 2 yrs old, then only need one jab. As she had another booster jab at 18mths, so dont plan to give both together. I dread of bringing my kids for jab, i'll cry with them together. *paiseh*

roxy,
Jiayou ya...in 1mths' time, can see ur princess leh ...tell u lor, when ur princess wears pink, she will look so sweet.. =)..

felicia,
I tot Yujie took her Penumococal jab le...Its the most painful one lor...I hope the 18mth booster will not be as pain...

Felicia

I dare not drag on Pneumoccal jab. So have ored let yu zhe taken his first dose before 6 months. So now have to take booster jab.

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
Can understand.
Just that i dont want YuJie to take 2 jabs at one go. If possible i try to drag few mths apart before the 2nd jab. For compulsory jab, no choice, tats why i can only drag those optional jab.

Btw, i finally brought the Thomas playhut with tunnel for my gers last weekend. Now need to source the ballpit tent to join the tunnel. Both of my gers was crawling in and out the tunnel for almost one hr. They r excited but YuJie 'passion' died on the next day. As for my #1 she loves to play her puzzle and hide inside. Well i think kids get bored with their toys so easily.</font>

Felicia,
oic..hehe...
Agreed that kids passion is short-span de..hehe...mayb u can try to see if KP has e ball pit wor..

shycloud,
hi there...logn time no see u here le..hows things?

Ellysia,
so have u found a suitable cc?

hi feifei...
ya its been a long while...busy with work and bb.
my girl has grown distance away from me though. everytime she looks for is her 'pa pa'...i was never the first few in her list. daddy's girl.. sad but does leave me with more ME time!

hangout late with frens, gorging in food and ktv stuff...finally found back my life...fun!

shycloud,
ur hb spent mor etime with ur ger huh? My ger that day also mah, me and my hb open our arms, see who she wants, she run to her daddy instead..my hb so proud...haiz

hehe...sometimes, we also need to hv our own time hor =)...

feifei...
in fact i spent more time with her but just tat she prefers her dad over me. mine even more 'hao lian' go ard telling everyone tat she's closer to him...u shld have seen tat expression of mine..*roll eyes* lolz

ya personal time is very much needed...must relax abit lah married still must have life too!

shycloud,
hehe, can udenrstand lor..they say hor, gers will stick more to daddy while boys to mummies..duno true anot leh...hee..

ya lor, haiz, but for me, i dun hv much of my own time..cos still hv to study and now exams soon, more stressed up...

feifei...
it seems true in my case!
dun worry after ur studies and all...u still can enjoy and have fun BIG time! lolz

My boy prefer FIl more than me. dunno why he like him lor. At our own house he usually prefer me than hb, but if he want to play or go out he prefer hb.

feifei

more or less shortlist ored. but need to fix appt to visit the centre before we decide whether want to put waiting list or not.

feifei and roxy,
That's what the doc says too and gave her the MMRV 1st. She oso cried like hell. No difference in the crying intensity for both jabs. Haha.

Roxy,
AF haywired even for no. 1. I think I PCOS. I tried to chart my ovulation before attempting clomid, but no leh.. I think I didnt ovulate. ;p

shycloud,
ya lor..me hanging on now...cos aft my exams, we will be going tokyo but without charlotte lor =)..

All,
Anyone knows anywhere has promo for MP or Huggies Utra diapers cos charlotte's MP is running out le..hiaz..

Ellysia,
thats great...is it Cherie Hearts?

Hi all mummies! So long no cum in liao :p

feifei,
nw shopnsave/giant have Huggies utra(34) promo tink $14.30 bah. But me usually bought the 54pcs pack cos more cheaper ntuc selling $20.95 bah forget the price liao. U so shiok go tokyo enjoy

shycloud,
=)..so now suffer first, then enjoy later lor..hee

Chloe,
hihi,long time din see u le..hows things?hows ur ger?Tks for e promo on Huggies ultra..Jumbo pack cheaper lor... Is that for XL size? Cos my ger wearign XL le..