(2008/06) June 2008

woo hoo, forum seems alive at this time!

angel,
how have u been?? missed u wor! bz with school?

glad to hear sheryl's ok. dun worry too much ok? lucas just cut his 5th tooth. so thankfully not waking up much in the night, keeping fingers crossed i am not jinxing it by saying it out, hee. but when he was cutting his 3rd and 4th tooth, it was a nightmare, woke up almost every hr, felt like i was going crazy then with the lack of sleep..

veniz,
u are very lucky leh, vivi's teething so smooth!!

felicia,
hang in there! hope yu jie will get well soon!

i still havent decide how to celebrate sheryl's 1st birthday but i went to browse soyabean's celebrate spree then i so tempted to buy all the party stuff.. all so cute n pretty!!

if buy all the party stuff then means must have party n invite guests le.. hahahahaha... husband sure scold me.. buy stuff again.. =P

principal tera!!

aiyoh.. school was bad... usual lah.. term time is always crazy de.. but march hols coming.. wahahahahah... i oso miss all of u!!

wa... u worse than me eh.. u woke up almost every hour? thats quite bad.. what about your helper? sheryl will fuss before sleeping time then at night will wake up 3-4times.. which is aledi quite bad for me.. can't imagine yours man..

<font color="aa00aa">All gone to sleep liao! Me wanna go to zzzz liao oso. Just now YuJie suddenly woke up and scream. Not sure if goin to be a terrible nite again or not. *sigh*

Angel/ Tera,
Still bit stuffy nose and can heard got sound of phelgm inside throat. But just hope she can sleep thru the nite. *Pray hard*!

Ok, going to meet 'zhou gong' liao!</font>

Angel, vivi also has small bums on her face hor, i tell you, i never really eat fruits during my preggie stage, tell your mum tat ok. Sheryl also very sweet, with one dimple and her smile is ultra nice! BTW, i think she carried vivi coz she wanted to see how much she weighs, heehee, she weighs very light, coz she seldom sleep mah... (hey, dun tell your mum this hor, later she complains to my mum, I die from 'anyhow talk')

nss, you did took vivi's photo before meh? heehee, can show to Jaz lor, i still can rem his smile. Jaret also cute

Tera, not really smooth lar, in fact, now to think of it, with all the rotiprata, etc, i am a real bad mummy. I seldom give vivi fruits or make puree for her to eat. Think so far, I am the worst mummy here, coz more of a heckcare type. :p

Good afternoon Leng Leng

Pulling my hair just now, big one cry, small one also follow.

Veniz, bluetooth u Vivi's photo when meet u next time.

Shinely, what did u feed ur little one when abroad? I m bringing my 2 little monkeys to HK next week.

veniz: haahaa.. i'm not affected by my mum la.. let her say loh... but jus wan u to know that she thinks vivi is pretty with dimples n good skin..

no lah.. i think my mum likes babies so she carry loh.. cos my uncle got 1 son who is the same age as sheryl and my mum likes to carry him too...

Hi any mummies staying at Sengkang, and baby put at infrant care centre?

As i moving to SK mid this year, and thinking back to work so must find a place to put my baby. Any good recommend on infrant care centre around there?

Re: Innovators
Kudos to all Grandparents who are so innovative. So lucky!!!

Re: 2 Lunar 5th Month
May I know when and what is it about? *puzzle*

Re: Sick
Gianna also sick. Brought her to PD yesterday. She is like a worm...PD had a hard time checking her...ha!ha!

Mag &amp; bizznow - Thanks for the info. JWT? Which location?

feifei - I think Grand Continental Hotel is a little far from Century Mahkota. So, need to drive a little. Equatorial is the best location besides Holiday Inn. We also tend to stay at Equatorial coz do not want to bunk in relatives' houses.

Tan Leng Leng - Are you signing up?

KrispyKreme - Hang in there! 1.5 weeks will be over soon.

Cactus - Hope its not too late. Found an article for you.

Another Kitchen Must-Have: The Thermal Cooker
By Marlene_OnTheWall

One of the most useful "cookers" we have in our kitchen is a Thermal Cooker. All you have to do is put all the ingredients in the pot, take it to a boil, then leave it to cook some more for a few hours (no electricity required during this phase). And the food from the pot is nicely warm when you're ready to eat.

What is a thermal cooker, how does it work and how do you choose one?

What is a thermal cooker and how does it work?

A thermal cooker (also called a thermal cooking pot) works much like a crock pot. It is made up of two pots:

* Insulated outer pot

* Stainless Steel inner pot

The food is put to the boil on the stove in the inner pot before being placed in the outer pot. The heat (from the boiling process) is retained inside the pot, allowing the food to continue cooking slowly.

The cooker is excellent for soups and stews, anything you would normally use a slow cooker or crock pot for.

The thermal cooker can also retain cold temperatures, and can thus function as an ice-box or wine cooler.

Advantages

* Saves gas and electricity as food cooks in its own heat.
* Fast and convenient, in most cases needing only 10-15 minutes to bring ingredients to a boil.
* As it doesn't use gas and electricity once the dish is sealed into the outer pot, you can safely leave the house as the food is cooking.

As this is a slow cooking method, it is possible to cook the protein (meat) till tender and still have the vegetables retain their shape and texture.

Excellent for picnics and hot meals on day trips as it keeps for up to 8 hours

Basic cooking method:

* Put the ingredients into the inner pot, cover with the lid, and place directly on the stove.
* Bring to the boil, then simmer. This takes 10 to 30 minutes (the simmering time depends on the type of food you're cooking).
* Then take the inner pot, and place it in the outer pot.
* Close the lid tightly.

* Leave the dish in the pot for a length of time (the minimum amount of time required to cook the dish depends on the type of food you're cooking).

Points to watch out for when using the cooker

* The inner pot should be about 80% full. The more the contents inside the pot, the more it will retain heat (Any air inside will rapidly reduce the temperature).
* Do not open the pot before the full cooking time for your dish has been reached, as doing so causes rapid loss of heat.
* Do not leave the food in the pot longer than the amount of time specified in the manufacturer's guidelines (usually up to 6-8 hours). If you leave the food longer than that, the temperature may have dropped to a level where bacteria can start to grow.
* If the food takes approximately 6-8 hours to cook, and you plan to eat it a few hours after that, you can reboil the inner pot and its contents before the 8 hours is up and then put it back into the outer pot.

CHOOSING A THERMAL COOKER

There are many brands of thermal cookers in the market, though the most well-known products are probably Zojirushi Thermal Cooking Pot, the Thermos Shuttle Chef and the Tiger Thermal Magic Cooker.

Question: Can I buy cheaper alternatives to the well-known brands?

My family has actually used thermal cookers made by different manufacturers, and find that the cheaper products do work for most dishes.

However, the more well-known (and more expensive) products definitely do provide better heat distribution and retention.

The cheaper products may require you to cook on the stove for a longer time than what I've indicated on this page, as the stainless steel used to make the inner pot may be of lower quality. I also would be careful how long I leave the food in the pot, as heat loss may be more rapid.

Question: What are the types of thermal cookers available?

Size.

The most effective would be the larger ones (around 4 to 5 litres or more). A friend of ours who used a smaller thermal cooker found that it doesn't cook that effectively, and is more useful for keeping food warm.

Two inner pots version.

Some brands do offer versions which include two pots, allowing you to cook two dishes at the same time.Just note that you have to use both pots. If you're cooking only one dish, then you need to boil water in the other pot, and put it in as well, otherwise there won't be enough retained heat to cook the food.

I've also seen versions with a full-size inner pot, and an additional smaller inner pot that slots onto the top of big pot. Obviously, with these types, you have the option of(1) using the big inner pot with the small inner pot to cook two dishes; or (2) you use the large pot by itself.

More Resources

* Thermos Shuttle Chef
Site for the Thermos Shuttle Chef. Lots of information and recipes.
* Thermal Cooking Weblog
Lots of recipes for the thermal cooker at this blog.

nss,
that's why I cut mine short... hehehe...

shinely,
I'm in 245 Compassvale Road, Stay At Home Mum since Feb 2009,
where will you be staying?

japepearl,
BB contest? yup!

Hi Felicia.. bb ok?
wat did doctor say? wah my gals flu like water tap leh don seem to stop wan..so sian...
duno wat to do liao..

2227479.jpg

JTS...last min my bro as me to make a birthday cake for his daughter..wanted a Disney Princess theme..but went round whole Singapore...cannot find any Disney cake toppers..

Make do with a tiara and star wand...enjoy the pic..hehehe..

<font color="aa00aa">Riz,
My ger still hvin phelgm and some coughing. Shall see if tonite will be better or not.
Btw, yest the PD whom attend to my ger is not Dr Ooi, is another lady doc. Me found she's not as good as Dr Ooi lor. Very 'chin chai'.

Jan,
The cake is so nice. And i loves the strawberry cupcakes! Btw, where did u get the tiara and wand?</font>

Re:sick bbs

Hiaz..seems like a "season" for running noses..cough..fever etc. Nothing much we can do but keep bbs well hydrated..lots of water to help the med flush the "bugs" away..

Oh mummies, something to share on huggies ultra. Friday went carrefour saw it selling at $14. L size 34pcs+4. Not sure now still have promotion.

Hi nss,

I feed my baby cereal. Bring all different typw from stage 1 to 3 all bring. And remember to bring some "biscuit". Very useful during our meal times.
And i also feed my baby some plain/chichen porridge when i having my buffet breakfast from the hotel and some plain bread too.

Hi tanlengleng,

I will be moving to blk 103 rivervale walk hopefully in June.As now still not yet start my house reno.
Me also SAHM after giving birth to my baby girl since last year june.

Jan, ur cake and cupcakes looks yummy! slurp slurp~

Nss, i stop bf Jayden start of this year.

sharon, i didnt see the advert for huggies ultra at carrefour. hmm.. await for the next promo then.

Hi Tanlengleng,

me still considering, as not sure can work part-time bo.
Hopeful i can have the heart to put her in the infant care centre.
Else no income very sian lay. Wanna buy own personnel thing also must pull out hand and ask hubby for $$.

Janivy..wow! the cake so nice leh...

Felicia.. the lady doctor i tink is the wife of Dr Ooi..i heard patients sayin they are hb &amp; wife workg together..maybe shld request Dr.Ooi next time..usually if PD too chin chai i will ask 101 questions..heheh..so more secure..and beri kiasi..heheh...better be safe mah hor...

my gal still hv bits of phelgm and seems like runnin tap oso dryin..i stop her cereal for breakfast and replace by healthy times food jar..dilute her milk oso..no choice..cereals &amp; milk gifs more phelgm..till she better the i gif cereal again..
so happy my healthy times order came..so many variety of food jars..cos me $50..nowadays kids so gd life hor...

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Riz,
I did try to ask more and told her it had been almost 2 weeks, and that lady doc actually brush off my query with " is normal". She hinted that i'm bit kiasu lor. She keep saying "normal leh".
But then, yest nite, my ger vomitted out some sticky thing. I think is phelgm plus milk. But after the vomit, she still very active, so i'm not worry.
Then now my #1 was coughing badly at nite. One hvnt recover, another one come again. *sigh*</font>

Mornin Mumz..

Felicia..if she is like tis then don look for her liao..pay so much and jus get so brief explanation..not good ler...
Gd tat she throw out the phelgm..my gal didnt throw out leh..hv to kp givg the phlegm medicine...gd tat she is active...
aiyah when hv 2 kids is like tat, one after the other..headache..me goin trip to bali early April..hope she will recover by then...
When one down..i know the next will come..

hello mummies!

brought lil bb to doc's yest cos his ear is "rotting" liao.. wet with broken skin n looks so red and raw.. doc says it's eczema. so, gotta leave the dried scallops out of his porridge from now. and gotta switch back to J&amp;J tip to toe wash ( i just changed to kodomo!). anyway, just pry hard the creams given work soon. n he'll stop scratching n pulling his poor lil ear.

<font color="aa00aa">bleh,
My ger oso have mild ezcema. The problematic part is on her neck, which not able to cured till i get her to see a PD. Then was given the cream which have steriod, after 2 application the redness was gone. Afterwhich i (actually is my MIL lah) diligently apply the california cream on her neck after morning bath and evening.
Initially i oso used J&amp;J wash, but i realised her problem got worsen, tats when i change to GAIA and sebamed wash, then her condition inproved.
Now, i just got my california bathwash, will try after finish the GAIA.
You might want to consider using those bathwash for sensitive skin i/o of J&amp;J. But if ur boy is ok with J&amp;J, no harm to continue leh.</font>

Oops...bleh..'rottin' must be painful for bb..
scallops is the cause for the rash?? oh maybe its seafood huh...
must kp dry liao

<font color="aa00aa">Riz,
I really feel not worthy seeing her lor. Next time, i have to make sure is DR Ooi in the clinic only i'll bring my ger there. (Anyhow hopefully dont need to visit him lah).
Or u r going bali, is another month, i think by then ur ger shld be ok liao.</font>

felicia, i think i switch back to J&amp;J first lor. kodomo v soapy, maybe v drying on his skin ba. but i like the smell... we'll see how things go after switching back lor. then ur girl got problems falling aslp? cos itchy ma, then pek cek. cos my boy is like dat.

bbs v prone to eczema nowadays hor? dunno y leh.

rizty, doc says scallops and eggs, v prone to alleviate allergies... so use those scallops sparingly.

my boy 9mths only, see doc dunno how many times liao. watery stool, measles, chicken pox, vomit, eczema.. damn cham.

Felicia,
u can try purchasing this white powder, odourless,
"QI YI SHAN" (sounds like seven-one-powder),
from those old chinese medical hall.
I mix into their regular body powder.
I suspect this is Zinc-oxide powder,
so it's good for rash...

<font color="aa00aa">Bleh, my ger will scratch her neck when sleep and then flip there and here. So, i have to apply the california cream on her neck then on the air con. I found she had prob sleeping when the weather is warm.</font>

good morning ladies,

Shinely,
i'm also considering putting my kid in infant care, but scared get sick often too. sighs

Morning ladies...
Its mon again...blueblue day for me,.

Shinely,
I am staying sengkang, am sourcing ard for Child care centers now lor...how old is ur bb by the time u shift to SK?

Jp,Felicia,
Tks for all ur advices...My coll booked the Renaissance Hotel. At 1st I tot its going to be bery ex, but everything add up we onli paid $123 for a nite stay with bf and nonya dinner, worth it hor =)..really forward to the trip but before that, I hv to rush out 2 assignments 1st..hiaz..

Janiviy,
wow, nice wor..

Sick bbs,
All the mummies do take care as well ya...bad weather now..

bleh,
Hope ur boy recovers soon ...so ur boy allergic to dried scallops?

fei, doc didnt say it was scallops that causes the eczema. just told me to exclude it since he's itching now..

felicia, btw, i just bought the calendula cream. u think it's useful? i will try to apply it on the sensitive areas everyday.

Few weeks ago, I saw feiei and mag mentioned abt the cheese and yogurt.. wat's the name again?? (sorry, din really look at the name but only remember the photo) hmm.. i saw the pic then went to Cold Storage to buy..

Floyce loves the cheese and finished the whole piece.. MIL was shocked!!

As for the yogurt, I let her tried the banana favour one.. hmm.. after a few spoons.. she dun want.. so I've to finsihed off..

How's the experience for those who had tried??

<font color="aa00aa">bleh,
Yes i find it quite useful, and keeping her neck area moisturised.I did asked the PD, if i can apply normal Johnson's lotion, but he told me better use lotion suitable for ezcema, tats why i stock to calendula cream, but big hole on my pocket lor. Btw, i loves the smell oso. Very nice smell!</font>

<font color="blue">hey felicia,
i dunno whether u heard of Avent's Magic Cream or not..i use dat lah for the rashes..smells nice too..but also not cheap..it's abt $17..juz dat they only sell in philip's showroom in toa payoh.. </font>