(2008/06) June 2008

crystal,
Gwen can hold her own umbrella ah. Lil ZuEn will gong gong stare at the umbrella, wondering why the sky change colour liao. ;p

<font color="ff0000">Last few days...one mummy gave her bb soft tofu n porridge...

i've tried...........n may gal LUV it...
i cooked with fish n tofu
she not enough...keep feeding her...cannot stop
mayb easy for her to munch n swollow.

thanks for sharing
2219696.gif

<font color="aa00aa">sharon,
my ger sees wat adults or her kor kors do, she also wan to do lar...cannot leave her out type lor.

zuen,
different personality lar. gwen luv to play peek-a-boo wif the sun behind the umbrella...she will grin when my MIL uses the umbrella to shield her from the sun (according to my MIL).

cactus,
oh, i'd meant for mine post as a general sharing piece of info ley, not directed at u hor. dun mis-understand yeah. of cos each family ve their own stories lar. since u r at tis, i dun mind sharing, my dad also very active de. btw, he is one of the grassroot leader in the east constitute under prof jayakumar for the last 20yrs liao. he cannot sit still type, if he is not wking, he be at the CCs, RCs, SCs, etc if not will be on holiday-ing, like how he just fly to BBK tis am. my FIL lagi better de, he drink kopi wif frens in the daytime, at nite his buddies call, can still go drinking at clubs type, if not sometime will go kelong for fishing wif his kakis or go golfing in bintan &amp; TH.</font>

For me, only my MIL can take care of my bb. Becos my bro have depression, my mum is ored hands tied taking care of him, then also the environment not so conducive for my bb. So we have to let my MIL take care. But my MIL didn't know abt my family situation. Sometimes she also wonder how come my mum cannot help to take over for awhile so she can take a break. So instead me and my hb will take leave sometimes to give my MIL some break. But after taking care of my bb for some time, my MIL love him a lot and will miss him if he didn't come over for few days.

My MIL even joke tat if some stranger is to take care of my bb, my bb will be "nie dai" bec he is so clingy and cannot be put down! Especially when my bb see only 1 person in the house, he will become so needy tat he dun let the person out of his sight. Sometimes so bad tat even if put him down and sit next to him, he also will cry as if abuse badly.

Got 1 time i take care of him alone at home, then i go kitchen to do puree, he won't let me out of sight so i put him on a chair and let him see me inside kitchen.. but he still dun allow and cry until i carry him..in the end i have to strap him on with my carrier and carry him around doing puree. So i can understand why my MIL need to take a break because sometimes i myself also cannot tahan.

I also cannot be a Stay at home mom..although i want to be a tai tai haaa, tink will drive me crazy.. sometimes i also throw temper at my boy too, esp when he keep crying for no reason.. dunno wat he wants. During my materity, it is so bad tat my mum dare not let me take care bb for too long bec she said i will scold my boy. Got once i get so pei chey tat i throw him on his cot and go off somewhere.. later then go back. But my patience has grew better since then. Nonetheless, my boy still get my temper sometimes.

bizz,
i saw my fren who is from feb thread, they had their celebration at JWT, looks good!
it would be great if you could help us check. ;)

crystal,
aiyo, Gwen is sooo cute, based on your description! I can just imagine her in the bicyle basket, holding an umbrella, with Wai-Gong cycling to lim kopi, sooo "wen-xin"!

cactus...
sori if wat i say will offend u... but i reali dun see how your dad can prefer to spend time telling stories to kids and old folks but not do the same for his own grandchild. he can oso tell stories to Matthew leh... he seems to be (from wat u write) to hv a loving side of him, but i reali find it funny how come he cannot portray this loving nature of his to his own grandchild.

I just gotten a big arrow from my boss.. he allocated a big project to me.. siao liao. maybe he see me surf net.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
nah, my maid brought her out of the palour on &amp; off too while i was there + yd nite was wkday nite, so prob not much crowd, oni me &amp; another customer, so still not too bad on the stench. but thanks for the pointer still.

tera,
i didnt ve my camera wif me today, tomolo, tomolo will post up to show u wat my FIL did &amp; how he &amp; gwen cycle out to drink kopi. i laf till pengz when my FIL demo to me a few nites back.</font>

soyabean, no worries about your post. I also see the apparent irony in what I typed. my dad is very loving towards Matthew but he dislikes giving up his freedom to do things that he likes. even telling stories to kids at library.. the library is walking distance to his home and he does it only once a month. He can also control the time slot that he goes down. in contrast, he is "at Matthew's mercy" as in at 8am, when I go to work, he takes over. and he doesn't stop "working" looking after Matthew until I return home at 615pm. it's a full time job for him... 5 days in a row. not easy. that's his grouse. cos he is used to freedom and doing alot of things during the day outside the home. Hope this explains.

looking after baby should not be taken like a full time job. it's a total devotion out of love. its reali sad your dad sees taking care of Matthew like working on a full-time job.

crystal,

i want to see the cycle! Wana go cycling with hubby but wonder how to with kyler. We tot of putting him in those carrier that people bring for biking( on the back). Not sure how safe.

ur gal so cute. i imagine her taking hk umbrella sitting in basket i already wana laugh.

yes, it's very unfortunate. it's the background of the relationship betwen my parents and ILs. it's very hard to explain properly without doing into details. alot of history and I don't want to bore the mummies. my dad's love for Matthew is not enough to look after him full time. it's his love for me that keeps him going. he feels that Matthew takes on my hb's surname, so my MIL should take care, since she already promised to do so but she failed to carry out her part of the promise. but that's prob at their generation. the practical effect on me is I don't want to stress my dad out regarding Matthew. and cos my maid is simple minded, I deal with Matthew's meals, etc, when other mummies may let their maids/parents/ILs do it, because I don't want my dad or my maid to be too burdened. it's my choice.

<font color="aa00aa">bonjovi,
i'd taken the pics at home when my FIL demo how he goes out in the day wif my ger in tat basket he modifies but of cos gwen didnt ve her umbrella wif her then cos pics were taken at home lar. but promise to post the photo up here tomolo to show u gers...

yes, gwen can be pretty comical at times, my MIL said she nvr had her hands these full taking care of my other 2 nephews previously. gwen supercede them in being michievous liao.

kekekeke...so i m tempting u to try for #2 soon? :p

feifei,
trust me, it is also a battle for me to try to cut gwen's nails when she is awake, hence i m amaze tat she allows the manicurist to trim her nail for her yd, my jaws dropped.</font>

felicia,ioio,
My coll arragning to go Malacca in 2wks time lor, so far we source the agencies, its cost abt $100+ for 2d1N stay at Hotel Equatorial lor + bf..Wan go there walk walk lor..Wats nice there?

I dun think that grandparents who do not take care of their grandchildren should be labelled as they dun love their grandchildren. Some people are just not cut out to take care of bbs. As parents ourselves, we also cannot take care of our own child 24/7 let alone another person. Just something I feel. Anyway my both set of parents are not willing to take care of my girl, but I do not think that they do not love her.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">shiny, feifei..

planning for a short trip..thinking of driving there ;p but scared i will faint if handlng him alone in car as he got sharp buttock..;p desperate for a short trip.. thinking of cruise too but kind of ex and it's killing if eat 5 meals a day.. cant imagine if my weight shoot up futher..

i know there's temple, churches..etc...</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">of cource if u love nonya food.. if can really hv a great feast there.. tt day w TV and they intro the sambal petai (stink bean)..wow.. petai bean is my favourite lor..;p</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">ioio,
yes, i'm the one always go back to malacca coz my hubby is from there mah. We always drove back during early morning around 5am plus, so no much car, plus our kids can sleep in the car, easier to handle as well.
Fyi, most of the places in Malacca does not have nursery room, so be prepare to change ur baby in the stroller.

Feifei,
U'll bring ur ger there too? Btw, the hotel u stay in is at the central of malacca. Just 1-2mins walk is the pahlawan shopping ctr. In front is the mahkota shopping ctr. You can go to try the ferris wheel 'eye on malaysia' as well. Boat ride oso have.
Food wise, must try satay celup, chicken rice ball and nyonya chendol.
If u r there during Friday and Sat nite, you can go to Jonker street, many things is selling there. Got many foods stall oso.
Which date you'll be there? i'll be back on 21 Mar leh.</font>

My girl knows how to say.. Mam Mam.. when she's hungry or want to eat something le.. yea yea..
Realized she called out a few times for the past few days..

BB sitter also mentioned that she knows how to say "lai lai" (come come)

Then she told me that my girl pretend/act like my dog.. panting while crawling.. @-@ **faint** I hope she's not being influenced by my 2 doggies at home..

<font color="blue">crystal,
u r rite..girls will always be girls...but she's so cute lor..knows how to "da ban" @ such a young age..can imagine her growing up into a fine young lady next time.. </font>

Hmm...I'm just wondering how LUXURIOUS can it be to b able to use slow cooker to prepare food for our babies.

Any mummies can enlighten my doubt?

Mag,

I can't find baby yogurt when i go TPY NTUC. thks for telling me, i planning to look on weekend.

crystal,

it is good tat little gals know "da ban" lor. Nowadays a lot of tom boys, i tink better to cutivate girlish behaviour from young. same for boy.

Is it true tat moms who has maid will look more pretty? Cos i tink will have more time to doll up etc. Sometimes i wonder whether i am maid myself lor. need to clean this and tat then prepare bb food. So busy tat i hardly find time to interact with my boy during weekends. so nowadays i cutting down on the homemade puree stuff, supplementing with baby jars while having 1-2 homemade stuff.

Ellysia,
My hubby is complaining already.. He says "I want back my wife, I dun want a maid (which is me)".. haha

I'm thinking of getting a maid.. but there're lots of BUTsss..

crystal,
wow..your gwen so good...can sit still while you doing mani ah? I wish my reanne can be like her man..she will make noise wor..
Brought her to get some stuff recently at JP, was carrying her..and when I stop to look at something too long..(3mins) she will kick her legs as if telling me "ok liao bor..can we move on?"...fed up leh..hahaha

Hi felicia,

Do u know malacca where to find nice noya food?
I have went to the jonker street to eat the famous chicken rice ball and chandol is really very nice. we also went to the shopping mall at the town too. As my hotel (hotel Inn) got provide the free transport.

felicia,
tks for the infor..nope, will be just me and hb lor, will leave my ger at home for a day..no choice lor, cos we takign a 26t seater coach, not convenient to bring her along..

I going on 21st mar leh..U mean u will be back to spore on 21st Mar?Meaning u come bk, then I go =)..

<font color="aa00aa">janiviy,
ha, wait long long for my gwen to sit still while i do mani. she oni sit still for herself to do her "mani" - when the manicurist kindly offered to trim her chipped fingernail. other than that, my gwen was up &amp; down, in &amp; out all over the plc. flip the nail polish chart lar, explore the nail polishes lar, play peek-a-boo wif me from my back lar. non-stop de...i m sure the manicurists must be glad to see us depart after the entire session. LOL</font>

Ellysia,
Baby yogurt so far I only saw Cold Storage Parkway Parade have but cos no plain so I din buy. Janiviy said she bot fr Suntec Carrefour but hers is wif fruits, I not sure if they have kosong ones.

I've been looking for this kosong baby yogurt for quite awhile liao but cos couldn't find so I bot adult plain yogurt. Since I bot this liao, I can make my own using this baby yogurt.

U can go Thomson Plaza's Fairprice, it's on the right hand side of the entrance in the organic section.

Hello Mummies...

have any mummies started to train your bb to sleep by themselves? i just started training her... she is supposed to take afternoon nap after her milk feed... but she dun wanna sleep.. so i put her in her playpen.. let her cry till tired and sleep.. do you think this is alright?

<font color="aa00aa">Hi shinely,
Really pai seh if i told you that so far, i hvnt eat any aunthentic nyonya food lor. My hubby only brought some nyonya kueh to shut my mouth. (sorry for grumbling about this again here).
But i know the famous nyonya food rest is just a few street away from the jonker street. I cant remember the street name but if you know where is the Hotel Puri (those old historical hotel). The restaurant is at the same street as the hotel.</font>

Ellysia,
I asked that question cos some1 here (can't recall who lah) posted that she doesn't have the luxury of time like some mummies who use slow cooker so I'm just wondering lor if using a slow cooker is considered a luxury.

Have maid, will mummy look better? Sad to say, it really depends lor cos I've seen mummies wif maids looking after babies &amp; they themselves still look as if a hurricane just swept across their faces. It really depends on how trusting u r wif your maids. If u r still paranoid &amp; wants to b hands on for everything then I dun think u will have time to make yourself mei mei lor. I have a few frens who can still look good like some of the mummies here that I've met.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
21 March, same as me lah! I'm goin back mlk on that day! hehe....
Yours is free and easy? how many days? so shiok, only u and hubby.
Is had been long long time i had a holiday w hubby only. *sigh8</font>

felicia,
wow, duno if we will meetup hor =)..hee

Mine is free and easy lor =)..But so far haven book yet, we are gathering my colls now lor..

Tink there are afew new shopping centers hor?

Mag,
tks for the infor on the yogurt..

Mag,

I wonder cos sometimes i feel i like quite jiat lat so i wonder is it those who have maid will have more time to doll up. My ambition is to be a pretty mum but seems like its v far.

Slow cooker - I bot those v small size one, its cheap. I dun tink it is a luxury. U still need to check on the stuff occasionally, not like u can go off doing some other stuff. I got tat bec' i burnt several times using normal pot when i need to go off to take care of bb and thus the porridge burn in the pot.

Thus i tink those who have time to using normal pot should be more 'luxurious' instead. Only us who dun have time then use slow cooker lor.

Mag...
hmmm... if u bgt it at NTUC Finest, this means not all NTUC will carry this... there are oni a few NTUC Finest outlets in SG. But it reali looks interesting. I never knew there are kosong yogurt. :p

warrior...
ur girl so cute... she cld be early in speech.
mine hv been saying "mama" for the past one week. She will call out "mama" sometimes when i walk away from her. it reali warms me up when i hear that.

ellysia...
if u dun wan a maid, u shld consider getting part-time help to clean ur house during the weekend. this will ensure that u can spend more time wif bb oso. and oh... hehe... learn how to "da ban" in a short time. i hv mastered that already, wif 2 kids in toll and mornings are always a rush to get ready for work. :p

Soyabean,
ya it took me a long time to find it. Mayb u can call &amp; check which Finest outlet is convenient for u &amp; carries this if u want to let your ger try. I just tasted it &amp; it tastes the same as the 1 I made.

Ellysia,
Dun worry too much abt it, once your boi is abt 2yrs then u can have more time to doll up liao. The 1st year is always the worst cos too much things to worry about.

felicia...
my last holiday alone wif hubby is in 2005, a one night stay in Bintan. pathetic or not? dat was when my boy was 10 mths old. and even on that night away, both of us kept toking and thinking abt our boy.... wat a holiday... haha...

Mag...
I hv a NTUC Finest abt 15mins bus ride from my place, and if i take bus home from work, i will passby there. mayb i will dropby tmr evening after work, then can let my ger eat over the weekend. thanks so much for the info btw.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">housework... think my husband does more housework then i.. vacuum..hang clothe..etc i am more of bb stuff like sterlise bottle, prepare food, taking care..etc..

think hv a maid will be good but got no room for her and feel weird to hv a stranger at home.. no privacy.. ;( but a good maid does helps a lot and can be treated as a family member oso lah..

anyone like petai (stink bean) here? drool.. ;p think i like smeely food like chou tofu oso... ha ha.. but i dun eat durian..</font></font>