(2008/06) June 2008

dunno if babylove will hv foogo stock... cos all her BPs now in a mess man...

Tera...
dats wat i do too...
slow cooker cook then put in foogo... i even use foogo to store hot water to bring out when i need to feed cereal outside.

cactus...
u can help in easing her wif housework too. find easier and more convenient methods for her. e.g. use the magiclean lor... that one can pick up all hairs and dust. and easy to use leh...

<font color="blue">soyabean,yes..i read the instructions from the food jar..or else wont noe dat it can keep food hot for so long leh!!! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,
The way you talk about ur maid, make me so guilty that macam i mistreat/ stress my MIL leh.
She ALONE no only need to take care of my YuJie, she still need to bring my #1 to/from childcare. She need to prepare dinner, she need to sweep/ mop floor, need to wash cloths, bath my 2 kids, prepare YuJie's meal, putting her to sleep, etc.

Wait i go back, must give a BIG KISS to my MIL!</font>

Cactus
JTS...not enforcing that you shld follow my way. Like you I also freeze veg cubes &amp; stock for cooking porridge. I am lazy actually...since I am a SAHM.

In the morning around 7:30am,...I just measure 2 tbsp rice and add defrost stock that I made earlier. By 11:30am, porridge is nice &amp; soft..I will add the frozen veg cubes and let it come to boil again. Then I store the porridge in the lunch jar.. slow cooker is easy as you dun need to watch it so often...

Anyway, everyone will have different menthods of doing things...just see what suits you best.

jan...
haha... i hvnt organise spree at target b4 actuali... oni join spree... u wanna start? i sure join. :p can show me the HK foodjar link?

Been busy since lunch.

sharon,

I going to try out yr method again.. this is wat i done it one mth ago but my boy spit it out.. will try again cos i tink its a easier method. but fish i prefer to steam n mash in a separate plate so tat i can spot any fish bones before adding to porridge. if mix with porridge will be v hard to spot fish bones. although i usu use cod or threadfin with v little bones, just want to make sure safe.

cactus,

wat u mentioned is the technique babies use to self-soothe themselves to sleep. bec they dunno how to go to sleep themselve, this is one of way they learn to sleep.

jan...
i teach u... haha...
hmm... i do the spree abit later can? cos now doing the celebrate express leh... :p dun wan too many sprees going on at one time... v siong one...

Btw, any of u mummies let ur bb watch Your Baby Can Read? i am tempted to buy and let my girl watch.

Re: Food jar

My food jar is from Robinsons, i bot around $50. Can't remember the brand, its blue colour. So far if i put in porridge and bring out within 3 hrs consumption is still same temp. I have not tried beyond 3 hrs yet.

Slow cooker is good! But usually for me, i cook 2 meals. then will off the slow cooker, then on it back 30mins b4 dinner to warm it. I dun put in food jar unless i want to bring it out.
if i want to add different vegs, i will only add the pre-cook veg puree in the baby feeding dish, then pour the porridge in. So the vegs for different meals can be different.

cactus,

Received yr sms.. dun worry its ok, we can meet up next week if u can't meet tmr.

re: maid problem

if brand new maid dun work get some maid with experience in singapore like mine.. 8 yrs experience in sg. Got no prob in telling her wat to do.. i know nuts about housework so its good for mi and our singlish she can understand and a bit of hokkien and chinese. When we say something bad bout what she has done today, tomolo she will guai guai go and do.. haha

housework sometimes close one eye lor cos take care baby is very siong one... everyday mop and sweep floor very impt cos baby moving ard the house. my maid hardly have time for house work cos baby wake up regularly in the night to play even when lights are off. so difficult to take care and need lots of attention. cos i tell her baby come first.. you got to tell her what is your own priority and make sure she follow...

soyabean &amp; jan, u 2 r tempting me to part with money...haha.... if i have a girl, i will buy the HK thermos man! super cutesy!!! and i love PINK! haha....

Bizz, i din noe that can pour hot water in to pre-heat the fooger. i'm gg to do that next time!

Morning girls..

Janiviy,
Their course can be on a few days wor. To join them, I have to be taitai for many days. Hohoho. Might as well be a real taitai. My hb is gg to faint. ;p

Morning ladies..

soyabean,janiviy,
Wow, u gers hor, tempt me with the HK foodjar..if u are organising spree for that, pls let me know hor =), i wan to get some hk teeshirts there too =)..hee..Nice wor..

soyabean,
I let my ger awtch bb can read lor, but she dun like leh..she prefers barney wor..

ZuEn,Felicia,
Morning =).

Morning feifei,
I caught my girl watch MTV yday with my hb. My hb is supposed to watch over her while I do household chores. Then the 2 of them stare at the MTV. -.o"

<font color="blue">hey ladies, me here also..those gooing the bday bash hor..can suggest any place?? i think the jwt dat shern posted is gd lah..maybe i will call them n check it out..

mlp,
it's really gd..u try preheating 1st..i always do dat..the porridge still hot hot leh..hehe..

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
i m guilty when it come to the bday bash cos i offered to come up wif a theme wif zuen &amp; some of the other gers but ended up didnt follow up on it too cos now it's peak period for me in my area of wk.

morning ladies...
stiff back today...argh!

re: holidays
my hb has given the green light to bring jade to our taiwan trip but on 1 condition. is to persuade my FIL to come along...difficult task!

cactus,

I read about the amount of time/ pain you have put in preparing food for Mathew and I am very concerned.

Like all first x mum and maybe becos of my personality, i can be very anxious about what the caregiver ( my mum and helper) feeds him, does with him in the day etc. I tend to want to tend to all his needs.

But at the end of the day, i feel we have to be mindful of not only baby's physical needs but also their emotional needs.With the amount of time/energy u put in ensuring he is well fed, i wonder how u r still able to smile, read, play , crawl and basically enjoy him? (rem u mentioned M sleeping at 7.30pm adn u need to spend x preparing food at 6am!)U mentioned your difficulties in letting go and your anxiety,I cant help but wondered wat kind of vibes and message r u sending him?

Being a parent is something new to all of us. Every child is unique and there is no 1 best way to nurture them. Lets continue learning and growing with them. Yr parents love yr baby and they would not mind doing the extra mile for them. Did yr dad comment about caring for Mathew of is it your assumption that he is a man and he minds? Just allow yr dad and people around u to be more involved.

My apology if i am too blunt or misunderstood you. I just wana share my tots.

cactus...
your situation is indeed tacky. and u were mentioning u are going to TTC for no2. in this kind of situation, i think its better u sort out the caretaking arrangements and manage your parents' expectations first b4 u hv another one.

<font color="aa00aa">my dad travels weekly all the way from east to north by bus or mrt just to see my ger, buy breakfast &amp; lunch for hb, me &amp; bb before travelling back home the same way. he is more than happy if he gets to bring gwen out for swims at safra or just shopping at nearby mall. even if he has to wk on wkends, he will snatch lunch break to travel from Town to North jus to c his precious granddaughter &amp; then back to wk for a half an hr even. isn't tat tiring for a elderly? i feel bad &amp; unfilial as a daughter but tat doesnt stop a grandfather from loving his granddaughter &amp; pulling all the plugs &amp; go all the way to spend time wif her. honestly, tis is wat i call LOVE.

my FIL spent all his time trying to modify things for my ger jus so tat he can cart her all over the places while i m at wk although my MIL would rather my FIL leaves my ger at home wif the maid. As a man, he doesnt use sarong, so he modify his bicycle to hold an extra basket in front to ferry her ard as he goes drinking kopi wif his frens. This is wat i call LOVE.

both my dad &amp; my FIL LOVEs both my hb &amp; me &amp; therefore transit tat to LOVE for my ger &amp; going all the extra miles for the little one, tis is in my opinion, wat LOVE is all about. There shouldnt be a boundary of wat LOVE can cross or cant cross, not especially when it comes to babies.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">soya,
yar lor, tat's y just the other day bought her her own HK umbrella cos she can shelter herself when either go mkting wif ah mah or go lim kopi wif ah gong, sitting in ah gong's bicycle basket mah.</font>

<font color="blue">wah crystal,
gwen is so smart..can hold umbrella on her own now..n @ such a young age noes how to protect her beautiful skin liao..not bad ah.. hehe

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cheers to thursday.. felicia.. r u the one who always went back to malacca? is driving there tough?</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">bizznow,
aiya, gers are gers lar. inborne natural instinct to wan to look good lar. u know hor, yd evening i went mani, so brought my ger along cos no one is at home to look after her mah. then while waiting for me she chipped one of her fingernails. m i amaze when she guai guai sit in my lap &amp; let the manicurist trim it for her ley. goodness, she wun even let tis mummy here trim her nails for her while awake, i always ve to do it when she sleeps. aiyo!. oh yes, &amp; every day she will wan my MIL to "blow dry" her hair for her wif my MIL's hairdryer, she wun settle for the toy one we bought for her. so my MIL will pretend to "blow" her hair for her lor w/o switching on the dryer lor...</font>