(2008/06) June 2008

Mag,
Don't mention about booastful. For been 1st time Mum, whenever BB is doing something which is out of our expectation,will tends to say out & its call sharing. Sometimes will be more extreme but the aim is notto boast but only delighted & sharing thoughts. This is what everyone will go through too. Subconsciously we will lost ourselves at times too yeah

Veniz,
I don't mind if wanna drop my house but only worry the place is out of convenience
My house is welcome any friends for sure yeah!

June Bday Bash
--------------
Wow the list started liao. But cant really confirm for my side as I have alot things to tie up. Maybe I try confirm when its drawing near or when start planning? Do not wish to miss out any fun & gatherings with you all.......

Sometimes here is like a place for us not only sharing but a place to find real friends too

Thanks for the support mummies

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">shycloud, u oso book aloha resort? me thinkingof tt too but trying to get a civil servant to book then cheaper lor..

cactus.. on and off..quite sometime liao..milk think when they are full will tend to sleep.. jux like us...</font></font>

thanks for sharing ioio. I was very puzzled cos it only started on Monday. for both his naps and bedtime. he will make that sound. unless we give him a little more milk. but already, he is drinking ALOT! He had 120ml porridge at 530pm yesterday. At 7pm, he had 240ml. At 725pm, he made noise at bedtime. my mom suggested topping him up with additional 50ml. He drank it all up. then zzz-ed! His total milk volume for yesterday was 950ml.. that's over and above 3 meals. I mean, if it's his normal consumption, then ok, but it's excessive loh.. even for his norm.. my mom told me perhaps cos he is not really suffering from teething pains anymore so appetite back to normal. I also agree, if he wants to drink, let him drink loh. but just wondering if it's a phase, cos if I let him sleep with milk, cannot clean his teeth before bedtime..

ioio...
how u? better r/s with your MIL? ;p

u got any frens whose CS to help you book? aloha not cheap leh...i also think for very long before decided to go for it.

<font color="blue">cactus,
juz wondering ah..how u measure the porridge amt?? for milk i noe can lah..cos milk bottle got indicator mah..but porridge how to measure?? currently i only agar agar like how many tablespoons my baby eat only leh.. </font>

bizznow, cos I prepare the porridge in the morning then put into avent bottle for my maid to feed during the day. She doesn't feed from bowl. She warms up the porridge with the bottle warmer.

I grind rice powder in advance, and prepare chicken stock in advance (once a week). In the mornings, I will put pre determined amount of rice powder into stock, and cook in microwave oven for predetermined time. Then I spoon the porridge into avent bottle (with sealing discs) which already have vegs inside. Then put in fridge. my maid just takes out the bottle during mealtimes, warm and mix, then feed. so she records the amount bb eats.

bizznow,
Was about the type this question to cactus also. Coz I only know how to aga aga by looking at the rice bowl..1/4 rice bow, 1/2 rice bowl.etc

shycloud,
yes. i like your kill 2 birds with 1 stone but i will leave to my parents to decide. actually, i rather pay for them to go on their own so that they can really rest and relax. but, they may se bu de their previous grandson too hor!!

tera,
i even thought of bringing him to thailand on my own to meet hubby. but, i really not sure i can handle leh.

the thought of going hk is so exciting. i love the place. just bring lucas. with hubby and yourself should be able to cope. just have to adjust expectation.

Measuring food
i super lazy mummy. i just agar agar. will give about 4/5 bowl ( pigeon feeding bowl)

soyabean, I guess it can be done lah. hehe! my parents never complain. I insist on cooking Matthew's food myself... as in, finish the final product before I go to work, so using slow cooker is not an option. I guess it's the same as us adults eating left over rice or food the next day? it's definately not as good as immediately cook, then eat hot cos have chance of bacteria in the porrdige but so far, Matthew has been okay with it. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Bonjovi, actually measuring food isn't important. you are not a lazy mummy lah. i just feel more in control of Matthew's care if the caregivers record in a book on his sleeping and feeding schedule. makes it easier for me at night and during weekends. like, if the maid wasn't able to feed him much for his dinner at 530pm, I come home, no need to ask maid. just look at the book, then decide whether or not to feed him small snack before bedtime milk, before sending him to zzzz.
Likewise, cos my mom and I look after Matthew at night, we know his night feeds and if there are any night mares/night terrrors, we also record these in the book, so that the maid can refer to when she takes over during the day. no need to talk and waste time. just check the book when she is free before she takes over Matthew. Also, cos I feed Matthew his breakfast before I go to work, the maid needs to know how much he eats for breakfast, so that she can decide how much milk or what time to feed him milk. like today, he only took 60ml of fruit puree when normally 120ml. so she gave him more milk and slightly earlier also.. that helped to bring him back to normal schedule for lunch time. My mom gave me the idea of recording in a book cos she asked her maid to do it last time when she was at work.

measuring food:
i just realised i may have overfed my bb cos she can finish quite an amt - 2/3 of a chinese bowl..then again i see she never refuse so i continue feeding...must control liao ar!

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, does you know is not advisable to use microwave to cook the food? especially for baby food.
Microwave cooking significantly changes food nutrients. Since you're so resourceful, i'm sure you do read up the danger of microwave before. </font>

yah, Felicia, Microwave is not good, but I don't have the luxury of time like some mummies who use slow cooker. I dont want to stress my maid out by asking her to also cook for matthew. During the day, it is quite tiring for her to look after Matthew already. She doesn't even have time to cook lunch for herself or my dad.. they just go out to eat every day. so it's up to me to cook Matthew's lunch for him loh. I think nutrition wise, it's still okay, cos so far, Matthew has not fallen ill yet.. except for ezcema. My mom told me if bb is not ill, putting on weight or learning skills, sleeping enough, it means he's an okay bb and we're doing stuff correctly for him. keeping my fingers crossed though.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,
OMG! but y even take the chance of having bacteria in porridge that may cause Matthew harm, then keep your fingers crossed tat he'll be fine? yur dad or the maid can cook in the slow cooker during the day de. certain things we ve to let go since we choose to wk rather than SAHM. i simply dun understand why take a chance at Matthew's health jus because u wan to be in ctrl of Matthew's food. *shake head*

ps: apology if u find me too direct on tis but i still feel very strongly tat watever we do, our bbs overall health is of the utmost importance.</font>

cactus, hmm porridge best not to leave inside fridge or to freeze.. even adults dont eat frozen and thawed porridge. y dont you use a food jar?

shycloud, Re: possible overfeeding, I think as long as your girl is growing well, PD never say she is overly fat, it's okay to continue feeding what she is used to cos if she is very active or sleep little, she may eat more than another bb who sleeps alot and is not so active. I'm saying this cos I was a very inactive bb. I would sleep for hours and hours.. (I learned to flip only at 9 months!!!)... and my parents thought i'd starve but of course I didn't - survived until now. but they look at Matthew, he eats sooo much, but he's very very active, they can see a difference loh. important is I think not to force feeding a bb but let her have the amount she wants, unless it affects her milk intake. cos milk is still very important up to 1 year old.

i agree wif the rest leh... it will be better to put them in a food jar. a good one will ensure the food stays warm for at least 5hrs.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">shycloud.. more neutral now... wat abt u leh? when she dun pass unpleasant wave to me.. normally i close one eye..

aloha.. yup quite ex.. thus see whether can get a civil servant or SAF to book lor.. ;p long time nv go chalet liao.. so feel like booking one..

</font></font>

crystal, no worries lah. I know you are concerned about Matthew. actually so far, Matthew is okay, so I'm not that concerned. I know it's a "why take the chance" thing. Let's put it this way - I don't ask my dad to look after Matthew.. cos he is a man. not a lady. different. I just ask him to supervise the maid and play with Matthew. relief the maid when she needs to shower, etc. as for the maid, she doesn't have the time or the "brain capacity" to deal with the additional task of preparing food. she is not very bright. but she is very obedient. she can handle food warming, but if I ask her to prepare 2 differen tmeals for Matthew, then also have to prepare fruit puree after the porridge, I think she will be blur loh. Actually, one thing you said is very correct. I can't let go of many things. but that's the way I am. I'm quite a control freak. everything has to be in tiptop condition, in a precise manner if it passes through my hands. If something breaks down, i must have backup for it.. hehe. anyway, Matthew has been taking this since 6 months. He's already 8.5 months. whatever bacteria there is is probably already in his tummy and he's resistent to it. bbs cannot have super clean food lah, I feel. Good to give him some rubbish and to let him build up immunity.

bleh, the food jar I have is quite large in capacity. too much air inside will cool the porridge also. I give Matthew different porridges for lunch and dinner. Also, I think bacteria will multiply if near to room temp. so I prefer to prepare porridge then immediately put in fridge to cool so that bacteria don't multiply that quickly. I suspect if I use food jar, cos there is alot of air inside, the temp will drop quicker and maintain only at room temp.. then may be more prone to bacteria.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. slow cook is slow... ha ha.. u can cook in the morn and will be jux nice for lunch.. </font></font>

ioio...
same here lor...numb i should say haha

u try booking SAF yatch chalet @ changi? heard from my colleague she paid only 80 plus for 4 nites niah...dirt cheap!

soyabean, do you have any food jar to recommend if i need to keep porridge warm for 12 hours? cos I prepare porridge before Matthew wake up at about 5am+.. but Matthew's dinner is at 530pm.... (headache)..

ioio, I can't use slow cooker, cos I need to wait for porridge to be cooked, then add in veg. but I give Matthew different veg for lunch and then dinner.. so how ah? I have a small slow cooker but dun know how to use it...

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. i guess bacteria multiply when it's in open air.. food jar are suppose to be air tight.. i use foogo.. so far so good.. i give once in afternoon and the 2nd time is from food jar, even at nite it's still hot when open up ;p </font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, using slow cooker will caused stress?? I suppose this is the easier way of cooking porridge comparing to oth method. Just pop everything in and on the switch. Few hrs later, hot hot porridge is ready.
My MIL was alone handling my ger in the daytime and she's the one do the porridge cooking too. I dont think she find it as a stress as she reject my offer to help her in cooking the porridge.
And now you're taking the risk by cooking with microwave!</font>

<font color="blue">cactus,
i think u r wrong abt food jar.. i think food jars are meant to keep food warm..not to keep it @ room temperature.. there r so many food jars dat does the same thing..u can preheat the food jar using hot water then pour away the hot water n put in ur porridge..i've tried it..after 6hrs the porridge is still as hot as when it was juz cooked.. maybe u wanna consider changing ur food jar.. if it has more wind then i think fridge has even more..all the moist will go into the porridge n after baby eat oredi stomach will hv lots of wind..so easy to be colicky n hv bloated stomach.. </font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">either buy 2 slow cooker or give same veg a day and another the other day or mix both veg lor.. normally i mix potato, brocolli, sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot, tofu..etc.. 2-3 type together

for me, i cook porridge in the slow cooker, grate the vegs and put in fridge, about 1-2 hr before fully cook, i then add in the veg</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,
i dun expect to give bbs a bubble envt to live in nor super clean food, considering my own ger luv to grab things &amp; put into her mouth b4 i can even stop her. but tat is beside the case. things tat we can ctrl such as giving possible bacteria-fitered porridge is a big NO NO cos can cause wind/colic to bbs.

i've mentioned my concern on tis but ultimately u r Matthew's mummy. we sure treat our bbs differently. i shall rest my case here...</font>

thanks so much mummies for your valuable input! I think I'm sold on the foodjars! they look so pretty too! I don't really want the maid to do anymore than she already is doing cos Matthew is a very active bb. She will be stressed loh. she's very simple minded. even my mom has complains about her.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus... u can cook in the morn.. it's the same as u use microwave.. </font></font>

actuali using slow cooker is the most idiot proof way to cook porridge. jus put the rice in, fill enuf water and then leave it on to cook. wif guidance, ur maid will soon be able to do it. and ur parents oso.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, is not just sounds easy but is ready easy to hands on as well. Ultimately the decision is yours!</font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">soya.. so nice... dun tempt me leh... i like design stuff.. ;</font></font>

bizznow's method of using the food jar is correct. pour hot water into it and leave it for 10min and then pour away and put the food in. this will make sure the food stay hot longer. even the instructions on the food jar states this method.

cactus...
if ur maid is capable of taking care of matt's needs, i think she will be able to do more for him i.e. cook for him. this may take a while for her to learn but if u dun start to train her, she will never learn cos there are no opportunities for her to do so. if u r worried that cooking will take time away from her to take care of matt, then all the more u shld explore methods to help her in cooking e.g. use slow cooker etc.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">soya.. hee.. luckily i got a foogo jar from bebeluv liao..else might really click lor..

cactus, u might like to chk w bebeluv, think she sld hv some stock left.. but now a lot of place got 20% + 7% so sld be cheap oso..</font></font>

soya,
lol! i SO agree that slow cooker is an idiot-proof way of cooking porridge. even my myanmar maid can do it!! so i wonder who else cannot do it. :p after the porridge has been in the slow-cooker for about 3 hours, she will then transfer into the trusty foogo food jar. i thought we had discussed abt the food jar countless times in this forum and the usefulness of it. anyway, she has been doing a a very good job so far and enabling my lucas to have fresh hot piping porridge everyday!

I'll think about it, Soyabean. thanks for the suggestion. She's not very good with housework, etc, loh. my priority now is to train her to be good in housework (she is so bad at cleaning the home.. she didn't notice several strands of hair in the walk in wardrobe until 2 weeks later when my dad cleaned the floor in her face!). We're in the process of moving house, so I think step by step, cos my mom told me these maids are not very smart.. they are very simple minded and cannot stress them or they may fumble. priority now is Matthew and his care. I can still do the porridge.