(2008/06) June 2008

Hi all mummies, just 1 2 share a comment which my hubby made abt me last nite. He said that I better not b too boastful about Athan as too much of boastfulness may turn ppl around me(on/offline) super OFF.

He also said that he heard fr me there r a couple of mummies who r a bit extreme wif their boasts in this forum too & he actually asked me how r the rest of the mummies reacting, I told him lately forum really so quiet until I also abit sian & he said maybe I've been too boastful in my sharings & that the mummies here r so "pissed" that they might have decided to boycott this thread. (Big Big Pai Say to mummies who r turned off by me. Sorry sorry!)

But I told him I'm a 1st time mummy & a SAHM, being abit more descriptive is unavoidable but he said MODERATION is the KEYWORD, a couple of sentences will do(On/offline), dun have to keep refreshing ppl's memory by constantly repeating baby's achievement/schedules cos it's not as if I'm the only one who has a baby.

Cham, I better keep that in mind or else my hubby & frens will all run away fr me.

janiviy

yr gal feeding is ok... mine also like tat but at least yours wont wake up in the middle of the night to feed.

my gal normally

8 plus 9am breakfast with HT cereals about 12-13 flat tablespoon

ard 1 plus 2pm lunch with porriage - small round bowl 3/4 full (if i'm out will replace with milk)

ard 6pm - 7pm dinner either ht cereals or porriage

3am - 4am milk 180ml

my gal dun really drink at 10pm or 11pm.. she refuse to take her milk so maybe will let her drink at before she sleep liao.. i think she is getting too little milk...

Mag...

Sharing is ok but too descriptive is too much lah... haha... What i have learn is KISS - keep it short and sweet...

I think more mummies not appearing is because of little monster at home lah.. mi also like their tat only after baby sleep then can come in see see look look but by then all mummies sleeping liao...

I think we 1st time mum tend to be over anxious bout our little monster achievement but jus KISS can liao...

Each time i come in only slient reader cos nothing much to share cos all development of babies the same... either yours early or late wat... nothing to FUSS about...

Jan

I sometime scared i feed her too much because of her size... haha... i always call my gal fat fat.. haha....

hopefully she will slim down when she grow older... haha...

I just let my gal try Happybellies star pasta.. haha her reaction so funny.. keep telling her to chew... seems like she enjoy it leh... can try on yr gal... I also bought the macaroni have not let her try yet...

cactus,
get someone with a van to help with the balloon?
If a lot, you can rent a helium tank & deliver it to your party ground & Inflate them there.

Feifei,
Ok...will take note, thanks

Ellysia, Cactus,
Thanks for the advise and sharing your schedule.

Cythia,
Ya...will take your advise. Brought her to PD, PD also say not a must to intro 3 meals now since her weight percentile is at 90%.

Pris,
Your girl only drink 1 time milk ah??? abit too little..just now PD advise if bb refuse milk..then intro soft cheese & yogurt. Think coz they growing fast...so need alot of calcium bah.

Pris,
I got buy the stars...but have not let her try. These few days she is really "killing" me...I almost 1/2 dead now. Don't want milk,...don;t wanna eat...cry and cry last night from 1-3am..
sick AND teething...walau...can die. Ultimate super duper Cranky...

Morning girls.

Felicia,
Your girl's cake looks bigger than her wor. She must be one proud lady on her bday.

Tera,
I wanted to bring bb overseas too but hb & my timing not gam. After checking so many less adventurous venues, still have to stay in Sgp. Haiz..

Janiviy,
I suspect my girl teething too. Super cranky. Keep whinning and complaining.

Re: Tantrum
I realised that my girl is starting to throw tantrum. Like she will cry/ whine/ grumble when we stop her from doing she wants. It this part of growing up or a result of us spoilting her rotten huh? I am worried that it is the latter leh. Faint...

Oh, by the way, I am super keen on taking up baking lessons recently. Anybody has recommendations? I am not considering Community centers bcos I am only interested in bday cakes & cupcakes but CC teaches all kinds of cakes during their lessons.

Morning ladies..

Zuen,
I believe this is their temper lor..My ger also does that, worst of it is, if she dun like, she kick her legs like throw thantrum, so naughty rite..hiaz...Guess its their growing phase..

<font color="blue">morn ladies,
dunn think i can not go to my colleague's wedding..we r only a small dept..n he inviting all of us..n we work closely..so must give face..

huihui's mummy,
i like ur new term.. "KISS" this is something new..

zuen,
u there??wat happen to the bday bash list?? do u still hv it?? r we still going ahead?? i was thinking the JWT package that shern posted last time was quite a gd deal leh..

oh yah..n on egg white n egg yolk..i think we r suppose to give egg yolk 1st..egg white can only be taken after 1..dat's wat my pd said..there's this jab dat babies need to take when they r 15mths i think for measles..n it contains egg yolk..dat's y we need to let babies take egg yolk to c if they are allergic.. if they r then cant take the jab liao..

morning...

eve started having fever since yest evening... its going on and off... dunno wats wrong... hv given her paracetamol... no other sick symptoms... hope fever will go away soon.

Pris...
how many milk feed is E taking now in a day? mine takes 4 feed of 160ml and my mum is telling me she is drinking too little milk oso. i'm now wondering whether to increase it to 180ml...

Mag...
aiyoh... how can u say that abt urself? u seldom appear here leh, so how can we see u as boastful? u r not lah...

ok... going back to bury my head in work... will check back later when i hv time...

<font color="blue">hey tera n shycloud, u all intending to go taiwan ah?? it's gd!!! i enjoyed it last time when me n hb went there for our wedding photoshoot there.. but becareful hor..cos got lots of nice xiao chi there..we pratically eat non-stop..haha..so come back put on weight..hhehe.. </font>

Tera/ shycloud,
I have booked tix to Thailand for a weekend since hubby be there for training. Initially din want to bring kyler. Reason being concern of hygiene level, kyler not being happy with trip ( now he is so obsessed with crawling that he would rather crawl then be carried around and also felt had neglected hubby after bb born. Over last weekend, kept feeling she bu de. So, yesterday asked my parents if they keen to go. If so, will bring kyler along. Really cant stand my indecisiveness.Haiz...

Brought both sets of parents to Taiwan package tour. They enjoyed themselves. Worth considering.

Janiviy,

I love the pic of yr gal! She really resembles U!

hang in there. my boy also refuses food at times. i think he quite fussy about food!

Zuen/ Feifei,
my boy also showing his real temperment. When he does not want his food, he pushes away in the past. Now, he hits our hand. When he is upset, he cries so badly that he can vomit his food!!!

Felicia,
how much did you pay for the cake? Its gorgeous looking. I like it. Does ecreative cake tastes good?

Pris,
i feel the milk intake a bit too little too. She will slim down with all their crawling and teething(refusal of food). No worries lah!

hi, cactus
i kpo here abit. saw ur posting on eggs. supposed to start with egg yolk first followed by egg white. i tried giving yolk to my son already. he is ok with it.

morning ladies...

bonjovi,
i wanna bring jade along and have hinted to my MIL..think she also agrees tat she should go with us @ the same time she could look after jade!...1 stone kill 2 birds!

<font color="blue">hey bonjovi,
so when wanna meet up for lunch again???this time round we can ask chloemummy n babycupid to join us..they r in the north area..hehe..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">bonjovi, $120 for 3kgs.
Taste wise, for me oklah, not very sweet and the middle layer got blueberries, which i likes. hehe....

ellysia,
ops! pai seh! Din read carefully tot is a gathering.

ZuEn,
She was blur blur on that day as just woke up from her afternoon nap. I think her classmates more excited than her and even help her to blow off the candles. hehe....

Pris, a nice one! KISS! i likes it!

Mag,
dont said like that lah! U r not boastful lah! Dont worry!</font>

Bizz,
hey, i was thinking of today. cos not going ex and just finished my monthly report!!! Woohoo!!!
yes yes, chloemummy and babycupid, how how?

felicia,
that's about the max that i am prepared to pay. will keep that in mind! thanks for info!

Tera,

I went to Taiwan when i am preggy with yuzhe.
I find taiwan not v interesting though. Those food advertised on TV etc, we may not like the taste though. But Taipei is quite good, the shopping etc. Scenery wise, i find so-so except Alisan which i really tink is nice. However after the whole trip, i dun recall much of the place, except keep remembering its quite crowded and its one basar and another basar (night market, ye shi).. won't be tinking to go back to taiwan except maybe taipei.

Re: feeding of food

Actually if bb dun feel like eating or cannot finish, try not force them to eat or finish all. It can result to a habit of over-eating. I read in a magazine yesterday that babies/children, unlike us adults, will generally stop eating once they feel full. If we force them to finish when they feel full, it can result to over-eating. Thus if they cannot finish or dun want to eat certain thing, dun force them to finish.

My boy sometimes cannot finish his BM, and also bec i always give more just in case. My MIL always feel v stressed and told me v wasteful to throw away the breastmilk. But i always told her, if he cannot finish then dun force him. Just let him drink or eat wat he want, and if he dun want then stop feeding.

<font color="blue">bon,
tdy cannot leh..a bit bz leh..next week can?? once we fix day n time i'll inform babycupid n chloemummy..</font>

Re: tantrum

According to some guides i read, this is the stage whereby our babies will test our boundaries. So if we stop them for doing certain thing etc, they will test our response by crying etc.

Mag,

I dun find turn off by yr postings.

I am also 1st time mum.
Actually my colleagues call me kiasu mum. Cos i always read up a lot of stuff then scared this and that. Everything must play safe and will quote this and that. But when they want to know wat stuff recommended and lazy to read up, they will ask me :p

Anyway i dun tink it is a boosting. I tink is difference btw women and men. Men tend to tok little (action more, words less) so usu their posting will be less descriptive (skip the details, tok abt the more impt areas). Note that during men meetup with their men counterparts, kids or baby tok only make up 10%.

But we women tend to be more descriptive, detailed. Our women meetup also similar, baby tok make up 90%.

Since this forum is dominated by women, generally can be more descriptive and detail. Dun tink so much.

In addition, being a stay-at-home-mum means yr life center around yr bb, so generally yr conversation is mostly abt bb. It can be interpret as boosting by others who life is not similar.

Not toking abt u, me being a working mum, my conversation topics also center abt bb. so when chat with those colleagues with similar bb growth stage, we tok a lot on bb. But come to other colleagues, nothing much to tok abt.

its recommended by some articles tat u can distract with someting else, if bb throw tantrum due to we dun want to let them touch someting.

in addition when we want to carry them to another place, or to change activity. e.g. when playing toys then go to sleep, do by telling them, then keep away the stuff (for example when playing toys) to signal tat its sleeping time. give some time for them to react. dun immediately carry them away.

ellysia,

u are so right. my boy's testing my patience too. he used to be able to slp with some patting. now, he likes to stand up and walk around in his crib after his feed, and refused to be patted!!! super testing my patience!

also, he is scratching his head and pulling his ear recently. he pulled so hard at his ear that there is slight tearing... anyone's bb with this situation? why like that and how to stop???

bleh,

Pulling ear can be self soothing to sleep.

But if scratch ear too hard, sometimes can be ear infection.

However my boy always scratch his ears v hard too.

Need to start discipline sometimes.
If my boy pull my spectacle, I will tell him firmly "No" and pull his hands away. He will smile mischeviously. He also know i dun like him to tug the spare mattress plastic, but he will purposely poke it. If i make too much noise, he will do it again and again. If i keep quiet, he stop after while, no fun. When he pull my hair too hard or bite me during latching, I will also scold him. He will smile at me to make peace. Sometimes i soften and will smile back, sometimes i try not to. really need to start discipline.

but if i repeatedly say "No" a few times to a certain mishaviour, he will stop doing it.

bizznow,
Me here..
The list @ 23 Feb 09.

June Babies 1st Bday Bash
Suggested date: 16 May (Sat)
Time: Afternoon

1. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn &amp; HB)
2. Reanne (janiviy &amp; hubby)
3. YuJie (Felicia, hubby, #1)
4. Chloe (Christina &amp; Hubby)
5. Jayden (Carol)
6. Gwendolyn (Crystal &amp; HB)
7. Nicole (Piyo, hubby, #1 and maid)
8. Jade (shycloud)
9. Athanasius (Mag, hubby &amp; mum)
10. Travis (bleh &amp; hb)
11. Eunicia (Prisc &amp; maid)
12. Lucius (Shern, Hb &amp; maid)
13. Isabel (Krispy + HB)
14. Zhiyu (Bizz &amp; hb)
15. Lucas (Tera + HB)

Updated @ 23 Feb

feifei, bonjovi,
You mean it is their character ah. S**t, I hope my girl does not inherit my hb &amp; my short-temper. How to train her to understand that she cannot always have her way huh? They so young now, oso dun understand wat we say.
I can imaging her sitting on the floor in the shopping mall, bawling away bcos I dun buy her toys. Pengz..

Bleh,
My girl will pull her hair when she fustrated or when she's drinking milk. Duno why. Her hair already very pathetic, then she tug so hard somemore..

ellysia, the tear on his ear is pretty bad. not an infection, but more due to his constant pulling.

i have started disciplining him as well. saying "No" to him firmly and sometimes tapping hard at his fingers (when he tries to reach for my glasses). it works at times. other times, he will pause and look at me and continue with his exploring... (esp when i say no to climbingmy platform bed!)

Zuen, my boy oso leh. no hair liao still pull!!!

From babycenter

The discipline tool kit: Successful strategies for every age

Tool: Remove and substitute
How it works: Like the rest of us, young children learn by doing — so when your baby throws his bowl of peas off the highchair tray, it's because he's curious to see what will happen, not because he wants to upset you or mess up your clean kitchen floor.

That said, you don't have to stand by while your child does something you don't like. And you definitely don't want to stand by if your little one's grabbing for something dangerous. Take the object away or physically move your baby away from it. Then give him a safe, less-messy or less-destructive alternative. "Substituting something else will prevent a meltdown," Kvols says.

Make sure you explain what you're doing to your child, even if he's too young to really understand. You're teaching a fundamental discipline lesson — that some behaviors aren't acceptable, and that you'll be redirecting him when necessary.

Real-life application: Your 8-month-old keeps grabbing your favorite necklace and chewing on the beads. Instead of letting him, or continuing to pull it out of his hands, unclasp the necklace and put it aside, explaining simply that your jewelry is not for chewing. Then hand your baby a teething ring or another chewable toy and say, "This is fine to chew on."

Tool: Right wrongs together
How it works: Going back to the peas example above — there's a difference between a baby who playfully throws her bowl to the floor and a young toddler who knows she's creating a mess for Mommy or Daddy to clean up.

That turning point happens when your child becomes capable of knowing when she's doing something she's not supposed to, often around her first birthday. "When she looks at you with that glint in her eye and then drops the peas, you know it's time to do something." says expert Madelyn Swift. What you do, says Swift, is start teaching the concept of taking responsibility for her actions.

Real-life application: Your toddler's made a mess under her highchair. When she's finished eating, lift her up, set her on the floor, and ask her to hand you some peas so she's "helping" you take care of it. Talk to her about what you're doing: "Okay, we made a mess with the peas so we have to clean it up."

Tool: Emphasize the positive
How it works: This one's easy: Tell your child when you like how he's behaving, rather than speaking up only when he's doing something wrong. "It takes a bit of practice to get in the habit of rewarding good behavior rather than punishing bad, but it's more effective in the end," says Ruth Peters, a clinical psychologist in Clearwater, Florida, and author of Don't Be Afraid to Discipline and other books.

Real-life application: It's nap time, a potential battle zone with your sometimes resistant toddler. Head it off by praising even small steps: "It's so great that you stopped playing with your blocks when I asked you to. That means we have extra time and can read a story. If you lie down right away, we'll have even more time and can read two stories." Keep praising each improvement he makes in his nap time routine, and make it worth his while with rewards such as stories or songs.

bizz and ellysia,
i've been to taiwan before already. the pkg tours i was enquiring is more for my parents.

bizz,
wah, u went TWN for photoshoot? nice!!
any special reason for going there? agree lor, the food in TWN is nice! i also love HK food!! :p

ZuEN,
same here, my boy does that all the time as in start to cry when we take something away from him.

bon,
u are not indecisive lah. i also dunno if i can manage lucas if we bring to HK also cos HK not v stroller-friendly so got to carry him then same lor, nowadays carry halfway he will lunge forward like want to get down on the floor. *headache*

<font color="aa00aa">shinely,
You go Malacca for shopping?

I found that lot of June mummies likes to go to malacca leh. Maybe we can do a tour for mummies here only to malacca, then i can be tour guide. hahaha............
Btw, thou my hubby is from malacca, but till now he hvnt brought me to eat nyonya food lor. Only brought me some nyonya kueh only. Stingy man!

Re: Twn,
I went there with hubby about 2 yrs back, but only Taipei. On free and easy. Everyday go to their night market, i'll keep eating nia. Super fat!</font>

<font color="blue">tera,
no special reason lah..cos the bridal shop i went got this package mah..so we take lor after seeing the sample photos of those brides taken in taiwan..n we use the opportunity to go there for holiday also cause nvr been there b4 mah..hehe..ooh..HK..i like their desserts n dim sum..so yummy..hehe..</font>

Ellysia,
Different ppl different way of cooking.. Normally I will chop the food during the night then morning all throw it in but potato will cut during morning. Oh ya... Fish have bones! I never think of it man. Blur me. Now i have to see properly when I mash the fish.

Mag,
You are not boastful lah. dont worry

bleh,
My ger also pull hair, pull ear. She does that when she's sleeply and hot.

I saw Malacca! Oh man I'm hungry. I miss the chicken rice ball n chendol.

today very busy with work.. and mood not good ... so just came online for a short while.

Ellysia, re: ear pulling, it may be a sign of ezcema. for Matthew, the first sign of ezcema was dry ear (yes! believe it or not!) and then scratching with redness! then his cheeks kena next!

now, back to work again!

eh, a quick question:

anyone's bb making noises just before sleeping or when in the process of falling asleep? it's a long-medium tone drone.
Matthew started making these noises before every nap and bedtime. when he was being rocked or patted to sleep. initially I thought he was hungry, cos once I gave another 50ml or milk, he will drink then fall asleep. but he's never relied on milk as a sleep aid/pacifier.. and I don't think he's hungry, cos he can drink 230ml, and then 20 minutes later, drink another 50ml before falling asleep. anyone has same experience and if so, how did you deal with the noise? is it hunger?

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">pulling ears can be teething oso ;p because of the nerve..;p really feel like taking a break!! now like manay pp works 4 days due to bad market..</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. mine lor.. when he make tt noise we know he doze off soon..</font></font>

ioio, was it a phase that your boy went through? My boy has alot of pattern loh. a few days, is this, another few days is that. don't nkow if he will kick off this habit or if it's here to stay for some time. what was your experience with your boy? Matthew would make that sound for about 5 minute sor so before falling asleep, unless he is given milk. then immediately, knock out.