(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">shycloud,
just last Friday i celebrated my #1 birthday at her CC. I bought the cake from ecreative. Let me go and find the pic and post here.
Btw, the cake taste ok to me, not very sweet and the part i like is in between the cake got blueberries flavour. hehe...</font>

<font color="blue">wah..u all started liao ah?? me still thinking leh..n cant even confirm on the date to celebrate cos my colleague getting married on the wkend we intend to celebrate..a bit crash leh..sianz.. so r we still going forward wif the bday bash thingy?? seems like it's missing liao leh..no updates.. </font>

Cynthia - I like what you said. milk requirement is important for 1st year.

Ellysia, I'm okay for tomorrow or Thursday, if not Monday to Thursday next week. I wasn't aware that childhood eczema will go away most of the time. thanks for letting me know.

Shycloud, you are NOT kiasu. some cake makers already close for whole of 2009!
I didn't even hear of their names before until I saw their website links on this thread! So pretty , the cakes. but already close for 2009!

cactus,

I tink those homemade ones are easily fully booked.

bizzsnow,

My cousin also getting married on tat weekend too.. so i be celebrating 1 day b4 i guess.

Shycloud, cannot lar. Mgr and his wife very kind, they pass me her gal's clothes, and buy stuff for my kids, so have to give face. The only problem now is dunno wat to get for their gal.

ellysia...
cool...Mickey mouse...not much items on minnie mouse supplies so gave up tat theme...

cactus...
have not tried those home made cakes before so dun dare to order from them...and their charges
are high.

bizznow...
decline ur colleague wedding invite? 1st BD more impt haha
ya me kiasu leh cos me book chalet must in advance...bo pian

felicia...
nice wor....

veniz,
like tat then have to give face liao ;p

shycloud, I used to think that nice cakes may not be yummy, but later heard from pple that there are very pretty AND yummy cakes! but I'm not fortunate enough to have ordered them before. .hehe. for Matthew, I'm just getting a #1 cake from Choc-a-bloc. Not expensive, 10 minutes away from our home (good for self collection - dun want delivery cos dun want pple waiting at home for the cake to come.. incase rubber timing by cake shop), I've a date in mind for party, but function room not open for booking, so cannot book caterer yet.everything depends on function room booking.

cactus...
its pretty subjective when it comes to taste...some may like it while some may not...i dun follow what pple say cos it may turnout otherwise...unless i have tried it personally.

choc-a-bloc is good but i doubt they can customise designs according to my theme so gave that up.

My hb dun like function room. He said he tink is like meeting like tat. Maybe he organise too many seminars or functions for his work. so he is a bit sianz. we prefer more outdoors type. I dun want restaurant sit down dinner also. Home celebration out of question as i dun want to tidy up and we have no maid.

For cake i actually prefer 2 tier type or those cakes with figurines. But my hb prefer simple cake.. and most impt he said bengawan solo mickey mouse cakes are more genuine bec' they are trademark for disney so the cake deco looks more authentic. He is v particular abt the mickey mouse pix. i showed him those pixs of homemade mickey mouse cakes, he dun like.. say the mickey mouse figurines look fake..

I prefer to order from commercised cake shop, dun dare to order from homemade bec i didn't taste them before.

cactus,

i oso given up on a perfect celebration too. Am also getting a so-so cake.. will be hoping to get more interesting cakes for him when he gets older then.

Ellysia, yeah... I have the same prob as you.. I don't really like function room, but no other suitable place.. I need a place for Matthew to nap... cos I believe he will still need 2 naps during the day time and I plan for the party to be between 11am to 1pm.. which means, it is just after Matthew's first nap, and before his second nap. After you factor in lunch time, not much time left for travelling.

I find chalets not that good an idea cos may not be convenient for pple to visit (most tend to be out of the way) and they may have restrictions on the caterer (may need to order from their own list of food providers), and I don't really want any unhappiness between my parents and my in-laws.. as to who will stay overnight at the chalet. If everyone stay overnight, not good cos sure have disagreements due to different lifestyle habits (ie. my MIL plays majong and plays very big.. but my parents are christian and don't gamble.)If only one side of thef amily stays over, the other side may be upset. not easy to please. I don't want to have to deal with parents/in-laws on a birthday..

now, I headache how to decorate function room. Matthew loves balloons.

cactus,

My hb dun like chalet also.. cos he want to save cost and we dun have so many guests, so its not practical. I only have maybe 10-20 guests and its a small celebration. In addition, like u i oso dun want to headache over the staying overnight issue too.

For napping, i tink i will bb nap inside stroller.

My bb doesn't have a really fixed schedule of napping cos it depend wat time he wake up.

If i hold at the BBQ pit, most likely it be at night.. so maybe early dinner say 5-7pm.

Felicia,
WAH BIANG! Huge cake man! For all the people in her school?

1 Year old
-----------
Ehh I am a lazy mummy again. Maybe wont be celebrating or too big for Nicole lo. Maybe bring both gals go for overseas trip &amp; just the family of four

Alternative maybe at our new place with close friends &amp; family members bah.

But maybe for my #1, she is Big 3 this Aug, know liao can play liao, can source for those play area bah...

cactus,

For deco i suggest u can take a look at the party shops at GWC or United square. There are 2 party shop at GWC. I checked the prices and they are quite ok. If not u can take a look to decide whether u want to order online or not.

Ya i tink when bb is older and they know wat they want, we can have a bigger celebration.. and also by tat time he may have kids friends then can celebrate outside at those gym places.

Ellysia, YuZhe is a good boy hor! Can nap inside stroller. my boy cannot. he tends to flip over and over when he sleeps. when he gets "stuck" cos no more space to "flip over", he will cry! stroller is out of the question. his naps are very long though. 1.5 to 2 hrs each time. just 2 naps per day. He will start to flip about 20 minutes into one nap. think its to do with his sleep cycle.

as long as your bb is able to sleep in stroller, you will have no problems already. but if you plan to hold the party at night, you may want to take precautions that YuZhe is not overly excited. if not may have problems falling asleep that night, or have nightmare/night terror.

Thanks for the suggestion, Ellysia. I'm a lazy mummy. not keen to travel around to look at balloons. I usually use my weekday lunch hours to run errands. weekends and weekday evenings are reserved for caring for Matthew, so not much time to go party shops physically. I'm keen to buy own balloons and blow up. Just want to ask if you know whether we need to buy special things to secure the helium foil balloons? for hte latex ones, just tie a knot yeah? but what aobut the foil balloons ah? also, the balloon string, where to buy?

cactus,

My bb nap in the rocker during day time, so he is used to confine spaces. But he dun nap long in such confine areas. So not really good boy in tat sense. My boy nap is not v long. longest maybe 1hr only.

tats why i tink will try to have early dinner celebration, so tat got time for him to settle down.

during cny period when we hang out late, my boy get overstimulated and he sleep much later around 11plus.

cactus,

helium balloons - best to get the shop to pump helium for u.

normal balloons - u can get those tube to pump gas or u blow yrself.

strings - shd be sold in the same shop with balloons.

My weekday lunch i oso use to run errands.
My weekend i usu jalan out with hb and bb, then we try to reckee some stuff at the same time. My boy dun like to stay at home for whole day, so we have to go out.

same here, Ellysia. Matthew was overstimulated during CNY period (he only went out for a total of 3 hours, with a break in between). he had night terror that night although he slept at his normal time. we kept his visiting to early morning and before 2pm.

how many hours in total does YuZhe sleep during day time? and what time is his bedtime and wake up time?

Just wondering...

Re; balloons, I'm planning to pre-buy the balloons, but bring them to a florist near my home to blow up on that day... :p do you think it's workable? the prob is really how to transport th eballoons home yeaH?

<font color="aa00aa">Cynthia, is only a 3 kgs cakes lah.
Initially the teacher told my hubby around 2kgs ok de. Then my kiasu hubby afraid not enuf, so asked me to order 3kg. It was for 2 classes, as tea break, my girl's class is joined with the small group class. But tat day hor, the teacher distribute to another class (as still hv about half cakes left) and we still able to get some back. hehe....
I'm telling hubby, next time 2 kgs can liao! stingy mummy! hehe....</font>

cactus,

He sleep in total 3hrs of nap during day time, total of 2-3 naps. Night time he sleep 9 to 10 hrs.

U can pre-buy the balloons from party shop and ask them to blow for u. then u transport them back (so preferably got car). If u dun have car, see if they provide delivery service. Helium balloons can stay inflated for days so u need not do it on same day.

I oso dun go out with him alone.. will go with hb if bring bb out. sometimes we let bb nap in carseat or in stroller, or just carry him outside.
Usually we go out after he eat his lunch..maybe late noon. Then i will bring his dinner out with a thermos, a bib, a diaper.

For toys i let him use those tie to the car or tie to his stroller. I dun bring out any.

No need to bring bottles cos i will latch him outside.

I find with a car its much easier bec some tings can be put inside the car. At times we dun use our car and we just take MRT nearby to Bishan or AMK hub with a stroller. Cos want him to experience taking public transport since we oso take public transport to work too.. and we grow up with public transport. i tink next time when he grow up i oso will encourage him to take public transport, cos dun want to spoilt him with the car.

it may be a bit too late for me to say tis.. but u need to start training yr bb to adapt to sleeping outside so tat its more flexible for u too and he can adapt to outside environment too.

Ellysia, Matthew can sleep outside, but for him to sleep well and soundly, we need to carry him in our arms, cos he tends to flip over and jerk his arms and legs in the process. If I put him in stroller, he can only sleep at most 20 minutes before he wakes up..
Then, he will get tired after 1.5 hrs compared with 3 to 3.5hrs if he had a proper 1.5hr nap..

I don't know how to transport balloons in a car leh... later block the driver's view how? And it's quite limited right? the number of balloons a car can carry? I'm headaching over thi sloh.

Ellysia, seems like our boys have rather similar sleep schedules! Matthew sleeps 2 naps about 3 to 3.5hrs in total. He sleeps about 10.5 hrs at night (from 730pm to 610am).

<font color="aa00aa">aiyo, i tot wat happen to this thread, i keep refreshing but unable to refresh successfully. Finally i'm in again.

shycloud,
Not sure exactly can give how many person but from my calcualtion based on the kids there, total around 30+. Then we still able to get some left over back. I think 40person is not a problem. Not thin slice hor, reasonable sizing of slices. hehe....</font>

cactus,

Get balloon weights so tat it will not fly all over in the car.

I get wat u mean as improper sleep.. sometimes my boy also get this while we r outside.

initally its quite bad.. but he get used to it.
try to get yr boy to get use to it.

Btw, if u want we can meet up on thursday for lunch. meet at yoshinoya at 1pm?

shycloud,

Dun tink so. the next one shd be 1 yr old - chicken pox which is optional.

shycloud,

i tink 3KG and above shd be better for 40-50 guests.

For kids they may not eat alot but for adults it hard to say.

Ellysia, my boy is used to it but I'm not. haha! quite disruptive to my schedule. hehe. I prefer a block of 1.5 to 2 hrs where I can do my stuff (although it means I need to be at home). I prefer to leave the home when it is his "wakeful" time. I just have to battle with feeding him outside loh. with hb's help, not unmanagable.

Shycloud, I think the nexty one is 1 year old. but at 9 months, have developmental assessment. I was told to give egg white and then yolk at 9 months and 1 year. I forget what jab is at 1 year but there is some egg componenet in that vaccine.

I can meet on Thursday. See you at Yoshinoya at 1pm. I have to leave at 145pm though. do you mind? have to express in office.

ellysia.

veniz...
ya hor...its better to have more than less...otherwise paiseh! wat nice? of cos will be NICE! heh...

<font color="aa00aa">just saw the post, got another lunch gathering at RP? Wow, so nice lor!

Who else is working at JE?????</font>

Felicia,

Not gathering.. its only cactus meeting me over lunch. cos last week gathering she sit right at the other end while i sit on the extreme end. we only tok a few sentences only.

i m ok to meet with any mummies who work same area for lunch actually. cos i usu lunch alone or do errands so v easy to arrange.

shycloud,
me here! yeah, the forum is so quiet this afternoon.

btw, was in workshop whole of yest so never reply ur qn, hehe. was at NATAS to enquire on some china tours for parents. yeah, found some attractive ones from chan bros and SA tours.

ZuEn,
hubby and i are thinking of bringing lucas to HK either next mth or may, tog with my bro's family. i am also quite apprehensive about it but then also cannot bear the thot of leaving him here in SGP... :p

tera..
bring along...it would be tiring yes but imagine u leave ur bb back home. would you be able to enjoy ur holi? u will think of lucas every min!

china tours? im also planning in jul leh going with PIL!

shycloud,
yah, agree cos i know that i will be constantly thinking of him.

which part of china u going?
my dad was very keen on yunnan + kunming. i suppose u are bringing jade ya? ;)

tera...
im deciding btw guilin and yunnan...i really want her to go but but but china not very conducive compare to HK. somemore i going to those countryside...worse come to worse i will prob go taiwan then i will bring jade along! yeah!

shycloud,
haha, yes yes, i was going to say that taiwan can do F&amp;E. but with older folks, pkg tour is the way to go. :p