(2008/06) June 2008

2208665.jpg

Being busy last wk as my hb grandma pass away... Lazy to look back previous post so nv reply those who replied me. pls forgive me =D

janiviy,
Aiyo... the angel photo very cute especially her tummy. can i bite? lol!

Ellysia,
Y u cook fish seprate with xin mi? Hmmm... I throw everything in to cook with the rice. When 2hrs up everything will be soft. For fish i throw whole pc in. When about to cooked use spoon to chop into pieces. Same for broccoli. Meat n pork must chop it before throwing in it else hard to chop into pieces. Potato/carrot/pumpkin cut into tiny squares throw it in too.

I just e-filed income tax this morning. so confusing! First time claiming child relief, maid levy relief, parenthood tax rebate and grandparent childcare relief.. blur liao!

here are some photos of the babies in the same catagory as Matthew. The girls are generally much cuter than the boys, although there were some boys who are very good looking too! Going to a competition really opened my eyes to cute babies loh! .
2208770.jpg

sorry for the blur photo uploaded. I just wanted to share photos of the very cute bbs at the compeittion yesterday! There were so many cute baby girls. so pretty and sweet!! but I guess can't make out the details from the post.

Thanks, Rizty. you are very kind. I just hope he will be healthy and obedient can already. don't give grandparents and parents too much trouble. :p

Ur're most welcome Cactus...i wish my gal is as chubby as Matthew ...

but like u say..healthy and obedient is important...lor..

I tried to increase reanne to 3 meals a day today...

7:30am milk (drink only 70ml milk) + 2oz fruit puree added into 5thbsp HT cereal
12:30 lunch - 4 oz food jar
4:30pm milk 170ml
7:45pm feed her porridge

feeding her was a struggle.. she ate 1/4 rice bowl before vomitting everything out...scare the hell out of me...
too early to increase to 3 meals?? I dunno what happen leh...
just now she drank 180ml of milk before sleeping at 10pm...
am i over feeding? hence she vomitted?...aiyoh...I already decrease 1 milk feed wor..

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Ellysia,
Thanks for ur explanation. Coz i was wondering how u cook both together as 'xin mi' will need longer time to cook. So now i know!</font>

Morning ladies..

Janiviy,
Maybe its too filling for her? esp the 7.45pm porridge lor cos its abit late to feed them porridge at this time wor...When she vomitted?

My ger yest morning also vomitted af ther normal intake of BR + FM at 5am+ lor..then yest whole day can't eat much..We intro tomato to her on sun lor, duno is it tomato cause some wind lor...hv stopped giving her to monitor liao..I gave her some plums too yest..

morning...

jan...
reanne is soooo pretty...
love the flowerpot shot too...

how many milk feeds does reanne take in a day now? i oso hvnt try my girl on 3 meals... but your schedule looks ok. cld it be the porridge too rough for her to swallow? sometimes cld be cos of the porridge texture.

Morning..

Floyce is officially 9mths old le.. Time flies..

Brought her to dr ydd.. given a cocktail of medications.. cough/flu/airways

She's teething and can see her 5th tooth le..

hehe... here's a cheeky pic of my girl... we hv started letting her use the potty when she poos... when we cld see that she is going to poo, we will quickly bring her to the potty to sit... but there are times when we cldnt tell so she still poos in the diapers at times...

2210632.jpg

Morning mummies...any idea where i can get those waterproof sheets for mattress??
tink i ever saw a spree here..but now don hv liao..

<font color="ff0000">Morning Ladies

Rizty
How yr bb??
The phlegm...getting lesser

Worried for my gal.
At night cough so badly bcoz of the phlegm...

Day time ok not so bad

Hi Danryan...running nose seems to be recoverin..but phlegm still hv..they tends to choke on the phlegm and cough non stop..
mine is a ceiling fan..i try switchin it off and use those standing fan which can oscillate and won be blowing directly at her..oso i rub Euky bear rub on her feet,chest and back..lesser cough at nite..but still hv..thanks for asking.

Wat abt ur gal??

<font color="ff0000">Rizty

At home also i use standing fan
Using KARVOL during the nite
Rub her sole, back &amp; chest with vicks...not much just lil bit only
Medicine finish liao

During the last visit to doc
he was concerned abt the cough n phlegm at her chest
If not getting better, i have to go to kkh
Now already 8 days

soyabean, your gal very cute leh!!!

talking about bb vomitting, my boy vomitted 2 times already.. then once, food came out from nose even ! Scared me to death. he would turn blue sometimes when choking before vomitting.

reasons for him vomitting:
- eat too fast, never swollow well, or burp
- trying to "poo" when eating, so when he strains down, food comes up again.

Danryan..usually doctors are very concern if its a chesty type of cough..afraid of the phelgm stuck inside...my gal has been sick on and often recently..from bro to sister..now i am getting te flu...tonite will got PD if doesnt get well..the ting is i send her to GP it takes abt 3wks to recover...too much medicine oso no good lor

morning felicia...

hehe... hv to tease her to make her smile... haha...

feifei...
i dun consider tis toilet train... its to let her learn to poo in potty... we did this for my boy oso... we started early cos heard of stories of kids who at 3yo and older and still insist to poo only in diaper... this includes my nephew... he was still insist to put on a diaper b4 he will poo... at 4yo somemore... *shake head*

cactus,

yr boy cute with the trophy and prize.
he looks like u.

Rizty,

NTUC got sell pigeon brand $8++.. if not get from kiddy palace.

jan,

I ored intro 3 meals since early Feb (bb is 8mths), as recommended by the KK book.

Breakfast usually around 8-9am, then lunch around 12-2pm and dinner around 5-6pm. He has around 600ml of milk per day.

Sharon,

I find it easier to cook first then chop it/blend it. rather than chop it into pieces than cook. Reason bec' my bb initially have problem in swallowing the big pieces and he will spit them out and refuse to eat the porridge. Now he can accept bigger pieces/tougher texture liao but i dare not try.

For the fish i prefer to chop it after i cook it, bec easier to take out the fish bones after cook. The water which i use to steam fish i will add it in the porridge so nutrients not wasted.

For the vegs, nowadays i am v lazy to prepare. I usu take out the veg puree which i prepare beforehand or i just take out baby jar.

Rizty,

Yah NTUC got sell waterproof sheet, pigeon or tollyjoy brand.

If u want a better one, get from kiddy palace but the brand is not pigeon.. forget wat brand liao.

janiviy,

Matthew's feeding schedule (he's 8 months 1 week old):
645am - breakfast of 90ml fruit puree
815am - 170ml milk
1130am - lunch of 120ml porridge + veg, and some fruit puree (as much as he wants but not more than 50ml)
115pm - 230ml milk
530pm - dinner of 120ml toufu/porridge + veg and some fruit puree (as much as he wants but not more than 50ml)
7pm - bedtime milk of 240ml

He takes 2 more night feeds between his sleeping time of 730pm and wake up time of 610am. I think it's cos breast milk not too filling, and he is a very active baby. always on the move and making alot of noises during the day. He's also teething big time (have 8 teeth now.. of which 4 are half grown, and 2 are just erupting) so drooling alot - maybe that's why more thirsty. I don't give him water during the day cos on breastmilk and not heaty.

Ellysia, Re: fish, some mummies throw away the water that the steamed fish is in cos they say it's fishy. I've not given Matthew fish yet. Is the water that you give Yuzhe fishy? Or does it depend on the type of fish that you cook? sorry for all these questions - I'm one blur mom!

cactus,

it is fishy. And depending on the type of fish, it can be oily also. If it is oily i add only a little bit.

For starters, dun give the fishy water yet, in case bb dun like the fishy smell. Once u give for some time u will know whether bb like fish or not, then decide whether want to add in the fishy water.

I have not intro tofu yet. heard tofu can be sensitive is bb is soy sensitive. so i want to wait until i have some time before i intro.. cos nowadays my MIL also want to intro new food during weekdays and its hard to ctr, so i prefer to wait until i take leave to take care of him then i can monitor myself.

Thanks for the tip, Ellysia!! Yes, I'm going to take it slowly! Don't really want to force too many flavours on him incase he becomes fussy next time.

Yes, I think it's much better to intro new foods when we are on leave or during weekends.. in case. and always intro new foods for lunch.. so that there is time to monitor during the course of the day!!

I think toufu sensitivity is less common in babies after 8 months, especially in asian babies. Actually, I think sensitivity to normal formula milk is more common than sensitivity to soy in Singapore, or in Asian societies.. cos PDs often recommend a change to soy based milk powder if bb cannot tolerate normal formula milk. Just my guess from what I see happening around me. But best is to play safe yah, and intro only when we feel absolutely comfortable with the new food. after all, there are so many different foods and flavours out there for our bbs to try!

cactus,

Normal milk powder is made from cow milk, tats why some bb is sensitive. Soy sensitive is less common. And yes, i am doing on a play safe mode.

And i do believe in the new research tat fish will help in eczema. cos i have eczema myself and if i took more fish, it seems to help too.

Ellysia, do you want to meet up for lunch sometime next week or the following? I didn't get to talk much to you the last time! seated too far away!

Just reading the posts...

Photos:
Thanks for posting the photos....so cute and adorable. Bui tahan...want to kiss their cheeks. So cute!!!

Baby Competition:
A huge congrats to M who won the healthy baby category.

9 Month Old from BabyCtr:

Almost walking
Your baby is getting closer and closer to full-fledged walking. At this age, he can probably crawl up stairs and cruise, moving around upright while holding onto furniture. A few nine-month-olds may even take a few steps -- with support. Your baby is also learning how to bend his knees and how to sit after standing (which is harder to manage than you might think!).

You can help your baby by standing or kneeling in front of him and holding out your hands encouragingly, by holding both his hands and walking him toward you; or by buying a toddle-truck or a similar contraption your baby can hold onto and push (look for toddle toys that are stable and have a wide base of support).

Childproofing your home is a necessity now. One good place to start is to put latches on the doors of off-limits cupboards -- babies inevitably make a beeline for such things.

Shoes? Not yet
When their babies start standing and cruising, many parents wonder if shoes are necessary. Until your baby is walking around outdoors regularly, most experts don't think so. Going barefoot not only can help strengthen your child's arches and leg muscles but, according to Penelope Leach in Your Baby and Child, it can also make it easier for your baby to balance when him shoeless feet are free to feel all the textures of what he's walking on.

Playing and learning
Your baby can now put objects in a container and remove them. Give him a plastic bucket and some colourful blocks (make sure they're not so small he can swallow them) so he can practice this new skill. He also likes toys with moving parts, such as wheels, levers, or doors that open and close. Big plastic cars that your baby can roll around on the floor are fun playthings for both boys and girls.

If you take a toy away from him, your increasingly assertive baby is likely to object. He's really starting to be able to make his needs and wants known.

About half of all nine-month-olds will initiate passing games, giving away toys and then taking them back. Be his playmate. Try rolling a ball to your baby when you're playing on the floor and see if he rolls it back to you. Give him a sorting toy or stacking rings and see if he sorts or stacks or hands the pieces to you.

Coping with separation
Now, and for the next few months, is when separation anxiety is at its peak. Although it's normal for a nine-month-old to show an extreme attachment to you and fear of everyone else, it can be difficult for doting grandparents and caregivers. You can help ease the transition for your child by warning people to approach slowly and letting the baby make the first move.

If your child uses a thumb or a dummy to soothe himself or settle down as he tries to cope with his anxiety, that's okay. Sucking is one of your baby's only methods of calming himself.

Trying to travel
This can be a tough age to travel with your baby. Your child likes predictability, and travelling disturbs his routines. If you do travel, be prepared for a grumpy, clingy child. Have plenty of distractions ready -- picture books, noise-making toys, and, most importantly, his security object.

Language comprehension
The torrent of words your child has been hearing since birth is beginning to work its magic. By now, your baby's understanding of words far outpaces his ability to use them, and his babbling is probably starting to sound more like real words, including "ma" and "da." (Don't get too excited just yet -- they're more than likely not actual words, just a couple of the host of sounds he babbles constantly.)

At this stage, your child still comprehends more from your tone than from your actual words. The more you talk to him -- while preparing dinner, driving, or getting dressed -- the more your baby learns about communication. In fact, one study found that the greatest predictor of later intelligence is how many words a child hears daily. Of course, idle background chatter and time spent parked in front of the TV don't count -- to help your baby's comprehension, he must hear words and language used interactively.

At nine months, a baby begins to understand the word "no," but he may not obey just yet. However, he will respond to his name by looking around or by stopping what he's doing to see who called. Reinforce his recognition behaviour by saying his name frequently.

Is my baby developing normally?
Remember, each baby is unique and meets physical milestones at his or her own pace. These skills are simply a guide to what your baby has the potential to accomplish -- if not right now, then shortly.

If your baby was born prematurely, you'll probably find that it will take a little while before he can do the same things as other children his age. Don't worry. Most doctors assess a premature child's development from the time he should have been born and evaluate him skills accordingly.

Shycloud, nope. My Mgr holding a 1st bday party for his dd this sun, I will go and have a look. He is going to held it at a coffee house at YWCA as his friend is working there as a chef. But hor, Sunday is like offday to me, still have to go town, a bit lazy leh...

MIA for sometime liao hehhe.. silence reader la.. try to find if i can slot in the topic too hehehe

Janiviy,
Maybe you can push 3rd meal earlier. 730pm bit late. For my own view, I prefer to let bb start 3rd meal when reaches 1yr old as what I have done for my #1. I guess milk requirement is still alot more before first year.

Phlegm in Baby
------------------
If phlegm is prolong, try to hear if any wheezing sound. If worried, get the PD to check is the best. It could be bronchities. When having bronchities, taking medicine can never help. Need to use Neubilier to break &amp; dissolve the phlegm. But if bb still feeding normal, not to worry so much. Most important is no additional "friend" like coughing etc.

cactus,

no problem. just now i just went to yoshinoya again. which day u want to meet up?

Most eczema cases are only baby eczema which will stop before 5yrs old. only some 10% will persist to adulthood.

Most of food suitable for 8mths and below I have ored intro. Some less common food i have not intro. My hb said to intro those common food and less priority on those 'ang moh food' such as butternut, cinnamon etc which we dun eat regularly as adults.

Cod fish and salmon has rich omega. Omega will help to prevent allergies.

veniz...
tell ur mgr u not free to go...then can rest @ home!

feifei...
i will be booking a chalet @ aloha loyang. can only book 3 mths in advance so im waiting for this friday before i can book.. gotta book early cos its super peak season with june sch holis and also weekends...

already bought my SS theme party supplies heh...waiting for it to arrive!

cake still deciding...got recommendations? me looking @ e-creative.

i am so kiasu!

shycloud,

We decided to use my hb's uncle condo BBQ pit for venue.

As for caterer, i plan to use Elsie kitchen.

For cake, we contemplating to use Bengawan solo Mickey mouse cake. But it is only a 2D simple cake. my hb said to leave 2tier or those more 'complicated cakes' for older when bb know how to appreciate.

For deco, we plan to buy from party shops in GWC or united square and ask them to pump in the helium gas. Then we deco ourselves. Simple deco, maybe some balloons, 1 banner, mickey mouse theme. And i will get mickey mouse party bags and put some goodies inside for guests.

shycloud, I've sourced for the cake, decided more or less on venue and caterer. but not done much for the decorations yet. not sure if I will have party favours also.. cos it's generally whole families who are attending (no young children though). so I can't really think of any meaningful favours which wno't look replicated when they bring them back home.