(2008/06) June 2008

babycupid,

air-con room. my bb sleep in air-con around 27 degrees. PD says air-con shd be around 26-27 degrees for bb.

I didn't use blankets since 2mths old.. initally is top and long pants and booties. 5mths old i change to rompers and long pants and booties. recently change the booties to socks.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">For those interested in brain development

Jux to share as came across this article.... no right or wrong lah..

The connection between mobility and brain development
Child brain development specialist Glenn Doman discovered the connection between mobility and brain development. Starting from birth children should be given every opportunity to acquire mobility. In the book How To Teach Your Baby To Be Physically Superb, published by Doman, you will find his scientific research on brain growth as it corresponds to physical development and mobility. It is a book every parent should have because the physical condition of a child is foundational to brain development and the formation of learning capabilities.

In the past, emphasis on developing physical soundness stressed muscular development rather than brain development. Muscular development is still essential, however, physical growth takes place because of brain development. The converse is also true. Physical development stimulates brain development.

A child has greater brain capacity when on a physical development program
Developing and maintaining the physical form is vital. Make it a pivotal part of your child development program and you will not be sorry. Because the body and brain work together, a child who is on a physical development program will have greater brain capacity than a child who is not.

Physical activity stimulates brain growth
Physical activity stimulates brain growth in much the same way that physical exercise causes muscles to develop. Physical exercise activates nerve cells in the brain and stimulates them to create neurological pathways. The brain grows by use as these pathways are developed. The specific exercise of crawling and creeping is as vital in stimulating healthy brain growth as it is in stimulating healthy physical development. In Doman's book How To Teach Your Baby To Be Physically Superb, he gives specific instructions for giving the baby optimum opportunity for crawling and creeping.

http://www.internationalparentingassociation.org/BrainDevelopment/mobility1.html</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">

cactus.. read about the circle pattern... now noe it's natural.. interesting..heee..

If you place a baby on the mat, you will see that he makes circling movements. Nature put the circle pattern in the baby and, certainly, electrons and atoms in the microcosm revolve, and the sun, planets and stars in the macrocosm revolve. Circling aught to be regarded as an essential exercise of motion that is integral to cellular and brain development and that, likewise, needs to come under the conscious control of the individual (even if an expert fails to see it). An infant should have both a track and a mat if he is to have the best opportunity to become mobile.</font></font>

ioio,
where to get the ones u posted? so cute.

jsmurf,
i can sense that ur doing a lot with regards to yr relationship with your wife. I agree with Tera that you may wanna check with her how she felt staying home now. it is different feeling that she wants to do it vs now really doing it.

also, we were all exposed to our career b4 becoming mum. having a career can mean a lot to one such as our identity, our self worth...far beyond the financially independent aspect.

i also sense that you write and reason very well. i am not sure if that is overwhelming and even threatening to her? if i know that i am going to "lose", why bother to urge? I may choose to keep quiet.

maybe, at the end of the day. It all about expectation. your expectation towards her and her towards yours. you may feel that u have done alot for her. But is it enough for her? Is it meeting her needs?

Yes, the key word is communication. You talk about the "peace" treaty. But, b4 u do that, maybe u can check whether ur truly ready to hear her out? Hearing not only the words but most importantly the FEELINGS.

Just some of my thoughts. Sorry if i sounded blunt and direct.

cactus,
oh ok.. so means i am ok to continue with the receiving blankets.. ekkeke.. ya those light ones lor..

ellysia,
oh.. 27degrees.. mine is 25degrees.. pd said 25degrees so i put 25 lor.. 27 too high i find.. the rm become stuffy.. urs wont?

<font color="aa00aa">Bonjovi,
I read up in an article, stated our babies need around 11.5 - 15hrs of sleep. But this is oso a guideline only nia.
For my #2 she can sleep from 8.30pm till 6-7am with 2 naps in the day. Total will be around 12-13hrs.
As long as your baby is growing heathly then is ok.</font>

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">ellysia,
i bought from BP, but like ioio said, think with a cap will be better , as mine is like sock material, and felicia mentioned velcro maybe better as i find this is abit tight for my bb's thigh

bonjovi/feifei,
i or someone else will be around him when he crawl mostly, but i think he learns from his mistake, the last round when he was flipping, and hit his head on the marble floor, now when he wants to flip, he will do it very slowly, seem to know if he do it too fast, he will bang his own head

i think bringing baby out to different environment is good, and i will let my church friends to carry him, so he will not be too sticky to me

i also exposed baby to sounds, like tv, phone ringing, so now he is used to it, he will be sleeping when we are watching tv, my view is, i cannot change the environment to suit baby's pattern, because if I were to bring him to someone else's home, i cannot simply ask other ppl to turn off their tv or hang up their phone, i maybe wrong but it is working for my baby, just sharing

Felicia,
velcro type of protector where to get and is it tight or not, will it come off quickly after some use?

ioio,
where to get the cap type of protector?</font></font>

ioio, thanks for sharing about the circle pattern. I didn't know about it!

BabyCupid, if your room becomes stuffy, try to change the fan setting. change back to "high" or "med". the temp shld be a separate setting on your aircon.

<font color="0000ff">Yes so its confirmed

Raffles Place lunch gathering

Date: next monday 12/1/09
Time: 12.30 to 1.45pm
Makan venue: Caltex house subway (basement through MRT)

1) Ellysia
2) Tera
3) Cactus (received your hp and replied with mine)
4) K Ong
5) Crystal (pls obtain K Ong and Tera hp in case u dun have..)

Pls pm me your handphone number and i will reply with mine.</font>

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">ioio,
i think bonjovi is asking you about the knee protector, not the brain development thingy</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Fennie,

I din use the velcro type so no suse if is good, but i know at least wont be so tight on baby's knee. Coz my #1 i bought those normal one, ended up her knee side red red but she dont crawl oso, so i have been keeping it till now.
I cant remember where i saw the velcro type liao. Is at some shop lah, about 1-2yrs back. Maybe can try kiddypalace.</font>

morning ladies...
busy morning and my wireless network died...now using LAN.

abt: sleep in aircon
aiyo i nvr on aircon for my gal one leh only fan and she always perspire!...heh

i nvr let her wear long pants only socks...cos usually will pull blanket over her as she sleeping with us.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">oops.. ha ha... my friend give me a pair.. i did saw it somewhere oso.. let me try to recall or i ask her where she got it.. ;p

aiyo.. i think i very long never touch books liao.. sld borrow some from library to read..</font></font>

Re: aircon

my pd keep saying dun over cover bb and shd have fan or air-con.. if use air-con shd be 26-27 degrees.. he said too hot, bb also cannot sleep well. perspire too much also no good.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
pm-ed u liao. tis subway tat u mentioned is ard mos burger area? not the one below republic plaza hor? i didnt know there is one under caltex, will ve to go there to hunt for it earlier.

tera,
yur hp # hasnt change from more than a yr back hor? if so, i ve yurs oreadi. u had my #?

k ong,
can pm me yurs? i didnt have yurs....thanks!

ellysia/tera/k ong,
thanks for changing the timing to accomodate me. much appreciated.
c ya gers next week.</font>

crystal,

Yes, it is just opp to mos burger, within the same area. I heard tat the RP subway sucks.. and the one at caltex house is better. U know the basement of caltex got select (the one tat sell yong tau hu), 1 korean restaurant, 1 pasta, mos burger and mirana, yami yogurt. Its the one near mirana and mos burger and yami yogurt. there got more seats.

cactus,

no prob.. never meet u before too. its been a long time since we r online in this forum..
and i always wanted to meet the forummers here too but i always busy during weekends. lunch time is the best i guess.

ioio,
thanks for sharing on the circular movement. cos tat's wat my boy is doing now!! moving in circular direction.
is ur boy ok now? my boy hit his chin on a toy on tues and cut his tongue. now got bruise on his chin and he has difficulty drinking milk.

ellysia,
okie, will PM u my contact shortly.

crystal,
no prob!
i think better PM me ur HP#.

Tera - You are welcome!

Ellysia &amp; Cactus - My girl is opposite, she only latch and resist the bottle. So, when going out, will have to stand-by the BF shawl and check-out the location of the nursing rooms. If not, wear the shawl and BF in he car...ha!ha!

ioio - Is he OK now? Maybe he bite something hard? Thanks for sharing... I love reading articles so that I can learn more.

bonjovi - I remember my #1 grinding his teeth when he was younger. I bought the pigeon flat teat pacifier and he grind with that. After awhile he stopped.

BabyCupid - I bought the baby blanket from Ikea for both of my kids...its really soft and nice.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">tera and JP.. tks! the bleed stop quite fast. not sure whether it's the sugar that helps. i apply a bit of dentinox on his gum oso, he seems ok as can drink milk and his favorite plain water..

jp.. ya.. there is a lot of things that i dunno.. it's good to read more.. i sld start practise it oso.. ;p)</font></font>

JP

i oso latch with shawl in the car.
i dun bring bottle out.. bottle only use by MIL or hb. i got use bottle once or twice, bb give me a strange look and keep wanting the breast. so i will ask hb or mil to give bottle if i dun want to latch.

cactus,

haaaa, bec tmr i am on half day leave. so may not have the time to check in this forum. weekend i am usu busy so may only check at nite.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">tera, your boi ok now?

mine is caused by the teether attached to the walker.. think i need to child proof the house asap..

anyone know where to get the ermn.. protector for fan? i a small clicked fan attached to cot and i saw him once try to put his fingers inside, though the gap is narrow but think his small finger can still go in wow.. think of wrapping it with those net oso....</font></font>

ioio,
yah, can apply dentinox cos i brought him to see pd and pd gave something that was like bonjela to numb the area.

thanks, he's better today.
on tues nite was bad, seems like he was in pain and kept waking up during the nite. and also couldn't drink his milk, had to feed using spoon.

Girls,

I just wanted to share this recipe coz my gal loves it.

Broccoli Rice Cereal
1. Steam the florets till soft
2. Mix it with milk and mash it with a baby food masher.
3. Mix it into the rice cereal (am using Frisco)

JP,
thanks for the vibes!
feel kind of bad to say this but i can't be sure wat happened cos both hubby and i were not around when it happened.

my ILs were out of town on tues so we left helper alone with bb. we've left bb alone with her for couple of hrs previously and things were fine. guess it was the first and last time we will leave bb alone with her for such a long period cos she only told my hubby when he reached home around 3pm that bb had fell forward and knocked his chin on a toy + cut his tongue. this happened when she left him alone to go and wash her hands which she should not have done cos my boy tend to lunge forward when seated. then again, we can only assume that she is telling us the truth.

when my hubby asked why she did not call to tell us immediately after the incident, she said cos she did not think its that serious. sigh.. oh well, i've told her not to make such decisions on her own in future and just call us once something has happened (hope not). guess the redeeming thing is that she did not withhold this incident from us or maybe also we would have found out anyway from the bruise.

and thanks to the cut/fall, bb was cranky the whole nite on tues. he woke up like almost every hour, wailing in pain. see already heart v pain. thankfully, he was better yest and last nite + he ate his cereal and porridge. but he can only take abt 60ml of milk at one time and via spoon. so we feed him more frequently.

sorry for the long post.. ;)

Sorry to heara bout the incident, JP. ... hope your little one is better now. babies do bounce back from bad incidents quicker than we adults, but I know it's hard to forget these incidents...

I realise more June bbs being more keen to drink milk by spoon. that's the case with Matthew too... any idea why ah?

Tera,
oh dear....ur boyboy must be pain cos cut his tougue...got bring him see doc?Must monitor ya..

Ellysia,
u on leave tmr?

JP,
I also looking for those netting for fans wor..

ioio,
wow, u bery good wor, tks for finding the articles for us..

<font color="aa00aa">ioio,
The protector for fan normally is for those normal size fan and is like net kind of protector.
I assumed the fan u attached to your baby cot is those small fan, rite? If you are not able to find one matching the size, you can try to use the laundry bag, and tied around the fan.
But hor, to me i dont think this fan net is very safe coz baby's finger still will be able to go in if they forced their fingers in.</font>

Tera,ioio,
Aiyo! What happen? Nv read carefully cause too many post. Hope ur baby are fine now.

Ellysia,
5^! I also going for haircut tml.

Cactus,
From MRT how to go over? I Raffles Place idoit. I working at Tanjong Pagar so taking MRT down eat abit snake. Hee.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">tks JP and Felicia.. will go take at look..

Sharon, mine hit his gum on the teether while on walker and gum bleed but so far ok liao, tera's little darling fell and injured the chin and cut the tongue..</font></font>