(2008/06) June 2008

cactus,

i started out with also 2 hrs trip during weekends bec my hb and bb want to go out. We just went for dinner nearby then come back to latch. Later on, we become more adventurous and go to those malls with nursing room. my bb initally not use to latching outside too. he still require a good environment to sleep so we dun like to go noisy malls. we usu go united square or GWC where there are less people.

crystal,
I see..tks ya..me still trying to arrange lor.w.at time u start work? cos wan to take 1 day next wk for spring cleaning so would go over ur office in e early morning collect then go home to do e cleanings lor..hmm... So how abt 19th?u on leave?

cactus,
cool! my lunch time is flexible, anytime for 12 to 2 but i think ellysia has some restrictions so let's see how the timing goes ya?

cactus,

my lunch time is 1pm-2pm. U can meet around raffles place MRT?

ioio,

and my mum didn't let me use walker.. but yet i also skip the crawling stage.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ha ha.. but i put him on walker liao.. though he dun move much..

yest put him for a short while and we take dinner.. and dun noe what he did with the teether on walker and his gum bleed.. quickyly carry him out and i put a bit of sugar to stop the bleeding.. dunnoe whether it's the right way but seeing mum does that to my niece and nephew.. think should start learning some first aid for baby..</font></font>

Ellysia, yah, my boy is a little younger than most of the June bbs here cos he's born later part of the month... I realised alot of what I'm experiencing now is a couple of weeks behind what other June mommies have already experienced.
These days, my boy is stretching his day time waking hours to about 2 to 3 hours so it's not so stressful for us..

Tera, Ellysia, my lunch time is between 1pm to 2pm - but I can only chomp for about 40 minutes cos need to factor in expressing time... pai seh...I prefer to express during lunch time cos no one will bother me. very stressful to express at other times.. then get emails and phone calls coming in. Yes, I can meet around Raffles Place MRT.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia.. guess every child is different ba.. so now bb dun crawl i guess it's nothing to worried.. ;p

mine still crawling backward and in circular direction only... he like to jump now.. aiyo.. something i more tired than him when carry him to jump..</font></font>

6 teeth

ya. kyler has 6 teeth liao. 4 upper and 2 lower. somehow, can see only 2 bottom when he smiles. but, he kept "grinding" his teeth and i pretty worried. anyone experience or heard of bb grinding teeth?

Tera,bleh,babycupid, little warrior, mlp, feifei...yr bb (teeth popping) will catch up with kyler in no time. kyler faster cos older. he born end May.

little warrior,
your bb can stand for 5 mins. very zhai
Kyler can stand up on his own in his playpen. he can move on his tummy to sitting position to standing on his own since yesterday ( using the railing to pull himself up).

where does Floyce sleeps now? cos i worry that kyler will 'climb out' on his own. so, had to keep watching him.

bleh,
yes, i was told that its better to allow crawling cos it does help in brain development.

ioio, your boy will start crawling forward soon. Mine started crawing backward, then circular direction, then can lift tummy up a little to leap forward once, then now a crawl forward a couple of steps already.
They learn very very fast!

cactus,

sure, no problem. glad u can meet up with us. I express at 12plus to 1pm. My office is near LPS, need to walk for 5mins to MRT.

cactus and Tera,

Next week i can meet any day except friday. we can meet at mos burger at Caltex house? Or subway if want healthier food. any suggestion?

Other mummies who can meet at raffles place during lunch time is free to join in too.

crawling : some babies dont like to crawl ! my #1 was like that, i think she was too "gu niang" and didnt wanna hurt her knees :pPP heehee
so she skipped the crawling stage and cruised pretty quicky and ended up walking by 11 mths ...

you have to measure all other physical and mental developments and not just look at any one.

Cactus : why dont u bring a manual pump out ? that way, you can stay out for longer ?

Tera : sure sure ! lunch sounds good, mine is flexible from 12 onwards. PP next weekend ? Onz ! heeheee

my kimi has NO TEETH !!!! but that's ok, cuz i suspect he's going to be a biter :p

bonjovi,
my ger born 23rd may lor.. =(..still bogeh..hehe...but she looks cute bogeh lor..hee

where u let ur boy crawl?I onli let charlotte crawl on the playmat so kind of resticted wor..

can i know how much yr bb sleeps and how u increase your bb sleeping time? kyler only nap for half an hour ( about 3 times a day). he has tired and cranky every 2 hours. now, myy mum pressurizing me to use sarlong. insisting that bb sleeps better in it.

my colleague says that i should not bring bb out so often during weekend cos bb develop habit of cat napping.

Me have recently raise the level of the baby cot plank bec my colleague say once bb can sit up, they will tend to peek out over the plank and is quite dangerous.

Maybe my bb ored know how to crawl but his cot is v small.. sometimes i saw him on his tummy dunno do wat.

K Ong, I find manual pump tiring.....
but because I no longer express every 2 or 3 hours, that's not the reason that I only go out for 2 hours these days. It's because my boy can only stay awake for 2 hours or so... then he gets very cranky. he doesn't sleep well outside. will cat nap for 20 minutes or so, then wake up again.

Next week I can meet up Monday to Wednesday

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">feifei,i let my boy wear knee protector and he crawl on our marble flooring(hard floor)</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">Raffles Place lunch gathering

Date: next week (pls suggest yr preferred date)
Time: 1-2pm
Makan venue: suggest pls

1) Ellysia (i can meet next week except friday, venue anything)
2) Tera
3) Cactus(only join for 40mins)
4) K Ong</font>

Bonjovi, my boy is very sensitive to light and sound. So he doesn't sleep well outside. over the weekends, we do bring him out, but we bring him back for his naps. Erm, instead of using sarong (better not use sarong unless desperate because it can lead to bad habits like the bb only want sarong next time - hard to go on holiday or visiting), you can dim the sleep area, have a mini nap routine for hte bb so he knows it is zzz time, play background music for him when he is asleep so that daytime noise is cut off from him.

K ong,
ya, i agree that we have to look at all aspects of development and not only the crawling.

feifei,
kyler crawls on the playmat, mattress and our bed. yes, sort of restricted cos got to keeping "catchinng" him back to the starting point. very tiring!

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
Actually making avocado puree is much easier than oth fruits coz dont need to steam. I did some search on website, usually they'll mashed it with fork, but i lazy, use blender. hehe....
Splited it into 3 via cups. The raw smell i cannot take it. I have intro apple and pear puree to my girl earlier, so thinking to try oth fruits, tats why buy the avocado. Hopefully my girl will like it.

Re: Crawling
Mummies, my #1 oso need crawl, coz we dont let her crawl, find it very 'leceh' when need to catch her. So, basically she started by standing up and within a week she can walk on her own liao. She oso din flip lor. So, hopefully it wont be development flaw!</font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">bonjovi.. i think good to bring bb out to get use to all kind of environment..

sarong.. mine sleep in it during daytime.. think he feels more secure in it and not so easily distracted by the noise.. he does sleep a bit longer..</font></font>

Ellysia, I suggst 12, 13, 14 Jan. If it's between Mos and Subway, my vote is for Subway!
Chevron House basement right? You ladies can start first, I can join later when I'm done or something!

Bonjovi, just to add, we hang up house phones and keep hps away from the bb when he zzzs too. because he gets easily awoken. We have a sarong with motor.. but he doesn't sleep well in it. He is too light and sound sensitive already.

bon,

my boy only naps for 10mins (short), long naps is 45mins. if he is super tired he can nap longer, but that is very very seldom. as they grow older they will nap less and less. its normal.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
yup, 19th jan i m ard. i m normally in office at 9am, so i ok to meet u in am. i m at prudential towers.</font>

i can make it either 13 or 14 jan

yeh ! i like subway !

ooo ... does he like sleeping in his pram ? u can put him inside and put a cloth to cover it ?

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia.. spree oso hv.. those with rubber cap think is better..</font></font>

Bonjovi, Ellysia brought up a good point. if your boy is well rested, it doesn't matter how long he sleeps. well rested means quite okay and not cranky for at least 1.5 hrs from t he last time he wakes up. My boy naps for 40 minutes to 2 hours at a time. He wakes up rather refreshed and can go for another 2 hours awake at least. when bbs get older, they tend to sleep longer during day time naps.
I think bbs going on to 7 months will start taking 2 or 3 naps during the day.

fennie,
u not afraid that bb knock head on marble flooring. i still dun dare to try leh.

cactus,
thanks for info. i already drew curtain and make room dark. will try the music.

ellysia,
i will let my boy crawl on our queen size bed for 20 mins at 8 plus when we reach home ( playing with him, singing, reading). then lights off at 9pm or when he crawls to me ( signal that he want to latch and sleep). u may wanna try. agree cot v small.

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
You can get it from kiddypalace as well. Btw, another DIY way is cut off the toes part of adult socks (unwanted socks lah. Perferable thick type) and put on your boy's knees.</font>

Bonjovi, you may want to consider if your bb is warm during the day? During the night, I let Matthew sleep in air con room in my room. long pants and long sleeves with socks. During the day, I let him sleep in living room, with all curtains drawn, constant background music (lullaby) and an air circulator, short sleeves, no pants, and no socks. My MIL was initially concerned that bb can't differentiate nap and bedtime cos both equally dark, but my nap and bedtime routine is different and my boy has no issues differentiateing both. You boy very cute! He will crawl to you whe he wants to latch and sleep !!

<font color="aa00aa">RE: Lunch @ RP
i dun mind joining but my lunch time normally is ard 11.30am onwards to 1.30pm. If can move forward timing from 1pm to 12.30pm, then i will join, if not then i ve to give it a miss liao...

just to share, I bought a sarong with motor for Matthew last time.. during the early months when he could not be put down cos we thought he will feel comfortable and "hugged" in a sarong and won't keep on waking up within 2 minutes of being put down, but it didn't work for him. h e still knew when we put him down to zzz.

<font color="aa00aa">ioio/ Ellysia,
For knee protector, is better to get those velcro type (can adjust) especially if your child have big thigh. </font>

ellysia,

ok. so i am not alone. i read somewhere that they need 14 hr sleep. so i tot my boy sleeps lesser than average. hence, i try to make sure he gets to go to bed by 9pm.

cactus,
my boy usually fresh when he wakes up and can last for 2 hours. but hor, he has dark ring...haha...

felica,
not to worry. every child is different and unique.

blankets for bb? where or wat u all buy hur? cos all along till nw i am using those receiving blankets to cover him at nite.. but i found some already abit small sure came off after he moved.. nd some advice here..

OK great!

Raffles Place lunch gathering

Date: next monday
Time: 1-2pm
Makan venue: Caltex house subway (basement through MRT)

1) Ellysia
2) Tera
3) Cactus
4) K Ong

Pls pm me your handphone number and i will reply with mine. or u can email me at [email protected]

Bonjovi, don't worry about the sleep thing. every child is different.
14 hours is only a guide. it is normal for a child to fluctuate +/- 2 hours. COnsider the total day time naps + night time sleep as a whole when you compute the number of hours.

BabyCupid, I'm still using receiving blankets but my boy likes to flip and turn when he sleeps.. so I wear long pants and long sleeves for him, socks also...
it helps. If you have sleep rompers, think it's a good idea too.

babycupid,

a lot of place got sell. pigeon blankets etc.
but i dun use blankets cos my mum said scared got entangled etc. i let him wear long pants and rompers and socks.

ellysia,
oh.. u mean its enuff? aircon rm? or non aircon? personally i find its not tat cold but we is adult ma.. but their body so small.. hahaa..

bonjovi,
my ger been sleeping in yalao since 1mth old during her naps..she can sleep 2-4hrs in there, sometimes onli 45mins lor...guess it really depends wor..

Fennie,
i see..but the prob is now my ger got a new habit, like to crawl halfway then lie on her side, meaning if shes on the floor, she will knock her head against the flr..hiaz..

bonjovi,
ya lor, i also feel tired..then she even wants to flip when sitting on rhe sofa..

crtystal,
we arrange again ya...tks =)..

crystal,

maybe u meet up with Tera and K Ong first? I can join in at 1pm.. sometimes i can sneak out a bit earlier.

Tera and K Ong, u 2 ok to meet with crystal earlier? then i come around 12.50pm.

BabyCupid, I think it's enough, cos bb have bb fat!
Erm ,I read that over heating bb's bodies is a factor increasing risk of sids. I only use receiving blanket to cover, but it is those light ones... so he won't suffocate or anything. it is recommended not to put too many things with bb during sleep.