(2008/06) June 2008

hi angel, i fed my boy porridge and he got irritated in the bb hi-chair lei. put him in walker then he also pek chey. So I managed to feed him abit only. after awhile, helper fed him the rest of it and he finished all! buay tahan...

so i don noe is it he don like hi-chair or he don like the way i feed him. argh!

danryan: hahahah.. ok.. your bro not bad ah.. got u such a durable gift.. worth all the money man..

bleh: cos the baby whisperer comes highly recommended by mag n jan.. more june mummies are reading it n recommend it too.. so i think its quite a good buy

and another book which tera n i are going to buy is the no-cry solution to sleep (somethin like that).. but the books havent' reach us yet so dun know how useful is it..

think mag n janvivy might have more books to recommend.. they are the experts in this field.. heehee..

MLP: huh? erm.. maybe u try to feed him again tmr? maybe he got irriateted by the high chair.. sometimes sheryl got irritated a bit n she will buay song every small little thing liao..

wel.. at least jayden still finish his porridge so he is ok with porridge.. =)

jsmurf: if your wife is not happy being a SAHM then maybe she wan to consider work part time? or go back to work? or can get a helper to help out at home so she won't feel so stressed?

huh? stay silent is not a good route to take.. but then again, if your partner is not willing to talk then there's nothing u can do about it too.. can get 3rd party to help? maybe sis, fren to get her to talk about the issues she is facing?

myabe wait for few days for her to cool down?

but whatever it is, i hope all will be well with u n your wife.. if not later your son might pick up the bad vibes between daddy n mummy n this might cause him to feel insecure.. so not good for the both of u n your bb in the long run..

<font color="aa00aa">Angel/ Tera,
For the past few days, she still sleep on her own. Today oso! hehe....
So far the only bad symptom is she reduce one feed of EBM. So things still not so bad lah.
Btw, just to share, i find YuJie is sleeping better and faster especially after outdoor trip. So maybe you all can try to bring ur lil one out to walk walk at neighbourhood.
But hor, so far only i managed to get YuJie to sleep on her own. If hubby sure backfired, and she'll cry for carry, ended up more difficult to get her to sleep. I think babies oso know how to bully ppl. haha...

JP,
I let my girl sleep on a single mattress on floor. After she knows how to flip, i dont let her sleep on my bed anymore. Anyhow, thks for ur advise.</font>

Four Teeth
1. Eunicia (Priscilla)upgraded frm two hehe
2. Yuzhe (Ellysia)

Three Teeth
1. Travis (Bleh)

Two Teeth
1. Kyler (Bonjovi)
2. Lucas (Tera)
3. Gwendolyn (Crystal)
4. Vivienne (Veniz)
5. Floyce (War_angel - Jessica)
6. Gianna (JP)
7. Matthew (Cactus)
8. Nicholas upgrade from bogeh club
9. (candys/fen)
10. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn) - cutie lil teeth, but d88n hard to come out!
11. Qianying (iamsnow) - upgrade from bogeh club!

One Cutie Tooth
1. Reanne (Janiviy)
2. Andrea (Rizty)
3. Ivory (Sharon)
4. YuJie (Felicia) Upgrade fr Bogeh club on 3rd Jan 09

Waiting for Tooth Fairy to Visit (Bogeh Club)
1. Kyan (BabyCupid) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
2. Jared (Fennie77)
3. Cedrik (Feiling)
4. Elyssa (Mogudog)
5. Zhi Yu (bizznow)
6. Jade (shycloud)
7.Qyan (ioio)
8. Jayden (MLP) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
9. Charlotte (feifei)
10. Rex (jn80jn)
11.Gwenneth (tinyfeet/esther)
12. Evelyn (soyabean)
13. Nadia Marshya (danryan)
14. Yue Han (star)
15. Nicole (Piyo)
16. Cornelius (tanlengleng)
17. Siying (sandra/spritzer08)
18. Athanasius (Mag/liteonmag) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
19. Sheryl (angel_z)
20. cheri (ariesann) still dun knw how to flip.
21. Nicole (cynthia) love been toothless
22. Lucius (shern) lurve his gummy smile
23. Isabel (krispy) bogeh as at 3/1/09

<font color="aa00aa">Re:porridge
Plan to let my girl try in another 1-2weeks, when she's almost 7 mths old. Few days ago, just started intro apply puree, 1st try my ger show me 'sour' taste look. My MIL was beside at tat time and laughed her at funny look. Tomorrow will go to buy pear to make puree. Any mummies can intro wat pear is good?</font>

felicia: hahahaha.. so yujie got quirks too.. then u sleep with yujie on her mattress? or she sleep with her sis?

bleh: your bb travis is very special.. the onli one with 3 teeth!

jsmurf - Its good to hear that you are so concern about your wife. So, she is not suffering from PND, thank goodness. I think its not about not helping enough. Being a SAHM can be lonely sometimes coz there's no tea breaks, chit-chat wz colleagues, etc. Maybe its just the teething period for her to adjust. Do communicate with her and then take the cues from there. Wishing you all the best.

MLP - Do you have any toys? This is one way to distract him.

Felicia - That's great! Better to be safe!

angel,
thks for the link! I think i should look for carrier since many suggest that.

janiviy,
Not sure which part. Nv ask my HB so much.

ZuEn,
Ya lor... 10 days man. Headache. Cereal/milk/puree not a problem but porridge i worried. Still wondering how to prepare porridge there.

JP,
Thks for the advise! So porridge not necessary? Replace porridge with cereal is ok?

Ellysia,
Have ur boy try on pumpkin? My ger just try on pumpkin for past few days and I notice she everyday got poo. Usually she 2-3 days poo once and is hard stool. But now is loose.

JP, i use toys to distract him at times during milk feed when he wants to turn away. Haven't try toy during cereal yet. Will try tt tml. hehe.... Just hope my hands can cope. cos usually got to feed then wipe here n there. haha...

MLP,
hahaha.. hopefully i wont encounter tat.. cos as of now.. Kyan still loves his cereal! bery cooperative.. my frend oso bery amused when she is here while i feeding him.. kekeke..
wanted to try avocado but cant find.. haiz.. always like tat..

soyabean,

i bot the japan sweet potato cos i saw a lot of people buying. but my boy dun like it. and i dunno why when i cook it, it turn a bit greenish. but the taste is sweet and nice, but i just dunno why he dun want to eat it. maybe the earthbest sweet potato is from canada, different type.

sharon,

really? ok i will try tat.

JP,

wow i didn't know they will check on tat.

Re: cereal

i am still give HT cereal. recently i mix with HT pea puree and seems ok. today i mix with cauliflower puree which i made myself 2 days ago (i use frozen puree).

ellysia,
the sweet potato i bot oso jap.. my boy oso dun like.. me n my dog eat it.. so yummy.. kekekkee..

those puree my boy dun really like.. mus mix with heinz rice cereal den he willing to eat! like apple, pumpkin..

Sharon - Cereals also can. The Heinz bottle food also can. It really depends on your child. Take the cue from him.

MLP - It works for my girl. Good luck!

Ellysia - Who check on that? You mean the car seat thingy?

jsmurf,

after reading yr posts, can't help to share some of my comments here.

Both me and my hb work and we leave our bb at our mil house during work and fetch him back daily. weekends we take care bb together, we are staying by ourselves without any maid or any old folks. During weekdays after work, we have to rush back to fetch our bb and will bathe him together and put him to sleep.

My hb help in these ways:

Bathing - usu my hb is in charge of the bathing, i in charge of wiping bb and putting on clothes and diapers. My hb learnt the bathing procedure together with me at hospital when i discharge from giving birth. and bec during confinement i was not allowed to touch water, he and my mum (who is my confinement lady) was hands on for bathing. after my mum move back to her house, my hb is in charge.

change diapers - we will do whoever discover the poo poo.

feeding - as i am total bf, most of the feeds i do except when i go out running errands, hb will take charge with a bottle. as i do all the night waking up (i do all the night feeds), my hb will help to take care of bb for few hours in the morn so tat i can have extended hours of sleep.

putting bb to sleep - normally my hb will do it but if bb is cranky we do together or i take over.

playing - we play with bb together. sometimes take turns, sometimes together.

Sometimes my hb take leave to relieve my mil and he will stay at home to take care of bb alone.

babycupid,

plain cereal is a bit boring. i find my boy also enjoy puree more than cereal. so i also try to mix around. but have to mix the correct puree (the one he likes) or else the whole bowl will be wasted.

ellysia,
ya lor.. i oso find plain cereal boring lor.. but he can eat till so happy! as if it is soooooooo delicious like tat.. duno y..

jsmurf,

i tink maybe yr wife need to do some other things than taking care of bb, at times. maybe u can try to take over of bb for 1 day and let her go out shopping or meet up with her frens to catch up. i usu feel much better and happier after meeting up my gal frens and will be more refreshed after i go back home. it may not be tat she is unhappy at u. it may not be yr fault too. she probably just need a life that is more than the home and bb, which can get v boring at times. if u take care of yr bb and be in her shoes for a few days to a week u will understand better i guess.

babycupid,

i tasted the cauliflower puree and it taste yuck, but he eat it. i taste the sweet potato puree and it taste good, but he doesn't want to eat it.. i also dunno wat to prepare for him. maybe its really easier to prepare porridge than just puree. anyway the sweet potato is so much harder to prepare bec of the skin need to peel off nicely. cauliflower much easier to do.

ellysia,
hw u do the cauliflower puree? boil it den puree it? den u feed jus the puree or mix wif cereal?

jsmurf, maybe get yr wife to join tis forum lor..i find readin tis thread quite destress leh...and get lotsa advices/views from other mummies here...usualli i feel better after reading here ..hehe

Yr wife is one lucky woman to hv a hb tat can help her so much...
i hv 2 kiddy at home wif my maid..me and my maid does most tings....interms of handlg bb he say he got no patience ,in terms of hsework he say 'i dono how' ..
Now i oso cant be bothered to ask him to help...

So she shld realise she is fortunate enuf ler..

babycupid,

i steam it until tender, then puree it using blender. it can puree until v nice n smooth. then i do the cereal by adding water, then i add in cauliflower puree. the puree has a lot of water usually, need to pour out excess water. no need to add water when puree cauliflower, itself has a lot of water.

when u cut cauliflower try to use the florets (i.e. the flower part) and avoid the stem as the stem give gas and harder to blend.

This is same way as preparing brocoli.

BBcupid, it's like tat one hor. when want to buy, then cannot find. but don worry lah, soon u will see it in supermart. :p

Tera, have u let lucas tried the avocado?

Just finished my boy's avocado puree + BR cereal. he finished it. i put him in walker so he's ok. These days, he will chase after people for food in his walker. *faint*

bleh,

tink u are doing right, according to wat i read in articles. self-soothe is the bb coo to himself to fall asleep.

hi ellysia,when avocado is ripe, the flesh is veri soft. You just cut the fruit open and scope out the flesh and use spoon/fork to mash it! HTHs.

Baby's Mashed Avocado for babies 4-6 months
(from wholesomebabyfood)

Peel and de-pit a ripe avocado
Cut “meat” out and mash with a fork

There should be no need to use a machine as just like bananas, avocados have a very soft consistency and texture. Avocados do not need to be cooked.

It also can be mixed with:
Bananas
Pears
Apples

MLP,
the avocado i bought hor, haiz, it grew mouldy before i could let lucas try leh! so wasted.
i think its cos i bought an organic one (the cold storage i was at only sells organic ones) and so it grew ripe faster, haha. next time i will opt for normal one cos the price is a lot cheaper as well, keke.

so did u try feeding jayden again today? i wasn't around this morning and according to my helper, lucas din like the nestle cereal too. jiat lat, now i have a lot of extra cereals lor, hee!

LOL! the image of jayden chasing ppl for food in his walker is very cute!!

bbcupid,
so far, i noticed cold storage carries avocado.

mag,
so you using the car seat liao?? Your boy will sit on it?...I wanna upgrade...but find it too upright for her...so at the moment let her squeeze in her Maxi Cosi..hehehe

Well, it's not a matter of engaging a helper rather having another stranger in the house than irked my wife. Part-time was not considered as she deemed it would be a sloppy job.

I have volunteered before to look after the baby on my own during my off days, but it was emphasized that i would "Contaminate" the baby with my "dirty" techniques, translating that i have not meet her standards.

Ellysia,
Thanks for sharing the intricate details of the team work that you have adapted. Likewise, i have helped my wife in the changing of diapers, bathing, feeding and many others. But the matter is not really the intricacies of it, but rather why some females could conveniently blame the hubby for not being supportive? Is this some sort of a feminine cognitive emotional thingy?

While i understood how much effort is required of a SAHM, but isnt that the same requirements from other mothers? I just cannot see why others can do it so seamlessly, while i need to cushion all these at my end.

I am a bit fuming as my wife brought my baby out without telling me her whereabouts. This is the second time.

Nevertheless,i thank all for the kind advice and please continue the topic on the puree stuff. I will be by-watching how you people do it.

My baby is taking brown rice and the Heinz Cereals. If i didnt remember wrongly, he takes them during lunch and dinner,with 150-170ml of EBM every two hours.

jsmurf,

maybe u shd have a good talk with yr wife.

occasionally i will still grumble on my hb actually, although he did help a lot. sometimes when he play games too much and i have to struggle with housework and bb, i will grumble too. recently during teething my bb also grouchy, got 1 night he keep crying and we dunno wat to do, also nearly quarrel too. i guess bound to have quarrels esp when stressed up.. but most impt is to makeup after quarrel and talk nicely.

oh ya, do find a time to have some couple time without yr bb, maybe let yr mum or her mum take care for one weekend, and 2 of u go out watch movies and makan dinner. have some value couple time without kids is good for the rs. me and my hb time is we watch dvd after bb sleep, and usu we eat breakfast together after we put our bb at mil house.

buy some gift or flowers for yr wife, or bring her out for a nice dinner. will help a lots. women like tat.

Today i feed bb with earthbest apple, he like a lot and keep licking. i tink must be previously my homemade one i pick the wrong apple, so he dun like.

Bleh,
Athan was in the same situation also when I started "training" him few days back but the crying will get lesser &amp; lesser. I dun know if it's due to tiredness or wat, I placed him on his mattress in the living rm just now @ 3.15 &amp; I instructed PILs &amp; DH not to talk to him &amp; he actually fell sleep quietly within 10mins. Now still haven't wake up &amp; the TV is still on at minimal volume too. U try another 2 days &amp; c if got any improvement.

Angel, last nite I gave him his bottle @ 9.45, finished in 10mins &amp; lay down looking around on his mattress &amp; he fell asleep on his own in the living rm by 10.15pm. My BIL also surprised that he could sleep on his own in only a few days cos during my 1st day of training, he was around &amp; last nite, my boi fell asleep in front of him wif no noise at all. Woke up @ 12plus but as I was too tired, I latched him &amp; he managed to last until 6am for his feed &amp; sleep until 8plus. I think his feeding time is 6am liao. At least got improvement lah.

actually we been training our boy to sleep on his own 2 mths ago.. if he got no prob like teething or stomach pain he can sometimes sleep on his own.. but sometimes he still need to carry. recently due to teething he need carry again. hope he can sleep on his own back again soon.

Felicia,

ya usu when we bring bb out for gai gai or during weekdays (we do fetching to and fro mil house daily) so he get tired more easily.

Janiviy, I only let him try at home but when we r out, he still uses the infant carrier. Will switch in prob 1-2mths time. So far maybe cos Athan's very kaypoh so he dun mind sit a bit straight then he can c c look look here there everywhere.

U tried letting Reanne sit in it? Actually after adjusting to the lowest position, it's not that bad leh.

Jsmurf, I'm actually glad that u actually took the initiative to come in to this forum to seek advice. By doing this, I'm sure u love your wife alot &amp; u do treasure this marriage that's y u r seeking for solutions.

Just to let u know my story. I've been a SAHM since June 08. I'm currently staying at my PILs place &amp; will be here until next yr when my new place is ready. I attend evening classes twice a wk. My mum stays over twice a wk too. I had a confinement lady during my 1st mth &amp; after that I had to do everything on my own. Reason I chose to b SAHM was cos I din want a maid &amp; my hubby din want a nanny/babysitter.

Until today, my hubby can't change diaper for my son alone even when I showed him how to do it. My hubby only plays wif my son &amp; everything else is done by me. Just to make u feel better, my hubby can carry my son for max. 10mins when I can carry for 2hrs flat. My hubby only makes milk for my son when I'm at school but feeding used to b done by my FIL. Now only need to hold the bottle while my boi drinks lying down on the mattress. He just learnt how to burp &amp; is doing well so far. Our laundry is done by me &amp; the rest of the hsework, i'll split wif my FIL. Until today, I can only leave my boi alone wif DH only when my FIL/mum is around. I told him I dun want to force him anymore but at least can help me by keeping all the dry clothes &amp; folding them, help me to pour the bathwater &amp; play/talk to my boi when I'm resting &amp; so far DH still ok. We manage to go out on our own at least once a mth now &amp; we watch TV programs together everynite too so at least we can talk. Mayb u can try wat Ellysia suggested on couple time.

Pls bear in mind that staying at home all day is very boring &amp; can get frustrated so try &amp; talk to your wife when bb's asleep &amp; tell her how much u really 1 2 help.

Silent war is the worst so try &amp; calm down then talk to her. When I quarrel wif hubby, I'll keep quiet &amp; calm down until my bb's asleep then I'll have a gd talk wif my hubby as my tone will b softer &amp; sort out whatever we were arguing &amp; we'll make up after. U can try it too.

Sorry for long post.

MLP - How? Can or not? Is he eating better? Besides toys, I will distract my gal with Baby Brainy DVD...ha!ha!ha!

jsmurf - I know its hard hearing such words from your wife. You know, sometimes when a person is stressed, they really don't mean what they say. Ha!Ha! When I showed my DH (Darling Hubby) what you said about feminine cognitive emotional thingy, he was laughing away. As he puts it, everyone is different, even guys. So sorry to hear that your wife went out gai-gai with DS without telling you. Hope that they back already. Keep up the good work as we can tell you are trying your best!

RE : Baby Car Seat
Its pretty easy to handle a 2 year old in a car seat - on his fav Thomas &amp; Friends or Barney and he will be OK. As for my #2, I have to put lots of toys so that she can chew, bite, suck, etc. She is quite happy as long as there's lots of things for her to play with.

Good evening
Aiyoh, so much posting since i last came in.

Just sent DH and DS to tapao dinner, now very peaceful with bb Jaret. Playing peek-a-boo with Jaret to distract him from killing the laptop :p

Question: I just started feeding bb with cereal last week and vege puree yesterday. I am feeding him ~80ml of pure vege puree (split 2x a day) and 2 tablespoon of Heinz rice cereal each day in addition to milk feed. Is it too much puree / too little cereal to feed a day?

Bf baby refusing bottle 2 weeks b4 returning to work:
Jenny, I had this prob too, had to change many type of bottles b4 bb accept, end up using pigeon wide neck btl, i suppose more similar to the real thing bah. But cos my bb is exclusively breastfed, up till this day he still refuse to be btl fed by me. If I am around, he will refuse the bottle.

nss - My #1 was also BF till he weaned of at 8 mths plus. However, its hard to transfer to a teat. For #1, after trying so many teats, he ended up with NUK. (website: intaventorthofix.com/motherbaby/NUK/Teats/teats)

JP, my bbsitter no problem with bottle feed bb. Only bb had issue with ME feeding bottle. But I have no prob with it, since less things to wash :p

ellysia,
oh oh.. so jus use the flower part ya? okok.. i shall try it! thnx thnx..

MLP,
Ya man! wanna find cant see any.. not finding and kept appearing! kekeke.. I oso let my boy sit in his walker.. he loves it lor.. 'running' here n there.. hmm.. issit gd to let them do tat hur? bery contradicting lor.. cos its really bery convenient.. he will entertained himself in walker..

Tera,
haha.. i went cold storage and ntuc both oso bo lor.. tats y i said when wanna find cannot get it! cos i have been seeing it in compass pt cold storage.. anyway.. i will jus get it once i see it! hey hey.. my boy oso dun like nestle rice cereal! haiz..

RE: Heinz rice cereal
I went back to kiddy palace in compass pt and the normal rice cereal is OOS.. only organic one.. wonder issit they stop producing the normal one.. anyone koe?

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
For me only weekend got chance to bring my ger out, so basically weekend nites, she can dozed off very fast. But i still had to restricted her from sleeping past 6pm, else she wont be able to sleep around 8.30pm to 9pm.
Btw, can i check with you whether YuZhe's poo became more 'solid' after you intro cereal and puree?
Coz i find YuJie's poo started to get bit solid, after i started her on cereal.

Angel,
not sure if i answer ur qn or not about whether YuJie sleep w her sis coz i was reading the post on n off, cant even remember if i reply you. hehe...
Well, as our master bedroom is not very big, so we din let our 2 girls sleep together. So if YuJie sleep with me, then my #1 will sleep with my MIL and vice versa.</font>

babycupid, I just got it from CCK FairPrice last week after telling u tat it is OOS. But the sell out fast within 2 days. Dunno whether it is phasing out or not. Do u want me to help u get the Heinz cereal if they restock?

Walker:
My boy can only go backwards in walker leh, dunno how to run here and there. But I only let him sit in it together with me when doing chores in the kithchen.
Con of walker: My elder boy also sit walker last time, he sometimes walk tip toe when younger. But dunno is it becos of walker or not. But now 3 years old liao, dont walk with tip toe - so no problem. In fact he always try ways not to walk when go out, will request stroller or be carried.
Pro of walker: Super convenient for mommy :p

nss,
ohoh.. aiyoh.. so pop! haiz.. hmm.. where u stay?
my boy can front back side.. all directions lor! and he sometimes super fast.. chasing my dog..
i try to minimise the use of walker but its really convenient lor! kekeke.. esp when i nd to do something or eating..