(2008/06) June 2008

mag,
Reanne's last feed is at 11pm. 170ml...then sleep thru..morning feed is 7am,...(She don;t wake up so early one...its me who wake her for her feed)...then she will continue sleeping till 10:30-11am bah...before her next feed at 11am.

Her schedule
7am -170ml milk
11am-170ml milk
1pm- lunch
5pm- 170ml milk
8pm- dinner
11pm- 170ml milk

Mag, no prob. Anything sms me also can, will try to reply otherwise, if too much to tell you, then I will call you back, hee.

angel_z, you can try to lift her out of YL after she had fallen into deep sleep and pop her onto bed or cot. This is worth trying if the total exemption cannot be met. Maybe she does not like the hard cot mattress? Find one day, you put her onto your own bed (I believe much more comfy) she may love it? My Vivi can nap longer on my bed rather than on cot during daytime, coz of mattress texture.

Oh Mag, ya, now with Jan around, i suddenly rem.

If Athan does not want to wait till 9.30pm drink milk, then you dream feed him around maybe 12am or just before you sleep lor, this will help also leh.

Kyan's schedule..
7am -150ml milk
10am-150ml milk
1pm- lunch (2.5 similac scoops of cereal + puree)
4pm- 150ml milk
6pm- Puree
7pm- 150ml milk + 2 similac scoops of BR
10pm - 150ml milk

veniz: i tried that before when she was younger (ard 3-4mths) but hor she will wake up when she toss in her sleep.. then she will toss more n wake up crying.. i think cos somehow she realised she not sleeping in the yaolan..

then there are few times when i can rock her to sleep in my arms.. i realise she want the feeling of security.. cos when i rock her in my arms, i actually keep her arms close to her body n pat her to sleep.. n she will fall asleep faster than if her arms are wide open... dun know whether u know what i mean not..

but then again, its not all the time that i can successfully rock her to sleep too.. sigh.. still trying to find the 'qiao meng'..

Hi Angel, the last feed is u dreamfeed Sheryl or feed her when she's awake?

Aiyoh, if u saw my 1st few posts u can c that I had alot of negative remarks fr my hubby, MIL & even my mum. Just now even my aunties joined in too when they saw wat i did. On top of that I had to tolerate Athan's screaming cries that's y I said I almost went mad & wanted to give up on my 1st attempt. Just tell your hubby that this yaolan thing may go up till 3 or 4 yrs old & it'll b even harder to break the habit by then. If u really want to stop the yaolan, tell your hubby to let u try for 3 days or even a week & c if any improvement(minor or major also can). But u must really turn a deaf ear to negative things others say if u really 1 2 succeed, trust your maternal instinct.

I closed my doors the 1st nite & told my hubby to leave me alone so that he won't have to hear the racket that Athan was creating. My mum was inside wif me & she also surrender by shaking her head. Just now my hubby saw how Athan slept in 5 mins wif minimal noise, he was surprised too so I bet he will shut his mouth when he sees me unconditioning Athan again.

One last note, b4 u attempt to uncondition your child, please warn every1 in the house to expect lots of crying screams for a while.

veniz: and in the yaolan, her arms are close to her body cos of the yaolan cloth... so she likes that feel, i think...

mag: the last feed is when sheryl is awake.. but the morning 1st feed at 830am is sometimes dream feed, sometimes awake...

i tried before to stop using the yaolan.. then sheryl cried for about 45mins n still refuse to sleep in my arms.. she cried until face red... then husband saw that bb cried for so long n scolded me.. sigh.. then never tried again liao...

mag: sometimes i dun trust myself or my maternal instinct leh... i looked at sheryl crying n i will start to blame myself liao..

mag: my dreamfeed i will give 100ml, sheryl's usual feed is 130ml.. sheryl can never drink 130ml for dream feed.. usu its ard 80-100ml of milk..

Angel, do u add cereal into the dreamfeed?

Never doubt your maternal instinct if u think it's for the gd of your child. U'll b amazed at wat u can achieve.

mag, I understand your problem, coz I am a major victim. Everyone against my ways, then I have to surrender and practically offer my son to them as their son. My mil kept saying air will go into his tummy, etc, haiz, anyway, now he has grown up, not much funny funny thingys, only that we have to offer him Mr Cane as he has been very very cheeky and mis-conduct. Next saga to discipline this boy (too spoilt till even the major 'spoilt-er' cannot take it today and intro Mr Cane to him :p)

angel_z, have to try one. dun worry, slowly lar. Once your mil takes care of her, you see how Sheryl will behave, and maybe you can tell your mil to help you with this problem.

Angel, Athan's EDD was 13 June but cos he din 1 2 come out so kena induced on 18 June.

Since Sheryl's age is quite big now then maybe it's time to try & change her.

mag, dreamfeed, give exact amount of milk and cereal first, then monitor. 1st few times, give same amount, if he drinks lower vol consistantly, then decrease till the vol he always drink. Also, its ok with cereal added in one. It will be like as per normal. Sometimes if you dun add in, babies will fuss and not drink coz of the difference in taste. (I realised Vivi will drink more milk if I add some cereal in it)

mag: i dun add cereal into the dream feed.. erm.. actually i never add cereal into any of her milk..

when sheryl is dream feeding, its very slow wan.. usu she can finish in 10-15min fo 130ml.. but when dream feed can take up to 30min for onli 80-100ml.. so will cereal slow down the process?

veniz: huh? my PILs like yours too.. everytime see sheryl cry onli then will give in to her liao.. even worse than me loh... when sheryl throws tantrum dun wan to finish milk, they will okok... then play with her.. *faint* so i think they should be of not much help...

think they will scold me loh if they found out that i let her cry so long.. they said the same thing too.. cry too much will let wind into her stomach.. so cannot let her cry.. sigh...

they even happily go buy full set of yaolan to welcome her liao.. hahahaaha...

mag, tell you hor, I edd 14th Jun leh, then hor,7th june for final check up to decide to induce, c-sect or wait for nature birth (coz doc not in during the few days before my edd and asked me to decide). I happily planned to wait for natural birth coz #1: 9th (mon) going for hi-tea buffet with MLP, dun want to have c-sect or induce that day. #2: Want to rest more or go kypo more (visit pple) before I give birth. But, Vivi wants to come out before my last preggie hi-tea makan, I was so sad that time, but yet happy that she is my sucess to no knife.

veniz: but the baby book said should not add cereal into milk cos next time will be difficult to wean baby off bottle... so i never try loh.. actually alot of methods i oso dun know which one to follow... blur liao..

but what kind of cereal u add? the normal cereal we feed baby? brown rice cereal? Healthy Times cereal?

then need special teats oso right?

mag: so if sheryl waited till 17 june then her age would be very close to athan.. onli 1 day diff.. heehee..

but i aledi super guilty that its my fault for the premature delivery n sheryl had to hospitalised for over 2weeks.. sigh.. so now i pamper her alot.. but will try to rock her again soon... thanks for the encouragement..

Angel, I also worried to mix that's y my ratio is diff (more milk than cereal) & I only mix for last feed. Day feeds are either latchon or full formula.

I'm using Happybellies BR cereal. Next mth i'll use Sishen BR, already standby but quite reluctant to use cos must cook & i'm lazy mum.

mag: yaya.. try n let us know!

babycupid: i oso very gan cheong waiting for sheryl's 1st tooth.. everyday during bathing time, while cleaning her mouth, i will 'search' up n down for any sign of her 1st tooth.. kekeke..

angel_z, as mentioned to you before, add cereal to milk is no no for difficult weaning of baby is only when no spoon feeding of cereal is done, and the baby only rely on cereal feed through drinking of milk.

For me, as long as I spoonfeed cereal and porridge, and in milk add a bit of cereal to give extra nutrition, its ok. But beware of if cereal too much, baby may choke (I think this age its ok liao) and it will be heaty, thus baby has to drink more water as well.

I add frisocream, other pple normally add brown rice cereal. I think any type of cereal also can lar. Teats will need bigger hole type. I am using nuk, so I cut criss cross at the hole area (for my son).

Of coz, there are quite a no of mummies here who will say No-No to cutting of teats and adding cereal to milk, but its really up to us to decide what to give to our children.

mag: oh ok.. then y u choose to add cereal at her last feed?

right now im cooking sishen BR for her lunch everyday.. n im going to work soon n i worry my MIL dun know how to cook.. sigh.. still dun know how yet..

Angelz, hey, if you dun give birth earlier than expected, I wont know who you are, hee.

Mag, aiya, its nothing lar. Its only that I was having selfish thoughts for myself (want to heal faster mah) and I want to try see how painful labour pains are, etc. In fact, I love adventures, but ever since know my hb, my life has been very boring, esp now, tied down with two kids.

angel_z, aiyo, with Vivi's two teeth, I never clean leh, coz if my cloth goes in her mouth, she will try to bite my fingers.

Opps, Babycupid, I seem to leave you out in my posts. Your Kyan very cute and fair, I am sure his 1st tooth will be out soon.

veniz: oooo.. so its referring to babies who never spoon-feed at all then difficult to wean la.. okok.. thanks for the info..

then u add cereal into all vivi's feeds? or onli selected few?

u add frisocream? its a cereal is it? sorry.. never lookout for it before.. so dun know what it is.. then what is your ratio of cereal n milk for 1 feed?

sorry ah.. ask so many qns.. hope im not delaying your sleeping time?..

angel_z, the brown rice very easy cook one, dun worry. Our parents' time, I believe most of us eat cooked granted brown rice (w or w/out sesin) so dun worry, really easy to cook lar, only that dunno if your MIL knows Sheryl's feeding patterns or not.

veniz: hmm.. thats very true.. hahahaha.. then we will not know our real identities liao.. hahahaha...

dun say like that leh.. i think u very brave to try VBAC.. very courageous.. i dun dare eh.. my #1 is C-sec, i think my #2 oso c-sec.. i scare....

hey,...i going to ask a silly question...how much porridge shld i be giving huh? For HT, their 1 serving is 5tbsp...Happy bellies is 4 tbsp..then for normal plain porridge is how much? how to measure??...

angel_z, I haven't add everytime, but I add like 1/4 scoop before to her 140ml milk (me giving her similac, so scoop is bigger). I have to change her current range of teats to silicon ones before I cut teat and try again as her current rubber teats are best not to be cut and cereal sometimes slow down the milk feed.

I add frisocream rice cereal, yes, its a cereal. But if you have HT or HB, just add them in, equally good lor. About ratio, I am not sure, maths very bad. You can ask mag or babycupid, they also add in cereal to milk.

veniz: easy ah? i onli got the hang of it after few days.. need to learn how to cook it nicely such that the texture is nice n sheryl likes it... so i scare my MIL dun know how.. guess either i demo to her or wait till i come back then feed sheryl BR as dinner instead of lunch..

my MIL is from m'sia n her whole family all in m'sia.. she came to spore in her 20s so alot of mummy things she dun know wan.. cos she no relatives n very few aunties frens here to discuss with.. my mum knows more things loh.. my MIL dun even know what is sishen n that baby can drink yangsheng.. i have to explain to her.. so me n my husband jus discovered that actually he didnt have alot of things when he was young.. haahahah..

i nvr count by tbsp lor.. i jus use the similac scoop.. so i oso duno am i serving 1 or hw many..

nw kyan is on 2.5 similac scoops of rice cereal..

janvivy: are u referring to using normal rice grains to cook porridge? my mum said jus use one hand to grab one handful.. heehee.. very old ppl method, i guess..

Angel_z, dun worry about my sleeping time lar. In fact, I should be sleeping now, but now thread like very lively leh. Tomorrow got to wake up 6am to prepare. Son's first day of sch, have to reach sch at 8am, so we are leaving house early at 7am, reach MIL around 7.30, then he needs to be changed and walk to sch. I will hang around his sch area at coffeeshop coz of sch orientation. I bet I will need more coffee tomorrow.

janiviy, for porridge hor, just cook to half a small bowl and try to give Reanne, see how much she can finish before you gauge the amount of rice grains. At this moment, you can try to use 5 scoops of rice to cook and see if she can finish or not. I normally keep my milk powder scoops coz can use for taking rice for babies or son.

veniz: okok.. thanks...

heehehe.. is your son very excited about 1st day of school tmr? u? ya.. think u need more coffee tmr le.. drink chicken essence?

mag: ooo.. athan finished in 10min? wow.. very fast eh.. dream feed? or awake?

with dream feed should be able to drag longer...

Bb Cupid, my nanny measured before. She told me 3 teaspoon equals to 1 similac scoop leh.

angel_z, ok. you try to measure out the water and cereal for her, then at least she can follow lar. No wonder your hb so skinny, get him to eat more now. :p I last time also dun have a lot. Sec 1 then know wat ham is (only when neighbour bought for us) and only know what is dried scallop when went out eating with my hb family when I was 22yo. So mountain tortise, ganna laughed by my mil.

veniz,
so meaning...use the milk scoop to measure the rice huh?....mine is Friso scoop leh...hiaz..nevermind...i try & error..see how..