(2008/06) June 2008

JTS wif mummies here. My boi is wearing out the bouncer soon so I decided to put a stop to it. Since yesterday noon, i've been trying to stop my boi fr napping in his bouncer cos he had this habit of bouncing until he sleeps(thanks to my ILs). I had to get alternative by pressing his head on my chest & gently patting his back & saying "Orh orh orh" rhythmically. He cried for 20mins b4 he finally fell asleep & I just placed him on the mattress. Then at bedtime, I went thru the same ritual again & he still cried & even screamed but for 17mins b4 he finally slept. So pissed wif my MIL cos she kept shouting for my FIL to go n check y Athan cry so badly & luckily I discussed wif my hubby b4hand so he went to explain to her & she just kept quiet. She commented that she really pei fu I can tahan his cries & screams lor cos she definitely cannot lor.

For his nap at 10.30 just now, it only took me 10mins wif a little whimper to put him to sleep. Very big achievement for me. Hoping to kick this habit by this wk.

Mummies who want their babies to stop any habits, pls find another alternative & stick to wat u 1 2 achieve. It really takes alot of patience cos I almost gave up yesterday as he cried until really cham. Will stick to this method until he can sleep by patting without bouncer. I have too many habits to break for my son, really stressed.

Got this idea fr the Baby Whisperer as well as my own textbk. Pai say for the long post.

Gtg bathe my son now, talk to u ladies again.

Happy New Year girls!

Janiviy,
No angry, no angry ya. My girl is teething, so fuss the whole night and finally fell alsp at 11pm last night. She's rejecting milk too, so dream feed her. She drank so slowly. Ended up, hb and I actually managed to countdown. -.o"

Mag,
I need to "teach" my bb to sit in the car seat. My fault, never insist and always carry her when she fusses. However, confine space leh. I think we will go crazy with a scraeming baby in the car. Need to get a bigger car seat, but worried that we watse our investment if she refuses to sit. -.o"

Hi Zuen, maybe u can try doing this at home first if u feel that u cannot tahan the fuss in the car. At home when u put her in the car seat & she fusses, pick her up & pat her on the back until she calms down, once she quietens then put her back into the car seat again. Continue wif this process of carrying her up & putting her down repeatedly(it may take up to 100 times but dun give in) until she gives up fussing cos by then she knows she bo pian have to stay in the car seat cos u r not going to carry her all the way. When she can sit in the car seat properly then u can shift the car seat fr home to your car.

In order to make this work, u must b very patient & tolerant & persistent. Ignore all negative remarks fr anyone. When my hubby saw the way my son was crying during my 1st attempt, he actually discouraged me by saying my method will never work & I was so pissed that I brushed him off & told him to go back to the room & watch his anime, if too noisy then just close the door & just leave me alone. I also ignored my MIL last nite cos I always tell myself it's for the gd of me & bb that i have to reverse this habit & if this succeeds then I'll have a whole list of bad habits that I want my son to stop too. *Evil mummy* Hiak hiak...

Mag,
i agree with u..my boy also always cry when put him in car seat..sometimes he's ok, sometimes not..but i know he's pretending, cos the moment i take him out, he smiles..

i also rock my son to sleep for nap..abt 3-5min..

Jan,
Hope u are feeling better by now! *hugs*

Pris,
Ur maid is good! Did u ask her and MIL seperately if anything happened during the day? i'm guessing something might have happened and MIL is not happy but this does not mean ur maid is in the wrong as in ur MIL might have requested for something unreasonable and ur maid did not do it.

Ellysia,
I also think my boy's upper teeth coming out. Got put teething gel but he's a lot fussier than usual.

Shimin,
ya, teething period is tiring. i just took like a 4hrs nap!! cos was soo tired as i was working late past few nites then night time still woke up to carry/pat bb back to sleep. hehe, chicken essence sounds good!

Mag,
Your bouncer is referring to yao lan? Hey, not bad, i think u are making progress! Each day at a time yah? I am also hoping to train my boy to sleep on his own. Now every night, still must carry to sleep.

Re car seat,
my boy used to fuss when in car seat when he was facing the back. but recently when we change the car seat to face the front, he's happy in it! in fact, my hubby and i call it the magic chair cos he falls asleep in it v fast.

hey tera, must take more essence then got stamina & energy to handle Lucas.

Thanks for encouragement. My bouncer is the metal netted type that u put on the floor (hope u understand wat i'm talking), not yaolan.

Athan loves his car seat too. When i'm alone driving wif Athan, he normally plays wif his Lamaze firefly & falls asleep quite quickly too. Took me quite abit of effort to get him to where he is today. Being a mum is really difficult, KUDOS to all mummies!!

Mag, i really peifu u in training Athan to change his bad habits. It really takes alot of determination to do it.

Tera, good that u had a good nap!

My boy also don really like to sit in his car seat lei. but must wait until 9kg then can turn frontwards(indicated in the car seat instructions).

feifei:

seeing that mag n the rest strongly recommend the baby whisperer book, i oso bought from the same spree as u..

jus saw your posting in fact.. heehee..

can't wait for the books to arrive.. i wan to see what category my ger falls under..

Jan...

*hugz*... Oh you must be feeling terrible...

Tera
My MIL and maid cant really communicate well.. one chicken and duck.. but maid can listen to a bit hokkien so still ok... but my MIL say in the morning she face black black towards her and when ask her to eat she dun wan during lunch.. Full story not too sure but it something to do with disrespect towards my MIL ( that is wat she claim )...

I dunno if my MIL understand a not.. cos taking care of my gal is not easy cos she will wake up in the wee morning ard 3 plus 4am to play and after coaxing her to sleep she will wake up at 7 plus so not much sleep for the maid and my gal hardly nap in the afternoon so she may feel tired and she also have gastric that day.. so can understand her feeling...

Ellysia
Yep.. looking for a new home cos this is my MIL place...so she thinks everything have to listen to her....My MIL geng nian qi already gone liao lah... she ard 70 liao... maybe second time hehe...

Zu En,

initally my boy also refuse to sit car seat, then later i let him sit but my car seat is an infant seat and is too small, so end up we bot a bigger one. now sometimes he still cry in the car seat, i try to pat him. try not to carry him out of car seat too much, have to make them get use to it. If he cry just let him cry, after some time when they see no use, they will stop crying.

Btw i got put 1 hanging toy on top of car seat then if he cry i will play the toy with him.

i bot a book call "positive discipline" tat suggest ways for good discipline since infant. i saw in mph is quite good but the book is old due to too many browsing, so i bot one in the amazon spree.

ellysia: wa.. so young can instill discipline aledi ah? cos i read some baby books say our babies are currently still too young to understand rationale n reasoning..

pris: your MIL so old le? 70yrs old.. no wonder she sounds a bit difficult to communicate with.. my grandma is 80 and she is the queen of my whole family loh..

ellysia: ya... my ger getting more naughty le.. so the book is good? have u tried anything interesting with your boi?

pris,
i think its all a misunderstanding + ur MIL too sensitive. a good maid is really not easy to come by and esp when she's taking good care of eunicia. i guess moving out shld help, at least not so much friction. good luck with the house-hunting!

MLP,
yeah, felt very shiok after the nap, so much so now quite 'jing shen', hiaks!
how heavy is jayden now? soon soon u can turn the car seat ok? yah, 9kg is the recommended wt but i turn when lucas was 8+ kg cos i checked with veniz and she already turned hers, so i follow, hehe.

angel,
dunno if my boy considered naughty or not but when we tell him cannot bite certain things and take away from him, he will cry! my helper told me if we tell him in a gentle tone, he is fine. *faint*

feifei,
thanks for the spree link. i am also keen to get the books.

tera: my ger will sure cry if i take anything away from her or she want something but couldn't get it.. sigh..

but your boi so smart ah? u dun scold instead tell him is gentle tone, he is ok? kekeke... so clever.. my ger hor, onli when u very fierce then she will scare.. if u gentle, she oso dun care loh...

rizty: thanks for the link.. very interesting n nice to read blog.. she got other useful things like travel list too...

*heehee.. recipe bbs.. im sure bbs come with sugar, sweets n everything nice.. thats why all so cute!! ^_^

Ya...feeling better now...and this morning also know why i exploded..my menses came..so partly also PMS. Regretted what I have done...but what is done cannot be undone liao..

Hi angel_z, she even teaches how to entertain the bbs...hehe..i tried the bola bola activity she mentioned..my gal likes it..haha...

the food oso looks yummy hor...

hehe..bb recipes comes wif big chicken tighs oso hands like 'lian Ou" lotus roots...hahha

Hi Jan, glad to know u r feeling better already. Don't brood over the incident anymore since it's over oredi. Just enjoy the rest of your 2009 OK? ^_^

BTW, thanks for recommending the Baby Whisperer few mths back. I finally finished the book on Tues nite. Managed to learn quite a few tricks fr there. Actually many of the concepts I've learnt fr school in general but this bk taught me how to use it on my monster. Thanks again.

mag,
yupz, the book is quite good...but have to be able to apply its technics lor..sometimes I will get fustrated it reanne don't corporate, so patience is the key...and perseverance too.

Hey Sharon, congrats on your New Year gift fr bb! Must b so happy & exciting for u. Hehe..I'm still waiting for my turn.

Janiviy, u r so rite abt patience. I almost went mad yesterday but seeing how Athan reacted today & just now during his bedtime, I'm so glad I persevered cos he managed to sleep in 5 mins wifout any latching too. Actually I find i'm quite impatient too cos I'm changing 3 die hard habits at 1 time.

No.1 is not letting him latch during bedtime by replacing wif bottle of milk-cereal. Succeeded for past 4 nites!

No.2 is not letting him sleep straight after feeding by giving him some activities & I got this fr the EASY schedule. Succeeded for past 1 week.

No.3 is not letting him bounce/carry & walk to sleep after his activities by sitting down in a quiet environment, laying his head on my chest & gently pat his back but must ignore all cries & screams so this was the most challenging part for me. Succeeded for 2 days.

My next immediate target is to train him to sleep straight on the mattress by only rhythmic patting wifout any "Orh orh orh". If this is successful that means i can let my FIL or mum or hubby to do the job & i'll have more time for myself. Hehe... *Evil mummy again*

happy new year mummies...

mag...
dats a good start... its good to change their sleeping habits now... if wan to change when they are older, it will be quite tough. i stopped carrying rocking my girl to sleep when she was abt 2 mths plus... so now we jus pat her to sleep on her mattress.

jan...
sori to hear abt ur NYE. anyway, it has already happened... so jus leave it be.

On foods.... today i gave my girl barley cereal with sweet potatoes... oh she loves it.
will be going to buy some more sweet potato for tmr...

okie... jus finish mooing... will be going to sleep... my elder boy starting school tmr so need to wake up early...

jan...
haha... my girl oso love to bite whenever we clean her tongue/mouth. so today, she suck her thumb and i think she bite too hard, ended up crying... :p so funny.

Jan, I found the list & it was last updated since 8th Dec. U can amend your status liao. ^_^

Let's c how's our bb's development:

Two Teeth
1. Yuzhe (Ellysia)
2. Kyler (Bonjovi)
3. Lucas (Tera)
4. Gwendolyn (Crystal)
5. Travis (Bleh)
6. Eunicia (Priscilla)

One Cutie Tooth
1. Vivienne (Veniz)

Waiting for Tooth Fairy to Visit (Bogeh Club)
1. Kyan (BabyCupid)
2. Reanne (Janiviy)
3. Qianying (iamsnow)
4. Jared (Fennie77)
5. Cedrik (Feiling)
6. Elyssa (Mogudog)
7. Zhi Yu (bizznow)
8. Jade (shycloud)
9.YuJie (Felicia)
10.Qyan (ioio)
11. Jayden (MLP)
12.Andrea (rizty)
13. Charlotte (feifei)
14. Rex (jn80jn)
15.Gwenneth (tinyfeet/esther)
16. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
17. Evelyn (soyabean)
18. Nicholas (candys/fen)
19. Nadia Marshya (danryan)
20. Yue Han (star)
21. Nicole (Piyo)
22. Cornelius (tanlengleng)
23. Siying (sandra/spritzer08)
24. Athanasius (Mag/liteonmag) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
25. Sheryl (angel_z)
26. cheri (ariesann) still dun knw how to flip...

Hi Soyabean, gd for u that your ger is easy to handle during bedtime. My monster since 3mths will want to bounce/carry & walk/latch during daytime then can sleep but nite time is just latch to sleep. I'm so sick of it that's y decided to stop these 3 habits at one go.

Mummies, u can also change any habits that u want now cos our child has very short memory until they turn 2. So jia you!!

Veniz,
I update for you also..

Two Teeth
1. Yuzhe (Ellysia)
2. Kyler (Bonjovi)
3. Lucas (Tera)
4. Gwendolyn (Crystal)
5. Travis (Bleh)
6. Eunicia (Priscilla)
7. Vivienne (Veniz)

One Cutie Tooth
1. Reanne (Janiviy)

1. Kyan (BabyCupid)
2. Qianying (iamsnow)
3. Jared (Fennie77)
4. Cedrik (Feiling)
5. Elyssa (Mogudog)
6. Zhi Yu (bizznow)
7. Jade (shycloud)
8.YuJie (Felicia)
9.Qyan (ioio)
10. Jayden (MLP)
11.Andrea (rizty)
12. Charlotte (feifei)
13. Rex (jn80jn)
14.Gwenneth (tinyfeet/esther)
15. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
16. Evelyn (soyabean)
17. Nicholas (candys/fen)
18. Nadia Marshya (danryan)
19. Yue Han (star)
20. Nicole (Piyo)
21. Cornelius (tanlengleng)
22. Siying (sandra/spritzer08)
23. Athanasius (Mag/liteonmag) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
24. Sheryl (angel_z)
25. cheri (ariesann) still dun knw how to flip...

Just to check wif mummies here, Athan is taking 180ml of milk-cereal(160ml water + 2 30ml scoops of cereal + 3.5 30ml scoops of formula) for his last feed(8 plus-9) & he normally sleeps at 9.30pm but he'll wake up 5-6 hrs later for another feed b4 sleeping till 7am.

Any opinions?? Any mummies care to share their child's last feed schedule?

Pai say I'm so lor sor cos hardly got time to come in so must post 1 shot. Sorry for being an eyesore ah. ^_^

Jan, thanks for helping me with the updates.

Tera, shhh, dun tell my secret mah... hee, no lar, I saw Carol's post about car seat wanted to tell her tomorrow on MSN that I told you to switch front. Anyway, tomorrow then I tell her my reason for the switch which I had told you before lor.

Soyabean, you asleep yet? Wanted to tell you, saw your family photo in facebook, your son very handsome. Later today our sons will be K1 liao hor, very fast.

Mag, try to pre-long his feeding interval. Maybe last feed if can, do it at 9.30pm, and try to give him more milk, see if it works for him.

Vivi drinks her milk at 9pm, only 140ml. She will only drink in the morning around 6am. Sometimes I sleep till later time (during weekends and holiday) she never cry, I also dunno. Will feed her when I woke up. Unless she cries (which is the max limit of hunger liao) then i wake up make milk.

Mag, you know my name not Chamia one mah. Dun tell me you think my real name is Chamia? This is a name I created when I was in high school, then realised that it is a french name (a french guy told me). Heehee, miss that time when I was still single and carefree.....

Veniz, 2 days ago I gave him 200ml(2 scoops cereal + 4 scoops formula) but he cannot finish leh. Was thinking of trying 200ml again tomorrow & c if it works.

Mag, needs trying one. dun give him at 8plus to 9pm hor, wait till 9.30pm then feed him. 1st try, cannot, do 2nd, 3rd till ok. Otherwise, change whole feeding pattern. Maybe from every 3hours change to 4hours to suit your timing. Last time i did this for my son. I am waiting till after cny then do for Vivi.

veniz: oh... so u n soyabean both sons n daughters same age loh? and so qiao its #1 boy n #2 girl... heehee..

mag: jus to share.. sheryl's last feed is 130ml at 1130pm-12am then her morning feed will be at 830-930am.

n i reali pei fu u for breaking your boi's so many habits at 1 go.. how i wish i can stop my ger from using yaolan but she teething leh.. sigh.. no yaolan, she will cry like mad.. i know when u trained your boi, he oso cried like mad.. so i said i very pei fu u... i can't bear to let my ger cry so chiam.. plus my husband will scold me left right too..

Veniz, Athan's feeding is normally every 4 hrs fr 7am until nite but he's very sed to having his last feed at 8plus-9 even if he had just finshed his 4hr feed at 8.

I will try tomoro & c whether can stretch until 9.30 for his last feed. Thanks for your suggestion.

Two Teeth
1. Yuzhe (Ellysia)
2. Kyler (Bonjovi)
3. Lucas (Tera)
4. Gwendolyn (Crystal)
5. Travis (Bleh)
6. Eunicia (Priscilla)
7. Vivienne (Veniz)

One Cutie Tooth
1. Reanne (Janiviy)

1. Kyan (BabyCupid) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
2. Qianying (iamsnow)
3. Jared (Fennie77)
4. Cedrik (Feiling)
5. Elyssa (Mogudog)
6. Zhi Yu (bizznow)
7. Jade (shycloud)
8.YuJie (Felicia)
9.Qyan (ioio)
10. Jayden (MLP)
11.Andrea (rizty)
12. Charlotte (feifei)
13. Rex (jn80jn)
14.Gwenneth (tinyfeet/esther)
15. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
16. Evelyn (soyabean)
17. Nicholas (candys/fen)
18. Nadia Marshya (danryan)
19. Yue Han (star)
20. Nicole (Piyo)
21. Cornelius (tanlengleng)
22. Siying (sandra/spritzer08)
23. Athanasius (Mag/liteonmag) Still die hard member of Bogeh club as at 2/1/09
24. Sheryl (angel_z)
25. cheri (ariesann) still dun knw how to flip...

angel_z, yaolan very difficult to stop at this young age, wait till she is around 1plus then try. For my son, we manage to stop him from sleeping in it when he was 2.5years old. But since young, he has been sleeping in cot and bed/mattress at night. Yaolan is a must for daytime.

(also hor, if you never put on Sheryl's diaper properly for her and her positioning in yaolan a bit off, sometimes urine will come out lor, a bit messy esp when we place a mattress underneath YL).

veniz: huh? ok.. no wonder recently i tried to stop her using the yaolan, she cried like mad.. machiam i torture her... sigh... actually my mum oso say the same thing.. once use yaolan must use til 1-2yrs old le...

but your boi still good eh.. will sleep in cot at night.. my ger sleeps in yaolan 24/7..