(2008/06) June 2008

Oh!!! Thanks Ellysia! I didn't know have melon allergy!!! Gosh. luckily we discuss this here if not I blur blur give my boy melon. I think I will also wait a bit although I think melon allergy is rather rare.

the bolster comes in 2 sizes... never mind, I'll ask at the store.

Shimin, my bb never drink barley yet. I heard it's good for bb who are heaty and constipated.

cactus,

yah i tink is rare. but since website recommend so i follow.

shimin,

usu sat i can only go out around 3plus due to my hb car is a weekend car. so i won't be at united square so early, only be there at 4plus. anyway tis sat i may not go there, cos got plans.

cactus,

the babysafe pillow i give the small one with the 'hollow' in the middle, not the flat one. he dun really like to sleep though.

shimin,

my pd says barley water is safe to give.
but u may note tat barley contains gluten so do test the 4 days rule.

the teething biscuits eat liao is really messy. drools all over and drip on the clothes.

Ellysia, yah. I think I will follow the recommendation also cos I think honeydew also not very nutritious. I was keen to include in bb's diet for variety... :p I'm using the same pillow as you currently but I find that he prefers to sleep on the higher parts of the pillow.. not in the hollow. I found out from the website it's from birth to 6 months old, so thinking of getting him the flat rectangular pillow, supposed to be from birth to 2.5 years old, but not sure if the height is good. it's 1.5 inches, so wanted to ask you.

cactus,

u can try with a thick cloth first, but do watch out for SIDS. fold it to the 1.5inch thickness and let him sleep on the cloth. then u can decide if u want to buy or not.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">pop by to say
Happy New Year!!! to all...
May year 2009 be a peaceful and happy year &amp;&amp;
all the little darlings and daddy &amp; mummy are all healthy and may all wishes come true!!</font></font>

apologies if im asking a question that has already been discussed earlier on...

Question 1
i see the girls talkin about cooking "xin mi" (new crop) porridge.

are u all giving yr baby porridge now? whats the diff between porridge and cereal?

coz im currently feeding gwenneth brown rice cereal (would brown rice be more nutritious than xin mi?)

and why "xin mi" ?? becoz it will give a smoother texture of porridge or its more nutritious??

and buy "xin mi" from where??

Question 2
when u all bring baby out, do u all still bother to feed cereal? coz ive been skipping it to save the trouble when we are out..but in time to come, i know we will have to feed her her normal cereal routine sooner or later... so u girls will cook the porridge and bring it out in thermal flask??

question 3
how long more must be carry on the use baby utensils liquid wash and also baby laundry detergent?

someone pls enlighten me before the new yr and let me be a clear headed 2009 mum?

hahah, cheers!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

shycloud, thanks for the addy! I ate the joo chiat one b4 liao. Now that I recall but I call it the Onan rd prawn mee...hehe... the nasi briyani besides it looks delicious too lei! U got try b4?

bbcupid, tt's good! As long as they eat it even if with cereal, i think tat's fine!

<font color="aa00aa">aiyo, Riz! By the time i came in and saw ur post u oredy gone back liao! So sad, i'm still at office.
Btw, this Friday decided come back to work though declare shutdown. Coz i wanna clear my outstanding jobs. Friday will be super quiet then easier to work. hehe....</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Esther,

Not sure about the nutrition about 'xin mi' and cereal but i know 'xin mi' is consider 1st rice, more good for our babies whom just started on solid. Heard from oth mummies texture is more smooth and more easy digest.

For your 2nd question, i do bring the cereal out for feeding my girl. I put the cereal into the foogo food jar and then when outside i just warm up my ebm and mix with the cereal and feed my girl. But when my girl start on porridge i'll either bring the porridge out for feeding or if no time to cook , i'll bring cereal out.
I know is quite troublesome but it'll only last for few mths. When your Gwen is bigger and passed the allergy test, you can let her eat the fish porridge cooked outside.
During my #1, i asked the porridge seller dont add any oil or soy sauce into the porridge. Then i'll scoop small portion to feed my girl.
But of course, homecooked will be more good lah, just depend on ur own preferences.

Question 3:
It depend if ur baby have sensitive skin. If yes, you might want to use the detergent for longer period. For me, i use the detergent till my #1 passed 2 yrs old, then only i mix her clothing with our clothing.</font>

felicia,
ended up have to stay and check some data cos India is 2.5 hrs behind us...sianz!!

ok lah, u better go off soon! happy new year!

chris,
wah, relaxing at home huh. sooo good! wat time picking chloe up?

<font color="ff6000">hello mummies!!

tot of just pop in here to wish all of u a happy n prosperous 2009.. n of course good health to all of u, ur lil ones n family..

cheers !!

I just cook cauliflower puree. later cook sweet potato puree. the sweet potato is harder to prepare cos need to peel the skin and wash throughly.

Esther,

so far if i go out, i will feed cereal &amp; puree in the morning before go out. Sometimes early noon i still feed another puree, if i go out during late noon.

Xin Mi can be bought from provision shop, not available everywhere. its seasonal so not everywhere.

Mummies, does ur bb's poo poo become more sticky paste like these days huh? These days, i give apple puree, avocado puree, sweet potato puree then his poo is like tat. Not like last time more "liquid" type.

Christina, how come got another nick??? hee...

HAPPY NEW YEAR &amp; HOLIDAYS!!!

MLP,

its like tat one. once eat solid food the poo poo become more thick. if too sticky is maybe mild constipation.

MLP,
its normal, i think. Lucas' poo also became like paste. :p

had a hard time putting him to sleep just now. he kept wriggling when i carry him and keep on wanting to grab some boxes in the room. and he's been waking up a few times in the past nights, just wanting to be carried, think cos his teething is irritating him. *tired* so so glad tmr's a holiday!!

Jus wanna vent some anger....

Today when i reach home husband was telling mi that my MIL shouted at my maid. My maid was also telling me that Ah mah was shouting at her for no reason.

I asked my MIl when she is home and she say maid whole day give her black face. Ai yo.. I dunno how to tell my maid not to face black black cos when she not smiling her face is like tat one mah. My husband also say that the maid did not do anything wrong.

Later we went out, it was peaceful but still tense environment i happen to ask my MIL if the food on the table were to be placed in the fridge and she saw the maid coming out of the room thinking i help my maid ask on behalf for the food on the table and shouted at us... I was sooooo pissed...

Baby already sleeping and she still shouting and my neighbour popped by to see baby and my MIL started to shout even louder as she was telling my neighbour about the maid and woke baby up. I was in the room trying to coax her back to sleep but her voice was too loud and i ask her to lower her volume and she jus ignore and i told her if she wants to shout go out of the house and shout cos neighbour was jus at our doorstep and she ignore.

I have no choice. I carry baby out of the house and then she finally stop.

I really dunno what got into my MIL to shout at maid. Now have to ask agent to find house liao... I think i have to move out cos my maid i find her very good which i have no complains.

Those who have saw my maid should know.

Haiz... really headache... Now husband not at home its even worse.

Pris,
Your maid is very good...I like her. Very heng to have such a maid.
Hiaz...just now I am also very angry with my mum, told me that she holding a family bbq...was so happy coz it has been a long time since I last bbq. After happily buying food and setting up the fire, my ger start to fuss...then i had to feed her dinner...entertain her. Everyone else including the maids are enjoying themselves downstairs, while my hubby and I was attending to my girl...10:30pm..still nobody came and help coz suddenly there were guest!!! and I thought it was a family affair???!!!...I cannot take it lor..I took off..stomach empty and angry!!...end up went to look for friends...to celebrate the new year...which I had never done before...and worst...without my girl..upset like anything. Worst New year ever..........!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ellysia, Tera, i see....so it's normal lah. I will let him drink more water. My boy these days drink water must spoon feed thou. Give him in bottle, he treat the teat as teether.

Tera, hang in there for the nite time waking up. It will pass soon.

Pris, ur maid is good. Hope things r better now.

Jan, so ur hb handled Reanne alone after u left?

My boy upper teeth is teething, quite bad tempered these few days. v tired. have to keep using the gel. Yest went with hb to GWC makan then go back cos it was late when we go out, no time to jalan. my bb wasn't napping well, keep crying after napping for 10-15mins. end up at nite he is v tired. me also v tired, cos make the sweet potato and cauliflower puree, i spent 2hrs in the kitchen. legs ache.

pris, u looking for another house to stay? maybe yr mil "geng nian qi"? cos usu during this stage their hormones is messy, they behave v funny one.

Jan, alamak u must have felt terrible.

Ellysia,
my boy i tink also teething..but he's only bad tempered at nite..
as usual, wake up crying in wee hours of nite lor...
wat to do? sigh..he dont like teething gel..

MLP,
my boy also, he drinks better from spoon anyway..

Tera,
me also tired..my boy same as u..i tink all our babies going thru teething now..i drink essence everyday now leh...need the jing shen

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MUMMIES &amp; BABIES!! ^_^

Pris, dun get so upset. Maybe something happened to your MIL yesterday. Your maid is definitely one of the rare good ones that I've seen.

Maybe when your MIL cool down, u can ask her nicely if anything happened that made her so upset.