(2008/06) June 2008

soo,

every morning i bring thawed BM over. i usu thaw milk in my own fridge then bring over. i dun thaw in her fridge.

how long can thaw puree be keep in the fridge?

ellysia,
i not confident to nurse in public still..any my boy moves ard alot, he will expose me one..
nursing bra i still wear..i find easier..and i stil wearing breastpads..are u still leaking? i am..

ellysia - if ur bb been taking thawed BM this way & no problem, u can do the same for thawed puree. Oh ya...remember to drain water from thawed puree.

The baby whisperer bk sounds really interesting. Think i'll go find a copy & read

cactus,
i have a nursing bib..but my boy dun like..tink he cant breathe..and mine is red flowers one..he keeps touching and hitting them and the cover flies off...exposing me...

yest i finally bought sweet potato and pang chio..
but lazy to cook..haha..im a SAHM but still so lazy..
i salute all u FTWM who still express milk and cook yummy stuff for ur babies..

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
For me, i dont blend the carrot. I just cut into small cubes, it'll become very soft when cooked in slow cooker. Then just use spoon to smashed it. Very easy de.</font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">oooh... fridge is max 48 hrs.. freezer longer..
How long will food cubes keep in the freezer &amp; refrigerator?

We recommend keeping frozen baby food cubes in the freezer for a maximum of 3 months!

In the refrigerator, it is recommended that fresh pureed homemade baby food be stored no longer than 48 hours (many food safety authorities say that 72 hour is fine!). This limit ensures that bacteria growth in the puree is kept to a minimum and that the food does not take on the "taste of the fridge"! This "rule" applies for veggies, fruits, meats etc.

If you do not plan to freeze your homemade baby food, we would suggest that you make the puree on a day to day, or every other day, basis. For example, one sweet potato may be baked and then you may freeze one half without pureeing it and then puree the other half. This method will help cut down "waste" and also allow for food safety.

Baby food cubes are safe to remain in the freezer from 3 to 6 months. Using baby food cubes within 1 month to 3 months is really more prudent. Due to the amount of water crystals that tend to build up with baby food purees, and due to the fact that nutrients may leach/evaporate upon thawing because of the water crystals, it is more prudent to use your frozen baby foods cubes as soon as possible - 3 months of storage tops. We always recommend using within 1 month if at all possible!

Many authoritative guidelines will say that most fruits and veggies will keep from 8 to 12 months in the freezer. This is mostly true of foods that are frozen in their natural state. This is also assuming that the freezer remains at a constant sub-zero temperature. Storing foods in a deep freezer is best should you wish to keep frozen foods for that time frame.

Remember that when certain books give freezer time guidelines, they rely on the typical guidelines for fruits/veggies that have NOT been cooked and turned into purees!</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">shimin.. pang chio no nid to cook one.. banana rite?</font></font>

ioio, thanks for sharing the info! Sometimes, I see a rare veg being sold at supermarket (brussel sprouts was sold at Giant 2 weekends ago!) but dun dare to prepare and freeze in large batches for my boy cos scared not safe. now I know it is 3 months max, feel better and Matthew can have more variety!

may i ask can i introduce a few foods to my baby at the same time?
eg. banana puree for brunch, then spinach puree for tea and sweet potato puree for snack?
or must wait 4 days for each food?

cactus,
i try to wait too..but i bought the food i scared rot liao..haha
last nite my boy keep waking up crying, duno y..not hungry, and he hates it when i apply the teething gel..in the end sleep with us on bed..
any advice for spirited bb?

shimin,

i usu dun leak much during daytime, it happen more during the night if i dun latch for prolonged hours. so i dun wear breastpads.

i have a nursing shawl bot from mum n babe, but have not use it yet. i put inside car, so in case need to use. normally i go shopping malls nursing rooms. i have a list of nursing rooms on the car, so if need to go anywhere i will refer to the list.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. no prob.. tt day i jux throw away my sweet potato at day 3.. ;( tts the result of read but nv read carefully.. ;p now noe liao.. will make more and freeze so bb can hv more choice ... heee... but i think i will still keep less than a week ba..

angel.. u are teacher ah? ... now then noe..

veniz.. job are all contributing to the society, no low grade high grade one lah.. so long as its a decent job.. all occupation are great!!</font></font>

cactus,
my boy doesnt cry too..only at nite..ahaa
he's very smiley,very happy in the day..and always chuckles to himself..
we're just having the prob at nite...

ellysia,
my nursing bib also from mums and babes..that nite u mention u went wedding dinner? i also did..wonder if it's the same one..haha

cactus,yeah, he has alot of fun..but how to dont play with him? he's so active, he likes to stand and likes rough play...haha

Morning mummies...
Another busy day ahead, year end closing... zip in here to say hello and bye :p

hi soyabean and shern
sorry i forgot to bring my hp today, so cannot contact you all to collect the cereals, i try to collect tmr.. thanks

Congrats cactus!!
My gynae die die insist I must wait for 9 months before getting preggy, so I thought will only start trying next year. Dat was initial plan, but now am pretty scared of going through preggy all over again and scared not fair to no 1 cause no time to spend with him, so hold back for a while. I always wanted a no2 and hubby dun want... now instead my hubby says we dun take precautions and see how but i dun want :p

feifei, I recall one of the factors of a touchy bb is very sensitive to light, cannot be put down. initially matthew was a touchy-spirited bb. but now he seems to be more spirited. Maybe other mummies can recall other characteristics of a touchy bb?

thanks roxy!

morning mummies...
haizz me busy transfering money for BP...haizz spend $$$ again!

congrats to u cactus...

just to share..my gal laughs in her sleep last nite...and she actually chuckles..so adorable!

cactus,
ya he will make noise a bit when i leave room, unless he's busy playing..ya know he abit ren4 ren2..
hmm, can i put my breastpad in his cot? ok sounds abit gross..

shimin,

u got bring yr bb? cos i tink only i bring bb there. i went to esplanade, the restaurant is at esplanade.

soo,

so have to drain water away..

i just read in wholesomebabyfood website tat we can just thaw over warm water. if need be my MIL can thaw using the baby food warmer.

anyway i try to thaw in my own fridge then i pour out excess water and bring over, she feed to bb in the morning maybe. i saw tat thaw food can keep in fridge for 48hrs..

ellysia,
yeah i bring bb everywhere..oh, mine was at parkroyal hotel..so diff
esplanade? humble house? i LOVE tung lok food

shycloud, yeah!! our bbs do have dreams like us at night! Matthew started smiling in his sleep when he was younger.. before 3 months.. but recently he would also chuckle and laugh.. but there are times he would whimper softly. so heart wrenching. it is beautiful watching him sleep. not sure if breastpad is safe due to SIDS issues. I think for starters, maybe you tie a worn clothing to the side of his cot, so that he can smell but not touch it?

<font color="aa00aa">shycloud/ feifei,
Me oso interested in the ballons, but find very troublesome when want to inflate the balloon leh. Where you gals inflate the balloons? How much har?</font>

shimin,

yup. nice food, but i only eat the fish. cos seafood i cannot eat due to bb have eczema. seafood i let hb eat, he eat double share then other people tot he greedy cos he eat mine share. haaa.

Ellysia, I think it is safer to thaw in fridge. I recall reading somewhere that it is safer to thaw in fridge than on table top/water. That is with regards frozen food in geneeral and not baby frozen food but I thin kthe same principle will apply.

cactus...
it was sweet just watching her sleep...i was hoping she did tat again so tat i could capture it...but too bad heh

felicia..
for me i got it inflated @ parkway parade. they charge 2 bucks for the standard round 18" size
there's a few places but think the one @ rochor centre has the best rates..

Those ladies who is interested int he <font color="ff0000">Kindermusik class</font>, bad news wor..As we do not have 10-12 bbs going, we can't hv a class conducted just for us. But I asked to be put on the waiting list for the 5 of our bbs for sun 11am classes becos all the other classes are full and we can't join in liao..if they have available slots, the staff will call me and I will let u know ya..

In case u forgot who you are, this is e list ,
1) Feifei + Charlotte
2) Roxy + Issiah
3) ZuEn + Lil ZuEn
4) Iamsnow + Qianying
5) yifan. + yixun

Shycloud, I've not been able to capture my boy dreaming yet.. but I believe the effect won' tbe as fantastic as watching it happen before our eyes.. cos it is the general 'shen2 qing2" which cannot be capture on film or photograph paper. that's what I feel lah.
Best is to just observe and savour every moment.

Hello.. i hv a bttle of Fenugreek to gif away..and some glass bttles (heinz bttles) for storage of EBM to gif away too..any interested mummies?? me stayin Khatib area

feifei,
Is your list open for more? If hb agreeable, i might be able to join

ellysia,
I drain the water from thawed puree &amp; put back in fridge until i'm ready to feed. Normally 5mins bef meal, i'l take out add hot water &amp; cereal &amp; feed straightaway

Ellysia,
Is it? I tot take a few days, then the BM will auto stop. If pump now will still have BM? Only that particular part is lumpy and painful leh. The rest all ok.

Cactus,
Actually, I fear the pregnancy more than the baby is out. I had a very difficult pregnancy. Still having phobia. But come to think of it, all my energy are now spent on Lil ZuEn, duno where to find extra energy for no. 2 now. But of course, if I am really that lucky, things will definitely work themselves out. Just that I cant imagine being preggy and tired and have to take care of Lil ZuEn now. Hehe.
I stop expressing since 24 Dec wor. So should I pump again?

Feifei,
Haven wor. The lumps just turned painful today. -.o"

shycloud,
i just went into see the balloons, hehe. very nice! then i was wondering where to inflate, same as felicia. orh, parkway i know where. the place where they sell all these balloons right?

re CNY,
Just received my company's red packets (empty ones for us to use). next year CNY very fast, soon must go and change new notes. ;)