(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,

yrs GA right, i rem. we were exchanging sms tat time cos all worried abt labour and stuff. i still rem yr msn got a lot of hello kitty one hee.

sharon,

yr porridge looks fine, at least from the pix. i saw some pixs of baby recipe and look similar to yrs.

i oso tempted to make porridge cos recently my bb appetite for solid food seems to increase more.

wat kind of rice u bot for making porridge?

Zu En,

it takes abt 3 mths for the milk to stop even if u stop pumping. some people says take as long as 6mths. If u feel lumps and pain, it be better tat u pump a little just to relieve, but dun pump to empty it. eventually u be able to stop without pumping and no pain.

yest i told hb abt cactus pregnancy.. then we also decide dun want to have another bb so soon. no money and no energy to take care of another so soon. cos no maid and no helper at home, and it be too taxing on my MIL too.

Ellysia, may I ask you, is Yuzhe taking cereal now? My manager passed me a big box of nestle oat cereal with prunes, he said his gal (who is 3 mths older than our babies) love it and no problem with constipation. Maybe you want to try this cereal.

Veniz,

yup he is taking cereal.

its ok.. dun tink i need that box now. cos i ored have 10 boxes of HT cereal at home, won't be getting anymore extra cereals. also, i let him take prune puree regularly. Be starting barley cereal soon after i finish this brown rice cereal.

i still have 2 boxes of banana cereal at home, organix brand. dun intend to let him take since he doesn't like banana much.

Ellysia, opps! I used sissors during pregnancy! Haha! Oh.. my boy can lift his head 3rd day after birth. He is very strong. Born already, very muscular. alot of muscles on his arms. very lean loh, but not skinny type of lean. He can do extended push ups now.. where his belly button is off the floor when he push up and his head is high up in the air looking at us but his buttocks too heavy to lift.. still on the floor.. cannot crawl yet. only crawl backwards!!

ZuEn, I don't know if I'm saying this cos I'm preggie again.. but I feel our bbs will be easier to handle as they grow older. It can only get easier. Actually, I heard the easiest time is between 6 to 24 months.. then the terrible twos start. Then it gets easier after 3.5 years old. Maybe I've been through alot of rubbish with baby Matthew, he being a difficult baby, so now I really treasure him because he is comparitively so much more manageable. He still insists on being carried, but we carry him loh. we still rock him to bed. Yes,when I'm very tired from work, I'm sometimes envious of other mummies who don't have to rock their bbs to bed. I wish Matthew can sleep on his own, but then I realise now he doesn't cry even when carried (yes.. he used to scream till hoarse for no reason for long hours when he was younger even when hugged, carried, danced, sung to). He won't be a baby forever, and that keeps me going. every mother has her challenges, and I guess this is mine.

MLP,
morning =).

zuen,
oh dear, i can't advise u on this cos i dun hv any experience wor..y not u call the lacation consultant to ask them?

Sharon,
i feel u shd blend the brocoli after boiling it lor, =)..

Ellysia,
Mine is Epi-csect lor, half body on epi onli lor..hehe..u still rem wor =)..

ZuEn, I experienced lumps before. It will help if you massage those areas before and when expressing. If they don't clear, do apply warm compress just before you express. Monitor the lumps. if your skin turns red or warm to touch, please see a doctor. It may be an infection. I kana infection 3 times liao. Always had blocked ducts until recently.

Sharon, I cook brocoli first, then blend. after that, I mash it through to make such no lumps. You'd be surprised loh. I had some very small lumps that the blender missed! these are from the stem portion and are quite hard! the florets are okay but it's not possible to give bb only the florets cos some stem will come with the florets no matter how closely you cut it from the stem.

feifei,

cos tat time u say too painful after induce, so go c-sect straight bec' can't tink straight also.

cactus,

sometimes if u rock often, the bb will be v used to rocking so he won't learn to sleep on his own.

mine also require a lot of rocking, but we try our best to let him sleep alone with patting.

Thanks for the advice, Felicia. Yeah.. I'm concerned about uterine rupture. It is very rare but when it happens, the consequences can be very severe.

Ellysia, I know... bb is very used to rocking... but we cannot don't rock him. If we put him down on mattress, he will immediately flip over and want to play. He's like that. Last time, I was worried that we carry carry carry, bb will want us to contiune carrying him... that was when he was under 4 months old. We had to take turns to carry him both day and night, but when he was 4.5 months old, suddenly can put down on mattress to sleep liao! Then at 5 months, day time no need to carry. he can play by himself for short periods on the mattress or bumbo chair. Then recently, put him in high chair with toys or books on the tray, he can play by himself. So it's better now. I think he will outgrow the rocking eventually.. but even if he doesnt outgrow the rocking, bbs will need fewer naps as they grow older.. so in a way, I'm prepared to carry him and rock him to sleep until he is able to understand instructions to keep his eyes closed.. maybe 2 or 3 years old? I don't know... but we'll just hang in there for him.

Ellysia,
Ya, induced so long, still can't dilate, then painful so ask for emergency epi csect lor..Luckily I did that cos the cord was ard my ger's neck that time..phew..

cactus,
my ger also need us to pat her to sleep now lor, then kept on wan to flip, we hv to hold her down, pat n sing song for her then she sleep lor..

Ellysia, oh, you have so many cereals, hee. I am just letting you know of this nestle cereal as its my first time seeing it. At least its good that you give your boy fresh prune puree regularly. I am trying to finish up the cereals I have with me and nanny as my mil pushing vivi to eat porridge everyday.

mummies, have some questions. wonder if anyone can help out:

1) I bought those velcro pants with some lining inside. It looks plasticky. How do we use it? We can't wear diaper, then wear it right? Is it training pants? Do we put cotton nappy inside? Sorry, blur mom. I bought it cos it looked cute. It's not the towel material type throughout. It's towel material outside but plastic inside.

2) if I want to bring my boy swimming, is there any swimming diaper I can wear? I don't want him to pee or poo in the pool... I bought him a swim suit liao. the full body type.

3) if my boy goes swimming, what type of float should I get him? Arm band? Body wrap around float? Or the neck float? Or sit in a floataion device type of float?

thanks in advance!

cactus,

my boy cannot sleep on himself during naps. he has to be rock for naps. only night time sleep occasionally he can sleep with patting. so i can understand wat u say.

Veniz,

u can give cereal as breakfast and porridge for dinner. cereal can give all the way to even beyond 1 years old.

its the first time i know of tis cereal too. for cereal i am more particular bec i only pick organic brands. so wasn't look at nestle cos they are not organic.

the prunes i give is not fresh. no time to make fresh. so i give baby jar, gerber brand. me a lot of food didn't cook one, a lot baby jar.. no time to make then also i dun really trust my baby food skill yet haaa.

<font color="0000ff">for those who make porridge, typically how long u spent to make the porridge? including preparation? cos i only have weekends to do, but i also have to do housework cum taking care of bb and a lot of stuff, so want to know how long to prepare.</font>

Wow, this thread is moving really fast. Walk away one moment &amp; it's moving so quickly.

All your bb's pics are so cute. Sometimes i half wish i have 8 arms to have more time for myself while caring for my boy.

Cactus - u have good stamina! Your bb lots heavier than mine &amp; u can still tahan carrying &amp; rocking. Mine can't sleep with being carried upright. I'm still trying to wean him of this bad habit, but he will scratch &amp; whine until one of us give in.

Mine is also 9KG at 6.5mths. now 7mths maybe shd be around same weight bah. sometimes i carry until muscle ache. then sometimes my arm tremble at night and twitch. my back pain everyday morning i wake up, esp during weekends when i carry bb more. on mon and fri when i carry pump bag, my back pain even more. every morn wake up at 6am, latch and then bring him to mil house for 15mins car ride. then after work, fetch him back from mil house, bathe him, sterilise bottles for next day, latch him, pat/rock him to sleep, ored 10plus liao. watch a bit tv or play game, sleep liao.

morning girls!

bz day yest so never login. so fast, 2 more days and its 2009 le!

Veniz,
its always nice to get something u've wanted for ur bday hor? ;)

MLP,
for the meat, what i do is to put a small cube-size of lean pork in to cook with the porridge just to give flavour.

cactus,

Ellysia, I only made porridge once.. but what I do is this:
day 1 (AM) - wash rice. dry.
day 1 (PM) - Grind in mill until very powdery. put in container in fridge.
Then as and when I want to cook it, I just cook it by taking a little bit of porridge put into microwave safe container, microwave oven, with some water. heat on high for 30 seconds, then stir, add more water. until porridge is cooked. Last time, I prepared porridge (the cooking stage) in the morning before I go to work. so I prepared 2 meals. then put in the fridge. I didn't freeze porridge cos I find the porridge becomes hard (the rice will somehow harden.. even after I thaw).

Ellysia,
Well done! Mine is 7.5mths but barely 8.5kg. He's been on milk strike since 3mths. Every milk feed is a struggle. Even then, when i carry to much over weekends, i have problem getting up for work on mondays.

Cactus,
I read somewhere that micro'd food/water loses all it's nutrients.

soo, I don't think microwaved food loses all nutrients. but boiling food does. steaming is okay also. I think nutrients from porridge is not easily lost. It's easier to lose nutrients from veg and fruit.

ELlysia, the blender I bought - Philips HR 20 something model - has a mill attachment. I think a mill is used to grind very hard food in small quantities, like rice grains and nuts. Yes.. I grind the rice into powder before I cook. it cooks very very quickly and very fine like Cantonese porridge!

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
If you want to save time, i wud advise you use the slow cooker. Last time, i used to prepare porridge for my #1 using slow cooker as i'm a lazy mummy. I'll cut the ingredient like carrot and potatoes into cube and throw everything inside the slow cooker in the morning. By noon, it shld be ready. Preparation of ingredient shld be done in half an hour.</font>

cactus,

i can't, my boy sleep around 9plus. cos we get home around 8.30pm so he can only sleep earliest 9pm or sometimes as late as 10pm.

ya prepare puree is easier, i also find.
i only intend to do during weekends.
cos weekday even if i do, have to transport them to MIL house very lei chey, then dunno whether quality will be affected due to taking in and out of fridge during transporting. so i rather not do during weekdays.

Felicia,

thks, my rice cooker is a multi purpose cooker, can also cook porridge and i intend to use tat.

Do u need to blend before putting in slow cooker? cos i dunno if the cubes will be too big for my boy to swallow.

Ellysia, would this be possible for you?

(1) prepare purees on weekends.. say on Sunday.
(2) freeze them, then place in ziplock bag.
(3) Bring the entire batch to MIL's home on one day and keep in her freezer? You can use those coleman coolant boxes or use your Medela carrier + collant to transport? At most 2 trips?

Ellysia, since your MIL can cook porridge, you only ened to prepare the puree for her to add into the porridge so weekdays not a problem. As for weekends, you can give your bb potato puree instead if you are concerned that he doesn't ahve enough carbs? give him variety? there are different potatos out there.. different variety, colours.

Same here. I prepare purees at nite, freeze then transport to babysitter in cooler bag on mondays. Just make sure u store the cubes in ziplock or in lock-lock container

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,
congrats on your #2, so when is your edd?

microwave porridge?! heat is not evenly distribute in cooking in a microwave &amp; could be distratous if bb kenna burnt accidently when we feed ley. i recall u saying u ve a maid at hm rite + your parents in the day time? can u not assign someone to watch the fire on the stove for you on the porridge?? bb's safety &amp; welfare shd always come 1st lar.

maybe i m traditional, no matter how busy or time consuming, i still prefer cooking porridge for gwen over the stove...</font>

Ellysia, ya, now with organic stuff, its better to stick to them for babies. For me, I dun mind giving any type of cereals to my gal, only that nanny and mil wants to give her only porridge and no cereal. I will just tell them to balance out.

Tera, ya lor. I was wiping out my card when my friend said he will pay for me, hee. Then i said, I might as well get three pairs (the more I get the more addition discount there will be) coz worth three yrs of bday pressies. He said good idea. Then, I told him, knowing him, next yr when I said my bday coming, he sure will forget he bought pressies in advance and will still want to pay again for something else, haha, coz he blur king.

cactus,

my mil fridge freezer sect is small, and she cook dinner everyday so her fridge is always quite full. i can't carry whole batch over, if i want is to transport daily just like my BM.

i dun really like potato, cos tink not much nutrients. carb is no prob since he is taking cereals. and BM have also.

soo,

oic so u do this method and workable. so u freeze the puree, then u transport the frozen puree in cooler bag. then u put inside the babysitter fridge to thaw? how long does it take to thaw?

Crystal, EDD is 3 August. Yes. it's important to always stir the food when it is in process of cooking so not to be overburnt and to cook evenly and also to stir it after it is cooked to ensure heat is evenly distributed before feeding. actually, I'm not preparing porridge anymore cos my boy don't like porridge. I only did it for him once. Call me paranoid.. I don't really trust my dad or maid to prepare food for my boy. I do it myself either at night or in the morning...

cactus,
congrats! sometimes i miss the pregnancy period..going for check ups, look at the scan of our bb etc..

that day i tot i was pregnant..cos i felt nauseous for a few days..then my hubby say my tummy getting bigger..i dunno why leh, im quite slim, but i put on weight at tummy ONLY..
i did 2 tests but negative..
i feel that having a bb very xing ku leh..i still cannot get over the confinement period

Ellysia, then, I think just transport daily.
You can put it in the container that you use to warm up ofod before you feed. I currently use the Avent 125ml bottle and sealing disc and warm up in the Avent bottle warmer. you can just bring 1 bottle for each meal for your MIL so she won't be confused.

Ellysia,
Usually she thaw in lower fridge overnite. So on day 1, she usually heats cube in pot over stove. Will ask her to heat with porridge soon. I'm still in 2 minds abt letting her do all the marketing &amp; cooking. At least now i can control the quality of food - ie buy good organic food. I doubt she will maintain the same practice

cactus,
anyway my gynae said if #2 c-sec, it doesnt matter the gap..but if wanna do VBAC, at least 2 yrs back to back from 1st child.

im also reading the Baby Whisperer now..my boy is spirited too..he's so active, wearing me thin..that's why im still hesitant on #2...also must go back work earn $$$ and make use of the 4mths leave..

Shimin, thanks for the info. Yeah.. spirited bbs are very very active... but there's another side to them - they know what they want. and they will make their requests known, don't you think? It can be so charming! Initially I thought matthew was bad tempered.. then, I realised he can be coaxed and persuaded to wait a little while before we give him what he wants.

soo,

oic, so its workable!
all along i not so sure if this works.
maybe i try it out.. see whether i got enuff time to do or not.

Is it okay if i thaw it overnight on my own fridge then i bring over to eat within the next day? i.e. for example i thaw it tonight, then i bring over to MIL house tmr morn, and she can let bb eat tmr?

IN yr case, u bring over the frozen cube for example today, then she thaw tonight, then eat tmr? so tats correct?

cactus,
i had c-sec also..but my experience quite ok..i got up 2nd day to walk and bathe myself..also walked to the nursery..
btw u didnt have menses ah...but do u ovulate? as in got discharge anot? maybe u hit the jackpot during ur fertile period

i havent bought my CNY clothes...i dun seem to find any nice nursing tops leh..sian.. any recommendations?
now i also dare not wear heels, carry so many bb things, scully i fall with the bb also..

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">puree... i read it's best not to keep the cubes for more than 48 hrs.. must discard after 72 hour

i normally make when on leave or weekend and give on that day... i oso intend to use slow cooker to make porridge... think slow cooker mades better taste ye.. ;p</font></font>

Shimin, yah! you power ah! 2nd day can walk!!! I was "forced" to walk on the second day. walk around in my room only.. around the bed.. to the toilet. to the door. to the chair. haha! very very painful. can still remember. Yah, I didnt have menses, but guess I must have ovulated. I don't know if have discharge.. didn't notice...

Ellysia,
Once thawed better to eat within short time. Coz when taken out of fridge in thawed form, bacteria multiplies faster...same logic as thawed BM. That's why only on day 1, she will heat over stove. Subsequent days, she thaws in fridge &amp; just add cereal &amp; hot water to feed. If your mil stays next blk only or within 5mins walk/drive, then it's ok to bring thawed food over

shimin,

last week i bot a dress for work, then i realise tat its v hard to remove for pumping (cos need to remove from bottom)... so i can't wear it to work..alamak. so have to buy appropriate clothes for cny cos need to nurse bb outside.

actually u dun need nursing top. just get t-shirts or normal top can liao. even bra nowadays i dun wear nursing bra, just normal bra but no wire.

i bot flats for cny.

ioio's plan strikes a chord with mine. I was previously on leave on Wednesdays. Reason being I could make food for bb (so make on Wednesdays and Sundays/Saturdays: twice a week so that the frozen food only lasts about 4 days). Wednesdays also allow me to rest at home since I look after bb at night too.

ioio,
I boh pian. FTWM, hv to freeze puree. Actually frozen purees can keep up to 2wks like BM. My freezer not used for meat anyway &amp; i always keep in airtight containers, so i guess it's safe bah...