(2008/06) June 2008

angel,

yup everyday after work i go MIL house makan dinner then reach my own house at 8.30pm, bathe bb and we bathe also, settle down around 9plus, then put bb to sleep. then i sterilise milk bottles for next day pump. then go to sleep. totally no life.

weekend then go out sometimes cos at home nothing much to do, bb always bored and make noise. my bb super active, easily bored. tired.

Ellysia,

ya loh.. the last thing i do everyday is to sterilise milk bottles le.. cos its the last thing which i have to do so i will drag doing it.. sigh..

yes.. totally no life.. now my coll wan to ask me out oso think twice liao.. cos i have aledi turned down their dates for many times over the past 1 mth.. they oso sian to date me liao.. double sigh..

yes.. yes.. weekend we bring baby out is oso cos she is bored at home.. she keep whining at home loh.. but once we bring her out, she will be so happy n will jump up n down (literally) n once she reach the shopping centre, she will keep quiet n happily look at all the things around her.. but the most she will tahan onli for 2-3 hours.. then she will get tired le n we have to rush home to put her to sleep.. triple sigh..

the things we do for our babies...

angel,
on the missing maid thing.. the dep yes its 5ks.. but den the insurance we bot covered the security dep le.. so if maid run away.. insurance will pay.. not employer.. kekeke..

Bonjovi,
Ya, I brought bb along.

Re: Maid
My long story.. My mum is my girl's main caregiver. She's staying with my bro's family and he has 2 girls. My SIL is a SAHM. When I ended my ML, I suggested that they employed a maid & I chip in. So I paid about $100 each month, give my mum $300 on top of the allowance that I give her. So a large part of my pay goes to that commitment. Many times, my mum will grumble when I work late and I get super irriated cos I feel that I gave her alot of $$ as compared to my bro. Moreover, I work lor, not go out and play.

The maid tends to take care of the nieces more, since my bro & SIL are her bosses and not me mah. I had quite a few arguments with my mum already over working late. The last straw is the cruise, which I went with my mum , my bro's family + maid. My mum spent a large part of the time in the casino. The maid was constantly helping out with my nieces. Thru'out the cruise, I and my hb was so busy looking after our kid. We take turns to carry her, gobbled down food and ended up more tired than before the cruise. I finally exploded and told my mum that I could be better off getting my own maid. Initailly, it was angry words, but come to think of it, maybe I should do so. With a maid, if my hb end work early, he could pick up the kid 1st. Now, he has to wait for me cos he cant handle the kid alone. The maid can oso do housework and I can stop the part-time cleaner that I am engaging for 2x a month now. We can oso spend more quality time with my girl. My hb & I can oso have more "me" & "we" time.

To get a maid, I will have to stop giving my mum the extra and use that to finance the maid. If that is the case, I will oni have to top up a bit more per month.

However, the concern is about getting a good maid lor. I will still need my mum to supervise the maid. If my mum still ask for extras for the "supervision" work, then it will be very tough on our finance. Haiz... dilemma...

Angel_z, the maid is entitled to 1 offday/mth, thus my relative believed she had a bf whom she met during her offdays. Anyway, she is good in covering up her preggie state. Now is is back home for good.

Ya, like babycupid said, I forgot there is this insurance which will cover the 5k deposit. So still not so bad, but still have to buy insurance to cover maid lor.

Zuen, sympathize with you leh. Hope you can get a good maid.

crystal, babycupid, tera,
Plus living expenses, how much do you spend on your maid per month? $700? Must work out our finances. Ever since the baby comes along, every month either see red or just nice. With a maid, if we need to top up extra then must tighten belt even more liao. Haiz..

babycupid,
Wat is the agency that you go to? Can PM me?

Veniz,
I still considering leh. Duno if my pocket will allow. However, I do see more pros than cons. Eversince my bro & SIL got the maid, they push the kids to the maid, so much free time at hand. Me leh, give my mum so much, then kena grumbled when I work late. After working, must rush to mum's house to pick up baby. Must bath her, spend some time with her and tuck her to bed, then have time to express or do laundry. Middle of the night must wake up to express and feed her.. -.o" I might as well cut away the extras that I pay my mum and get myself a maid. Another alternative is to look for a nanny. But nanny oso not cheap, oso duo how they will treat my kid and sometimes they are not very flxible when I have to work late or go overseas.

<font color="ff0000">Zuen
Yr situation lil bit like mine.
B4 i want to hire a maid i've talk to my mom.
She took care of my sons age 3 &amp; 5 which i gave her 300 and 300 for marketing...
if i have to take a maid i have to deduct the 300 to pay to the maid and still have to fork out another 170 for the levy....furthermore i have no extra cash to give her if i have to hire a maid....
and my mom always have leg pain.
after saying all these she agreed.
B4 i hired a maid my mum did all the cooking and sometime my laundry if the boys are asleep in the afternoon.

so b4 i due on june...i hired a maid on April.
so now my mum only look after my bb gal which is now 5mths plus...the rest my maid handled..

i appreciate my mom for understanding my situation...

Danryan,
Harsh words were passed this morning.. -.o"
I oso duno whether my mum will understand my situation.

Currently, I paid for everything that my girl uses. I will buy and pass to her. if she helps me to buy, then I will pay back. So the $100 + $300 excludes all the expenses.

Hiaz, logging off.. Need my precious sleep before my girl decs to wait up and "torture" me. Maid..no maid.. maid.. no maid.

angel

haaaa.. same le. my boy oso like tat. go out then he will jump up and down. outside he look awhile. later he tired then make noise then we go back. haaa same same.

zuen,

the problem is. once u give the extra to yr mum, its harder to take back or reduce.

for me. i lugi jiat lat. i been paying $500 per month for my parents monthly bills. then another $300 - $400 to my mum. everymth i pay her close to $1K. and she is not taking care of my boy. i just give her cos i am the eldest and she need my money. i want to cut allowance also cannot. she say she not enuff money cos my dad earns little. even now got bb, i told her i having more financial constraint, she like cannot understand like tat. my mum housewife lor..tink she has little sense of money esp the economy now.

Re; solid food

just read earlier postings on solid food.

for brown rice, i am looking at gerber organic brown rice cereal.

Actually my boy seems ready to start solid food few weeks ago liao. but pd have told me to wait until 6mths due to his eczema. so no choice i waited. else i probably have started in 5mths.

for weaning, i dun intend to wean much milk bec' i learn from articles tat BM shd make up majority of bb food for first year.

<font color="ff0000">Ellysia

Wow, do you now feed yr boy using spoon already??
My gal still not use using spoon when i feed her the cereal rice.
She prefer to eat frm bottle which is more watery type.

Zuen, get a maid, good one is of coz a pro. Initially, I wanted to get one, but everyone objected. Now, I am paying my gal's nanny $500.00 (when she starts solid, will up 50.00) and to my MIL, its also $500.00. Total my family expenses to childcaring is already 1k. at least you give $400.00 to your mother is worth it, but of coz as you said, I think she wants her own time.

I used to give my MIL $600 to take care of son (including our meals) but then when we shifted out, seldom eat at her place and with son going to sch, I told her I need to pay for enrichment classes so can only afford 500. She also very nice, get all good quality fish and meat for son. Now that I am bfing, when ever the fish my son cannot finish, she will save it for my dinner, as also, the rest does not like to eat fish.

Dun worry much, sit down, think about it when you cool down.

Star, realli sorry abt not able to mt u up in time..last min my boss ask me to do some urgent stuff...ended up me late..and hp oso low batt..realli pai say...
i can go collect the stuffs frm u ..no nd to post..text me at ur convenient.

zuen,
hmm.. if the maid is gd of cos it will be a great help and relieve for u n hb.. but if the maid is problematic.. den hor super sian stress and alot more..
so i shld say maid is really depends on luck..
total we spend ard 320(the pay)+ 170(levy)+ 100(meals+neccessities etc)
my opinion is get a maid if someone oversee.. so u will be more an xin.. once u got a maid.. u have more freedom.. which i really need.. initially i dun plan to get a maid.. is my mil requested.. now i am soooooooooo glad tat i actually hired one.. cos i cant imagine taking care of bb myself.. hugging him wherever i go.. alamak..

ZuEn,
I would say $600-$700 is a realistic range. I think getting a maid is quite a viable option given your current situation. But like you said, work out the finances first. There is always the risk in whether one can get a good maid or not. Getting maid is really heng-suay one. I suppose the option to be able to replace a not ideal maid should alleviate that problem a little. Of course, there is the hassle with re-training and all but at least u know u have the option to change. Just my 2 cents worth.

bbcupid,
haha, my situation v similar to yours, it was also my MIL who wanted a maid, i din think of getting one initially. but luckily so far the arrangement has worked out well.

Sandra,
I'm working in the city that never sleeps, heh. ;) would love to meet u and crystal for lunch but my office too far lah, it's at millenia tower unless i on half-day leave or something.

star,

if i want to join yr spree can??

sorry i have not bought anything from gap or old navy b4...so i will probably flood u with silly questions...

i can buy anything from the website even if they are from different shops is it?? eg old navy and gap???

u mean there will be an additional 30% on top of the price stated on the website? what is the exchange rate and is there any other charges???

so to make things easy for u, i will let u know the items i keen on then u calculate for me and tell me the total ... will transfer u the $$ yah??

will go shop online now!!!

Bonjovi, hope Kyler gets well soon! &amp; it's natural for mummies to worry. You are not overly protective la. I went for a bath at 7pm+ and asked hb to look after bb. Midway, heard bb cry damn loud. Aiyo, I was bathing halfway liao. If not sure chiong out. Yelled at hb what happened, no reply. So worried if bb fell from bed or wat althou I left him in bb cot. After a while, bb stopped crying. QUickly showered and rushed out n asked what happened. He said bb roll in cot until hand kena stuck or in super uncomfortable position then cried very loudly. *PIANZ* don noe to laugh or wat. I also super kan chiong like tat. Don worry, it's maternal instinct. haha...

RE: Couple time
Today feeling super duper drained. Everytime end of the workweek always like tat. Then lotsa negative tots... like super no life now. After work must chiong home take care of bb. Weekends hubby working so at least u all got hubby to accompany u to go walk walk for 2-3 hrs also not bad liao. So I seldom go out on wkends unless it's to my mum's place but also must see people's face colour. Last time, always go out with hubby for dinner on Friday. something to look forward to. Don have liao since bb come out. Of course, now go home can see baby feel super happy too. But somehow today's too tired until cannot think positively.

Took a 20mins power nap at 9pm. Woke up at least happier.... just want to vent. just bear with me.

Soyabean, The carter's bibs looks so cute! Gonna order some tml..hehe...

Baby's turning 5mths tomorrow! Yeahie!

MLP...
gosh.... u still online? i cant sleep! i think its cos of the pearl milk tea i drank after dinner... shucks... and to think i hv been awake since 5am today leh... urgh....
haha... the bibs are cute hor? i oso ordered a few sometime back... i hv the "watch me as i grow" giraffe one... =D

tinyfeet...
its a blessing to never hv shopped at gap or on b4... cos once u start, u find it diff to stop!

wave*** to MLP/soyabean/tinyfeet,

MLP,i look at carter bibs link n realised i got quite a number from those pictures featured

anyone going to suntec tmr for the safari food fair &amp; home electronics fair?

hi fennie...
*wave back* me still ard... shucks... if i dun feel sleepy soon, i'm going to be a zombie tmr! hehe... i love the carter bibs... but hvnt used them yet. cant wait to use them leh. btw how many hv u got??? i oni hv 2. but looking at the link, i am so tempted to get more... i like the cowgirl one... keke...

hi soyabean,

i got most if the boys' design
mommy's little monster/watch me as i grow/thank heaven for little boys/hungry saurus/if mommy says no, ask grandma/daddy's little all star/yellow giraffe, got others which are not in that BP, i crazy liao..no choice, some days hv 2 change 3 times

veniz, Ellysia,
Looks like we all give our parents quite alot huh. My mum is not working liao and she doesnt spend alot. She lives with my bro so no bills to pay. I do agree that it will be difficult to take back after I start giving. Looks like I will still need to give her something if she helps to supervise the maid..

babycupid, tera,
Aiyo, like tio tikam like that... Any advice on nat? My bro's maid = PHL. He requested that I get a diff nat one if I really wanted to engage one.. actually my mum is not really for the idea of having 2 maids. However, the current arrangement is not working out lor. I feel v.unbal that I contribute to the maid + contribute much more (as compared to my bro), yet rush like siao everyday. Already many incidents of arguments bcos I cannot fetch bb on time cos I have to work.

MLP,
I oso realised that I snapped at hb more after bb is out. Sometimes, I realised that my entire focus is on bb and have to remind myself that my hb oso needs me lor. Maybe that is oso one of the reasons why I am considering a maid. In that way, more time for us.

Re: HB alone with maid
Wat is your take? My hb ends work earlier than me usually. There will oso be times that I go on biz trips. Do you all leave your maid alone with hb?

Morning NSS &amp; ZuEn!!!! hope it doesnt rain today man! nss, u wrking today?

uen, i also like u...snap at hb more easily. type more later...single-hand typing now (mooing)

Hey soya &amp; fennie, aiyo, didnt know u both online also last nite. couldn't sleep till 1am! if not can chat chat.... feels like those pregnancy days where forum still busy at nite! or rather msn! slept at 1am n my boy poo ALOT at 3.30am+drink milk. super stinko till i can faint! long time he didnt poo at nite liao....thank god he woke up at 7am today instead of his usual 5.30am

fennie, why u need so many bibs now? jared drolling alot?

soya,wat time u drank ur bubble tea? so powerful?

MLP, wow u sleep so late yet wake up soo early!!!Finally our boys turn 5 months liao

I not working on weekends, Sat morning is my only personal time, kids still zzz

Yeah, now at work no time to log in, even go express sometimes onli got 15 mins only.

Sat is housework and jaga the kids. Wot about u? Ur hb also work on Sat rite?

ZuEn,
I have a Myanmar maid. Reasons for choosing this nationality was cos we have a relative who had a myanmar maid whom we found very hardworking and good. Also, what I heard was that most PHL maids now tend to be smarter and will "geng" so I opted for Myanmar. Of course, there are also good PHL maids around, I'm sure, just like there are cases of lazy Myanmar maids. So yes, it's luck again, aargh.

It's really like tikam, cos when we selected our 1st maid for my agency's case, we looked at her biodata and then interviewed her through phone and she sounded ok. So we took her. But when she got here, found her kind of dishonest (she kept some of my stuff without telling me) and she din seem to like kids much. So then we switched to my current maid who is so far so good. The general problem with Myanmar maid is the communication cos their English not very good so must speak slowly and in simple english but I think I can live with that as long as she takes good care of my baby.

And yes, I do leave her alone with HB.

morning...
zombie reporting... i went to bed at 1am but fell asleep oni at 2am. woke up at 5am to moo then slept again until 8am.

MLP...
i took the tea at 9pm... think i will ban myself from drinking it so late already even though i love the drink sooo much. wah... ur boy poo in mid of nite?? keke... mine sometimes wake up at nite and dun wan to sleep for 1hr plus... v terrible...

tera...
i agree wif u on the communication part wif myanmar maid. i had that prob wif my 1st maid. everything i say she say yes yes then turn out dun understand and do wrong thing. told time and time again to say if dun know, no need to be afraid but somehow cant get into the head. and they tend to be very low initiative. ask to do #1, and will only do #1.

zuen...
ur bro has a point abt getting one in diff nationality. if u get the same, the 2 of them may hv more in common and may end up teaching each other wrong things.

MLP, nss...
happy 5 mths to ur kiddoes...
the other day brgt my ger to see doc for her runny nose and cough, she weighs 7.4kg as at 5 mths, oni 0.5kg gain from her 6.9kg at 3 mths... a little disappointing. next week got to bring her for her jab... must wait for her to recover.

MLP,
yes, jared drools alot, and he likes to suck his fingers, or hand, and saliva kept dripping, sigh...

mine will be 5 month tomorrow, yea!

hi nss,
long time no "see"

<font color="aa00aa">Big panda eyes Felicia reporting today!
kao_sleep.gif

My #1 was sick after got back from childcare yesterday. On the way back, she vomitted once, then at home another time before my hubby brought her to see doc (as i was at room doing massage). Hubby told me my ger vomit twice at the clinic. Doc finally need to inject pill into her buttock to stop her vomitting.
When she's back, she was very cranky coz she'd hvin fever at 38.5 degree plus she's hungry due to the vomitting.
My girl was very stubborn and unreasonable especially when she's sick. She dont allowed my mil to go to sleep and she want only me to feed her medicine, ended up both of us din get to sleep. So now i'm a big panda eyes monster with messy hair and haggard look.</font>

hi fennie...
keke... i placed order for some more bibs... :p

felicia...
oh dear... is she having gastric flu? hope she gets well soon.... rest when she rest... then u wldnt be so tired.

<font color="ff0000">my gal when for jab yesterday

1883607.jpg

now 5 mths and 12 days old
weighing 6.97kg

Felicia
hope yr bb get well soon

felicia,
oh, better take care, drink more fluid, weather siow siow, cannot predict if it will rain the next moment

soyabean,
i think so far, i always order 4pcs at a time, have ordered from another BP, i think wildkitty is the organizer, so far order 3times liao, i will also match bibs with his clothes n socks, especially when we bring him "gai gai", i think if i have a ger ger, i will " pok gai" liao

thank you! we can all get our bibs @ a gd price! =D

i will make up the remaining numbers to hit 24pcs.

Kindly make payment asap so I can proceed with everyone's orders.

1. maomi_mummy
2. buttercup (disco dots, solid blue) = $8+$5.60+$0.50 = $14.10
3. christinathng (Tangy Treats, pink gingham, japanese floral) = $24.80 paid
4. veniz (tangy treats, rainbow x 2, cherries) = $32.80 paid
5. sandra/ spritzer08 (Tangy Treats, Lilac Gingham, Pink Gingham, Bubblegum) = $32.80 paid
6. starmambo (Butterflies in the Garden , Solid- Yellow) = $14.10 paid
7. feifei (Pink Gingham,Tangy Treats) = $$16.50
8. crystal (Butterflies in the Garden, Tangy Treats) = $16.50
9. Felicia ( Summertime, Tangy Treats) = $16.50
10. jer paid

Pls transfer the amounts corresponding to your name/nick to POSB Savings 103-58106-0. To facilitate quicker ordering for everyone, pls do so asap! After transfer, pls PM me with the transfer details, as well as your mailing address. =)

thank you all once again. =D

Hi Rizty (riztiqah), just saw your post.

If you want to get the bibs, pls make payment and PM me your mailing address accordingly. =)

I have noted 1 butterfies in the garden for you.