(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">feifei.. i think i will try pear this weekend.. i add the rice cereal to his milk instead.. 1 or 2 scoops lor.. PD says to thicken the milk during last feed so he can sleep longer..

seeing a lot BB drink lesser.. my BB is the opp.. he reject milk 1-2 months ago and it's so hard to feed him as he will throw tantrum when we insists.. now he seems to enjoy his milk when it's time to introduce him cereal.. weird weird BB... </font></font>

cactus,
your parents don't mind your inlaws turning up unannounced? I certainly mind! esp since they have the key to my place - so they just suka suka walk in. giving them the key is cos we trust them so I feel they should have the basic courtesy to inform us before they come

kye,
ahyo, like that ur MIL bery traditional hor?

ioio,
its a phase lor..But hor, i read frm somewhere that best to feed them cereal instead of adding to their milk etc lor..haiz, so many diff sayings, but I just fed my ger using spoon lor..she loves it...if i add to her milk, she give me funny sound...

feifei,
it's strange cos my MIL is so called "educated" - studied overseas - not easy in their time and speaks good English. but her thinking all very traditional, like breastmilk not good, formula better. Mother should stay at home look after baby etc

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">feifei.. really ah? my PD asked me to add to bottle one leh.. ha ha.. i oni add during last feed.. but see not much diff in milk.. i oso got a funny PD, kept asking me to introduce cereal, fruit to BB... 'p

kye.. u r great!! ur co. oso so good to allow u to on leave.. my mil tt time oso yayapapaya, dun want to learn from CL thinking tt my BB very easy to handle as she take care of so many kids.. and end up having drama lor.. ha ha..</font></font>

kye,
Can understand how u felt cos when we just got married, my inlaws + BIL likes to come to our hse without telling us de..so I told hb i wan to install an additional lock on the door frm inside..so we did it....All e while we will lock it when we are at home lor..Come one day, inlaws came, cannot open, bang on the door, call us..Then we open e door, happen we were vacuuming the flr din hear them mah..

Then MIL was telling us, "no need to lock mah, not as if got thievies come in"!...

Cactus,
my hb also tried to tell MIL to at least sms to inform us before she comes but she also ignore. else she'll sms something vague " MAY drop by sometime later" in the morning - and may turn up like evening! what's the use?

ioio,
actually i don't mind stay at home de, so took no pay leave to try try. but financially kind of tight, so decided to go back to work part time. i don't want to have to take emergency leave if MIL cannot cope! i've insisted she try 1/2 day 1st before i go back to work

feifei,
good idea! maybe i install an internal lock too! but MIL sure angry 1. discuss with hb 1st.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, have been planning to bring my lil one out via MRT for long time, but we just afraid is too crowded during weekend.
Remember last time, i bring my #1 shop shop in Orchard in her stroller, then when we board the train back, it was too crowded and some ppl had to 'kiss' on the MRT door. Then we can sense some ppl start looking at us with unkind look loh. But no choice mah!</font>

Veniz,
Yah, decided to "chong chu jiang hu". hehe!

Crystal and Cactus,
*wave*!

Crystal,
i also miss u girls and the forum! :p

Feifei,
My boy's turning 5mths next week. Cannot flip yet. Think too big-size, hehe. He's got 1 bottom tooth coming out already so a little more cranky nowadays.

Felicia,
Don't worry abt the email lah.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">kye.. from past experience.. try half day doesnt help one.. my mil comes a few times a week b4 i back work.. but when I am ard, she jux passed BB back to me to handle when he cries.. when there's someone to depend on it's not so stress but when handling alone... it's so different lor..

my BB is the kpo type and likes to play with pp.. even stranger.. last week, we brought him to expo and while i am playing with him, suddenly a middle age guy came and play with him oso.. he took up his keys to make the ding ding sound and my BB was laughly so loudly..then another middle age women oso come and play with him.. so afraid that he got kidnap oso dun noe what happen.. </font></font>

feifei and kye,
My MIL also used to let herself into my hse till my hubby told her to call beforehand. she wasnt very happy but nowadays she will call.

Tera, my boy is just past 18 weeks. very cranky lately. wondering if it is teething woes. He cannot flip too. trying very hard to do it but think he's too fat too. He is 8kg now.. haha!

ioio,
plan is to let her try 1/2 day 1st , then progress to full day. see how lah, if she's lazy to even try, I won't let her take care of baby!

cactus,
ya, IL issues very difficult. but i wonder y it's usually the DILs who have problems with the inlaws? the Son-in-laws usu ok leh.

kye,
hiaz...ya lor, u discuss with ur hb lor..That time afew days aft that incident, my mil tell me again, say "ahya, even if we go ur hse, also won't go to ur room one mah, nothing there anyway"..So i told her " ya lor, lock the door I feel safer, its my habit liao", then she !@#$..hee

Tera,
wow, ur boy's tooth can be seen liao?my ger still bo gei lor..onli lots of kou shui..hehe...U try to teach him how to flip..At 1st my ger also duno, we will place her on the mat, then turn her sideways, tell her this shd be the way to flip, tried afew times and she can turn herself lor..Now even when she sleeping she also flip! then after that she cry cos got a shock...*faintz* duno wan to laugh or cry at her..hee

Tera, wow!! 9kg! I think little cactus will be like little Tera! he is steadily gaining 1kg every month! :p I think we all gain alot of nice muscles from carrying our babies! My weight is now 45kg. Neve rbeen so skinny before. my colleagues couldn't recognise me. I used to be 47kg pre preg. I was 45kg when I was 14 years old! Now BMI index 18 already.. no matter how much I eat, still lose weight. thikn it's from the "exercise" and worry and lack of sleep. I ate 4 slices of bread for breakfast this morning. then munched on 2 granola bars and a smoothie late morning.

anyone knows which BPA-free bottles comes with teh sealing disc? thinking of replacing my existing pigeon bottles with new ones.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. jux curious, y didnt u guys get a car instead since there shouldn't be any money issue..

kye.. in laws are a never ending stories.. ha ha.. i think dil lesser issue with fil oso.. jux like mil and sil.. it's all the "chemistry" and science.. women and women will repel?? ha ha..</font></font>

Felicia,

i have been mixing all along.. since i started work. cos i need to re-use bottles (dun want to carry too many), so i have to mix them together.

Jan,

I dunno if after give birth, we can easily catch wind or wat. recently my head catch wind also. dunno is it bec i wash hair during confinement.

Shycloud, Medela bottles are BPA free. I express into Medela, then store in Avent bottles (the 260ml bottles but remove the teats and bought sealing discs which are sold in 6 piece packaging). Avent is BPA free too.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus, ooh understood.. if i were u would do the same thing as car is really very costly to maintain lor.. and yup depreciating every year.. ;(

so pigeon is not BPA free ah? i am wondering what is the BPA thing.. normal bottle got what issue leh? i knew pigeon BPA free bootles are yellow in colour one.. but very ex.. 10+ a bottle..</font></font>

ioio, I'm sorry. I don't know if pigeon is not BPA free. BPA is short form for something. I forget what already. There is supposed to be a link between BPA and certain cancers and stunted puberty in children. depends on whether you believe not lah. I'm not that uptight about BPA but I just happened to use a Medela pump, so use Medela bottles. I previously used Pigeon bottles for my boy until 2 months old, then switched to Avent cos of Avent Airflex which is supposed to be anti-colic. my boy was colicky.

hello hello!!

can anyone tell me the procedure of making a passport for baby?

heard can do online submission?

would like to know the difference of making just a pasport alone and to attach baby to mine. price etc

thanks!!

Hi gers,
Busy, busy day.. Haiz..

Cactus,
Envy, envy.. I still have 3kg with me. Sob. Maybe I should worry more. ;p

Re: Wrist pain
I have that too from carrying baby. Now, I am experiencing lower back pain that extends to the right thigh. Wondering if it is bcos I handle bb wrongly or something wrong with my spine. -.o"

Re: Solids
My mum dun want me to intro solids so quickly. She say wait for 6 months. I think it is bcos it will be v. messy. Haha. Do you all feed bb solids in the evening? I scare will result in indigestion.

ZuEn, give your 3kg to me leh!!!
I want to put on some weight!

I also have lower back pain but it doesn't extend to the thigh. Do youw ant to see a doctor?

I've not started solids yet. planning to wait till 6 months if possible. But I was told feed solids only in the mornings after 1st milk. Reason is so that we can monitor bb for allergic reaction through the day. Let bb drink milk first in the morning. 2nd meal then incorporate some solids. Reason is because if bb doesn't like solids, at least baby already had full feed of milk earlier in the day. This is just what I read. I dun have practical experience.

oh! the lower back pain that we experience is prob due to our bodies subconsciously bending back when we carry out babies, to take our babies' weight away from our arms. This strains our lower back muscles.

Tinyfeet,
I applied Lil ZuEn's ppt via post. Cost us $70, same price as online. Decided on post cos we duno how to take the standard-ppt foto. If via post, can download the form from ICA website and pay via credit card. Very convenient. I dun think they allow the child ppt to be attached to the parent's anymore. Cos like wat cactus say, if the bb's looks changes, i.e., different from ppt photo, must change the entire ppt, no more photo update services. I think security issue.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">Photograph Guidelines:
Your photograph image must be in colour taken against plain white background without shadows;
taken within the last 3 months;
show the full face and without headgear (headgear worn in accordance with religious or racial customs is acceptable but must not hide the facial features);

Your photograph image attachment file must be
JPEG format ('jpg' extension)
file size should be about 60 Kbytes;
dimension of the photo image has to be 400 by 514 pixels;

think cannot apply with BB online..</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">zuen.. i was looking for that option.. so now will be separate... ooh... </font></font>

for mummies with bbs who cant flip yet,

it's not a bad thing after all that they cant flip cos changing for them is a breeze!!! once they learnt the art of flipping, changing for them becomes a very tiring act. hahaha...

Re: teething
think my boy is teething oso. i can feel the edges from his gums when i applied the teething gel for him. but it doesnt seem like the gel's working cos he is still irritable after application.

mummies, got other solutions for my boy??/

Tinyfeet,

For passport, it'll be faster n hasslefree to apply online. Take a bb's photo and edit according to the ICA guidelines. They're not very strict with bb and they've internal pple to do further edit on the .jpg files.

No more allowing bb to attach to parent's passport. (keke, tt's their way to earn $$$).

Note, once bb's looks change, will have to re-do another passport as they DO NOT allow new photo to be pasted or added under the amendment page anymore (another way to earn more $$$)

ioio,

BPA free bottles are ex... I'm also using Pigeon and Taka is selling $16 for BPA free n $20 for glass ones.. I'm thinking of getting glass ones as there'll be no worries of added chemicals..

Anyone here using glass bottles?? any comments to share??

cactus,
hb and I thought of changing house keys too but so far dun dare to cos MIL is the very drama type. she'll yi ku, er nao, san shang diao kind

bleh,
how about teethers? put in the fridge then let baby bite. i give that to my boy, it seems to soothe him a little. when i touch my boy's lower gum, can feel the ridge of the teeth. can also see the white tip.

feifei,
yeah, very excited to see the teeth, just the tip actually. hehe. ok, me will go and train him to flip, thanks! so far, he only does a half flip and stuck there. :p

Hi mummies, I've got a query. I wish to bring my 5 month girl to swim more often but water is kinda cold for her. Is there any good swim suit that will help keep her warm? where can i buy? thanks!

Re: bb passport photo

well.. just coax bb to sleep everytime when reach custom.. then tell officers that bb sleeping, inconvenient to wake bb up.. then hopefully they'll not check.. hahahaha

okok, back to serious topic.. frankly speaking, i also dunno... i asked them when i was collecting the passport n they said got to change once bb's looks is different.. **faint**

<font color="aa00aa">shycloud, thanks for sharing. Shall look around for oth option as well 1st before deciding.

bleh, my ger din know how to flip yet, but she always push her bum up whenever i try to change her, so is quite 'challenging' oso. She loves this action very much coz it'll bring her forward, and she'll laugh when she heard me scold her. </font>