(2008/06) June 2008

kye,
Dun ya...its not easy to take care of bb de...U are a good mother ya..just that sometimes mayb ur MIL or older ple tend to go to the extremes lor, my MIL soemtimes also like that...wat to to..

feifei,

I know I shouldn't let her words affect me. feel much better now after all the ranting. still irks me lor, made it sound like my parents' place very dangerous like that.

kye,
At the start, ur bb will feel scare de...Just make sure he can see u or ur hb lor..Dats wat we did on mon when I brought my bb to my mum's hse...I will talk to her softly at her ears, say now going popo hse, popo dote on u k...Then I ask my mum and everyone else dun touch my bb 1st, let her see and familiarise with the people 1st...Then after that, she did play awhile with them, then slowly ok liao...

kye,
i understand lor..ahya, u know lor, older ple tinking bery funny one lor...sometimes I also bu tahan, but kept telling myself she helping me take care of bb, wat more do I wan...

actually I want my parents to take care of my baby - cos my parents both retired and have maid at home. MIL ngeh ngeh want to take care of baby and she's alone at home lor, FIL working. so naturally i think my parents are a better choice cos more resources mah. in any case, when i was preggy she said she din want to take care of baby. only after baby born then she fight to take care

feifei,
my hb also sick..
stomach virus flu.. cannot help to take care of baby..

wow, u intend to start potty trained already?? My gal will cannot sit properly leh... she'll fall to the side..

As for sterilize, think will still continue till 1 ot 1.5 yrs bah.. to eliminate any unwanted virus..

Janiviy,

hmm, yeast infection... I've a cream fm the gynae but dunno the name.. I must apply a few days for it to take effect.. If no apply, reddness, itch and sore will come back again..

kye,
ahyo, y ur MIL like that de...hiaz..can understand ur agony lor..so u bring ur bb home every nite?

Warrior,
Duno y hor, these few days, like alot of ple gana stomach virus leh...Do take care lor...hope he is recovering le..

Not yet lor, but just curious duno when to start..hee

I see..tks ya...So when would u change the bottles?

<font color="aa00aa">feifei, my ger din sleep till 4am and i make milk for her. After 30mins only she manage to be in her dreamland. By then is time for me to moo-moo and prepare to work liao. *sigh*</font>

Morning Feifei and Felicia,
Long time no "see" ya!
Have not logged into the forum for a long long time cos not convenient to do so at work, Sigh. But have been trying to catch up on the threads at home. Managed to come in here for a while now cos boss not in yet. :p Ok, try to talk to u all later.

feifei,

I'm still on no pay leave. going back to work part time in Jan 2009. so now settling child care issue. alot of conflic lor

Morning ladies.

Janivy, Feifei: my wrist also pain. I dun think it is confinement cos my mom also recently wrist pain in the same way. It is the way we carry the baby.

Tera, you finally surfaced! Everyone has been asking where are you.

Janivy, Feifei and Cactus, about wrist pain, its more of the position we twisted it to carry baby made a stress on our nerves (something like that lar, sorry dunno how to explain properly). During my #1 period, I always carried him and wrist was also very painful. There is even a small bone jerk out of my wrist after all the carrying. So, its not really confinement not done well or anything.

babycupid
below is my question(copy,paste from prev one)
anybody has opinion/view on this??

btw,would like to ask one question, i just bought avent BPA free for my bb, but when i sterilise the bottles,seems a bit strange,because i saw the avent sterilizer tray still use plastic(the blue color one),so when i sterilise the bottle,the tray will release toxic since it's not BPA free,so what the use we bought this free BPA bottle? or need to go back to old way?boil using hot water?that's the safest way?confused.....

re wrist pain

think it's due to the way the wrist is flexed when I carry the baby upright. hand's supporting baby's bottom.

<font color="aa00aa">Tera, finally u r here again! Welcome back!!! Till now still no time to reply ur email coz got lot to say. haha..... pai seh! pai seh!

Wrist pain me dont have! But i had backache leh!</font>

Cactus,
u stay with your parents? so envious! We're staying by ourselves but PILs stay nearby and come by our place often, unannounced (quite irritating).

i haven't change the pigeon milk bottles since I used it for the 1st time till now.. About 5 mths liao.. I only change the teats after 3rd mth..\

When shd I change the bottles??

Felicia,
Tiring hor..

Tera,
hi gal!! So long din see u leh...Hows things?Hows ur little one?

kye,
Good leh, at least can bond with ur bb for longer time...so now ur mil come over to ur hse to take care of ur bb?or u go over?

cactus,
really huh?hmm..cos hor, now my ger has new hobby, like us to carry her at her armpit there and go upwards lor, then she will smile and happy lor *faintz*..I treating her like my "baby" dumbbell..hee

fen,
hmm.. i dun tink i can help leh.. cos i already put the steriliser one side cos i find it so troublesome.. to sterilise the bottles i used hot water lor..

cactus,
i tink ur boy slp at the wrong timing and for 4hrs + somemore.. hmm.. wake up so many times in the nite.. u latch him?

feifei, thanks for the advise to start rice cereal first.

Re: Wrist pain
I kena this before. it's due to the way i carry baby and try to pat him to sleep. damn painful. I quickly apply some chinese ointment on my arm and luckily it went away the next day. then i avoid the "straining position" that day to avoid wrist pain again.

Kye, i can emphatize with u. I stay with my in-laws n my MIL + her helper takes care of bb. After lunar 7th month, i started to bring bb to my parent's place every sunday. Then the 3rd sunday, just reached back home only, she suggests me gg to my mum's place every fortnight instead of every week! told her my parents missed Jayden cos 1st grandchild mah. she said they can come over to visit. i was quite mad then but i try to avoid direct confrontation cos staying together...don wan things to turn out ugly. but ended up me and hubby quarrel over this...

feifei,

I look after baby myself now. asked MIL to come over more often since she wants to look after baby when i go work but she always alot of excuses, no time etc. so pissed.

MLP,

dunno why they wanna keep the baby at home! then when MIL want to bring baby out shoppin it's ok, but go my parents' place make so much noise.

my husband dun really agree with his mother but he dun wanna direct confront her also cos his mother will yi ku, er nao, san shang diao. then very troublesome. but slightly easier for me cos mil dun stay w me, I still bring baby to parents' place but she then nag nag

feifei,
ya lor.. i saw the news too.. i was tinking.. like so waste $ leh.. change 4 to 6 mths.. 1 bottle is not cheap.. nex time i buy 2 enuff.. 1 for my plc 1 at my mil plc..

<font color="aa00aa">Oh ..my...oh..my! Even BPA free bottles oso need to change evry 4 to 6mths ? I tot BPA free bottle does not need to change so frequent?</font>

kye, sama sama!!! She go pray and ask temple then tell me bb better don travel long distance (trying to tell me don go to my mum's place) but she bring bb go shopping oK lei!!! My mum's place 20mins drive away only! Not in Jurong or wat. *faint faint faint* it's her excuse lor... baby any single thing not right, will put it on gg to my mum's place.

My hb say I siao to be mad at my MIL...he don't understand. haiz...

Anyway, one of these weekend will "invite" my parents to my MIL place to make her happy. My mum gg msia this wkend so I'm spared at least for this wkend. if not, every wkend stressed lei when I think abt how to tell her me gg to mum place. And I also didn't let my parents know what my MIL say. don want to sour any relationships... so end up stressing myself.

hi Kye,
I know what you mean about ILs dropping by without announcing... :p My ILs come to my parents' home without announcing too.

BabyCupid,
My bb slept very early yesterday cos he was super fussy and my parents and maid didn't know what to do with him. but I think they shld have just let him nap one more time before putting him to sleep for the night. But yes, he wakes up 3 times for milk during the night. I don't latch him on. I've been bottle feeding since birth. Only latch on (but not full feeds) 3 times.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,
just to share my schedule wif u when i was still expressing 3wks back, if this is of any help for you to do comparison...
6.45am - woke up, express milk
7.15am - showered &amp; get dressed for wk
7.40am - carry / play wif my bb if she happens to be awake
8.00am - leave for wk
9.00am - reach office
4.00pm - express BM for bb &amp; store in pantry's fridge
6.00pm - leave office
7.00pm - reach hm, have dinner, showered, play &amp; feed bb
8.30pm - prepare bb for nite &amp; pat her to sleep
9.00pm - spend time wif hb or watch some tv
12mn - dreamfeed bb b4 going to bed myself
4am - bb wake up for mn feed
4.20am - back to bed till 6.45am</font>

MLP,
no prob =D.

Haiz, sometimes hor, we as DIL bery difficult position de lor...hiaz..

kye,
I see..hiaz...so now u take care alone bery siong hor? then ur lunch n dinner how?Bb CANNOT always stay at home de..I speaking frm experience lor..Cos that time rem I posted here, saying my bb like seen something 'dirty" during the 7th mth, frm then onwards, we dun dare to bring her out...Until recently, then she start crying when she sees strangers leh...So now my mil will bring her go downstairs walkwalk lor, see things, see ple, mon when I brought her t IMM< she was ok, nv scream when she saw "ah nei" and strangers lor...So my concluision is, cannot let bb stay at home de..must bring them out to let them expose and get used to seeing strangers... =).

Babycupid,
ya lor, thats wat i wondering also leh..

Felicia,
this I not so sure leh..hmm...

Kye, living with parents is good cos no need to "waste" time to make arrangements to visit both sets of parents. just visit one set can arleady, but living together also means adjustments and alot of tolerance.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">morning mummies...

ermn.. cactus.. does ur husband help in taking care of baby?

mine is taken care by in-law.. initially only mil but she breakdown in 3 days time weeping saying that she cannot manage when i about to go to work. i actually posted the drama here.. ;p..

so fast time flies.. my bb now 4.5mths liao.. now my bb is taken care by both fil and mil, we dun hv maid.. when i back home, i immediately take over, my pil stay with us some weeekdays but i totally take over once back home.. my husband does help in taking care as well and also the housework.. so far used to this type of schedule liao..

intially i really not used to my mil as she always peep on what i am doing.. tok extremately loud when watching TV and my husband get to accompany her and leave bb and me alone in the room..etc.. with my fil ard, it really helps a lot.. and he is more tactful with BB oso..</font></font>

feifei,
then it's time to change those milk bottles...

anyone tried Cafebiz at Traders Hotel?? Thinking of gg there for buffet lunch cos DBS card got 1-for-1 promotion during wkdays.. pls advise..

Thanks for sharing, Crystal! When you mean dreamfeed, do you wait till your baby is hungry before you dreamfeed? I used to dreamfeed when little cactus is hungry but not awake yet, but lately, I struggle to feed him because the minute I put the teat into his mouth, he becomes wide awake, then reject the teat! 3 days already.

Kye, ranting will help us to destress. After that, put all negative tots to one side.

Just do what we think is right and good for baby.
initially stay with ur baby at ur parent's place as he is in a new environment, need abit of time to warm up and get used to.... =)

<font color="aa00aa">yayaya... agree must bring bb out , else they become 'suai ku' leh. I remember the during the 2nd mths of delivery, when we bring our lil one out, she'll look at her surrounding and then start crying. Then every week we make the effort to bring her out shopping. After few times, she was fine now. Else just bring her downstair she start to cry , then sit in car oso cry. Now she loves travelling in car and bus. Havent got chance to train MRT yet. Must bring her on MRT one of this day. hehe...</font>

morning ladies!

wah, so many posts to catch up.....

feifei,
my ger also afraid of strangers. i bring her out, she will cry if any stranger attempts to be friendly with her. she even cry when go to my mum's place. so sad leh. but no choice. have to keep on exposing her so she wont be so scared

milk bottles:
wat? must change milk bottle very 4-6 mths??? very siong leh..... i got so many milk bottles. I use the bottles to store ebm leh.....

<font color="aa00aa">tera,
welcome back! long time no "see" liao. miss u ley...

cactus,
i feed b4 she is hungry or express hunger. she will open eyes to look at me for a while, then close her eyes &amp; con't suckling on the bottle until milk is finish. recently, she will push bottle away if she had enf &amp; then con't sleeping. no disruption.</font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus... ooh forgot that ur husband's job requires him to be very alert type.. must have enough sleep..

my bb oso look for me or husband when he is about to zz.. but he gets to sleep more nowaday so it a bit easier now.. normally me and my husband take turn to feed him during middle of the night.. sometime my hb tooo tired, i will ask him not to wake up as i sleep till around 8 and go out ard 9am.. so get to sleep more.. but it really depends as BB wakes up ard 6+ i oso get to wake up to play with him..etc.. but I only handover my BB to in-law when i leave the house.. so everything oso need to be "fast".. </font></font>

warrior,
hee..time to burn a hole liao..

I went b4 for buffet lunch lor, nice and quite alot of varieity..

iamsnow,
ya lor, really hv to...thats y my mil bring her downstairs to walkwalk everyday..But i scare it might become something bad when she grows older..Scare she will everytime wan to go out lor..contridicting hor?Thats y lor, siong leh, I also duno whether to change bottles anot..I guess if there is no discolouration, shd be ok??!!

My ger hor, i onli gave her alittle pear puree these 3days, then when finish, I told her no more liao, she will be looking for it and then she eheheh...she loves it lor.. =)..
Which type of pear u use? I using the green pears lor, steam and blend, bery good texture aft that..Now she recongises the bowl we used for her puree leh...

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">food for BB

any mummies BB reject cereal.. my BB give me the "eee." expression when I feed him cereal yest.. and use his tongue to block.. ha ha.. wonder whether to cont. to give him or to switch to fruit puree...

see so mummies prepare the puree on their own.. i think maybe i sld try this weekend..</font></font>

ioio,
u can stop for afew adys, then give him again...
Some of my frenz told me their bb also not intersted in rice cereal, so they directly go into porridge lor..

yup, we shd try to prepare ourselves if possible cos fresher lor =D...

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies, i remember there is someone buy the Stella McCartney LeSportsac bag online, but cannot remember which mummy liao. Can advise me the shipping cost?</font>

ioio,
wah so drama, hope my mil dun do the same thing! esp since she so seldom take care of baby and she'll also have to do it alone cos FIL working. I already ask her to "practise" but she always got alot of excuse.

feifei, MLP,
we do bring baby out, esp weekends. cos MIL v gian to take baby out so i dun understand y cannot go my parents' place which is 10 min drive away. I also bring baby downstairs walk walk a few times a week. think she scared the baby close to my side bah. she v lao gu ban, prob thinks the baby belongs to her side cos follow their surname.