(2008/06) June 2008

babycupid, i will bring her down and let the pd access her condition, even if cannot take the jab, i need to ask abt my ger's coughing, has been a mth liao...

magkline, i once give my ger 'jing feng san'... she cried until so badly that i dun dare to give her again.

re: mil

haha.. my mil is ok.. but but.. 1 thing i dun like is she tot she koes everything..! everytime i go n wat i do to my boy.. she will come saying.. he dun liek to be carried liek tat one.. he dun like to lie dwn there one.. he likes to.. he like tat.. he like tis.. he dun like tat.. wah kaoz!
i hate tat kind of feeling.. as if she koes my boy better than me! sheessh.. :S :S

btw, any mummies here using sarong slings?

sigh... i hv one but i totally cant make it leh... i fail leh... dunno how to use it well... jus wanna check for those who are using slings, wats the position ur bb loves now?

soyabean, same here... i bought one but don't know how to use it well, put my baby inside liao still feel strange and uncomfortable. so far i only try the upright position

soyabean,
ya la.. so funny.. i tink he really tot is pacifier..
eh.. i have sarong slings but i nvr use b4! cos buay hiao use la.. haiz.. waste $$ again i tink..

shycloud,
hahaha.. pout pout.. my boy oso do tat.. kekeke..

lattelover,
wah.. a mth already.. den u better bring her to see pd.. cos bb cough too much no gd.. will develop bronchitis and serious case will develop pneumonia.. got phlegm?

bizz...
i think u hv to login at the profile page and then edit.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/board-profile.cgi

anyway, if too troublesome, u can email me at [email protected] and i will reply u wif my HP and addy.

mag, my boy is 13wks and drinks 140ml FM/BM and can tahan 3-4hrs. yestd helper give him 150ml, he also can finish at one shot. I think as long as ur boy is contented and alert, the qty shld be ok. I ask my MIL whether can give my boy jin feng san cos she say he gets scared easily by loud noise during day time. She say cannot give.... then bo pian lor...

soyabean, my boy likes the vertical postition for sarong sling. he likes vertical position these days. but usually once in sling, after a while will fall asleep. hee...

Shycloud, *hug hug*...Must emphasis to ur MIL that BM can keep till next feeding. veri precious!!! but don get too stressed...it will affect MS.

Sharon,
Tks ya...shall try this method =D..tks..tink afew of our bbs is going through this phase of teething now..hiaz...Not easy to be a mummy..

shycloud,
cook down ger...Mayb u shd do up a list, ask her to write down bb's feeding time, poopoo color etc...I am doing it now lor, at least I can monitor my ger's intake of milk etc..

shycloud

maybe u try to tell her nicely that babies nowadays very smart one (drink FM/BM wif high DHA) so become very mafan also, not like last time we all drink gong gong gu ni hoon, everything also can. Give her some time to adjust but just remind her subtlely lor.

U can try to tell her during her time, BM not difficult to have cos less stress, now woman BM very precious cos got to work, then got to pump, handle bb & housework but still must give BM cos want bb to b strong mah, I'm sure she'll want bb to b healthy & strong also rite. Tell her to help u treasure your BM by sticking to the 1hr rule lor. I think u must give her valid reasons rather than just tell her dun do this or that, then maybe she can accept better. HTHs.

feifei,

my bb also been chewing for weeks and putting her hands inside, drooling. Maybe also teething. Does the teething gel helps?

MLP,

dun need to give jing feng san, in fact i tink not v good heard got side effects but cannot rem wat. Its normal for bb to react to sudden noises by jerking at 3-4mths of age.

MLP & lattelover

I've been giving my boy on & off jing feng san since he 1mth but since last wk, i give him everyday. I give him abt pea size dosage pour on the plastic spoon provided, wet my pinkie finger & press onto the spoon to pick up the powder & just stick my finger into his mouth & rub his tongue or the upper gum, then give him some water. Now he very xi guan this routine already. Maybe u all can try.

Shycloud,
I know how u feel. it happens to me too. Must have patience. As what other mummies advice, maybe she's not hungry? Mine can ask for milk, then suckle abit refuse to drink already. Got to sayang her, play etc.. then feed. If still refuse and cry, is time to rock her sleep. Then successfully feed finish while she's half sleep. I also notice it could be the flow of milk causes her not to drink. Got click click sound then she stop drinking.

Babycupid,
For ur case, maybe u try to wait for awhile. Put him down first n wait 15mins carry up n feed. Make sure he doesn't wake up wor. If milk in mouth doesn't swallow, move him harder,change position,etc... I sometimes feed until pek chey I squeeze the bottle let the milk be in her mouth then move her and she swallow.

bbs r just so adorable aren't they? every wk "chu" diff patterns..must quickly capture on camera.

babycupid/soyabean..
my gal also likes to suck her hands but her "bu bu" seems to be her fav now! lolz

babycupid,
MIL always act smart niah..true no doubt they have experience but sometimes wat they do may not be right but they THINK is right...haizz very diff to change this type of mindset.

things would be alot easier if its my mum...can scream and scold upside down also nvr mind lolz.

how ironic. Some of us here are worried cos bb not willing to drink, while some are worried cos bb (like mine) drinks way too much. Think all mummies always kan cheong about bb whatever they do ;)

feifei..
easier said than done. dun think she wants to record down everything..wait later she complain !

MLP,
i rather she discard the milk after 1 hr...cos i cant monitor wat she does @ home..

mag kline,
most impt must convince her lor..but she very stubborn...scared she repeat the mistake again after reminding her.

sharon,
its alot easier if we do our way, but u know lah old pple stubborn always like to do it THEIR WAY! very hard to change their mindset..

Ellysia, actually think my hse veri noisy during the day so bb gets scared easily as he sleep in living room during day time. Then my MIL say want to go temple ask why bb keep getting scared. *faint* so i suggest jin feng san. but when i take care of bb during wkend and usually let him sleep in bedroom cot, he's OK. think I make the environment more peaceful. haiz...poor boy. so I'm thinking of getting baby monitor so that they can put bb sleep in room to have better sleep. My MIL and BIL say jin feng san got mercury in its content so don give bb....

babycupid, huh u dun scare me leh... she got phlegm too...

mag kline, i gave 1 teaspoon of jing feng san to my ger that time as instructed by the staff from medical hall... maybe i gave too much liao.

shycloud.. i dun dare to count ;p and beside spree I also spend a lot on departmental stores leh.. esp tis month as just release from home... ;p

MLP,

my bb sleep in bb room and i use baby monitor. its good. but i dun always on it everyday. i open his bedroom and my bedroom door, then my hb will sometimes do checks in middle of night.

shycloud,

MIL is like tat one. very hard to ask them to listen to us as they r used tat they are the biggest n we shd listen to them. Try to ask yr hb to tok to her bah.

My mil fail to give BM last time n she also dun really understand giving EBM and stuff. But she say throw away milk is v wasteful as she know BM is hard to get (cos she has probs in getting it last time). However my mum will say things like, u can pump again so throw nevermind.. zzz. hee.

anyway any unfinish milk i always ask my MIL to throw one. cos i scare she put too long then forget then give to bb wait stomach upset. so i dare not tell her to keep.

shycloud.. when i think it's for my bb.. i will tend to spend lor.. want to give him the best.. hope dun ended up spoilt him then next time hard to control.. think I must "fan xing" after this round.. ha ha..

babycupid.. think first time mum always ended up buying a lot of things unsed.. i also bought the sling sarong.. and watch the video for many many times then wanting to try on baby but give up after dun noe pull here n there and still loose..;(

lattelover,
not to scare u la.. its the truth.. newborns and young children bery prone to bronchitis..
dun let them cough too long..

my boy kanna flu virus when he is 5wks old.. caught it frm the clinic.. he started with sneezing den phelgm.. den cough.. brought him to pd doesnt recover after a wk.. n phelgm getting alot n cough alot too.. so brought him back again.. pd said mus admit! cos his phelgm flooding his lungs.. so i went for 2nd opinion.. n the pd oso said the same thing.. but i can outpatient him.. no nd to stay in.. so brought him for chest therapy.. suck all the phelgm out.. and on nubuliser.. bery scary lor..

2 of my frends kid oso kanna.. theirs mus really hospitalise cos quite serious.. n too young.. less than 1 mth old..

so my advise is dun play play..

ioio,
ya man.. i oso tried few times.. find it so messy and bb like so uncomfy.. so gave up till now.. the sling lying there exihibiting liao.. lol..

hmm.. i oso tinknig of buying the bb monitor.. kept in out to check on him.. bery tiring.. kekeke.. hw much ar?

lattelover, bb too small cannot give too much & must rub on the tongue or else they will choke. 1st time i give also dun know, i just pour on the spoon & pour straight into his mth then kena scolded by my mum. She was the one who taught me how to feed cos she said I practically grew up wif Jing Feng San. Haha....

jing feng san.. my CL gave my baby "bao ying dan" when my BB vomit milk and got frightened using a spoon and mix with water letting my BB swallow and he cried badly..

I uses cotton bu and rub the jing feng san on his tongue and so far he never cry and enjoy it so much..

babycupid, shycloud, mine is helper trying to be ge khiang so she try to impress us by telling us bb's habits then very funny if ask how was the bb tdy then mil will say good but helper will say cry...cos they see at diff timing. luckily pil's only tok but dun force their methods on us cos my hb will complain & i will show black face. think ultimately it's safety 1st

sharon, my bb drinks his milk lying down cos if carried & he feels uncomfortable he will start crying & takes longer to finish

RN, tru lor, momies very good at picking hehe

MLP

my boy has been able to sleep better after I gave him Jing Feng San continuously for 1wk. My boy very jialat when I finished my confinement, we stay top flr & super near to Paya Lebar airport so that time training for NDP, always got planes fly here fly there whole day until my son cannot sleep, if sleep also kena woken up by the planes then he'll start screaming & crying, 1st time still got green poo next day. Then after NDP, i thot no more planes liao, then came RSAF airshow, wah piang can u imagine my frustration that time, i was cursing & swearing everyday(not in front of bb lah). Then last wk our area repairing rooftop so alot of drilling/banging/scraping super noisy also, again cannot sleep well that's y i decided to give him JFS everyday. Now off & on still got planes & the drilling/hacking in other blocks(also can hear very clearly) but my bb now able to sleep better during the day. Today record liao, he slept fr 1.30pm until now still haven't wake up. Normally now he can nap 2hrs straight during daytime.

ioio, i just bought bao ying dan fr EYS also. My mum's fren said it's gd for bbs who r teething so I'm going to give when he finishes this bottle of JFS.

MLP, abt the mercury part which your MIL/BIL said I believe it's nothing to worry abt cos if high content, our govt sure ban one. U know lah, our govt very particular abt Chinese medicine wan.

yes babycupid

i agree with u. cos i have friends children also same thing....i remember one was telling me, still got to let bb breathe fresh oxygen....think $10/hr...charge by the hospital...alamak...

nowadays bb seems very fragile....everything need to be warded

Hi Mag, i also encountered the airplane noise...esp Sat NDP rehearsal. but not bad as urs. thanks for sharing.... will monitor bb and see his condition....

jenny,
if bb got alot of phelgm hor.. the best solution is to do throat suction.. if not it might flow to the lungs..
i read alot on ways to get rid of phelgm.. i tried 'hou zao san' a chinese powder.. but cant really helps mayb my boy too much phelgm..
so ended up i went for throat suction..
ur boy alot of phlegm?

Magkline/MLP,
aiya sama sama here lor...super loud lor esp the fighter planes fly past...super irritating and disturbing

hi babycupid, i think so....dont know what is consider a lot

but he will cough once awhile to clear his throat...

that time i did mention to the pd, he say it's normal.

maybe i try hou zao san first and see.

jenny,
if cough once awhile is ok.. if the cough worsen dden better to clear his throat lor..
since pd said normal den shld be fine..

Magkline/MLP,
aiya sama sama here lor...super loud lor esp the fighter planes fly past...super irritating and disturbing

babycupid, u measure ur boy's foot as well. if not the socks cannot last long

jenny, my boy coughs to clear throat as well. if got a lot of phelgm, u can hear from breathing as well