(2008/06) June 2008

I'm back to work today! Miss bb so much. I have notice that I did not latch her on for wks. Yesterday try to latch her on then she show me choke choke face. Awwww! So sad.

Re: Sterilize pumps/btls.
Is it ok to soaks the pump n btls in hot water? I have been doing this since day 1. I will leave it there till next use. Will sterilize it when there are more btls. Seem like everyone just pour over it but not soak.

iamsnow,
hehe, i heard onli wor..my fren told me to watch rally tonite...tonite hv meh?

shycloud,
u hv to thaw in the lower portion of ur fridge, meaning the compartment that is not e freezer there...needs to thaw for 12hrs b4 it fully melts..

shycloud: my baby oso now starts to salivate more and suck on her fingers more.. not sure whether teething now.. when i asked my PD, he asked me to monitor and if she got fever or change in appetite then it should e teething..

but now my baby still continue sucking her fingers and salivate but not teeth yet.. so i jus wait n see loh.. but i read baby's book, it said that baby may show signs of teething but the tooth might onli come out after 2 mths..

but i ever saw on forum that some babies do start teething ard 3mths de..

regarding FM switching:

it depends how fussy is your baby actually.. my fren's baby is very ok with any milk, including horrible forzen EBM so when the mum switched to FM, he got no problem at all..

but i got another fren who started giving her baby FM at 1yr old, the baby totally reject FM.. the mum has to slowly mix FM with EBM for few weeks then the baby can accept FM totally..

so it all depends on your baby..

angelz,
so we must now monitor lor...but when i see my gal does tat...its quite cute! lol

she will spit out the pacifier , wait for a while then slowly bring her fingers to mouth...sometimes when we are not looking, we know she does it cos she sucks loudly...so we know tat she's at it again...

Jenny,
you bought the swimming tub already? I regret buying 80x90. Waste alot of water. AND is very big lor. Yesterday let my girl swim. Now the tub is still in my bathroom no space to walk. Cannot even shift away. Need days to use finish the water. Me n HB actually use it to bath! And funny thing is... my girl got pee in the water. Lol! My HB says good lor. Bath with Virgin water.

<font color="aa00aa">shycloud/ iamsnow, i'm using 2 method of thawing. One is thaw in the fridge overnite. Second, i'll put the frozen ebm and soak in tap water. After about one hour later, i'll pour the thaw EBM (which is halfly thaw, means that still got ice) into milk bottle and put back to normal fridge. So far my ger is taking it well.</font>

mag, tks for sharing

zuen, usus 2-3mths after delivery, hair will drop a lot cos of hormone changes

shycloud, licking, blowing bubbles r the bbs growing phase so it's normal. got pple also advise me to start giving fm so jus listen lor but i dun bother, i'll try to bf as long as i can. anyway, pump also bought, now jus get milkbags &amp; nursing pads but benefits for bb outweigh more. the items also dun costs as much as fm so dun give up

frozen bm dun thaw in rm temp, encourage bacteria growth, either thaw in fridge the nite b4 or run it under tap water. if want to heat use warm not hot water

feifei,
So I'm not alone.
I latch my girl on unless when time is not up she cry for milk. Most of the time I express out. Now I think of it I should start to latch. Otherwise she not close to me.

mogudog, feifei 1st choice is fresh bm then frozen then fm wen it comes to nutrients. bm is catered to individual bb so the fat contents esp will adjust to bb as bb grows. fm is like 1 for all. &amp; nutrients lost from freezing fresh bm is not very significant. really, some bm better than no bm

btw, i stored 200ml bm into blue egg bag &amp; realise it seeps out during freezing. 2nd bag started to seep out wen i press the bag. anyone with similar experience?

mlp, still can order, u got my acc no?

wrx, veniz,i can't meet tomoro lunch liao cos in laws not free tdy so appt got changed to tomoro, c u on thurs

hi ladies, im back at work. din get to expressed milk til 230pm. so engorged. dun know how im gg to maintain milk supply if this delay in expressing continues.

Miss my bb. Can't wait to go home

MLP: i heard the microwave sterilising bag can be purchased from mothercare. will try to find out when i get to go out this sun.

so u also think K Ong bb looks like kyler. hehz...

K Ong, ya muz see your bb one day and snap a photo of both of them...

Zuen, i tried the tablet today. it really smells quite bad. but, i guess it can't be help...

danryan, i tried latching every 3 hours. and express whatever milk is inside the breast after feed ( used hands even and cause a mess). After 1.5 days of efforts, it did increase a little-20ml.

re: blowing bubbles and licking hands
Nicole has been trying to put her fist into the mouth too and at times blowing bubbles.. it's a phase they will get passed. Pacifier would be better cos easier to wean than weaning off fingers/hands cos hand/fingers is/are always thr, can't chop off. Pacifier can take it away.

re: hair loss
Heard from my CL that taking black beans/black bean sou can help prevent hair from dropping after birth..this time I took lots.. see if it's effective keke

re: regarding FM switching
I switched my elder ger to FM after 13mths of total BM. Mrs Wong taught me to mix half FM, half EBm then slowly increase the ratio to 75%FM 25% EBM and then to 100% FM. That's for babies who have taken BM for longer periods of time. Maybe for babies our age would be faster.

Hi MLP,
Can get the sterilising bag from Medela at Robinsons too. But I normally wash and rinse the pump parts in boiling water in the pantry, ziplocked them and put in the fridge till the next pumping session

Hi Shern, Amberlyn, Veniz and Mrs Wrx,
Shern and Amberlyn can't make it, are we still going on or we mt on Thursday? Let me know okie?

Hi Sharon,
there are also other ways of bonding with bb, like changing diapers, bathing etc and babies are smart, they know who is their mother so dun worry

Hi mogudog,feifei and shern,
ya, got BM better than no BM...Mrs wong told me last time that frozen BM is better than FM

HI shycloud/ iamsnow,
I also thaw EBM the same way as Felicia - bring over to the fridge side and let it thaw over 12 hrs.

shycloud,
This is what Mrs Wong tot me wor.. She said can't switch to FM immediately for bbies on longer periods of BM cos they will sure reject. It works for my elder ger when I wanna stop milk production then.. anyway, I have been giving some of my fresh EBM now to my elder ger by mixing with FM.. so far ok too

piyo,
amberlyn say she cant ah? i no c all post so dunno. shern jus said. if tml cancel then jus meet veniz hse on thurs lor. i anythin la.. but gotta sms veniz in case she no check forum.

veniz,
u order mini-buffet le mah? or u got other plans? no c u mention over e wkend leh. every1 onz bo?

wrx,
you like t-rex leh, suddenly appear online! later I sms Veniz and c.. if I no come in post then i sms you to cfm okie??

Veniz and Ah morr,
My elder's ger excursion cfmed liao! sorry to disappoint but can't bring her to Veniz's hse cos will be half day then by gathering time, she will most prob be mtg Zhou1 gong1 liao! best leave her in CC to sleep and fetch her later. Will bring my Nicole with hubby instead hehe (phew! else I very busy hehe)

piyo,
i see...cos i rem when i gave my gal some FM during her 1st and 2nd mth...she drinks as per normal...maybe its easier when they are younger once they starts to grow...its prb tougher to switch i guessed.

shycloud,
ya the younger the easier..cos they blur blur ma, very easy to bluff! think dun nd mix at all! Like gif them frozen EBM (got fishy smell) they also take haha I gif my elder ger now, she dun wan lei! take fresh ones ok!

veniz, mrswrx: i'm ok with the mini buffet idea.. dun think i got time to eat much with baby around..

ya.. never see veniz online.. weekend is her family's R&amp;R.. heehee..

piyo: ya.. i oso think that babies younger eaier to bluff them.. haahahha...

haha sharon

thanks for sharing. me havent buy yet still thinking.

cant imagine .... maybe u use it to clean floor...wash clothes etc,

sorry everyone,
something wrong with my browser, thought my message didnt go through but actually it did, and it was sent 3 times.

Shern, i transfer to u liao lei...when i posted the order. u got rec'd?

Piyo, thanks for the tips on the sterilising. Woah, put in fridge then take out to come...will it be cold cold? hee.... then kena goose pimples on the nehs...

bonjovi, hope u r home with ur bb liao! yup, the 2 babies really look pretty alike. with their soft bb hair... =)

Fennie, i tot my eyes were playing tricks on me. how come i kept seeing ur same post as i scroll down. hee...

star, mag, janivy, babycupid, nice meeting u and bbs.
star, thanks for organising this trial.

The bb girls very steady leh, can swim and show off even though 1st time swimming. My boy only swam short while, then cry. He only want to zzzz. Then massage time, he treat the auntie to tea, heehee. So paiseh!

Piyo, Mrswrx, me here. Tomolo still onz hor.

Mini buffet also onz on thurs.

Now typing wif 1 hand, later when all sleep liao then I come in to post more.

hi there, anyone listening to the rally now? Any good news, more bb bonus? Me too preoccupied to pay attention.

nss: me oso watchin the rally to see what PM will say about baby bonus..

its true.. dragon year the birth rate will go up.. thats what i teach my students in school.. heehee..

my mum want me to try #2 for dragon year but i dun wan.. cos dragon year babies very competitive.. things like school openings n univeristy application will be more difficult too.. dun wan my baby to have such a hard life..

veniz: will you be texting us your add? i dun know how to go wor..

is there a gathering at the redhill mrt or something?

Me also watching the rally nw.

Sharon, I also just bgt the bigger tub over the weekend. Today his 1st time swimming. Crystal tot me to get our hubby to join in the tub so tat it helps to increase the water level so tat u use less water n it really works..haha.

16 weeks maternity leaves, with the last 4 weeks flexible, and government paid for it. Aiyah.. we miss the boat liao. haiz.

These are what i understood from the National Day Speech:

1) Paternity Leave - increase from 3 to 6 days

2) 1 week paid child care leave for either parent

3) Maternity Leave - increase to 16 weeks

Hopefully more to come..