(2008/06) June 2008

if anyone is interested, i'm selling my baby bjorn - active carrier - gently used in 2006 for my first kid.

she was a HUGE baby (i kid you not) so she outgrew the carrier really fast.

I have an extra bjorn from my sis, so am selling mine.

Ritzy,
My 7-week old bb also colicky. I called it 7-11. Sometimes can cry from 7pm to 11pm. Just now cry for 1 hr from 9pm. I gave her ridwind, but after that still must carry her pat-pat, rock-rock, swing-swing plus the pacifier then only fell asleep.

Sandra,
Don't worry so much, just latch bb on now, worry about the rest later

But if direct latch on, you don't have to worry about how much bb drink. As long as you feed on demand, don't have to feed by the clock.

I started learn to latch on after I have high fever last week due to breast engorgement, and the LC in the KKH 24hr clinic advised me to latch bb on. I also called the breast feeding support group for advise and they motivated me to try direct latch on. They gave me very good advise like not to feed bb very engorged breast (I express out a bit by hand before feeding), just feed any time when bb wants milk, our breast will adjust to bb's demand after sometime so we don't have to worry about not enough supply. If want to increase supply, pump out the balance of bm. And every time after feed, squeeze some bm to apply on the nipple and let it air dry for a few minutes (this is to heel the wound and I find it quite effective).

If you worry about BB feed enough or not, just check the amount of poo and pee. If plenty enough then shd be ok. If bb not poo-poo everyday also never mind, just keep track of bb's weight.

I also have a lot of ebm in the freeze. Don't worry about that, it can be useful later when you decide to rest for one or two feed. Or when you need to travel without bb or go shopping for a day and let hubby take care of bb

Currently, in the day time, sometimes need to feed bb every hr, sometimes every 1 1/2hr, sometimes 2 hrs. At night, normally every 3 hrs. But don't worry, it's quite easy, if bb cry just grab bb and latch on, then bb will fall asleep liao

My bb actually cry lesser after I do direct latch on.

Crystal,
I only feed bb ebm before this and now direct latch on, but bb still can grow so big, don't know why. Looking at your bb's photo, I think our bb really looks alike especially the bak-bak arm which look like lotus root. Just that my bb is only 7 weeks old and yours is about 12 weeks (right?)

Star,
Can PM me your contact? So, just meet outside Huaxia at 12:30pm on monday huh...you keep me posted. I won't have time during the weekends to come in to chat. Sms me at 97494432 if you dun mind. Thanks

All mummies,
Enjoy your weekend. See you guys next week.

roooller,

just u a stupid qn, for the baby massage class, the towel is use for wat purpose? wrap baby? so bring one big one?? or?

will they provide massage oil? or we have to bring our own?

Hi gers,
I am working. Haiz...

bonjovi,
I m using the sterilization pill. Just prepare 2l of water & throw in 1 pill plus all your pumping equipment, fully submerge for 30mins or until you want to use it. There will be a chlorine smell. At 1st I was quite worried, but my bb didnt reject the EBM or feel uncomfy after taking it so I continued.

Re: Poo Poo
I think my ger constipated after we started substituting with FM. She was so cranky yday and this morning until she finally managed to get the poo poo out. -.o"

iamsnow,
My SIL bought that for my 6 mths old niece.
When you turn the ball, there will be music. Can oso opt for alpha-reading mode. The voice will read the letter when you press on it. Got lights and stuff. I foud the letters too small to press properly, but the turnong part quite easily and my niece quite like it.

hi angel
Tink my boy worst than sheryl...prob only 500-600ml per day, like you, I also record down all his feedings`per day... your menses came? Thought u are still tbf? How come it came?
I also find it very sad to stop bf like that..but if stop in mid oct, will have bf for 5 mths n hopefully its enough...

Hi MLP
Normal EBM has no fishy smell de... did you leave it in open too long n it got spolit? Once heated up, EBM can last maximum 2 hrs in open n must discard...fresh ebm (without fridge or heating up) is 4 hrs... you should try thawed EBM, so smelly!!! No wonder some babies refuse to take it... I tried before n nearly puke!! I only sterilise my bottles,teats n pump once a day. Other times during the day, I only wash with mama lemon n run them through quickly with hot water before feeding baby/pumping. I believe in the hokkien saying "la sak jiat, la sak dua" :p If not, if too clean environment, bb stomach will be too overly sensitive in future

zuen,

so it's an entertaining toy? coz I was very concerned abt the small words also.... not sure if i shld buy. since u have seen it before, your comments? would u buy for your bb to play? u think useful??

roxy,

i asked my GP before if menses come whether can still bf, she say it's still good to continue bf woh.....

iamsnow,
From wat I rem, only teaches A,B,C and 1,2,3. My niece was more attracted to the lights and music. Perhaps it will help with motor development when they turn the ball? I might buy it if it is cheap, hehe.

Star, thanks for sharing. where u buy the newborn insert?

hi roxy, i left it in the fridge for abt 50hrs...but shld be ok right? I also sterilise once a day. but later on will still wash with the tollyjoy wash before running through hot water.

Angel, u sound very "kua zhang" on ebm...same as roxy.

iamsnow, the leapfront toy seems great.hehe...gg to buy it too. Help, i'm starting to get addicted to online shopping. esp now after registering for vpost.hehe...now i know why some mummies here can spend up to $1K even staying at home.

iamsnow, i already transfer money to buy the discovery ball but realise i'm unable to post lei. any idea why huh?

Can u help me post? I have emailed details to koala already.

Roxy: ya loh.. i oso very sian when my period came.. but i saw on other threads that it seems quite common for period to come back even when TBF.. i oso dun know why it came..

milk ss dropped so much loh.. even after period ended, milk ss oso dropped overall..

well.. if you can drag BF as long as you can, i think should be ok la.. 5mths quite close to 6mths le.. can la.. better than nothing.. heehee...

MLP: i'm not kua zhang lah... its reali horrible.. i told roxy n piyo at crystal jade that i tried the thawed BM, piyo still say dun try, its not nice at all... hahahaha..

if not next time you try a bit of thawed frozen BM loh.. heehee.. then you tell me the taste..

MLP: you are considered new member (mar 08).. only members who have registered for more than a year then can post in overseas and want to sell threads..

i'm still patiently waiting for nov 08 so that i can post in these threads too...

Angel, i had 2 menses after lochia finished. then yesterday had red discharge again. SIAN! I think my ms dropped again. just now see bb suckle til abit impatient. need to suckle quite long to have let down. chiam liao...demoralising.

woah, then i must wait till next yr man!

MLP: wa.. 2 menses? are you sure its not lochia that might be coming out in diff rates?

maybe you wan to try pumping too, tog with latch on? so that your baby dun have to suckle so chiam..

hee.. ya loh.. 1 year.. cos you reg in mar 08..

zuen: your baby got constipation when switch to FM ah? then you might need to switch brand to a more suitable one for your baby..

at 1st i gave baby sheryl similac but its not suitable for her (constipation) then i switched to mamail gold (she will cry while drinking) then finally switched to Nestle Nan then finally suitable for her...

or you might wan to give little zuen water since she starting FM liao..

Star,
can't join u all for the swimming class already..

tried to persuade my hubby but he still think bb too young. he said wait till she's 3 mths old..
that'll be 23 sep.. **sigh** going to miss the fun u all will hv this coming mon.

K Ong,
thks for the info on bb carrier.. will go check out bjorn and ergo brands later.. actually saw some models on bjorn, quite like the fact that bb can be seated facing inward/ outward..

Huggy,
thks for sharing so much n also the encouragement.. will definitely try to latch her on more often n gradually move to TBF. can i say that as a guideline, it's best to pump after each feeding session to keep the bm ss coming?

previously saw one of the posts on black sesame drink? any idea wat brand to buy? can't seem to find in supermarket leh.. how abt mother's milk tea, where can it be purchased?

angel, u mean pump 1side while bb latch the other? then feed baby ebm?

i don noe lei. went gynae checkup and told him got 2 menses. he never say it's lochia.

MLP: erm.. also can.. but my point is you can feed baby EBM for the times when letdown dun occur so that your baby won't suckle so chiam.. if not baby will fuss fuss, right?

but if your baby won't fuss when there is no letdown then its ok..

today i attended quite a last min talk by mrs wong organised by avent, she mentioned for breastfeeding, if bb suck on one side, it's good to pump the other side. or else the body will think that it's extras and wouldnt produce more the next round.

quite interesting on the way she shared on breastfeeding.

she mentioned there is a sychronised breastfeeding on this coming tue 10-11am at tmc, anyone can join in. if any of you are keen, may join in.

Sandra,

For me, I don't pump after each feeding. Only pump when my breast is too engorge and my bb can't help me to clear it. Now, I only pump before I sleep and after I wake up in the morning. I am not working so I hope that my breast will adjust to just enough for my bb, not over supply because very painful, feel like stone inside my breast.

But if you want to increase bm supply so that you can keep stock for future use, then you shd pump after feeding. But maybe no need every session, it will be up to you how much you want it to be increased

Breastfeeding is a matter of confidence actually. You must believe in yourself that you will produce enough bm for your bb, then your breast will definitely produce enough milk. I believe this is what happen to me, as I never have doubt in myself even before I give birth. So now I am having over supply.

iamsnow,
i cant post on e oversea spree site aso. can help me post?? i paid on 17/08 for e discovery ball liao. had PM koala on the transaction details le. tryin to be on no.13 on e list. thks so much!!!

huggy,
u pump twice a day and is sufficient for bb? how much u pump each time? wah, i really salute u leh... if i pump only twice a day, i sure buay tahan.....

mrswrx,
i've posted for u already.... not sure if u are in the spree coz apparently, there's a no 13 already.....

iamsnow,
i jus made payment tis mornin. had PM koala, dunno she check mail anot. told her i on her list 13. c if she can make changes anot. thks for yr help.

Angel,
Ya, still constipated. Her last poo poo was 6am yday wor. Will try for another few days. If cannot, will switch liao. I wanted to buy NAN de, then no small tin so bought similac instead. Now, she only drinks FM for 2 feeds wor, already constipated. I wonder wat happens when she sub more FM bcos my BM not enuff. Faint.
Very wasted wor. Drink abit den buy new one.
Does she still need water if she is on partial FM?

anyone interested to get the swimming tub and float? tinyfeet is getting so if got 3, they are willing to sell at 79 instead of 89. do sms or call me or tinyfeet now as she is at the shop. thanks.

hi shern,

yes you can join in, however i am not sure if the item is heavy or big. if so, the shipping cost may be more expensive. but if you are ok, i can still order for u.

zuen: sometimes baby is constipated with certain brands onli.. so if you can find one brand that little zuen is suitable with then she shouldn't get constipated at all..

my baby is on FM for 4 feeds le and she is not constipated at all..

is her stool hard? my PD said if her stools are hard then considered constipation.. not shitting everyday is not considered constipation.. its jus the baby's digestive system not developed yet..

previously i was switching between brands was oso looking for small tins but couldn't find.. then at last i found out that giant at imm have small tins of FM for all brands (400g)... thats the onli place i know that sells small tins for so many brands of FM.. but small tins quite ex la..

zuen: forgot to add on.. as long as your are feeding baby FM, i think it would be good to feed her some water in between feed, ard 10-20ml.. but usu babies dun like water so as long as they drink some water, its better than nothing..

currently i'm giving my baby water with gripe water.. i will give her ard 40ml of water cos she likes the sweet taste of gripe water.. so i give her more water..

if not usu she drinks the max 30ml of water at one go and she will start to push out the bottle with her tongue le... cos water no taste, she dun like.. hahahaha..

Mummies: sorry to intrude. I still have 12 units of Desitin Creamy and 1 unit for original. Per tube is $10.20 (4 Oz) Interested pls PM me. Thanks

<font color="aa00aa">angel, i wash my #1 toy with dettol liquid. Toy like musical mobile which cannot soak into the water, i'll wipe it with dettol liquid plus water. After that wipe with clean water again.</font>

hi bizznow,fennie77 &amp; mrswrx, i need to increase the exchange rate to $1.45 as the USD has been increasing. pls let me know if u're still keen to proceed with the orders. tks!