(2008/06) June 2008

Cactus,
Mean u will convert to part time after 3 months of maternity? Where do u pump in the office? I guess I will need to do it in the toilet. Haven't told my boss abt the pumping issue, sure not happy lor. Do you buy an additional fridge to store the BM?

Verinz,
Heard pamper is good in absorbert. Send my hubby to buy but he kept asking wat brand. end up bought mammy poko. Show him the packing, then he say did see on the shelf. Mammy poko is softer than pamper. Don know good or not.

Can understand the "torture" of bf.. (suckle then sleep, etc)

I know it's gd, but it's too tiring, I "gave up" in the sense that I do not latch and I'll only pump as and well I like - not limited to schedule (used to pump every 3 hrs for 15mins for both sides). I do not have much milk. 2 weeks liao, only abt 70-80ml each pump.

My baby has been taking Similac and had not poo for 2 days, any advise?

Ellysia, aiyo, if he awake in middle of the night, your mum and you take turns to carry him isit?

Connie, I think mamypoko also not bad. Now they have a new range lor. BTW, when discharged from hospital, those free gift packages do have drypers, huggies ultra and I am not sure but maybe one mamypoko? Good to try those diapers also.

<font color="aa00aa">Riz, u'll be there at 1pm? I tot the clinic close at 12.30pm?
I'm going at 12noon. Maybe got chance to meet leh. U shld be able to recognise me, since u saw my pix before. hehe....</font>

Hi verniz,
1130pm ok lor, every night i must "fight" with my son. Strange he sleeps well in the day despite noises, lights &amp; such. My elder could sleep thru the night at 5th mth. I think this noti boy difficult liao.

Hi ellysia
3am - 9am??! That's pure torture!! So u have to carry him? Have u got a sarong sling? it might help, then u also can sleep but sitting up lah...better than no sleep.

For me, i let him sleep beside me and stuff him his pacifier to let him sleep. sometimes woerk, sometimes not. He also likes to hold on to my finger when he trying to sleep.

90 ml from hospital? Thats quite a lot. Mine was only 60ml. only after 1 week, then 80ml. But i wonder if 120ml is too much for a going to be 3 weeks baby leh. Dun remember my girl drinking that much this young.

I only managed to squeeze into my bigger pants &amp; skirts. Hopefully when my ML is finished, i can fit back into old clothes, else waste $$. I weigh last night, 53kg, 6kg more to go leh.

Hi jessica
Me too fnd supply dropping, now can pump when i feel full which is like 5hrs? Never mind lah. Selfish-ly, i was glad too, cos very busy pumping 3hrly, feeding, bathing 2 kids. Also canot imagine going out with leaking boobs and engorgement.
Both my kids are on similac (elder one on Gain IQ now). He doesnt poo daily. Ever tried never poo for 2 days. If your baby doesnt show signsof discomfort shld be ok. Try putting Ru Yi oil and diluting his milk. that 2 days, i mixed 1 1/4 scoop for 90ml of water.

Connie,
Mamy poko is good in absorbency too. But ex. now i use drypers for day n huggies ultra/comfort for night, can last till day time, so i dun change him unless he poos. but the huggies cutting kind of big leh, sometimes, my boy wakes with his diapers below his butt.

Huggy,
My massage lady is from Indonesia. They actually have a shop but will send the massage lady to your house. You can contact them at 62522881. The charges are $580 for 7 sessions, each session is 90min.

Veniz,
I bought the handsfree at the Expo fair but cannot rem if it is from mumsfairy. Hey same, i also find the binder was more bearable today. Myabe cos stomach really got smaller?? hehe.

Felicia,
Ok, better call FFY and get the receipt re-issued. Have u checked the instruction manual last page?? Mine was stapled there. I believe they can base on the date they issue the card to you?

Pris,
Mine leaked a bit only cos I pumped just before the massage. Maybe u can do that so as not to waste it.

K Ong,
Hey hey, still playing the waiting game huh? Jia you! It'll be your turn!

HI ladies, thanks for the information on massage ladies! My SIL is helping me to contact her massage lady. Will see how it goes!

My breasts r engorged n baby doesn't seem to get enuf milk. giving him FM + whatever I pump out every 3hrs.

Gosh! It's pretty stressful... I just have to hang in there till my MS comes in.

I am also in the waiting game, but how come you guys already experience contraction on and off, but me nothing at all ler??? In week 39 now already.
Only sometimes at night feel BB pushing downward, a bit painful, that is all. Sometimes if got pain also not a repetitive one.

Hi Tera,
Thanks for sharing!

it has been a long time since i log in. btw, it's 3wks since i have given birth...now everything is more in place, and ready for my baby first month celebration.

btw, my massage lady is really good. i got her 5 consecutive days from my second week and i am getting her to come this week as well cos i really need a good massage.

if anyone is keen can contact her, but she is very busy.

only $32 per 1hr session, and pay only on the fifth session.

so far very good. she also do slimming one. which i am now asking her to do for me. $35 per session.

anyone interested can contact her, mona 90260085.

the only thing is that you need to follow her timing cos her schedule really packed.
but really worthwhile.

Veniz and Linda,

My mum will carry him throughout whole nite. she will attempt to put him to sleep if he appear to be asleep, sometimes successful sometimes not. tats why if my mum went back home (weekend she need to go back sometimes to settle stuff), i will be in trouble.

I didn't carry him to sleep on my bed, cos my bed also quite dirty now tat i didn't have time to wash linen etc, dun want bb to catch dirt esp now his face got rashes ored.

Just now he make himself so tired tat he sleep from 4pm to 10pm without asking for feed. end up i have to pump my milk out and its so engorge tat i can pump 100ml just within 5mins. I didn't pump all milk out cos want to keep in case need to latch later.

Ellysia/Cynthia
I think we can start a DESPERATE MOTHERS club hehehe

When I admit my bb into hospital last week, the doctor calculate the amt of milk she should consume based on her current weight. He insist that I should let her finish the amt no matter what. At that point she is drinking approx 60ml of milk based on 2.8kg.

taken from Yahoo on the amt of milk a baby should take in a day.

intake is dependent on the infants weight, normally a 6 week old will eat 2-4oz in a sitting or nurse every 1.5-3 hours round the clock
as long as your baby is still not being fed anything except formula or breastmilk, gaining weight and having wet diapers he is well fed
these are the ounce guidelines based on weight (the amount of calories a day needed for growth)
Pounds/ kg /oz
4.5 / 2 / 11
6 / 2.7 / 15
8 / 3.6 / 19
10 / 4.5 / 24
12 / 5.5 / 30
To estimate energy requirements and recommended formula intake for an individual infant:

* Obtain infant's weight in kg. If measurement is taken in pounds, convert ounces to a decimal value of a pound (each ounce is .0625 of a pound) and multiply by .454.
* Multiply weight in kg by 108 kcal/kg to get estimate of total energy needs.
* Divide by 20 to get number of ounces

also please note that the amount of food given and also the type will have no effect on how long or well your baby sleeps.
giving rice cereal or other food before six months old will do nothing for your baby except deprive him of the calories he needs (he can't yet digest solids).

star,

yr bb drink too little, my bb drink too much. according to PD recent check, his wt gain too much so suspect overfed. But i latch v hard to determine the amt. and i am lazy to pump and feed by bottle. so now i limit my latch time.

Girls...

Me saw my princess liao. She is 3.415kg. So choon..her bro was 3.425kg.

Contractions started at abt 4plus. Me thought another trial run...so, still playing wz #1. Ehen the pain got worse, in tears. Called DH to come back. Packed #1's baby bag, took a shower and went to TMC.

Arrived at TMC within 30 mins. Checked in at 5.45pm according to the Sister. Changed and checked VE - dilated 5cm liao. Epidural administered only. No time to pangsai either. OBGYN came within 20mins. Checked VE again - 8cm dilated. By 7plus, Sister and OBGYN asked to push. Baby facing up (the most difficult position, it seemed) but OBGYN said I can do it..no need to use other equipments. So, push lor. Princess came out with a loud cry and eyes wide open after 8 pushes. Both baby and mummy are a-OK.

Sister asked me to BF baby immediately and heng ah...successful. Now am in the room, can't sleep, DH and #1 is staying with me.

So glad its over.

That's my story lah...

Take care and nite!

Talking about massage lady, mine is also very good. Her name is Nor and her HP is 90048804. For her, each session which is 2 hours @ $60. So, it depends on how many sessions you want. Recommended 5 for post natal. She is always packed.

I fell a large gust of water,
not sure if I just broke my water bag or,
if it's just mucus plug,
I should be heading for KKH when day breaks,
wish me luck!!!

JP
Congrats..

Star
My bb gal also drink about that amount when i just bring her back she was about 2.7kg plus

Think she drank for about 1 week plus... now sometimes she drink 80ml to 100ml depending on how long she wake ups for milk...

She also cannot drink a lot lor... she will vomit out one lor... she is already 2weeks old liao...

For mi i never check if she how much she should drink... as long as she poo poo and wee wee and gain weight i ok liao...

Leng Leng
JIA YOU............

Roooller
I not too sure if can keep warmed BM leh... can try asking www.breastfeeding.org.sg (i think so), if website not avail try google...

They can ans your question...

Normally i thought any unconsumed BM should be poured away... Me already immune liao... haha...

Mornin Mumz..

Hi Felicia...for post natal checks usualli oni done in the mornin till noon..the nurse gaf me 1.05pm...but i jus realise i nd to go to my son's childcare tomorow at sembawang..so i change the checkup to tomorow lor..if i go see Dr Ang today i don hv anyone to look after my small one...i don trust my maid !!!was tinkg i can mt u at the clinic..but maybe cant liao..heheh...maybe will get to mt u in khatib next time... :p
i don seem to be able to upload my kids pic in here ..however i hv uploaded in the motherhood yahoo site...for viewing...
meanwhile u kp smiling and Jia you orh...

<font color="aa00aa">JP, so your princess was born in which date? I seems cannot found the date on ur post.Hehe....
Btw, congratulations!

Leng Leng,
In hospital liao?
Wow, now left few June mummies is still struggling. Oh...no.... i might be the last one to pop. *sob*

Riz, still tot can met u up today. Nvr mind, still got chance to met each since we lived so near.</font>

felicia,
yes.. seems like left few june mummies onli. i wil be goin to gynae again tml mornin. most prob wil be induce tml or sat mornin @ WK38+.

Hi Huggy,
Dun worry, me also in the waiting game. Me also in 39 weeks liao but like u, no contraction at all.

Felicia,
U may not be the last one to pop. At least sometime u got contraction, me dun feel any contraction at all. Juz everyday feel like poo poo. Hehe..

JP,
Congrats to u!

<font color="aa00aa">mrswrx, soon will be ur turn liao. Jia you!

Lee May, thou had lot of symptoms but may not pop soon lor coz all false alarm leh.</font>

Hi Connie,

I'm not converting my ML to part time. I'm changing my job arrangement from full time to part time. I have my own room in office, so will be pumping inside. My office dun have private room for lactacting mothers to express unfortunately. but we have a pantry to allow washing up of the stuff. have microwave oven also, which allows for emergency sterilization.

I don't plan to buy an additional fridge cos my boss has a bar fridge in her room.. she offered to let me store my milk in there... until end of the day. She's really nice. She actually offered to let me have the fridge in my room for convenience but I feel bad about it. another 1 of my colleague has a bar fridge in his room too.. but feel bad using it, cos he's a guy. He also never offer for me to use.. haha! But if somehow my boss's fridge breaks down, I'll beg my colleague to use his fridge!!
The tricky part is to bring the pump to and fro home loh. cos I only bought one pump and it's quite heavy, cos it's a PIS.. heavy motor.

I think PIS is quite quick to pump and I bought it cos my boss advised me to get it. Expensive.. sim tia, but no choice loh. If want to return to work to express, better buy a good pump, esp if boss encourage me to buy that particular brand. It worked very well for her. She will be done in 20 minutes with the pumping! She stopped expressing 11 months after her #3 was born. She had used PIS traveller.

mrswrx
I sterilizer my bottles after each use... including my pump too...

If you intend to breastfeed, you will save time sterilising... but i think i remember at the buffet that you dun intend to rite...

bizznow,

My friend is also using ameda and we can hear each other's motor sound when we tok over the phone. My hubby got used to the sound and he can still continue his sleep when I pumped milk.

It's pretty light, no problem bringing it ard. I also tried using it with the handsfree strap.. work well for me.

Felicia,
I tink soon will be your turn. Braxton Hicks contraction are contraction tat prepares u for labour. I tink its also help the cervix to dilate.
Hope to hear your good news!

pris,
i was askin abt e sterilizer for the bottles. cos i bought e pigeon sterilizer, then read the manual they stated tat e ster need to be clean after every use. so i tink quite troublesome like tat... so tryin to check if mummies wash their sterilizer everyday anot.

Hi Connie
I use S size drypers and newborn size huggies ultra. But it is the huggies that is big leh. Esp when he sleeps on his side... But drypers really rough, I might try Pet Pet later, or NTUC house brand, they say it is quite good for day time.
I dun use cloth cos find it too troublesome. I am one lazy mum lor...

Hi ellysia
Wow, pei fu your mum leh. Hope Yu Zhe grows out of that phrase soon. Cannot tahan man.

Hi star,
The chart means if my son is 2.7 - 3.6kg, he shld be drinking 15 - 19oz??
Actually, I also dunno 120ml is too much, but he could finish every feed. A case of greedy baby?

JP, congrats to your princess arrival!

Ellysia, so poorthing, your mum and you. I think she can try to master siting sleep while carrying Yu Zhe at night. You weekend also have to tahan everything yourself. I am sure this period will soon be over. Try to set rountine for your son when he is older so at night easier for you and hb.

Linda, no kids are the same. Mine recently like to open her eyes big big from 10pm onwards. Then trick us by wanting to eat to make us carry her. My CL last week got used to sleep well, so now when gal gal makes noises or tricking her, she will keep knocking on my door to feed her. I make it a point, i feed her till full, the tell cl I already feed till she cannot take, so if she makes noises, not want to feed, try make her sleep.

Felicia, I already confirmed with the seller on her medela pis advanced. its the 2008 series she selling me at $500.00. She quite nice, we also spoke on phone. So I am eagerly waiting for my pump to come tonight. Hope can be noiseless to be used in sleeping room.

Tera, when you buy your handsfree, you got buy the super pump shield plus? have you used your handsfree on your pump already? need to know if its ok then I will get one myself. Thanks.

hi, i'm from sep thread. am trying to get ready all my stuff for D-day. When it comes to hospital bag, wonder what type of pj should i prepare for TMC stay? thanks in advance for any advice.

Cactus,
Your boss so gd. I still not sure how to bring the topic of pumping to my boss(guy).

The office is not design in a family friendly environment cos too many CCTV. No CCTV in toilet, think that the only place I can pump.

Do you intend to sterilise the pump after every pump?

rooller,

i tink is 4hrs. But best not to keep if cannot finish any warm up EBM.

cactus,

U can leave the PIS motor in office and bring back only parts to home to sterilise for next day use. the motor is the heaviest part.

Veniz,

I also feed my bb until he no want to eat, then i tell my mum he no need to eat liao so just make him sleep. same as u lor.

my bb not like this from day 1. his pattern also change. 2nd week he is fussy at nite. now this week he seem to change his timing to day time. i hope he can learn to entertain himself w/o asking us to carry him lor.

Ellysia, ya, babies many patterns one, have to keep on with their trend. Too bad they cannot have disco or anything in their bedroom, or do things themselves, otherwise we can close our eyes and ears to go sleep, hee.

Ellysia, I plan to express still at home.. so need to bring the motor to and fro.. actually I shouldn't complain liao lah. I think I'm very lucky already.