(2008/06) June 2008

babycupid,

same feeling, me always think so.. sigh. will miss bb a lot.

Felicia,

I walk to AMK hub so often before me give birth le. Must walk more, tell yr MIL.

hi mummies, finally back home after 3.5 days stay at e hospital, sorry tt i hv no time 2 update e chart as 3 pair of eyes watching over me, now using my mobile 2 surf e forum so no one noe.
I had c section w ga on 11 june.
Admitted 2 mount A 6 in e morning, check in to single deluxe room as no single room so we r on e waiting list, get changed, poo n then push to OT, asked to breath in some gases n lose conscious after tt, when i wake up, dun noe anything n e first thing i ask is is b b ok? E nurse told me ya he is ok when out of here, mensles cramp type of pain after e surgery n hard to move at day one. Finally get to c BB when i am back to e ward. Did breastfeeding w e assistance of e lactation nurse but think no supply yet.
Day 2, no more mensles cramp but still feel aching.
Day 3, i told myself tt i nid 2 get up of e bed n walk, very tough at e beginning but i finally managed 2 sit up, n finally walk on my own. I finally noe how e hospital looks like beside my ward n e OT, i k even walk 2 e nursery room 2 c my little choo. Bb jaundice level up, doc say will put him no e light n c if he k discharge tmr,
Day 4 Feel getting up n lying down easier, k walk a bit faster n home sweet home liao. Bb jaundice level ard 6, doc say k discharge w mummy...
Tis are wat i k share as i cant tell e birth story of bb birth but overall think GA is not as scary as wat i think. Another thing is i think mount A earns a credit of 9 for my stay there, nurses r very prompt, friendly n helpful, food r quite ok despite tt i k only take soft food on day 2 but my husband take all for my stay there as a companion. Glad tt in fact we got e free upgrade to deluxe for free n e room is so new n its really like a hotel stay w mounted TV, hifi n fridge...
Tt all and all e best to mummies who are gg to pop soon..

Ellysia,
Procanol is heaven!
is with the grip so much hygiene too
i feel so much better!

What osim binder is that?
What size is that?
Maybe I can take over? Can help to get rid of wind?

Sharon,
was told norm reading for my son's 'age' which is 6 days old should be 5-30.
siao right?
doc said mostly bf jaundice.
but if high, has to monitor
i also sunbathe after 5pm in the evening

Connie,
my PIL teochew leh
later ask hub to ask them
the 'ng ki' is what priscilla's CL refers huang guo zi
Pardon is it consider chinese herb?
Do we let bb drink or apply?

ioio,
congratuls!
lucky u to hv the free upgrade!
too bad i didnt hv the luck
2x kanna those who snore.
'heng' only this round, they dun snore as loud as the first time

Felicia,
Are you & I the only ones who haven't pop??

Those who popped, any ideas about the full mth celebration? We were thinking not to have one (me actually) but when I sound out my ILs today, wow... a very serious "CANNOT". I cited both my SIL not celebrating the #2 but MIL's theory 1st girl celebrate, 2nd boy MUST celebrate also. (FYI - My SILs both had the same gender kids) Pengz...But i suspect it has more to do with Max being the only internal grandson to my ILs.

But I hate the hassle lor, esp relatives who 'overstay'. They can sit from 12 - 9pm one hor basing on previous experience. Sigh...

Anyone who has recommendations of outside venues to hold celebrations? So that I have a time frame as an excuse to go home. kekeke..

Hi Linda,
Maybe u can try hotel cafes or SAFRA? I had attended full month celebrations at these places before.
These places should have time frames.

Hi ZuEn,
Can understand how you feel... Waking up almost every hour esp midnight and we can hardly sleep.. sometime not even close our eyes! Mine also.. but recently better. I used to latch her during the night but she keep waking up every 1hr and I think my MS not enough for her or not she easily digested cos she keep poo and WHENEVER she poo will wake up too! This result her to keep crying and keep waking during midnight and sleep more in the day. So finally I do some adjustment and surrender to formula. During night time i will give her formula and day time latch or EBM. So now she wake up 12am, 3am, 6am which is bit better and 3hrly feed so I can try sleep even for 30mins i also happy liao..
Normally after full mth will be better. So lets Jia YOU!

Linda,
I will be doing full mth celebration same like my #1 lo. Just to be fair also. And Only give cakes to HB colleagues no relatives. But this round we don intend to invite so many people. Last time was about 60pax, we intend to reduce 35-40. Less tired also for us.

CONGRATS NSS! Welcome to CONFINEMENT and Motherhood with us!

Priscilla,
Hmm now my blood stop.. jus left bit bit.. When #1 I bleed about 4weeks. This round around 2weeks.. I think depends on individual. Main is try not keep walking and try lay or rest more.. I not sure will helps or not.

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies, i'm back from my AMK hub shop shop. haha... My MIL follow us there. Actually she does not mean anything when she said tat, just she worry i suddenly want to pop. My mil is a 'gan cheong' spider (oh...no, speak bad thing about my mil. hehe...), she had been sleepness nite when my hubby is working nite shift as she afraid i suddenly wanna pop at midnite. She's more 'gan cheong' than me.

Leng Leng,
Nolah, i think got few mummies still in waiting list. But some mummies had been schedule to be induced in next few days. Wat about u ? Any symptoms? Me like lot of symptoms but all is false alarm lor.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Linda, i posted in this thread before about my full mth celebration for this #2. My mil dont plan to celebrate or even give cakes to relatives for this #2. Reason is my #1 and #2 is same gender (girls). She said if my #2 is a boy, then will need to celebrate. So, i dont had to crack head over full mth thingy. hehe...

But i'll still give cakes to my collegues.</font>

rooller,

the osim binder size is around size 20 something.. wat yr waist length b4 pregnant? I go check. The Osim binder can help blood circulation and force air out too.

ya procanol is good rite? i bot 2 bottles, besides the hospital bottle. Gynae said only need to wash for 1st 2 weeks but i may wash for 3 weeks cos tink heal faster.

Linda,

I intend to hold celebration at restaurant, maybe book a room. Cos dun want to celebrate at home my house v messy.

i will be celebrating the full mth at my own plc.. doin it on 2 days.. cos too many ppl.. so 1 day for relatives and 1 day for frends..

yeah.. tml able to see my bb.. hope he can discharge tml..

So glad to cm to tis thread. My EDD is 23 June. Any mummies here not pop yet? Tis is my third one n I m excited n looking forward yet also very tired areadi...

Hi roooller,

Not alot of experience jus feel more relaxed w/ tis one or should I say lazy?? lol..everything also get in May n early June. I so envy all the mummies who has popped!! Congrats to all mummies who have pop!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Welcome, jess!
My EDD is 26 June and still in waiting games. This is #2.
Which hosp you'll deliver your baby? is a girl or boy?

Teresa,
I had booked with Newbaby coz during my #1 confinement i oso booked with them, quite satisfied.
You can refer to below link :
http://www.newbaby.com.sg/</font>

Hi Felicia,

Goin to deliver at KKH n is a boy. My eldest is a gal n 2nd is a boy :)

ve probs sleepin at nite cos of tum..cant wait for him to pop..hehehe

I had been follow tis thread for quite some time. My Edd is 26 June and tis is my #2, going to deliver at KKH too. Seeing tat so many mummies had popped make me so envy. Still waiting for my turn. Tired coz I had probs sleepin too.

welcum Lee May!
this is my #2 too.
both boys.
how abt u?

jess &amp; lee may,
just would like to share my experience w KKH.
#1 also delivered in KKH

1. no lotion provided
nowadays they dun provide any lotion for the stitches. in fact, they recommended just use warm water will do.
this round my recovery was terrible and the stitches was v.sore
as recommended by mummy here, i've bought procanol and sterilize cotton balls from guardian pharmacy.
do note, nt all outlets sellg this.
i bought mine fr j8

u might want to standby 2 bottles and a few packs of the cotton balls (c/w a grip)
though i've just applied abt a day, i'm feelg so much better.

2. disposable panty
fyi, is one size for all hor
then kotex they will use 2 pcs at one time
i will recommend get ur own disposable panty instead
as i didnt prepare any, so i just use whatever available.

Hi BabyCupid,
haha..agreed. But at least can go out shopping after confinement. Now go shopping with big tummy also a tiring task for me. Me worse, sometime still got vommitting.

i'm thinking to get MIM silk range slings.
went to toa payoh kiddy palace but they dun carry.
anybody happen to know
dun seem to be able to find fr their website though

my baby keep vomiting milk leh... dunno why... is it to full or we did not burp her???
But she is on TBF leh... Can we give her gripe water???

Hi roooller,
Mine #1 is girl(4 years old) and also delivered at KKH (under subsidy). Now is boy but they said not 100%, wait till i give birth.

Thanks for the experience, will take note. But wat do u mean by disposable panty in one size for all? I cant buy those L or XL size?

Hi Lee May,

Nice 2meet u (shake hand)..ya..sleepin is a huge prob, turn fr left to rite ve to take deep breathe n even so, ve to lie on the back 1st then another deep breathe n turn to rite side..haha...then in the turning process, always cant go back to sleep smtimes. So i try to rest as much as I can during the day. But diffcult cos I m not reali a afternoon nap person! But nvrm, cos its worth it..hehehe..so do u wan gal or boy?

roooller,
My gyne is Dr Benjamin Tham. 1st one was at East Shore by another gyne, 2nd one was at KKH by Dr Tham also.

No lotion given to clean wound? So strange! Poor u..mus b painful!! hmm...last time i had my son it was 6 yrs ago, tey still supplied the med..so mayb sm things ve changed..but i dun remembered KKH providing disposable panties leh! wah...1 size fit all then i sure cannot fit!! LOL..will standby my own disposable panties in XL then..yap,tey always use 2 kotexes. But last time tey used those string ones, now leh?

Pris,

Burp yr gal after each feed. But smtimes after burp, also will vomit a little milk. Its normal as long as she did not throw up the whole meal.

Sorry to intrude.

Due to low milk supply, I have the following items for sale, all brand new.

1) 2 boxes of NUK Ultra Dry Breast Pads (24 pcs, sealed) Bought @ S$10.10 @ Kiddy Palace, now selling @ S$9

2) 4 boxes of Lansinoh milkbags (25 bags each) Selling @ S$12 each

3) 1 Playtex fridge to go tote, sealed. Bought from spree @ S$42++, now selling @ S$35

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2585664

4) 1 bottle of GNC Fenugreek (100 capsules, sealed) + another half bottle left. Expired Sep 2011. Bought from GNC @ S$29.90, now selling @ S$25 for both

PM me if you are keen!

Hihi Ladies,

Congrates to new mummies who popped.

Vienz, your bb very pretty leh!!! MEi nu!

Ellysia,

Keke, yah, it's me. We did exchange smiles lah. Didn't know it's you. Should have exchange contact with you last time.

You not very big size lah. Last time u were talking abt buying disposable panties, you made it sound like you are so huge. You quite slim actually leh...

Felicia, ha, talking abt shopping till deliver. Tat exactly wat hapen when i went for interview n the motherhood expo fair on Wed n Thurs. Told baby at least let me fullfil this 2 trips then come out. And true enuf, bb came out on Fri. Really shock so zhun!

Zuen, Linda
Tat y i say we will start to have creative ways to hold milk..haha. I usu sterilize 2 bots of S26 bottle, so when i pump 1 breast, i grip the other bottle wif my arm or let it sit on my bra to collect the other side dripping..lol..

Me thinking of getting the Medela PIS soon cos when bb go ops at later stage agn, i nd to pump n store.

Ioio, CONGRATS. We knw u will be busy so dun get stress wif the updating. Can tell u typing from your mobile wif all the short letterings

Nss, Maryann, CONGRATS!!

Priscilla, I was bf my baby directly in hospital straight aft feed, i lift him up n blurp him n all the milk pour out. According to the nurse, I actually do nt nd to blurp him immediately. Maybe let the milk settle for sometime b4 sitting him too upright cos bb who bf directly from breast will have less air n nt necy nd to blurp. Gv some time for the milk to go down.

Only bottle feed need to blurp cos air enters. But for bottle feed, we should hold baby at ard 45 deg or lower alittle when drinking to prevent colic.

About our stitches / Wound
I always feel the pain if i walk, sit or stand too much. The reason is the pressure of our body is on the wound (wif gravity). But if we lie dwn, shd heal faster.

I am wondering if the doc did a gd job on my stitches cos i saw wif mirror a little skin still hanging out. Hw to tell if its done properly. Bottom look so ugly. Dare nt see too much.

Mog, JIA YOU LIAO...

Cactus, Felicia, MLP... Ai Lai Liao, Ren Ren... Soon u will join us...we are waiting..

Shycloud, CONGRATS. Yr baby hand surrender slpg position is what my hubby always laugh at our baby when sleepg.

Ellysia, Tera, Crystal
Yes, I also sleep air-con. The excuse is my hubby is here wif me so he wnts air-con. I wonder if he's nt here, will my mum allow :p. Anyway, i dun tink i did my confinement well too cos i've been out of the house. Even nw go n shop for cot cos bro wnt to gv as a gift. So also half-past-six confinement.

Ellysia, I'm hvg DOM everyday, small amount. But my mum will steam the DOM to remove the alcohol (hopefully thru evaporation).

<font color="ff6000">LADIES!! Thanks for all well wishes!! &amp; congrats to all those who have popped too!!

everything is well at the moment, its more of coping with my #1 rather den my #2 currently as she is craving for attention very badly..

&amp; here is my birth summary

9th June morning~ check up as usual @ 39 weeks 6 days, gynae mentioned im 2cm dilated already so advised me to admit before 7am so as to induce as this is my #2 &amp; #1 is a overdue baby, he did not want me to risk being overdue this round &amp; in case baby poo.. so happily went home to prepare &amp; etc &amp; getting ready to wake up @ 4.30am to bathe and prepare to get admitted.

10th June @ 2.30am ~ starts to feel bearable cramps &amp; woke hubby up to inform him got some feel

2.50am ~ felt the cramps more often, hubby decided we shld admit first to see how but i tot to wait til 4.30am as i did not want to stay in the hospital but gave in to go hospital now coz cramps start to make me feel uncomfortable

3.49am ~ lying in the labour ward, contractions frequent, 5 cm dilated, tot my labour would be long so requested epi.. who noes when doc came by to give me epi, even before the drips &amp; all are fixed properly.. i felt baby's head real low, told midwife &amp; midwife said im 10cm dilated!! chased gynae to come &amp; the moment gynae stepped in the ward.. he said push &amp; out came lil Ashton @ 4.43am.. all over within one hour... *phew*

p/s: wil try to update pics &amp; more when i can.. meanwhile u all take care! *hugs*</font>

Morraine, CONGRATULATIONS!! Didnt knw u were on your way to labour. Been so busy to check the forum. Another sian mu one for such a smooth n fast delivery.

Gd Morning Jess,
Nice to meet u too! Of coz I wish to hav a boy but if turn out to be a girl, it ok la as long as baby is healthy.

I remember 4 yrs ago when i delivered my girl at KKH, they use Kotex, string ones. So Jess, when is your next appt? Keep me update when u give birth, ok?

By the way, Congrats to all mummies who have popped.

morraine congratuls!
think u've breaked the record here by hving the shortest labour! keke

jess and Lee May,
wat i meant wat KKH is providing is one size for all.
so i felt if those smaller sz might be 'loose' lor.
the kotex pad is no longer string type,the stick on ones.

hmm if u belong to the bigger sz, then i dun think u need to buy.

Lee May,
u mean till now dun noe the gender yet?
but thot detailed scan should be able to tell?
n yes most impt must b healthy!
#1 got complication n i didnt get to leave hosp w bb, v.depressing.
#2 heng everything goes well

Pris,
usually direct feed no need to burp bb
could be bcos b4 the feeding, bb has bn crying too much

Jess, Lee May
Morning. Yep, KKH nw provide the stick on Kotex. No more string type. They only use the string type to put on me whn in delivery suite to cover, maybe i was leaking water then whn lying on bed.

I oso nd to buy the Procanol fr pharma at KKH at $3.50 cos was nt given. For disposable panties, they provide the maternity disposable ones.

<font color="aa00aa">Lee May, welcome to June thread!
You had same EDD with me. I'm oso in waiting games. hehe...

TF, i was thinking still left how many June mummies havent pop. So tiring in waiting. Even cactus might pop over this weekend leh.

But hor, thinking of confinement at such weather, really make me even worst. I was sweating so much even with fan directly blow at me. So during confinement, i think i'll just hide myself in air con room.

Btw, ladies given birth in TMC, anyone of you taking the glass milk bottle from parentcraft? Can i know how big/ tall is the bottle? Does we need to purchase the cover ourself? </font>

Cynthia,
My bb slps alot during the day then eyes big big in the night. Haha. She sometimes only wake up 2x in the night. Aiyo, no fixed pattrn de. Hopefully, some night feed pattern will appear as she grows older. I will die if she continue to wake up several times a night and refused to go back to sleep man. My maternity leave ending in 1+ month time. -.o"

Priscilla,
One of the reason for vomiting milk is reflux wor. But it shouldnt be if your bb dun cry alot after feed. My bb vomit out milk too. The milk will come out both from the mouth and nose. Although it is normal (milk from nose), it looks very xin ku to me, makes me heartache. Sometimes, it is bcos the bb drinks too quickly. When my bb was younger, I will stop every now and then to burp her. This will help with digestion.

TF,
Jia you, jia you. I oso think of creative way not to waste milk. Sometimes I think I look very funny. Haha. I agree with the investing in a good pump. Save time if you need to express regularly. When I am using my dual electric pump, I can still surf net and do postings, hehe. Just need some practice. ;p
I oso never follow cinfinement rules. Bo bian de. Bb still in hospital, we must go see mah. Dun worry, ang mos oso never confine at home and they dun suffer from watever ailments too (that's wat I used to comfort myself ;p).