(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,
is affecting me big time.
even sitting also pain
askg hub to get me a swimming float 2moro

did u get urself a tummy binder for ur c-sect?
my gf feedback work well for her

btw how to cure bb burping huh?

babycupid,
Mine is 17.6 during the check up. TMC nvr suggest renting of UV. Only say must admit hospital for 2 days. Almost cry out. By 3rd day, Jaundice drop to 9 so can discharge.
Don worry. But after go home, must put under morning sun for 5 min every morning.

The chinese tradition is to use a type of herb to bath the baby and put some in the red packet to put under the pillow. Don know does it work or not but my MIL is doing it to my bb.

Ellysia,
Do u have any aches?
now already 10 days, my wound still pain.

Last nite terrible, don know wat he wan. kept crying, after feed for 10 min, sleep then wake up again for milk after 15 min or so. From 2 to 5am, no sleep. Afternoon, he sleep like nobody biz. 4 hrs then cry for milk. Hopefully, he ok tonight.

mogudog will admit to labour ward 2 9.. i m so excited counting down 4 her at hm liaoz.. 2mr her god-son can c minnie meimei liaoz hehe...

connie,
icic.. mine upon discharge the level is 8.8.. den i was told bb jaundice will get serious when 5days old.. so today is the 6th day.. really.. double up..

1487300.jpg

Just to share my little bundle of joy (and horror), a bit blur lah, cos taken with phone camera.

TF,
I very KS cos not much breast milk. I pump on one side, use a collection shell on another. You can buy milk collection shells from Avent. Major dept stores carries them. But I cheapskate, use the avnet bottle cover instead. I simply prop the cover on my breast, and 'hug' it using my inner arm while I pump. you be surprise I can "save" 10-20ml of milk from there depending on how long i iump the other side. Can drink dun waste mah...

Hi Ellysia
Your milk supply quite good. Any tips? Although I keep thinking bf very troublesome ( i am doing exclusive pumping) and wanting to stop after one month, now I see my supply dropping gradually, a bit sad. hahaha. Silly right? But I think my freezer have enough till one month lah, esp when i feed formula at night. Too lazy to warm up milk while the terror cries and wake the elder one.

Hi Fennie
Received your message. Glad baby is more than 3kg already. Hope to hear you popping soon!!

And smooth delivery dust to all who havent pop yet!!!

Baby Cupid,
Little Max was warded for a day after I am discharged for jaundice too. It is better to have nurses looking after him. Dun worry.

Hi rooller
Ur wound meaning episotomy wounds? Try keeping the area dry and change your pad often. I always swear by washing and using procanol each and every time i visit the loo. Both pregnancies the stitches pain goes completely off within 1.5 weeks.

Hi Connie
Yeah, babies have a way to turn our time upside down. What I did to Maximus was (my maid say very cruel...hahaha) to purposely wake him at a certain interval to avoid him sleeping thruout the day. Or to hold his milk time a bit longer than usual so to coordinate sleeping time. He will cry lor, but no choice have to train him. Switching on TV, radio, speaking in normal tones during day time while the baby sleeps to let him know it is day. Night time, off all lights and while feeding, dun talk to him nor pat him too much. Feed, burp, put him down. Dun on bright lights while feeding at night too. Have to take some time to adjust...me also learning with Maximus.

mogudog
Jia you!! Jia you!!

hi feifei
Csect wound should be fully recovered by a week? I felt totally painless in that area by a week, and could do stretching and hip exercises and wound no feeling

hi linda
Cute Max has so much hair, so nice

Me same as you, few days ago was still saying want to stop exclusive bf-ing (I also pump only same as u)after 1 month coz pumping very tiring etc. Was having supply of 150 - 250ml then... then had a major fever of 39.8 deg, after that, my supply dropped to 60 - 120ml!! Half my original supply!
Me now super depressed and wish I can get back my original supply and I will continue bf as long as I can...haiz, teaches you not to anyhow say things...But Im not going to give up, will keep pumping and hope everything goes back to normal

Re jaundice, sad to say Isaiah is still having jaundice now despite being 1 month old now... his level is still about 10. But PD says as long as baby is more than 10days old and liver blood test is cleared, it could be breastmilk jaundice which is ok. And no need to sunbathe your child anymore. For NB, jaundice levels very impt coz too high will cause brain damage. For more than 10 days old, must monitor his urine colour (ie must be colourless or yellow colour and not brownish tea colour) and his poo (can be green/yellow but cannot be greyish) coz this will indicate that his liver function has been affected. Babies with breastmilk jaundice could take anything like a few weeks to clear

hmm.. wah.. all of u here has gd supply of milk.. y i dun haf.. bery miserable supply.. my mum said some bb dun bring milk.. if ur bb dun bring milk.. no matter hw oso no milk.. still trying hard..

Linda,
yes.. newborn bb their timing is upside down.. my 1st n 2nd nites are horrible.. my bb jus dun wan to slp n kept asking for milk.. but it got better frm 3rd nite onwards.. slowly lor..

updates...
mogudog admitted liaoz.. dilation oni 1cm so i tink still long way 2 go.. gynae will c her later at 8am unless her mousy noti 1 2 com out in the middle of the nite..

roxy,
icic.. yes.. my sis told me her 2nd one actually had jaundice up to 1mth or so.. its becos of breastmilk.. but her gynae told her not to give up.. cos breastmilk is really beneficial to the kid.. the jaundice will jus go away.. jus hold on to it.. its gd to be able to supply ur bb wif ur breastmilk since ur supply is gd.. unlike me.. haiz..

babycupid, how many days/weeks have you delivered liao? Dun worry, BM slowly kick in de... mine is lagi worse, after 1 mth, supply suddenly dropped by half haiz must be my own retribution for wanting to give up bf... but i will continue on n u dun give up too k?

Rooller
Try procanol... its quite good... i dun realy take painkiller liao... only apply procanol on the wound... it feels pain at first later it acts as a painkiller...

can try....

Connie
Yesterday my MIL also put something under bb pillow.. dunno what tat and this morning i saw CL putting something for baby to bath in some yellow water.. dunno will it help jaundice... bb jaundice think still mild cos doc as mi to monitor till monday if still have have to do blood test....

hopefully dun need to do blood test....

BabyCupid,
just to share w u
my gf managed to fully bf her twin boy just by pumping for ONE YR!
she said she do it every 2hrly including NITE hor!
nt to mention, she even has LOTS of surprlus in her freezer!
she say must drink alot of fluid too

Linda,
episotomy wounds = stitches ya?
yset nite just got hub to help me get procanol
use 2x liao
seem workg well for me
i will hv to depend on pain killer at the same time.
walking seem much faster too

roooller,
wow.. ur gf is gd.. bery hardworking.. i can say i not hardworking lor..

Tis morning PD called and said my bb jaundice has dropped from 16.7 to 11.6 so he said shldnt has any prob to discharge tml morning.. goin to visit him ltr..

meanwhile jus fully recharged my energy to fight when bb is back tml.. haha..

my wound not giving any prob i did not take any painkiller.. the prob i have is constipation.. took gynae prescription of the syrup to soften bowels but doesnt really help much.. too much heaty food now..

Priscilla,
i also forget how long leh
can ask ur CL wat that she puts in the water, is it meant for jaundice?

BabyCupid,
ya solid right?
this round i also lazy to pump after latch

my mum and sis asked me to get pearl powder for bb to take.. to calm them so not so scare always jump in their slp..

roooller,
yes.. bery solid.. my sis said mus drink alot of water.. but i tink i lack of water.. sometimes jus too busy and nvr really drink water..

BabyCupid,
i didnt drink much bcos of the pain + menses.
i just manage to tbf in the day, but nite time i want to resr this round.
feel so short-changed for #2

for the pearl powder, i wouldnt give, n think no good if its a boy
just put the ben sprouts pillow to make bb more secure

<font color="aa00aa">morning ladies!

Babycupid, newborn cannot take too much pearl powder as is was too 'liang'.
For calming baby, can try taking 'jin feng san' oso.</font>

roooller,
icic.. ya i heard oso.. not gd for boy.. but my sis n mum said abit its ok.. my sis 2 boys oso took..

felicia,
ohhh issit..?? hmm.. den i mus see how liao.. diff ppl diff say.. sometimes jus get so confused..

My mil ask me eat liver.. to pu xue..
my mum said cant take liver.. will reduce milk supply.. haha..
but i dunno hw to tell mil.. so she cook for me i jus take..

<font color="aa00aa">babycupid, ya, the pearl powder not good for baby boy, i heard tat oso. Then about too 'liang' i got to know from EYS as tat day i brought the pearl powder from them at expo. I wanna brought 2 packets, when tat lady heard is for newborn, she told me just buy one pack will do, coz too much for bb is not good.

As for liver, i heard some ppl said it'll reduce BM, but u know my mil said last time she ate lot of liver (as her times, liver was very precious for poor ppl, only get to eat during confinement leh) and her BM is a lot oso leh.
So, maybe take moderate so be ok kua.</font>

re: jaundice lvl
how come my bb jaundice is 3 digit as advise by NUH PD n polyclinic doc but u guys getting 2 digit? was advise 316 wondering is it = 31.6?

Ladies, back fm gynae checkup just now. BB heartbeat OK. My weight still remains constant since Tues checkup. Gynae advise me to admit to hospital tonight to induce since he's full term and my amniotic fluid is on the lower side (of the normal range).

I pray hard that I can deliver naturally!

After the bb less movement scare yestd, he's active again today lor... hehe... noti little one. Can't wait to c him tml thou!

rooller,

I got a normal tummy binder, help to push the wind out of tummy. My Osim binder which i bot, me v stupid never check size, i bot the wrong size
and it cost $80, so i dun tink i will buy another one.

so procanol is good right? hee.

sharon,

When my PD inform abt my bb jaundice is also 3 digits. around 105 or someting like tat.

babycupid,

My mum took a lot of liver during her confinement last time and her wound didn't get cure after 1 mth. She understand tat eating liver can affect wound.

For yr bs, dun worry it will kick in around 1-2 weeks.

roxy,

how come yr BS drop by half suddenly? is due to the fever?

Connie,

My bb will cry for few hours between the timing of 7pm to midnight. Then someone has to carry him if not he will cry until roof drop. My mum helped to carry him while i sleep at nite so she always lack of sleep has to catch up in the day.

Then now my bb is getting more and more fussy, sometimes he cannot sleep in the day too even after feed, he will look around and kick his legs etc, even if we swaddle him and put bean pillow. He is also light sleeper.

Linda,

No special method on BM supply. I only just latch and latch. Then BS just come in lor.
Becos i didn't pump now, so i have no excuse to miss any feed. whenever bb want feed, i have to latch.. its almost 2-3hrs interval.

Linda,
My bb just super like to sleep. don care the TV or radio. Don want mean mouth shut and eyes closed. Shake also hack care. They say because I rather sleep then eat when pregnant. Now he follow. Where got pple wake up in the middle of the nite for supper.

Roxy,
How long does it takes to have supply up to 100++. Mine only 70ml. They say must frequent empty then will increase.Your bb can drink that much?

Priscilla/ Roller,
ya. Thats the oldest recipe. In teochew, they call "ng ki". Yellow color after boil. They even use it to wash his tongue. I just let them do since my mom also say the same thing.
These few days no sun, cannot sun tan in the morning

Bbcupid,
Jia you. sure can recover one.
Don take liver, it will reduce milk supply. My friends sister took, and no supply now.

hahaha.. ladies, my bb koe how to grab the milk bottle when he is 3 days old.. my mum said cos i eat too many crabs.. dunno hw true.. but he really many hands.. fingers spread n spread really like crab sometimes..

jus visited him in hosp.. i cried when i see him.. kekeke.. n feed him with milk.. but can see his jaundice improved alot.. cant wait to fetch him home!

Ellysia

Then mi lagi jia lat leh.. still go karaok with baby in stomach till wee hours...

but baby now sleep 3 - 4 hours in the night without waking up leh... so should not be because you active during preggy

roooller, sharon, ellysia
ya.. some PD they actually gave the jaundice level in 3 digits.. i dunno wats the diff.. but i tink.. is.. 150 means 15.0 mine now is 11.6 so shld be 116.. tats wat i guess.. as long as jaundice level is below 10.. we can bring back the bb.. jus sun bathing will do.. below 8 is normal.. nd not sunbathing..

Hi gers,
Good afternoon, lil ZuEn is sleeping. She woke up at 12mn, 2am, 4am, 5am, 6am &amp; 7am for feeds last night. Almost drove me crazy. She can wake up and cry for milk and suckle for 10 mins and fall asleep, then wake up an hour later. -.o"

Ellysia,
Ya, Lil ZuEn is pre-matured. Preemies tend to fall asleep at teh breast and I supposed they have weaker sucking power as well. I dun think I felt letdown effect before wor. Or maybe I duno how to differentiate. ;p

Felicia,
You already mushroom now? Then you will become even bigger mushroom after you give birth and start confinement wor. Hehehe.

TF,
Mine is dual pump, so no leakage while expressing. I often make a mess when breastfeeding cos one side starts to leak. I can oso colect quite a bit from the side that I am not breastfeeding. I hold a container to collect the milk. Still need some practice. Hehe. When I am lazy, I simple put on a breastpad to collect the leaking milk. But abit wasteful lah.

Roxy,
Lil ZuEn went for her follow-up apptm and the PD sid that she is still abit yellow too. However, he suspect that it is BM jaundice and thus no concern. He said that BM jaundice can go up to 2 mths. If she is still yellow by her next visit (ano 4 weeks down the road), they will prick her to rule out other causes of persistent jaundice. The PD asked about her poo poo and wee wee too. I didnt noe about the normal color thingy that you described. But so far, so good. Her poo poo and wee wee always yellow de.
Jia you together. Our angels will be fine.

Priscilla,
I gave birth 4 weeks ago &amp; I am still bleeding. -.o" I think it can last up to 6 to 8 weeks, but the amount should decrease slowluy. My friend bled up to the 9th/ 10th week.

Babycupid,
My bb oso very active when she is awake, either she is crying for milk or kongfu-ing. Cannot swaddle her hands de, else sure cry. -.o"

Babycupid,
I think I will miss my bb too. I already worried when I go out to run errands &amp; leave her with my mum for 1 hour. However, I realised that I m not cut to be a full-time mother. Hahaha. I think I will go crazy if I spend my entire day changing diapers, breastfeeding and stuff. But maybe bcos bb too young, still duno how to respond yet. ;p

roooller/ellysia,
okay... so my girl jaundice really bad. I already worried in future her brain no good cause PD advise if above 300 it will harm the brain. haiz.

babycupid,
my girl jaundice from 300+ went down to 190+ with double ray n they let her discharge leh. wah! 8 then is normal? that was a long way for my girl.

<font color="aa00aa">ZuEn, now oredy big big mushroom, confinement become big big mushroom with small mushroom all over. U see havnt confinement i oredy talk like crazy woman liao. haha....

Just a moment ago, my hubby told my mil we are goin to AMK hub, she asked my hubby 'aiyo, ting (refer to me) oredy want to give birth liao, still want go shopping?'
I was thinking if now dont go out, then i had to wait till aft confinement leh. *peng*</font>

Felicia,
Ya, should go out and walk abit. Now the weather so hot, you can imagine the agony when you really start confinement - hot + confine at home. I only stay at home for over 1+ week, I already got spiderweb liao.