(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">congratulations, maryann!

ellysia, in fact, i'm immune to all the symptoms liao. Sometimes i dont even bother to count the interval. Wondering if one day really real labour i might not even know.</font>

mylittleprince, hang in there. low range but still normal right? Your doctor is quite nice.. some doctors I know will just insist on c-section if just 1 day after EDD without considering fluid level and whether placenta is aged or not.

Felicia, I'm like you. I've been having really irregular contractions. like really really irregular. 10am, 1010am, 1020am, then 1050am, and 11am, then no more.. painful but so irregular.. then at night, start again. I'm also ignoring these pains already. figured I will only get excited if they continue for over 2 hours.

My next appointment is on Monday. I'll be 39wks + 2 days then. Next appointment would be 40 wks + 2 days. My doctor told me last appointment he will let me carry bb till 1 or 2 days after EDD, then we will talk. I think he may discuss induction with me on Monday so a bit worried. If he doesn't talk about that then, then perhaps when I see him during the week 40 + 2 appointment.

Cactus, thanks! yup, low range but still normal (just enough). My EDD is actually this Sun... my next checkup is actually on coming Mon... think i will go do a CTG scan tml morning and after that... next checkup on Monday.

Felicia,

Haa u are also like me lah! me also lazy to count when i had so many false ones!
But when the real one, u will know definitely! The pain is different, more painful! And it persist until i cannot sleep, i try to sleep and wake up like 10 odd times until i sit up, then still pain.. then after 2 hrs i know its not false liao.. so dun worry u will know when the real one come.

cactus,

yrs still zero dilation??

Ellysia, no. about 3cm now. but not progressing any further. My SIL was also 3cm when she was admitted. Hb's cousin-in-law also 3cm. but both of them induced cos no painful contractions. in the end, c-section.

hi everyone...
thanks for all ur well wishes!

nss...
ur gynae is dr mary yang? hehe... yes, i believe the person she was toking abt is me. :p

cactus...
u knw wat? i think u might wan to suggest ur gynae do a VE. cos my contractions were oso very irregular, like wat u jus described. and somehow i dilated to 4-5cm unknowingly like that!

sigh.. i'm now hvg engorgement. the pain was very bad last nite that i cldnt reali sleep. today its still engorged and hard, but not as pain. but both breasts are a little red... i'm getting pretty worried. hope i can clear all the BM soon. been pumping every 2-3hrs. my nipples are sooooo sore....

jus brgt evelyn to see the pd today. the strep b test results for her are not out. but she is getting pretty jaundiced at 148. hv to go back to pd again next tue.

cactus...
i see... so ur hubby was the one who helped u to discover ur dilation. mayb u can try to walk more the next few days.

I'm walking around quite alot but i find that I have more painful contractions when I do deep squats. but those contractions dno't last loh...

those contractions cld be helping the dilation in unknown to u... :p

okie... going off... i wan to go and place hot towels on my boobs and try to clear some bm...

take care everyone...

okie on my birth story...

Sun morning 8th June (dumplings festival)
8am - brown discharge occured...tot nothing cos gynae mentioned only to admit either contractions @ 5 mins interval or waterbag burst

10am - Had "show"...panicked abit but continue to monitor cos din wanna have a false alarm..so still continuing with my housechores and prepared lunch

2pm - Had some pain in lower abdomen but its on and off so din bother...was playing viwawa MJ and was laughing my head off @ my HB cos he playing it for the first time using my a/c and made some silly mistakes and i was screaming and laughing @ the same time cos i lost quite a lot of points and gold...which took me sometime to accumulate.

6pm - the pain seems to increase but the interval is ard 1/2 hr so din bother as well @ tat point of time i still din realised its contractions...went out for dinner though

7.30 pm - the contractions (after i realised tat its not normal pain) started to become more intense

8.30pm - i started to time the contractions and realised its getting from 15 mins to 10 mins to 5 mins...

9.15pm - alas...the time has come..i told hb tat it is NOT false alarm!!! better send me to hospi..he was not too sure but seeing me in pain decided to accede to my request.

9.45pm - we reached TMC checked into the labour ward...was checked by the nurses for dilation...then came the truth...i was already 3cm dilated!!! no wonder so painful.

gynae was called and the nurses were explaining on the pain reliefs etc...so i claimed i only want laughing gas..and was led to the delivery suite. by tat time...the contractions were very intense and my legs were shivering uncontrollably.

11pm - i succumb to epidural as i'm quite afraid tat i might not be able to handle the pain as im only 3cm dilated!!! i can't imagine if i reached 6 or 8cm!!!

11.15pm - anesthetist came and administered epi..me start to complain still painful. then he says not take effect yet...i was like...huh? have to wait for how long? me already shivering from legs down..

11.30pm - alas...gynae came and check for dilation again..then i realised he burst my waterbag and warm water came gushing out.. epi took effect and soon i start to tremble and shiver like nobody's business...the side effect of epi.

then gynae said something to the nurses: call me back in an hrs time and she should be ready.

i was thinking...wat???? meaning i can deliver in an hrs time? how can tat be? im only 3 cm dilated niah. even though i had epi but i can feel pain in my lower pelvic bone like having poo poo but much more painful than tat...so i beared with the pain for an hrs

11.50pm - nurses says im already fully dilated!!!

close to 12am - gynae came and start preparing..everything started too fast and furious...nurses was guiding me to breathe and push etc...my heart pumping real fast!

Close to 1am - after 4-5 pushes...bb came out finally..wow..you could hear her cries from far.
gynae got hb to cut the bb's cord and shout "i'm a daddy" 3 times..my hb was afraid he might scared the bb by shouting too loud so he din dare to shout too loud...so in the end the gynae was jokingly saying he should come for it the 2nd time and performed better...plus he says tat the labour nurses rated him a C+ for the actions... lol

1486765.jpg

Back from my gynae check up, thank God, bb has finally crossed 3kg mark, est. abt 3.15kg now, the 1/2hr CTG shows 3 mild contractions, although I didnt feel them, gynae said not bad to have 3 contractions in 1/2hr, but didnt recommend any further actions, just said hopefully something will happen in the next few days, if not, he will see me again next friday morning, water level , placenta &amp; bb's heartbeat all ok

Cactus,
wanted to check with you if you have any idea where phoon huat at the sembawang mrt has moved to?i went there recently, but it has moved since early June, wanted to get milk powder for making bread in bread machine, know there is one in simei near my church, but can only go there on sunday, if I have not given birth on sunday

Hi Fennie, I don't know whereit's moved too. Maybe you can call the Simei branch to ask? I only went to the Sembawang one once about 4 years ago... I frequent the Simei branch though cos my parents stay at Tampines.

Congrats on your bb being at a good weight!

Congrats to shycloud and maryann

btw mummies... anybody know if we pump out our breastmilk, could we place it at room temp??? if at room temp how long can we keep the milk???

Ellysia...
can you time your feeding time to baby???
if we drink immediately after breastfeeding and have a resting period of 1 1/2 hours should be ok....

I also do that... btw dun drink too much DOM, heard from my PD that it will cause Jaundice... Not too sure how true lar... I will have some chinese wine in my confinement so i will have to make sure after 1 1/2 hours later then feed baby or pump out...

Priscilla,
you can actually call up Breast Feeding Mothers Support Group , they have a helpline( for all questions related to breastfeeding,)which i did tried calling yesterday when I have doubts using the Ameda Electric Breast pump, they called me back and answered my questions professionally, http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg HELPLINE : 6339 3558

a regret though on the epidural part...i should have used the laughing gas (i haven tried it and asked for epi straight) and bear with it...

i was dilated from 3cm to 10cm in an hrs time! aiyo such a waste!!!

i should have waited for the gynae come and assess my condition before asking for epi...should i know tat my labour is gonna end within such a short time...i might have save on epi...sigh!!!

the anesthetist came before gynae...

in total my labour hrs are a shocking 4 hrs upon admission into hospi!!!

i totally can't believe it cos 1) im a first-timer 2)had no contractions, no show, prior to sunday...

everyone was telling me im so lucky tat the labour hrs are short..but a pity tat i took epi...cos it's such a waste! i could have just beared with it...

does anyone have had mild contractions, and then nothing happen for the following few days?or more contractions after mild contractions?

looks like the 3cm dialaiton runs in this thread !!!
am also 3cm dilated as of this morning - edd 15 june.
doc keeps saying anytime ... but if not, then he wld wanan induce next week and not go past 41 weeks. sigh.
is it really that comfy in my womb i wonder ?
heeheee

fennie : i had mild contractions early this week, kept me awake at night cuz i was wondering if it was the real thing and needed to go to the hospital, however, they were really mild and comne and go sort ...
no more contractions the past 2 days, maybe cuz i'm on ML now and not walking much ??

K ong,
gynae didnt check VE today , he said he will do VE next friday appt if I have not given birth, due 15th June, same as you, as of last friday, no dilation at all

I having ache everywhere. think I didn't rest well in the first week. Always walk around and sit up as can't sleep. Read that 1st week very important, those mummies that just pop and going to pop, do lie down and rest for the first week.

fennie : ic ... did he discuss induction wif u ??

i am going to try eating spicy food tonight haahaaa.

but then again, i sldnt worry too much, eud #1 was EDD baby so this one likely to be EDD as well.

K ong,
he is so calm, didnt recommend anything yet, told me he will see me again only next friday, maybe my #1 was late for 9days also, so he thinks this one likely to be late as well.

K ong,
thks, there are also cases where #2 is earlier than #1, like in morraine's case, #1 was 10days overdue, #2 on edd, then there is also Linda Thea, #1 was early 38wks2days, #2 slightly later than #1, but still b4 due date, so I can only wait n see

Hey Fennie, i had cramping feelings last nite while trying to sleep. tot contractions will start soon... like today or tml.

But today's CTG check shows no contraction and VE check shows my cervix still tightly closed. Hope my bb will wanna come out naturally soon!

i am frm Aug'07 thread, mogudog frend.. updates from her, 2nd tablet inserted and can feel contractions 2-3mins apart but she still can tahan so going hm now 2 rest

<font color="aa00aa">hi andralim, thanks for your updates.

Mog, jia you!

Cactus, now i understand why u stil so worry even u had 3cm dilation. But dont worry, the 3cm thingy is ur hubby's side history, so it wont happen on you.

ellysia, me oso wait contractions to happen for more than 2 hr only start counting, dont want to waste time on those false alarm. hehe...

Btw, my gynae give me zenmolin and i did a check seems like is medicine to slow down contractions. But i remember he told me is for womb relaxing. But dont seem able to find more info about this drug. Anyone was prescribe with this drug?</font>

Congrats Maryann !!! didi is a big baby too.

Thanks Tera, cactus, roooller, Ellysia, Felicia for the well wishes. I am home now, currently trying to tahan the pain till 11pm tonight then admit. I pray hard hard that the labour will be a short and smooth one

cactus,

har.. 3cm and no painful contractions? but u said u ored face contractions on and off.. in this case shd be ok ba. at least not like me, me only 1.5cm dilation when reach hosp.

Connie,

i also like to walk around in 1st week. but can't walk much too cos bottom v pain.

Fennie,

tat time my contractions can be mild one then few days no contractions then come again later. no pattern one.

shycloud,

no wonder u say is a waste.. 4 hrs can dong w/o epi liao.. or maybe epi help to fasten yr labour?

Priscilla,

I had chinese wine in my confinement food too.. me only eat after i feed bb so as not to pass the alcohol over.
Me didn't dare to drink DOM cos heard tat straight drinking of alcohol can harm bb. Whereas cooked alchohol in dishes shd be fine.

Tera, Zuen
Yeh, I oso requested hubby to buy a swimming float for me the next day when i retn.

Tera, ya, as days go n whn u release all the block for both breast, the worst thing is tat u pump 1 breast, the other breast will leak. Initially i get so messy wif leak here n there until nw smart, put 1 bot at 1 tip while punping the other n vice versa. So we get to learn all the creative ways to handle the breast..haha..

Mog, jia you woh

TF
aiyo dun need so mah fan one leh... use nursing bra and breast pad lor... i using manual pump so can only pump one side the other side also will start leaking so breast pad is the best.... will soak up...

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, u can steam chicken meat/drumsticks with Dom + ginger wine +rice wine. This dishes can help to 'bu' you and wont affect your BM to baby as well.</font>

yo ladies,
went to the gynae for followup and PD to check bb.. my bb jaundice level is high.. 16.7.. sun bathing is not enuff.. so we are given 2 choices.. 1st to rent the machine back 2nd is to admit for the UV.. we chose to admit him cos there are better supervision than doing it at home.. 2days he will be discharged..
anyone bb has it too?

Babycupid,
true lor, admit then at least nurses can take care of him lor...

Roooller,
oh dear...needs time to recover de..My csect wound also abit tight now..