(2008/06) June 2008

Tera
We got to tahan the pain lor... Mi pump till breast bleed lor...

So ke lian... when latch baby nipple also feel pain lor... We got to perservere lor...

I'm sure your MS will kick in soon one... Mi 4th day only pump out about 60ml from both side now can pump out about 110ml liao...

my bb bery impatient.. so difficult to latch him at times.. trying to pump out as much as possible.. and only latch him when he is not so hungry.. he actually can drink 90ml now (5 days old..)

priscilla,
wow.. so gd.. today is my 5th day and i can only pump 20ml both side each time.. so pathetic! haiz..

babycupid...

For mi i dunno when MS kick in but i latch on at the hospital on the first day after delivery dunno the time but i know baby did not latch on well on the 2 days when i was in hospital...

I jus latch baby on every 4 hours and try both sides lor... baby slow eater and smaill eater think only 60ml only cos now i express out and test water... hee...

Try pumping at regular timing lor... i always latch baby on liao then later pump out the remaining... and the remaining it's like 60ml for both sides during the 4th and 5th day lor...

If you latch on and try pumping so should be alrite lor... Your baby is a big eater lor...

pris,
oh dear, ur breast bleed! poor u. thanks for the encouragement.
yeah, will perservere. hubby has also been encouraging. my nipples also quite sore from the latching on. u can try putting the medela purelan which is edible by baby. it worked for me.

btw, ur bb born on 6th june? mine too.

Tera
I think my labour is the shortest among the three of us lor... think mine only 6 hours

admit around 11am and gave birth ard 4pm

I was really lucky lor.. did not prepare myself for the delivery lor...

pris,
u delivered at TMC? could hv visited u.
cos veniz visited me.

Wow, urs is really short but i think there's one more shorter one. :p Kylene. Think hers only like 1-2 hours, super short. also on 6th june.

have u started on your post-natal massage? me not yet, only start next monday. tummy is still quite big.

Tera..

nah... i at Glen lor..
Postnatal massage think monday start lor... still have 5 -6 more kg to lose lor....

tummy after giving birth even worse... now breast feeding at least shrink a little

Hi Tinyfeet,

I am from Nov07 and Dec08 MTB thread and happen to be reading your posts.

One of my Twin nephews borned in 2004 had a stoma op as well. In KKH. I thinK his op was done by Dr Yap T L. He had his op on his fifth day. By then he was barely 2kg as he was borned premature at week 34.

Upon discharge, the closure wasnt done. The changing of the stoma bag etc was tedious and we were naturally afraid to learn. But we were being told tat the intestines wont hurt when we try to clean it. My nephew had his intestines with a bag for a year before he was due for closure at 1 year old. All went on well.

He was hospitalised for closed to 3 months during then as he was a preemie naturally more complications.

Because of his incident, i am determined to choose KKH for my delivery.

Yes, am sure KKH will have the professionalism to handle your little one well. Yes, and am sure he will turn out to be a little fighter.

Tera, thanks a lot for the well wishes and compliments !! I am more mentally prepared for induction, just hope it won't be a long labour.
My gynae already told me it's going to take 24 hours or more

ND's girl, yes, I will continue to talk to my baby, never give up at the last minute.
Who's know a miracle may happen overnight ....

Mogudog
good luck!!! dun worry babies listen to their mummies

On breastfeeding
Those who have low supply now dun worry, I'm sure milk supply will kick in sooner or later. Initially I also could only pump out around 60ml, then it increased to 80ml and now I can pump up to 120ml and can still feel my breast got milk. So dun give up, just continue to latch/pump diligently and milk supply will sure increase in time!

morning ladies!

Just bumped into a colleague when coming to work this morning. she shared with me that another colleague had induction 1 day after her EDD and ended up c-section..

Anyway, just an update, I'm about 3cm dilated and my cervix is completely thinned out now. baby is also fully engaged. 5/5 of his head is in my pelvis. so it's a waiting game I remember soyabean was walking around with 3cm dilation for a long time before she popped.. hopefully my bb doesn't keep me waiting for too long!

Morning cactus

It's good new leh.... think walk more should help... mi also walk alot when gynae told mi i was 1cm dilated and by the next week i had show liao...

Talk to the baby more and tell baby to guai guai come out lor... hee....

Felicia, yeh, the raspberry is like green leave taste. i also tot sthg berry sweet but forget shd b leave taste cos we buy leaves, nt berries. hee.. u still lucky to get to drink coconut, i dun even had the chance.

Tera, Pris
Oh, can start massage already, then i go schedule for mine b4 bb home.

Crystal, u r lucky n congrats on your new Role. Timing very good. Let me knw where u will be. Sms me.

Pris, Tera, Kylene: We shall let our babies knw who are born the same date, day n year when they r older..haha.. their Birth Cert number shd be very close

Sharon, my hubby n me cld nt believe n agree tat our baby look alike.. Oh no, they got Fu Qi Xiang (husband n wife) issit. Wat more is your delivered at NUH right, the cloth they used also same color n material. Maybe u email me you put your bb close up look when she awake n let me see. I tink their forehead and burger cheeks feature is similar. hee

Morning cactus, hope ur bb dont keep u waiting too long. Mine had stayed put despite cervix dilate and thin out and had show, think I had beaten soyabean's record of 3 weeks. I also very scared of induction ending up in c-sec. For my#1,also induction and quite long labour cos bb facing up, my doc threatened to c-sec that really makes me push real hard in the end

TF
if your wound not pain liao can ask massage lady to come liao...

Mi maybe delay a few days more cos wound still bit pain pain....

My gal till now have to go register for birth cert yet waiting for the daddy to confirm on the name.... maybe next week go ica....

BTW anybody knows when is the deadline to register for baby birth cert???

Priscilla, inspired by Ellysia, I started doing more squats too.. hoping don't have to wait too long. Now already week 38 day 6.

nss, I'm also very scared of induction. any thing can happen loh... scared.

nss,
boss can't release me,
got to work till contraction liao... hahaha...
#1 & #2.. play by ear lor...

FIL's overseas, MIL going Malaysia on 22nd June,
donno when #3 will pop...

hi priscilla,
if i didnt rememeber wrongly.
nt necessary to go back ur hosp.
b4 hosp discharge u, they should hv run thru the forms (2 forms) and procedure how to register.
u will need both parent i/c and original marriage cert.

Priscilla, yes, can register at ICA. the registration counter at hospital is just to provide parents with additional convenience if they don't want to go to ICA to register. You can find out more from ICA website. I recall there is a section on registration of births.

Tera,
DUn give up lor...that time my engorgement was so bad that i hv to go find the LC at TMC to massage for me...so chaliat..now bette rliao but ms only 100ml for both side...terrible rite..hiaz..me also so sian, feel like giving up..

feifei, ND's girl and Tf,
thanks for the encouragement, will try to perservere for as long as i can.
i realise that i need to massage my breasts quite hard then the milk will come so i kind of wonder if bb when latching on, is actually able to take in any milk.

feifei,
jia you! u also don't give up also ok? i rem u mentioning about the change now that we have bb. sometimes, i do miss the pregnancy days, cos now have so much more things to cope with and worry about.

pris,
i also haven't registered birth cert yet. same as u, still trying to confirm on the chinese name.

TF,
Yeah, let's check our bbies BC# when we have it. I think the "oldest" bb is pris's followed by mine, kylene's then yours.

Tera,
U might wan to try to use ur hands to express out ur milk...i tried and can express 20ml out...

Tks ger, ya lor, once hv bb, has to worry whether she drinks enough, cries are for wat reasons etc..haiz..Ever since i was discharged frm TMC, felt to tired and restless, not happy at all...Felt so stressed at times...As if i gana depression lor..

LengLeng,
how come?

Cactus, excited for u already, the moment is nearer nw, i still remember tat faithful week 38 of mine
Actually i do lots of squatting cos i use the squatting toilet. Wonder if that explain the leak too?

Pris, if register at hosp must be within 14 days. If u wnt ICA, then tink got abt 1 mth to do so. Do double confirm.

My breast milk getting whiter. Initially was yellow n the nurse explain yellow means thick milk. So nw tat its white, less thick, i guess. So my eat more nutritiously.

TF,
hi there...how u doing?hows ur wound? ya lor, now mil kgets whiter liao, more dilute lor...sometimes like water leh...

LengLeng,
understooded...no choice hor..hiaz..

Tera, feifei is right. Use hand can extract 20ml. Actually my right breast still block. And whn i put pump, dun really extract much cos of the block at the aorela area. So when i use my thumb n index finger to squeeze n break the lumps, bet what wonders can do. Really nd to do a thorough unblock for the breast from nipple, working circumference slow to the back. If front is block, the back milk cant flow out. No thru road. :p

Any mommy here with baby who only latch and drink from one side per feeding? If yes, how long normally is the interval in btw feeding, 2-3 hours? If drink from both side, how long normally is the interval in btw feeding?

Feifei, still hurts if i walk too much or stand too long. Cos the pressure or gravity is on the wound. But whn lie more, less pain. I shd nt b walking so much but bopian wif trips to KKH since bb nt back.

I so happy today least get to shower n wash hair after finally 1 week later.

Cactus, u sure u wnt water bag leak? Is Oxytocin considered induce too?

Ellysia, u so funny on your crab walking position. Hubby n me laugh when we read tog. He even try to imagine your motion..hee

ND girl,
Hmm didnt hear any scream leh... maybe I was too numb and simply love the laughing gas so didnt take note and watching tv hehehe.

Jaundice
---------
PD told me bb having jaundice is partly due to our hormones. IF WE are TBF, may take up to 2mths to go off. IF PBF around 1mth depends. For mi I totally didnt take ginger from day 1 e moment i start BF bb. Now my mum was nagging at me not a single ginger is so horrible! But if really wan add few slices into ur soup will be ok cos I am doing that too and bb is improving though her level not very high, slightly above normal...

nss,
I guess depends on individual bb. Normally will latch 10-30mins for both breast. And interval of about 1hr30min - 2hr for next feed. Also depends on ur bb demand. As alot ppl mention BF is on demand, we cant have a fixed schedule as we simply wont know how much they have suckle lo. It can be less than what we given from bottle..

TF and Feifei,
Hey, u girls are right! I just tried using my hands and realise can extract more easily then pump. :p My milk also very white and watery.

Actually, I have a bad feeling I am developing masititis, cos the lower part of my both breasts has red patches and hot to the touch. Going to call parentcraft and check.

TF,
Hehe, that means today i also can wash hair and shower too!
I think it's a real challenge doing confinment during this period. :p

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, glad to heard tat u r almost there liao.
Every mummies is asking their babies to come out faster, but me now had to ask my baby to wait till next week. Me had stopped all squatting and 'tailor' position for temporary.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hi gers,
u ladies r reai faithful in following the confinement rules ley...the nurses @ RH oreadi wash me up on 2nd day am after op &amp; tat very nite, i oreadi shower in hospital liao. since coming hm, i had been showering daily or sometime twice a day at hm &amp; wash my hair every 2 days or so. if not confinement is tis weather is a real killer...i salute u gers like TF &amp; Tera who can tahan for 1 wk, i cant even stand not showering for 1 day. tat's y i was telling roxy the other day tat as far as my MIL is concern, i m a real bad DIL cos i laterally break all the "laws" on confinement. hahahhaaa...

ellysia,
yup, buzz me after yur CL lar. cos i be working way b4 our ML officially ends. my poor bb...oni 6 wks old n i ve to leave her to go wk...going to miss her real bad....</font>

thanks Cynthia, i seem to recall as my #1 only drink 1 side per feed, guess every bb is unique. Did u go to Mt A? I am going to Mt A, just wondering what did the hospital gave other than the bath tub?