(2008/06) June 2008

Hi krispy,

Ya lor.. i find tat so much time occupied with bb tat i hardly have time to tok to hb abt stuff at home.

Felicia,

wah at least u got HL to rest at home. at home more relax.

cactus and bizzsnow,

When i was in labour and dilation is v slow, got one time i tok to bb and ask him to come fast, then suddenly my dilation speed increase v fast! so maybe toking to bb really got use.

In addition i have also dream tat bb will be out soon then few days later my labour start liao. previously when gynae told me labour may be soon in week 37 then later i dream tat my labour won't be so soon.

K Ong,

thks me understand.. but strange logic though.

cactus,

My bb length is quite long due to long legs. Weight is heavier than estimation, i guess is bec of heavy bones.

Just 3/4 days ago before my labour, i had the check at gynae clinic.

My bb head size is considered big by the midwives and my gynae, tats why at first they surprised at my long labour then later find out abt the wt then they like "oh.. no wonder".

Zu En,

oic so u start pumping to keep 1.5 mths before yr ML ends. How many times u pump? u mean u pump every time u finish latch bb? Then do u combine the different pump sessions in 1 day together when keeping in freezer?

Mog,

I tink dr wong look at size of pelvis when she give advice. actually head size is v impt. wats yr bb head size?

Zu En,

I dun tink the breast will end up with no milk as long as u latch bb on both breasts in 1 feed. I normally will time latching time on 1st breast then change sides and then bb suck until he sleep.

The 1st breast will get the most stimulation bec bb sucking will be more energy but the 2nd breast will get less stimulation. U shd start with 1st breast for 15-20min then transfer to 2nd breast, then the next feed u start with 2nd breast (instead of 1st breast) so that the stimulation is balanced. This is wat i learn from TMC. I didn't follow this strictly and thus one breast always get more stimulated = more MS.

ellysia, agree talking to bb may helps. remember was told by nurse doc will come at 2am so at 2am my bb actually pushing herself out (maybe bb heard I say 2am liao). my doc came at around 2.45am. I cannot tahan HB go tell bb to faster come out! scolded him n say gynae haven come u ask her come out for wat! so I nurse ask me to push without gynae. I have push for an hr I think.

cactus, I pray hard hard hopefully mine won't be a long labour. I keep talking to my ger to ask her faster come out.

ND's girl, thanks for the encouragment. Your girl is so good to you ! Lucky mummy. I hope my girl co-operate too.
I am still 0cm dilated 1 day efore EDD, haiz.

bizznow, yeah I agree. For my case, my gynae said latest she wait is next Monday. My gynae actually very pro-natural
and also don't wish to induce unless no choice.

Ellysia, my baby's head size not big, she measured only 32cm

Ellysia, I got ask Dr Wong about my pelvic size, but she said she can't measured internally and no way to measure, can only look see and estimate. She said my baby's head average, should be okay. Maybe I small size bah, she scared I can't push baby out.

I am still hoping for miracle to happen, don't want to be induce. Don't know I have a feeling my labour would be a super long one. The thoughts of it make me don't want to give birth liao.

ellysia,
dr wong estimated my boy bery accurate.. she told me is 3.2kg on 6 june.. den he was borned 3.17kg.. bery close..

hw much breastmilk can u pump for each time?
my supply still bery little.. but the breasts are full.. n like goin to engorge anytime.. den quickly pump it out.. but abit only..

my boy bery impatient n big eater.. not enuff for him and he rushing to suck it everytime.. haiz..

wah all the labours so short n gd.. i am the unlucky ones.. long labour slow dilation and contractions immediately rite after drip.. n its continously.. so scary..

friday bringing my son to PD and follow up check at gynae there.. dunno whether can cope bringing bb out jus both of us.. kekeke..

Hello Everyone, I knw i've been missing for the past 6 days and now finally have the chance to really sit dwn to update u
I really went thru lots in last 6 days n share wif u my MIA story.

Before that, Let me wish all mummies who have pop, "CONGRATULATIONS" and those who are still waiting, to jia you.

Yes, i have almost 19 hours of labour started at 2:30 am on the 6 Jun when my 1st continuous flow (nt burst) started at 15 min interval, and delivered at 21:04. Took time to take my shower, b/fast and chic essence n then woke my mum up at 4:00am. Then woke my dad at 4:40 and leave for hospital at 5:00am. Arrive n check-in at 5:30am. Called hubby in Jkt at 5:30am to wake him up before to prepare for the next available flight.

In 3-4 hrs, only dilated 1.5cm. Started on Oxytoxin drip thereafter and contract slowly intensify but still slow, ie. another 3 hrs to reach 3cm only. Dosage increase to intensify some (else i will never dilate!!) and tat's the time when i really cant take the force contraction. Hubby landed at 12:30pm, rch hospital at 2pm aft his lunch. Take over the shift fr my mum. Then i told hubby i cant take it liao, want epidural. Epi given at 3pm. Slept till 5pm, dilate fr 3cm to 10cm in 2 hrs!! Never have i swear by epi wonders.

At 5pm, midwife ask me to practice pushing, tried till 6pm. Tot baby will choose 6pm on 6 June. No. he didnt. Push further till 7 and finally 9:04pm, he pop - 4 hrs of pushing. I was so afraid that they will gv up on me n do emerg c-sect. But the malay midwife kept assuring me i can make it n tat they dun count fr the 1st 2 hrs cos was practicing only. And guess wat, my hubby actually assisted in the deliver by pushing my left leg n the other midwife on the right. He literally in the process watching the bb head emerge, shout to push n lift my head, etc..

Pediatricians were on stand-by for nearly 2 hrs outside when i was pushing. Baby turn out fine in his own breathing n heart n lungs stable. And this photo is the moment he was clean n put on me.

your_image.gif

Hello Everyone, I knw i've been missing for the past 6 days and now finally have the chance to really sit dwn to update u

Before that, Let me wish all mummies who have pop, "CONGRATULATIONS" and those who are still waiting, to jia you.

Yes, i have almost 19 hours of labour started at 2:30 am on the 6 Jun when my 1st continuous flow (nt burst) started at 15 min interval, and delivered at 21:04. Took time to take my shower, b/fast and chic essence n then woke my mum up at 4:00am. Then woke my dad at 4:40 and leave for hospital at 5:00am. Arrive n check-in at 5:30am. Called hubby in Jkt at 5:30am to wake him up before to prepare for the next available flight.

In 3-4 hrs, only dilated 1.5cm. Started on Oxytoxin drip thereafter and contract slowly intensify but still slow, ie. another 3 hrs to reach 3cm only. Dosage increase to intensify some (else i will never dilate!!) and tat's the time when i really cant take the force contraction. Hubby landed at 12:30pm, rch hospital at 2pm aft his lunch. Take over the shift fr my mum. Then i told hubby i cant take it liao, want epidural. Epi given at 3pm. Slept till 5pm, dilate fr 3cm to 10cm in 2 hrs!! Never have i swear by epi wonders.

At 5pm, midwife ask me to practice pushing, tried till 6pm. Tot baby will choose 6pm on 6 June. No. he didnt. Push further till 7 and finally 9:04pm, he pop - 4 hrs of pushing. I was so afraid that they will gv up on me n do emerg c-sect. But the malay midwife kept assuring me i can make it n tat they dun count fr the 1st 2 hrs cos was practicing only. And guess wat, my hubby actually assisted in the deliver by pushing my left leg n the other midwife on the right. He literally in the process watching the bb head emerge, shout to push n lift my head, etc..

Pediatricians were on stand-by for nearly 2 hrs outside when i was pushing. Baby turn out fine in his own breathing n heart n lungs stable. And this photo is the moment he was clean n put on me.

your_image.gif

Pediatricians were on stand-by for nearly 2 hrs outside when i was pushing. Baby turn out fine in his own breathing n heart n lungs stable. Though this is a gd news, however, we faced further challenges when our son was discovered wif an unopened anal problem. The channel from the large intestine is nt linked to the anal opening due to some tissue in betwn. Hence a 3 stage operation is reqd over the next 6 mths.

He just had his 1st Stoma ops on Sunday (when he was 1.5day old). And has been in NICU aft the ops. This explain why I'm nt online cos of the up/dwns trips to visit, pumping milk n resting. Zuen will understand wat i gone thru. Today he has doing well when we visited him n already on 15ml BM. Hoping by 2mrw when we see him, he shd be in Special Care Unit. And looking forward to his return on weekend.

Will update photos later cos i need to resize n i dun knw hw to if someone can let me knw hw to resize.

Soyabean, sori, i could nt update your pop news for u. But glad tat u have delivered. CONGRATS.

Will come back agn whn i get the opportunity to be on my laptop.

Love TF

Ellysia..
My labour with 2cm dilated + burst water bag + drip think only 6 hours. Think i was quite lucky...

I got a scare just now.. was pumping for breast milk at 1 am and i saw blood!!! and i tried again at 4am... nothing happen... *phew*

Have to apply nipple cream liao

Ellysia, my bb's head is currently 3.29cm. Keeping fingers crossed will not be more than 3.5cm before delivery.

Wow! TF! What an experience. Your little one is one strong fighter!!

Priscilla, what pump are you using?

Mog, your bb's head is small. not to worry. 3.2cm at 40 weeks is very very good!!!
Mine already 3.29cm at 38 weeks leh!! :p I'm sure you won't have much problems pushing your little one out.

Yeah, he really give us lots of surprises. Besides tat, he has 11 rib cage on each side, instead of 12. And initially a little bleed in his head wh doc say he is fine. My hubby so worried until he told the doc, wat else do we need to knw, just throw it out. Later, hubby look at internet abt rib cage n nthg alarm abt the 11 ribs n someone even wrote Adam n Eve story cld be true n so we say maybe my boy has given to his girlfriend. So next time lets see if the gf has 14 ribs each.

Cactus, i tot my bb is 2.8kg at birth n was shocked tat he was 3.38kg. I cld nt push when the midwife reluctant to cut the V. Just as she did, I manage to push. But my cut was so deep until near the anus, prob same as Ellysia

Wow.. 3.38kg is quite different from 2.8kg... how many days before the birth did you have the bb's weight estimated? Also, how many measurements were taken for the bb's weight estimation ah?

I'm starting to be concerned. my doctor told me my bb is 3kg at week 38.. he sent me for a growth scan, and bb had 4 measurements taken for esimtation of weight. He assured me it's quite accurate but now starting to doubt, given your story and Ellysia's experience..

Ops, did nt knw hw many measurement, but was given 3 days b4 he pop. One of the reason cld be my baby head was facing a little to one side and yet he has ruby head. So broader to come out.

The measurements that my doctor/sonographer takes to estimate the weight in respect of the head is usually the head circumference and the biparital diameter... if those are the same 2 measurements taken by your doctor, it won't be the way he is facing. The other measurements are the abdominal circumerence and the femur lenghth.

Anyway, your bb is safely out and that's all that matters. I'm just an overly worried MTB. Does the cut hurt you now? 6 days already right?

<font color="blue">hey tf,
i've been wondering where have u been to for the past few days..didnt noe dat u had gone through so much..n i think u n ur little 1 are very strong..jia you ok..n dun worry so much..i am sure ur bb will be back @ home tis wkend..

Yes, still hurt alot n most. i tink nt very properly sew too cos i saw a skin jut out
See wat UG say on my Monday follow-up. On my 1st 4 days, cld nt control or feel my urine. Tink push too hurt, hurt nerve.

Bizznw, pains us to see him in put on morphin for his ops at such young age, etc.. but i guess only way to relieve pain for him too. U jia you too. counting down eagerly yeh

tf,
pain pain for yr cut. jia you for little tf! we'll give u moral support all e way!! jia you bb tf!! he wil be hme real soon!

<font color="blue">i get wat u mean lah..confirm heart pain 1..so young must go through so much..but i think he will grow up well n become a fighter in life..
i am counting down lah..but as the dates draw near..kinda scared leh..dunno how my labour process will be lor..juz hope everything smooth smooth can liao..when i do the detailed scan the sonographer mentioned dat my bb is more on my right side..so i dunno will end up pushing for long anot..

TF
My breast milk is both side together get around 90ml only but in about 20 mins...
Mi using manual pump...

I dun really understand about empty our breast... does it mi we drain till we dry???
or when breast feel soft can liao???

Though stayed in 5-bedded,was lucky tat each time abt 3 patients there (includg me). KKH even have an auto downgrade when bb nd ICU. So my bb stay is under "C" class, the lowest, tho mine is B2+.

BTW the free BM bottles tat hospital provide is very useful for Medela pump cos the bottle fit the Medela equipment. Its actually the S26 100ml glass milk bottle.

Wrx, Thanks. Yrs agang datang ya

Pris, i also curious abt the breast pumping. Ya i refer to both breast too for the amount. Initally i didnt knw i had bad engorgement n block until the lactation nurse taught me hw to look for the lumps n squeeze. Always squeeze the aerola area first to remove the blocks then work backward for the next outer circumference, if u still feel lumps. Subsequently, each time the milk accum, we just squeeze till soften n ensure most lumps are broken n spread. i dun tink can squeeze dry dry cos every moment is accumulating. Most impt ensure no lumps when u complete.

My advice for those waiting delivery, make sure a lactation nurse show u hw to squeeze n hw to see if breast if engorge or full, etc. Cos on my 1st 3 days, nurse just kp reminding me hw to pump n nt show me. So during then, milk nt exactly stimulated n also block w/o me knw'g until a lactation nurse did her rounds n show me. So by 6th day, nw each time breast full, milk will sure start to leak. But when pump, less lumpy cos everytime i try to spread the lumps.

Hey TF, good to hear from u! I'm sure little TF will be home real soon! Thanks for the tips on what to ask the lactation nurse! But hopefully can still remember to ask by then. =)

Ioio, Congrats to u!!!
Can't wait to see urs n TF babies's pixa....

ZuEN, i haven't start confinement lei... wat u referring to? me blur blur....hehe...

<font color="aa00aa">TF, finally saw ur posts.
Jia you! Ur baby is a strong one! Dont worry!

Btw, have you rec' my mail for the coupon?</font>

TF!!
good to get an update from u!
sorry if i missed the detail but when will little TF (btw, is his name confirmed?? :p) be back home? jia you and hang in there ok? u have been doing great yourself. strong mommy = strong baby.

as for breastfeeding, i had problems as well. cos the nurses did not really show me the correct way to latch on till my 3rd day when we insisted on getting a lactation consultant to help. then when i got home, baby was refusing to latch on cos i still had no milk and he would get very frustrated. so no choice, made a trip down to parentcraft on 5th day to seek advice. to cut the story short, my milk supply only kicked in yesterday (6th day). however, it is very little so supplementing with FM. so i think for u, 100ml is very good!! sooo envious, hehe.

ellysia,
i also been quite depressed ever since got home esp when baby refuse to latch on and i know he's hungry but yet i have no milk. then the pd also commented it's unusual for most ppl to take such a long time. finally felt better after seeing my gynae yest cos she pressed and finally there was milk and she was very encouraging. my wound also quite bad, the cut was not too bad it's just that my bottom was actually swollen after the delivery. the swelling has since subsided but it's still very sore down there. i dread going toilet nowadays.

K Ong, Cactus, MLP, Felicia, Bizz and Fennie (and all still waiting),
Jia you!!

Just a gentle reminder to continue taking your supplements. i was a little lazy in the last 2 weeks and would miss taking on some days. ended up my blood count is quite low now (gynae did a check yesterday) which would lead to slow healing for the wound. now taking more supplements to make up for it.

To all mummies who have delivered (losing count liao),

Lastly, here's a photo of little Lucas.

1483603.jpg

Tera,
get a bottle of cool water,
cool, boiled ones if you are doing "strict confinement",
as you pass urine, pour the water to "wash" the urine away,
this way it's less painful.
(If you use the toilet spray, make sure the water pressure is not too strong)

I actually asked hubby to fix a "TAP with a long hose" to a pail since my #1 confinement,
everyday my CL will boil water &amp; pour in the pail for me.

Do drink more water, liquid,
else there won't be enough water to produce BM.

Congrats To Mummies who have just pop!!!

Me finally have sometimes to read through the thread.

ellysia,
Me the 1 who dilate 0 and induce. Me have a hard time, me insert the 1st pill on 3 Jun 12.30pm then dilate 1cm only so insert 2nd pill at 4.30pm then go home and told to admit at 12midnite. Me only dilate 2cm when admit so doc put me on drip and burst my waterbag at 1.30am. Have contraction more n more pain then me endure till 6.30am then surrender for epi at 7am. Wait again but can still feel the pain below then by 6pm doc say only 3.5cm so cannot wait liao have to csec. bb out at 6.43pm.

Felicia, Yes, recd. Thanks alot. Even collected
Hw is your raspberry going for u?

Tera, wave wave. Yes, will take each day a time. God test of our patience n faith. Hee..whn i see ur baby eye, mine too have one eye big n one eye small at this stage. Same side as yours. Yes, was only when they squeeze the breast for us, as painful as contraction, tat the milk start to kick in. Then u must everyday kp massaging n remove all the block until a day when all u nd to do is just pump n within half hr the milk will rch 100ml.

Ya the wound heal slower esp wif damp pad n it rubbing the skin. I bgt the alcohol for the wound fr pharma when i cld nt tahan anymore.

Talking abt post-natal, i woke up 1 nite in hospital when the room was so cold n i shiver. Then suddenly i just cry over my hubby hesitant in staying wif me during my confinement cos of his parents conservatism. Tho he finally fight it thru to ensure me he will stay wif me. Smtx cant stand PIL wif conservatism.

Leng Leng,
Thanks for the advice! Just what I needed.
I was using a scoop but becos it's so big, water tends to flow out and it's very messy. :p Bottle sounds good! Ok, i will do that! I also thought of fixing a hose but a bit leh-chey.

Yeah, I think I did not drink enough water. Will bear that in mind. I think soon it's another problem, cos my breasts are starting to feel very sore and hard today. Am massaging them regularly, hopefully can minimise engorgement.

hi all...
finally have the time to logon and say hi...

here's my birth story...

9 Jun 2pm: went for my checkup. was asking gynae if i can induce sometime within this week. she said this week a little tight as she has a few ops to be done. but she says nvm, do a VE then say. who knows... upon checking, she got a look on her face and said to me "i think i hv to send u to the labour ward already. u r already 4-5cm dilated. girl, didnt u feel contractions?" i shook my head...

2.30pm - called my hb and told him to get off work and rush down. sms my colleagues and boss and a couple of frens...

3.00pm - brought down to labour ward.

3.30pm - removed my bowels

3.45pm - gynae came and burst waterbag

4pm - epidural procedure started. asked for a low dosage.

5:30pm - started to feel the contractions. cos of epi, i dun feel pain but i cld feel. abt 2 mins apart.

6.15pm - gynae came and checked, still 6cm dilated. she then contemplated whether to go home have dinner and rush back, saying she stay v near. she thot for a while and decided to go back.

6.30pm - felt a strong urge to push... so called nurse in. checked and 9cm dilated already! she immed went to call my gynae. who knew... she hasnt even reached home and had to make a u-turn back already.

6.50pm - gynae came and asked me to start pushing.

6.57pm - within a few pushes, baby is out. no epitosomy was done, oni a small tear.

i'm glad i asked for a low epi dosage cos i cld still "enjoy" labour with a minimal amt of pain and yet cld push my baby out successfully.

tried to latch in hosp. was able to do so on 2nd day... but baby always sleepy and hardly wake up for feed. when discharged and got home yest, all of a sudden she jus refused to latch anymore. been trying but both mummy and baby get frustrated.

so now i'm pumping frequently to stimulate the milk flow and supplementing some FM. she is getting jaundiced. once my supply kicks in, i will try to latch her again. hopeflly she will cooperate. wish me luck!

i'm now getting quite a fair bit of colostrum from my pumps, so i feed them to baby.

TF,
Wave wave! My gynae taught me yesterday to put desitin on our bottom to act as a barrier (after the wash and spray (if any). Try it.
Yah, got keep massaging breasts but the milk is still very little. But at least it's starting.

I also cried quite a bit, wound pain cry, no milk also cry. Hubby has been very patient so far but I can sense sometimes he also dunno what's wrong with me.

*Hug Hug* It's a trying period now cos we got to cope with our bodies (wound and boobs) plus our baby. Not easy. Try to think happy thoughts ok? One thing at a time. At least now hubby will be staying with you.

Tera, ok, just email u. 1) is on his birth moment 2) is when he ICU aft surgery. 3) Y'day aft his BM feeding. Thanks so much. I'm lvg nw to KKH to see him. Bye

<font color="aa00aa">TF, i stopped drinking the raspberry tea and coconut juice for now. Coz my gynae will be away for this weekend and bak on next Thurs. If baby not kuai-kuai, oso no choice.
Btw, the taste of the tea not very fancy lor, i tot will got some sweet smell, but no leh.

At least u get to drink 2cups before u go to delivered. hehe....

Tera, u had start using the pump? How is it?</font>