(2008/06) June 2008

Grace, more painful. cos body is artifically forced to contract again and again. all natural is the best way to go cos our bodies have time to produce pain surpressing endorpins... which works like epi (though not as well lah). Speaking of which, ladies, do you think eating chocolates during labour will decrease labour pains??

<font color="aa00aa">o...priscilla is joining the Q for today. hehe.... who's next?

Me today taking MC resting at home coz had some indigestion, keep burping gastric juice and feel bit dizzy too.

Grace, try to talk to ur baby or shake a bit of ur tummy. This morning my bb dont move much oso, then i keep talking to her and she finally move.hehe...</font>

roooller, it's anyone's guess. Cos if it is induced labour, she may not dilate that quickly after 4cm. normal unmedicated labours will dilated very quickly during active labour, but how quickly she dilates really depends on the dose of medication she is given from time to time. If the hospital wants to, they can force her body to contract very quickly by increasing the medication but then she'll be very much in pain, cos it's artificial so it can be controlled with drugs.

cactus,
but we nt allow to eat during delivery right?
if does work, i would standby later when i go for my gynae's appt lolz
in case, he asked me to induce too

btw u mention abt our body will produce surpressing endorpins. i wanted to ask, how long will it take?

my #1 i hv epi.
hope i can do w/o this round.

btw will epi cause fever?
my IL ask me to standby chicken essence which i dun want.
#1 i drank then kanna fever during my labour :p

didnt want to take any chance for #2.
cos #1 got complication during labour

roooller,

re: eating during labour

depends on your doctor. in the past, mothers cannot eat at all, cos last time emerg c-section were all GA. These days, emerg c-section is more often epidural. less fear that mother will regurgitate her undigested food into her windpipe, choke and die. Most hospitals practice is that mothers cannot eat except if labour is very long, then can have milo and biscuits. But some hospitals allow mothers to eat simple, easily digested food which are not oily. Ellysia's doctor allowed her to drink soups and eat biscuits during early labour, if I recall correctly. personally, I will be eating too.

I don't know how long our body produces endorphins but I udnerstand that our perceived pain will be less once endorphins are produced, but it is not a complete block such as epidural. most moms who successfully go without epi tend to only use pain relief later in labour (after 4cm) and use only the injection or gas.

I dun know if epi will cause fever.shuld check with your doctor on this. think there is a list of side effects which we will need to acknowledge by way of signature if we opt for epi. if epi causes fever, it should be on that list.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i'm not sure if chocolate will help to reduce labor pain, but so far i know natural way of reduce labor pain include acupressure techniques, breathing method and Hypnobirthing.

For breathing is was said must be take deep breath with ur tummy expanded up and when u exhale, ur tummy will go down. This is the correct way of breathing. As for hynobirthing, it'll be more on mentally and imagination which u had to imagine tat u r in a smooth labor w/o pain and soon u'll be carrying ur lil one.

I'm not sure if i'm at the point of pain will i still be able to 'hypnosised' myself.</font>

Felicia, yeah... I'm hoping to go without epidural but lately realise unless I firmly tell myself that opting for epidural is out of the question, I wlil prob ask for it at some point during labour...

feifei / morranine: Thanks! I will try to endure.

Cactus, wow.. if chocolate can reduce labour pain. I be very happy! I love to eat Chocolate! ;)

Felicia: I tried shaking her.. but not much movement.. Will try again. Btw, oh yes! I also hope that i can go without epi.

hi, i am from MTB May threads, i have just given birth to my bb two weeks earlier, EDD supposed to be in june...i had epidural and assisted delivery...no fever leh......

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">finally get to rest at home.. wow so many mummy popping tday..;p
</font></font>

grace,
i did asked my gynae whether induce will cause painful or not. he said it depends individual.

regard bb movements. since 1pm till now my bb did move alots. so i'm quite relieve.. if bb did not move then we must shaking out tummy and feel whether our bb move or not. must monitor especially we already overdue date.

back frm my check up.. i am 2.5cm dilated.. Dr Wong said i can admit straight if i wan to.. but i chose to come home relax abit 1st.. but nw i bleeding.. might nd to admit today ltr.. so wait for my news ya! good luck to me!

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">jiayou babycupid.. today seems to have many mummie popping.. all the best... hope to hear ore good news soon</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">Roooller, saw fm papers today Motherhood fair is selling Babycraft Playpen Gen 2 at $139. Usual priceL $239.Just share with u as u looking for playpen. =D</font>

ioio,
u on mc today?

Buttercup,
welcome =D.

Babycupid,
Jiayou...excited for u leh...do keep us updated...wonder hows TF now..

<font color="0000ff">Hi, any mummies delivering at thomson medical here? im popping anytime soon actually...</font>

<font color="blue">hi leejen,
i think tera is popping tdy @ TMC as well..she went to induce this morn.. </font>

<font color="0000ff">hi bizznow, thanks...

Just to check, gynae will induce if you overdue?

If have not due, just wait rite?</font>

thanks mylittleprince.
see how's my appt goes later, whether got chance to drop by later
else has to ask hub to chk out himself.
just realize, those 'special price' item has to be purchase at 'special hr' leh
where got time to 'wait' there

<font color="ff6000">liew

natural birth but den overdue on the tenth day den i was so tired of waiting den gynae proposed inducing lor
but i had a natural delivery oso in the end</font>

liew, he suggest induce.. but because i haven tell him i want anot. So i said next monday then confirm.
But he did told me that if induce will be Tue or Wed.

grace &amp; mor,

oic. actually i'm not scare abt the induce but only worry if induce also can't help... then end up will c-section...hope i can induce successful on coming monday.

<font color="blue">leejen,
i think gynae will propose lah..but up to u whether wanna induce anot..if ur placenta n water level all ok i think gynae may suggest to wait lor..think different gynae give different opinions lor.. but if u hvnt due yet n bb size ok i think gynae wont suggest to induce unless u want to lor..</font>

<font color="blue">ask u all ah..if induce n end up c-sect hor..like dat considered as emergency c-sect anot huh?? </font>