(2008/06) June 2008

Kylene,
How are u doing?
Have not chatted with you for a long while.

I have been having amniotic fluid concerns since 35 week. In fact last visit on sat also showed fluid is going down again. I will be seeing my gynae later to check. Since your baby is already full-term, and should there be a need to take him out earlier cos of the fluid level, it is actually better for the baby. What you need to do now is monitor bb movements everyday till ur next check-up (believe ur gynae would have informed you). Don't worry too much ok? Hang in there!

Btw, your EDD is still 15 June?

Hi Jessica,
thanks. My dr did tell me to monitor the baby's movt closely and go back for a re-check on fri. if the level is still low, she'll induce me liao.

Hi Tera!
how are u ? ya, my EDD is still 15th June
I've started my leave, so will have more time to log in now. everything's been ok till yesterday i was told the amniotic fluid's boderline low, think was 4.5? ideally should be more than 5 . what was your level?

Felicia,
Can understand your gan-cheongness. Me also gan-cheong to look at the screen, except mine is hoping to see that bb has put on more wt. :p

Oh sounds like baby is pushing downwards, can be very uncomfortable. Think u shld start to rest at home, since I recall u mentioning work was quite bz. U need the energy so I think rest in advance is good.

Kylene,
I'm doing ok!
Rather bored at home cos started ML like last week.

Mine was 5.6. Actually, since week 35, it has been a yo-yo of sorts, down then down then suddenly it went up. I also dunno what I did to make the level go up. Tho' I did read on the internet, increasing our intake of fluid may help. Think our situations quite similar, the gynae will make a decision later whether to induce or not.

I did read on the internet that increasing intake of fluid may help so i'm drinking more since yesterday

but when i asked my dr about it, she says it actually doesn't help at all unless I was severedly dehydrated in the 1st place. which is obviously not in my case. but it drinking more helps me feel better so I'm going ahead with it!

when is your next check up?

Kylene,
Haha, same here, my gynae also told me drinking more water does not help.
Will be seeing gynae this morning at 10.30am.

morr,
Morning! Btw, been wanting to ask u - did u get my PM on the leggings?

<font color="blue">gd morn all..me back from gynae checkup yday..my weight remains the same so nurse ask me bb got movement anot..i told her bb movement lesser..so she suggest better do ctg..so checked wif gynae n i was in the room doing ctg..luckily bb heartbeat very gd..hehe..but got scolding from gynae cos he said i shld hv came in earlier when i realised not much movement..cos bb start to be very inactive on mon..bb only starts to move when i was on ctg lor..naughty bb..hehe.. but other than dat everything ok..bb still hvnt engage..n he's in the correct position now..doc said he's facing my spine..now still dunno if bb got put on weight anot cos doc said if take weekly the weight not so accurate..likely going to do a detailed scan next week cos scared bb too big..

mog,
haha..i went to buy TSP b4 i go to the appt..but got to queue up leh..so surprised lor..even the boss there said dunno how come tuesday also need to queue up..normlly no queue 1.. i was quite lucky lah..i bought 26pieces..but only being charged @ $9 cos the boss said some of the TSP dun look dat nice..so sell cheaper..hehe..i more than happy lor.. juz take..hehe..

ellysia,
wah..sounds like an ordeal leh..ur labour..scary..i hope mine will be smooth lor..u take care ok..

<font color="ff6000">bizz

same here lor.. bb movement lessen when i told gynae on mon during check up den did a CTG den he said.. all is well so his conclusion is tat bb is conserving energy coz he noes going into labour soon so again one word for me.. WAIT!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Tera, so u'll be goin for your gynae's visit later? Good luck and update us when you back. My hubby told me all this gan cheongness wont help to improve anything, but i just cannot ctrl lor. I think is normal reaction lah.

bizz, wat a good deal, 26pcs for $9! If i remember correctly one piece is around 50-60cts, rite? Queing on tuesday? Bit funny lor maybe lot of mummies saw our comment here and start craving for thr TSP. haha....</font>

Hi Ellysia, Wow!! Your birth story is just amazing. Hope you start feeling better soon. The thing about VE checks.. it's better to have it done by the same person for consistency cos different pple have slightly different estimations. As for vommitting, it is common to vomit as effect of epidural, but if in great pain, it is normal to vomit also. Last thing, if have epidural too early, chances are labour will be longer (perhaps in your case) but luckily you didn't end up as a c-section case.. some doctors are impatient and would just recommend a c-section.. like in my SIL's case and my hb's cousin-in-law's case.

<font color="aa00aa">Mor, waiting game is not fun at all leh.
During my 1st pregnancy i was scheduled to c-sec at 37wk, which is now i'm at wk37. So, tat time i'm well mentally prepared to check into hospital which is a wednesday. Then now i'm like wait and wait, dont know when baby wanna come out leh. </font>

can I just check regarding baby's movement? does it have to be a strong kick to be considered "1 movement" ? cos i feel that my baby tends to be "stretching" more nowadays - slow motion , and only occasional kicking

<font color="ff6000">felicia

yeah lor.. waiting game indeed is no fun.. my #1 made me wait extra ten days so i think this #2 is following his sis footsteps!! haiz..</font>

i tink i soon to be in labour.. cos this morning i had alot of mucus plug with blood stain..
nw in office clearing my stuff..

morning gals...
i am having slight brownish discharge... now monitoring myself... no contraction or watsoever though...

ellysia...
wat an experience for u... so sorry to know u had to go thru so much pain and the nurse... aiyoh... how can she be so careless...
try to latch bb as much as u can...
and as for water retention, are u getting a malay massage? if u r, u can get her to use the clarins anti-eau oil to massage for u to rid u of the water retention.

felicia, morr...
hehe... i guess our waiting seems tortured cos more and more mummies are popping while we are still looking out for signs! :p

babycupid...
oh... take care and keep us updated.... faster clear ur work and then if poss, go home and take a short rest...

<font color="ff6000">babycupid

wow.. quick clear!! good for u.. signs liaoz..

soyabean

ya lor.. at least u have some discharge.. mine arh.. haiz.. no feel.. no nothing</font>

morr,
No probs, I have PM-ed u!

felicia,
Hehe, i'm getting ready to sms u if i need to be induced.

Kylene,
I treat the stretching as 1 movement cos nowadays the kicks are very infrequent.

<font color="ff6000">i oso read before if there is too frequent frantic movements all of a sudden oso must observe carefully in case bb is doing to stress mode</font>

babycupid,
so envy heard most of you all get ready for give birth...
i'm still waiting my gal... sigh... due date yesterday but till now no sign yet.... i climb staircase since yesterday liao..
anyone got tips?

<font color="aa00aa">babycupid, wow, fast liao! So soon will be able to hear good news fr you!

Tera, ok, i'll check my phone frequently. hehe...

soyabean/ mor, me only had more and more discharge, consider as sign? haha......

ladies, i was wondering any possibility of dilation only happen on day of labour? Any idea wat is the shortest timing from 0 dilation till labour?</font>

kekeke.. so excited when i saw the muscus plug.. yd saw it but its clear without blood.. but this morning is alot and with blood stain.. so i guess its time..

liew,
no worry.. ur turn will come!!

babycupid,
great to hear that... must be very excited rite? so are u going to see ur gynae now or direct going hospital?

rooller,
sure or not?

<font color="ff6000">liew

yeah rooller is rite.. SEX!! *lol*

rooller

hmmm mine oso at nite jin active one.. haiz.. i give up hope of waiting.. let it be...</font>

liew,
this one gf taught me.
then i cant remember someone agree too
now morraine too lolz

i didnt want to try cos now i want bb to b out later.

no harm trying, ur hub will love it

Ellysia,
Hug hugs. Hope you're feeling better now. Very unpro of the nurse to wait till your bb head crown before calling gynae. Good thing you found out and managed to get your gynae there. Stay strong k. Wounds will heal over time. Rest well.

Congrats! The long awaited day has arrived.

<font color="aa00aa">WOWO! Sex helps! hehe....
But hor, me now move from left to right, right to left oso in pain liao, where got mood to do leh.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">btw, anyone goin to MOtherhood fair @expo on this Friday nite? Hubby said better dont go on weekend, afraid too crowded then i kana push.</font>

soyabean : sounds like good news !! all the best ok ?

Ellysia : thanks for sharing your birth story !! Glad you are home and resting now !!! yah, problem with VE is it's an estimate only so diff nurses will have diff measurements - luckily your Doc came to check you often enough !!!

Morr : let;s wait together ! heeheeee

k ong...
thanks! actuali i was hoping baby will "lun" until 06/06. haha... eh btw, hv u added me on LJ?
and oh... my hosp bag oni packed last week! my hubby oni put it in his car a few days go... shld start packing... cos we reali never know WHEN...

felicia,
u no need to move lah
ask ur hub to 'help', i bet he will b more happy to do so. lolz

motherhood fair
me n priscilla thinking to go 2moro.
if i'm gg will try to reach there early 11am.
yest i post a link, if u getting anything fr MIM, they hv 10% disc for $50 purchase

babycupid...
why not call ur gynae and check? cos the logic is to go in when there is contractions. but jus to be sure maybe check wif ur gynae...

Hello Ellysia,

Pardon my intrusion (I'm a Aug MTB).
Thanks for sharing your birth experience.

May I ask if u were diagnosed anaemic during ur 3rd trimester? From ur experience, u said that u had low BP and almost had a blood transfusion. Weren't you given a higher dose of iron supplements by your gynae to prevent such possible occurrence of low BP after delivery?

Your experience reminded me of what my gynae mentioned to me about my current situation - low iron level despite supplementation since 1st trimester. My gynae hence increased my dosage but I'm not sure if that alone will help eventually or I need to change my diet a little to eat more iron-rich foods like beef (which so far I haven't been doing - juz relying on supplementation for now)

babycupid,
actually i think u better go home rest first. wait and see whether got any contraction or not loh. if on and off contraction then u might go down gynae before admit hospital..

<font color="0000ff">Morning ladies! Congrats to Ellysia, Jessica and Linda!!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Too busy to join in yesterday due to work and rushing off for checkup in the afternoon! Had a long period of BH yesterday noon time. Whole tummy harden.... then stop. after a while, harden again. make me kan chiong lor.

At checkup, same thing => WAIT! So far, placenta and amniotic fluid still OK. bb is engaged so it's just waiting for the pain and show to come. I'm hoping to DONG until next Tues. hehe... I encountered menses like cramp last nite so can't sleep well. took AL today to rest at home. Is menses cramp common?

BBcupid &amp; soyabean: think u gals in the frontline liao... soon be pretty soon! =D</font>

<font color="aa00aa">roooller,

Oic,so u gals will go on Thursday. Then update us on any special promo when u back, okie? In fact i'm thinking to go just to see if got good deal on wet wipes and diapers.</font>

BabyCupid,
I also had show and lost my mucus plug on Mon nite, big red blob then brown stain. But no strong contractions so I went to sleep. I also didn't want to go hospital, but my gynae told me previously if got show must go to his clinic for check, so I obediently went yesterday, spent whole morning waiting and on CTG. Contractions not regular and not dilated, but cervix is very soft. He gave me HL to rest at home and wait for labour to start, thinks maybe these few days. I'm 38 + 4 now. But he also said some ppl v fast, cos show is accompanied by contractions, some ppl can wait up to 1 week b4 labour. Best to call your gynae, go clinic and check. May not need to admit unless got contractions or dilated.

Anybody else like me, had show but no contractions and still hanging around? This is my #2, #1 boy was overdue 3 days and I had to induce cos v big, born 3.5kg. Very sian waiting at home, went for long walk yesterday hoping to speed up labour. So far only irregular contractions or BHCs.