(2008/06) June 2008

Morning ladies

Congrats to elaine and aprilmum.....

So shiok today... got HL for 1 week therefore nw staying at home and nua..... heee

\Morning ladies, TGIF!!!!

Congrats to Elaine n Aprilmum!!!

It's gonna be a busy day so just wanna say Hi to all here first.. =)

Prisc: rest well yah! hee....

Connie: Yup, that shld be bb hiccupping. My bb seems to hiccup more these days. and sometimes quite loud somemore. haha...}

<font color="aa00aa">sharon,
did u check wif yur PD if bb jaundice lvl is due to BM? cos i was told tat there is "real" jaundice - tat's lungs not developed fully yet &amp; there is "BM" jaundice - tat's jaundice cos by bb feeding on BM. my bb then was suffering from BM jaundice &amp; PD taught us the way to bring down her jaundice lvl (which keeps increasing) then was to stop total BF &amp; keep her on FM. after 2 days, bb jaundice lvl drops very drastically, then we put her back to BM but she now on BM in the day &amp; FM at nite to keep the jaundice lvl at bay. am told tat latest by 9th wks, bb lungs wld be fully matured n jaundice will auto disappear. maybe u wan find out more from your PD to c which jaundice is bb sharon having &amp; it will helps u to tackle the situation better?

TF,
opppss....been missing out on so many posts tat i didnt realise tat u were the last pax to MSN wif ellysia. kekekekee....

Mog / Roxy,
btw, i realise tat carrying bbs can also help us tone our upper arms...hahahaaa....
now i abit ambitious, wan to shed an extra 3kgs to get back my pre-wedding wtg but the wtg doesnt seem to wan come off liao. maybe tat will ve to diet but now not the time...when i stop TBF, then will go on diet lar...the consolation now is tat at least i dun ve to overhaul my wardrobe but ve to change my bras though cos now 1 side bigger than the other...kekekekee....

Roxy,
Isaiah so HANDSOME!!! wanna carry him ley...</font>

cactus...
i see... thanks for the info...

priscilla...
baby oil acts like a moisturisor i suppose? so i guess it depends on individual's pref on wat to use... baby lotion or oil? i guess oil can be used if u wan to give ur bb a massage?

Priscilla, a friend who attended TMC antenatal class shared with me not to use baby powder in case powder gets into bb's nose. Maybe those mothers who attended TMC antenatal class can clarify on this. I only bought baby lotion, to moisturize the dry parts of bb, like insides of elbows, etc, and to try prevent diaper rash. If baby lotion doesn't work, I'll need to buy barrier cream. my friend's daughter has very sensitive skin. she uses a Johnson's barrier cream. apparently can only be bought from KK hosp. Her mom works at KKH and buys it for her. She delivered at TMC.

Priscilla/soyabean, if you want to give bb a massage, do use a baby safe massage oil, cos never know if bb will lick on hands/suck thumbs. I was told to use very small amounts of veg oil or edible oils.

rooller

My Edd is on 28 June still far away....
I had some spotting, think its mucus plug cos doc say bleeding frm cervix... therefore ask mi to rest... hooked on CTG yesterday, have irregular contractions which i am not aware of... Its about 4 in an hour so have to monitor lor

MLP
will rest well de tks
it jus tat i cant stand staying at home...
I am wondering how to survive my confinement....

Husband dun allow mi to step out of the house... haiz... then i told him i still need to go see doc one leh....

Cactus
huh... vege oil??? wat about johnson baby lotion??? is it safe???

Re Baby powder
I am more worried that due to hot weather, baby may sweat and if using diaper may develop rashes... cos baby wee wee and everything....

Priscilla, I don't know you know... I plan to just use baby lotion on the infolds of bb's skin, that's all. but plan to use a little bit of edible veg oil for normal massage on other parts of bb's body. as long as bb doesn't develop rash or sensitivity lah. I think if you plan to give bb massages, best is to check if the massage oil you use is bb safe, esp if bb consumes it. For example, most nipple creams are bb safe.. no need to wipe/wash off befor ebreast feeding.

Cactus
My MIL was telling mi to use sesame oil for baby belly button... was telling mi this is to prevent water from getting in...

I feel so gross...

I have not buy any nipple cream yet...maybe will buy baby lotion first... massage of baby think will see how first...

Prisc: tat's scary. sounds like start of confinement liao! rem some ladies here log on to online game.

http://www.viwawa.com/

Maybe can play when u r bored.

I'm intending to use the diaper rash cream only (Drapolene). I was thinking for bb massage, I will use J&amp;J oil or their lavender lotion.

Ops talking abt msn wif Ellysia, last nite, for the first time, i feel cramp-like pain for half. And the tummy like grinding, dunno issit starting to adjust for contraction. Then i was tinking, dun tell me so zhun when msn Ellysia, kena already..wahaha

Cactus
Y'day i tried one piece without the Citrus Acid at all. It still hardens like the rest wif CA. So it's nt the CA tat hardens. I tink CA just gives the fruity flavours tat usu found in can fruits or drinks. So still can pass CA if wnt to.

TF, thanks for sharing! So smart of you to try 1 piece without CA! next time I won't rush to buy if I've left it out during the shopping!

Morning Mummies!

Congrats to Aprilmum! I wonder how is her experience like.. does anyone know? =)

Feifei: Your princess is so so cute! Now i begin to think.. if my baby will have hair anot.. haha

Morning Cactus &amp; Ellysia! Both of U are early!

morning ladies!

nipple cream:
i think no need to buy leh. i bought liao also no use. just use your breastmilk to moisturise the area is sufficient. at least it works for me.

powder/lotion/oil:
i initally wanted to use powder coz my baby not sleeping in air con. I scared she's sweaty. but i realised no need. in fact, my CL only apply some J&amp;J baby oil on her after bath to moisturise her.

diapers/wipes:
my ger really poo and wee a lot. so diapers and wipes use a lot. need to stock up a lot of wipes. I did not stock enough. have to ask hubby to go and buy.

bb hiccupping for more than 15min in the tummy, is that a norm?

How do we know bb movement in the tummy is consider reducing? Now, he don move as much as last month. Even move, also a little bit. But after I knock on my tummy, he might react a bit then no more. Consider reducing?

Grace, yah. I follow my h b to work these days.. since Monday. Will prob do so till I pop!!

Connie, yes, it's normal. bb hiccuping is a sign of healthy and good growth. bb is exercising his lungs, my doctor told me. Different doctors have different methods to monitor bb's movements. maybe you want to check with your doctor if your bb is moving less? My bb is moving less and no longer kicking or boxing. now more of stretching and shifting and nudging or sliding a leg against my tummy. I would say his movemnets are slightly reduced in terms of frequency but I'm not too concerned yet.

aprilmum sms me yd nite.. cos it was too late therefore i did not ask her for further details.. i tink we got to wait for her to post here lor.. kekeke..

aiyo.. so envy those who has show, symptoms etc.. i dun have it at all.. only contractions when doin the CTG machine yd.. waiting game for me..

Pris
From antenatal n books i read, try to avoid putting baby powder, especially Talc. Actually even when we shower baby, dun really need to use soap/bath foam. But if we wnt for smell purpose, just a small tiny drop. The reason is baby skin is natural n moist and all these products are commercially manufactured. Actually i only bgt the Mothercare bath foam just for smell (nw promo, buy 2 get 1 free, cheap) n use a drop. I dun get the lotion, powder, etc.. perhaps when their immune stronger later bah

TF
I did not buy any baby bath foam leh... I am using aloe vera products from forever for baby bath... it can prevent ezcema(dunno how to spell), Its ph balance too...

Babycupid
I also dun like the waiting game... hee hopefully baby will stay in mi till past 37 weeks.. now i am only 36weeks lor already experiencing irregular contractions liao....

Pris, no nd bath foam loh. I bgt cos i like the smell..haha..i even like the Mothercare Chamomile Shampoo smell, may get n store up for next time use, nt nw. Natural Aloe Vera should be good.

Cactus, oh.. For me, i am late every day. =) Sometime find it too lazy to wake up early.

Thks BabyCupid, will look forward to see her post on her experience. =)

<font color="aa00aa">Priscilla, do not use sesame oil on bb belly button.
During my #1, my mil oso put the sesame oil on my girl's belly button and i did question her. Like ur mil, she said is prevent water from entering, but i somehow feel uncomfortable. But luckily when we paid visit to the PD after 1st week of delivery, the PD smelled the sesame oil and asked my mil and told her this will cause infection. Then my mil stop applying it. *Heng ah*
Anyhow, PD will give u some antiseptic wipe and some powder form thing to apply on bb belly button, so dont use the sesame oil.</font>

sigh... dats the prob with the older generation... there are so many things they "believe" in and will insist that we follow. and when questioned the reason why we shld do those, they cannot tell us a logical explanation. i kena so much of these during my confinement with #1 and that was wat strained our relationship.

Felicia
Tks for the info.... I also not very comfortable with using sesame oil for baby...

Have already told her that doc will be giving medicine for it... think will bring MIL along when visiting the PD... let her ask whatever she wants to ask... else she will not listen lor...
I only afraid that her opinion and CL opinion will clash lor.... She always have her own thinking and she always think that she is rite...

Congrats to aprilmum and elaine...

Update from ydd's checkup... my bibi still dun wany to engaged... no dilation... yang shui slightly lower than normal... dr worried... if continued like tt on Mon... must induced... Haizzz... nw already 39 weeks... EDD on 5 Jun... No signs of labour yet, how how how??

So jealous to see so many mums popped liao and with cute babies photos...

btw gals... are we supposed to use any antiseptic lotion or watever to clean our down-there after we deliver? i seriously cant rembr wat i used during my #1. :p

TF
old pple are like tat one... no doctor they think they are doctor... when being confronted they realise they are wrong, they jus act blur....

Jessica
Dun think too much... the more you hope for it wont come... jus relax and who knows maybe labour may jus kick in....

Soyabean, so nxt time we dun wnt to follow wat the older belief tat are baseless, we quote "doctor say", then we r in peace..hee.
I bgt 2 pkts of Sterile cotton ball, meant to use for the baby belly button n our V area after deliver, with the antiseptic tat doc will gv.

Tat what i going to do. Nt sure if u read my post that my MIL going to drown me to drink the Rice Wine n Ginger tat she going to make. I will take small portion only. I already start quoting her doc say cannot too much cos i b/f. She still say, last time my MIL make we also drink. Then i say last time u dun gv BM mah.

ladies, just a question to ask.. last time birth control pills unsafe right? have alot of side effects.. but does anyone know if birth control pills marketed in the recent years are safer? I was just thinking again about my SIL. I know she had been taking those pills for many years (about 4 years) before her #1 miscarriage.. then her #2, and her #3 is abnormal... she's very young leh. my age only. She miscarried at 24 and abnormal bb at 28.

TF...
i had a BIG issue with my MIL over DOM the other time. She kept asking me EVERYDAY to drink DOM. I keep giving her the SAME reply "no... i dun wan cos bfg..." but EVERYDAY she will keep asking me. until i sibeh fed-up and one day, i cldnt take it anymore and i shouted back at her.

anyway, a few mths back, she kept asking me abt DOM again. i told her i dun wan to drink. and guess wat she said "oh then wat u wan to drink? whisky?" till this day, my ans to her is still NO.

Felicia, TF, even when I quote 'Doctor' to my MIL about my son, she wont listen one. She always want me to spend $$ (consultation &amp; cab)bring son down to PD again and hear it for herself even though she know the PD speaks english which she does not understand. What to do, entertain her sometimes lor, but very small matters then will tell her its small matters, since she has 20 over yrs childcare experience how can she dun noe? Then this will zip her mouth.

Cactus, ginger is best not to be consume alot even though we preggie, coz may attributes to jaundice.

Hey Jessica! Haiz.. Understand how you feel. My EDD also on 5 June! Total no sign yet too... Sometime felt pretty upset about it coz plus baby weight now is 3.3 le. Though sometime i know it is for a purpose. =)

So let's press on together!

Cactus, actually ginger part also cannot take too much when preggie. As slice in cooking ok. The reason is if we get too heaty, our baby will be too Yang in future. Tat wat hapen to my hubby. His liver always gets very heaty.

Regarding birth control pill, no matter hw safe, there's still element of chemical tat i still prefer to think smtx researchers may nt have found out the effect on babies. So usu, they will advice to stop the pill at least 6 mths (i tink) b4 u plan for pregnancy, i guess to let the toxic clear off first.

Soyabean, sound familiar but i knw my MIL will keep asking me like yours did. I even intend if she dump me too much of the wine thingy, i going to gv my mum drink n pu my mum for her rhumatism..haha

kekeke..

Grace &amp; Jessica,
pray hard! my edd is 7 june.. bb oso no sign of coming out.. dun wan overdue n induce leh!