(2008/06) June 2008

crystal...
i think ur ss is good!
cos anyway now bb dun drink much... but as bb grows, it may not be enuf... how many times are u pumping? do u try to latch?

soyabean, we are allowed to knock off an hr earlier at 430pm but hubby picking me up only at 6pm. Sianz...

Jessica, I was told not too late -last x i was at the talk. I have not decided yet too. Me 36 weeks.

<font color="blue">hey felicia,
yah..my edd now same as u..i actually hoping bb will come out in 40th week..best is to let me watch finish euro cup 2008 then come out..haha..but if really come out after dat means hor bb will be a few days late..currently i dun hv any swelling leh..juz dat i feel pain @ the pelvic area..</font>

hi ladies, good morning!

I was in this thread quite a few months ago, but fell sick and then got so busy with work i could never catch up on the posts cause moving so fast, so been reading this thread on and off. it's kind of very late stage already, but wondering if i can still join in? it's so exciting to see different people taking turns to pop
my EDD is 12 june and am expecting a baby girl.

also thinking about cordblood banking with cordlife. Jenny, can i ask how much you paid for CordLife? i called them up, and they're charging 800 for 1st year, and 250 for subsequent yrs. StemCord, which uses different technology, is charging ~350 1st yr, and 250 subsequently.

hi roooller, your nick sounds really familiar.. do you happen to have bought a $500 Novena furniture voucher some years back from a forummer from SingaporeBrides? if you do, then that person is me! ;)

cactus...
i reali envy the mummies who go thru labour without epidural... :p i wanna ask these mummies if the stitching up was painful since they didnt take epidural or not. eeks... i think i may be able to tahan the pain but if no epidural will cause stitching to hurt............

<font color="aa00aa">Tera/ Soyabean, thanks! i'll take MC if really cannot tahan.
Just now taken one cup of hot milo oredy and bb is moving a lot inside now.

Jessica, my #1 was under stem cord. As far as i know, the quotation will be based on your gynae as well. Last time, my fee was about $1200+, but i recomended my friend, and her quote only $700+. So, is better to check with the company urself.

bizznow, my swelling feet just started recently. Till this morning still there, i dont think will subside liao. As for pelvic pain is more obvious and frequent this few days. I had to stand up slowly after sitting for around 30mins, coz pelvic will feel pain.</font>

Soyabean, my friend did it without epidural. She said no pain during sticthing cos her doctor gave her a local anaesthetic there before sewing up. some doctors just ask moms to use laughing gas. if you go without epi, and if you feel pain, just tell the doctor.

bonjovi, Felicia just pointed out something I forgot to add. If you didn't use to have swollen feet, and now started to swell together with other signs, it's ilkely that bb is starting to engage too. I started having piggish feet and toes about 2 weeks ago. That's why I think it's a sign that bb is much lower than before.

<font color="blue">felicia,
yah..the pain is more frequent..but i tink i not as bad as u lah..i need to walk juz a few min then ok liao..it's most painful when i juz woke up in the morn lor..dun understd y..sometimes i think y pain huh??is it cos bb engage liao or wat..u noe anot?? </font>

Soyabean, if you want to avoid epi, try to avoid induction, avoid going to hospital early (may not be possible if waterbag prematurely ruptures or if you have strep B infection which requires IV antibiotics during labour, or any other condition which requires monitoring from early stage of labour). Cos if you request for epi when you are more than 6cm, the doctor won't give it to you cos too late. So you are "forced" to go without epi. If your bb is in a good labour position (not bb's spine against your spine) and if you keep moving constantly (stay upright, change positions, walk, climb stairs during early labour), chances are you will be at least 4cm dilated if you experience contractions lasting 1 min 5 min apart, for 1 hour. Once you are at least 4cm, and if no change to bb's position in the uterus, you should be dilating at at least 1cm per hour. Once you are at 7cm, you are at transition stage.. the toughest stage. you need to be in hospital by 7cm. So between 4cm to 7cm, you have about 2 to 3 hours to pack up and go to hospital. Hope this info helps. I'm hoping to go without epi too.. but taking it step by step. Just want my bb to engage first... then confirm I dun have Strep B.. then see how it goes!

cactus...
i dun fulfill one of the scenarios already... i will be on IV antibiotics during labour cos i hv been tested positive for strep B... :p haha... i think i better ask for epi early...

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, you're making me so happy leh with your post on swollen feet, tat bb might starting engage. hehe... coz i had been wanting bb to engage faster. But,i still had to wait for my next check up which is another 1 week plus to confirm.
Hopefully.....</font>

Monring
Bonjovi, yes, you can do anything in mummy n baby info. They have the 'add on the right side of screen". Feel free to contribute.

Zuen, 3-hourly is gd loh, better than 2 hourly

Sharon, Congrats!!. Wow, yours likely Quietly Pop as if nthg hapen. When i read your thread like 'chicken feet' to give birth..:p

Felicia, step by step!
Im' really hoping for natural delivery, but taking it step by step. if bb engages properly and nicely, good for the moment.
So far he is very guai. heads down since 24 weeks.

cactus...
yeah... i will check with my gynae on when she wans me to be admitted. i guess if its a case of waterbag break, i hv to admit immed. but if there are contractions but no waterbag break, still can delay going to the hospy for a while.
i took epi for #1 but i seriously cant rembr how many cm dilated i was when i opted for it. i believe it was abt b4 3cm. but my contractions were abt 5mins apart at that time already and the pain was unbearable. mine was a natural birth in the end with no assist cos my gynae instructed to switch off the epi once i was 10cm dilated. :p

Jessica
The lady in Cordlife told me tat Stemcord uses different way of storing, ie. in the test tube method than the bag method, so nt so gd tat y cheaper. And Stemcord is local, Cordlife is Australian wif the Accreditation. U just nd to gv a phone call away n someone will come n meet u wif the box deliver on same day too.

Peachbloom
Welcome!

soyabean, yah. If waterbag break, must admit immediately. cannot delay. But only 10% of mothers will have waterbag break before active labour. so that's a thought to keep in mind! actually it's hard to tell how dilated we are when contractions start. Cos if we feel contractions are unbearable, it may mean, it is induced labour, or bb's spine is against our back. or it is in active labour stage. 2 friends told me it was only at about 5cm that they asked for epidural. They only found it unbearable at 5cm. Interestingly both of them dun have high threashold for pain - self confessed. What they both had in common is a very good bb position and very late admission to hospital (meaning alot of moving around during early labour).

cactus, my feet din swell much during entire pregnancy until last week. But it only lasted about a week-swell n going off slightly and swell again. It is almost back to normal now-swelling gone. But I do feel bb's hiccups below n pelvis started to get a little painful n sore if i walk a little more. Thanks for the very detailed sharing. U sure can describe things well.

TF, i would go in to do the "adding". Thank U. z

Felicia, u take good care of yourself
Rest and rest if u need.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, yup, step by step.
My bb head down only since 30wks. Then on my previous check up, gynae said bb position is very good for delivery as her face was facing my spine.

Then out from the clinic, i quickly talked to my baby, asking her just maintained at this position and get her head engaged. haha....
Thou i know baby still can turn left, right even after engaged but me just greedy lor, hopefully bb maintained at that position.</font>

Felicia, baby steps is the way to go. My SIL's bb only went heads down at 37 weeks leh... I think ur bb is doing very well! Keep talking to her!

morning ladies

Congrats to Sharon... dats was fast delivery...

cactus
u are in wat wk now?? Today me in wk 37, gynea not in Singapore till next Monday. Hopefully bb wait till he's back....have yr bb enggaged? My last check up was on 30Apr....till now i didn't go for my 2 wks check up....

Cactus
Ops i tink you miss an article tat i post smtx back tat govt allow pre-existing for New Born in Medishield liao. http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A1Story20080414-59734.html
BTW, so confuse over the IncomeShield n MyShield went i look at them y'day. Both are as charged. I checked wif my SIL fr Pru, she mentioned that NTUC has the approval list of doctors tat work like car IDAC insurance that u need to verify(forum i showed u y'day). And its true if one admit hospital, must notify NTUC 3-4 days in advance, unless if its emergency admission, then no need.

Danryan, ur a cool mum. Y didn't you go for your 2 wks cheeck up? keeping talking to bb, Im sure bb will wait

Felicia, that's good to know. Milo always make me feel good too.

thanks TinyFeet! ya, read about the accrediation so thought we'd go with cordlife. but gotta do it soon before i pop. wow cactus you know all the details down to the T!! for those of you going all natural without epidural, my salute to you! jia you
as for me, i'm going for epidural.

and congrats to those who have popped. i'm sure it must have been an amazing experience during the delivery.

i have a question on baby's nursery - still in the midst of setting up baby's room. do you ladies buy dimming lights, the kind for night feeds, or do you use the night lights on the cot mobiles? any suggestions where i should look?

Danryan, I'm at week 35, 5 days today!
Last Thursday, bb not engaged yet.
Dun know if bb has engaged yet. Will only know next Friday.

Soyabean, Just have to contact the public bank, meet up with a representative before delivery, then let your doctor know.

peachbloom
no probm. u can call Cherlene from cordlife at 97118703 n she can arrange to meet u at your convenient. Then remember to chio mama who has signed up so both get discount of $50, i tink. And TMC card has disc too, i tink.

TF, I'm with NTUC shield plan. They sent me a mailer saying now no need to notify before admission. Also, there is no need to seek approval of doctor already. since last year in fact... maybe your SIL not clear cos she is with Prudential?

actually, I hope to clarify NTUC's shield plan.

Last time, it is true we need to notify before admission, but now no longer need to (think WEF Nov 07). I didn't have to notify for my admission in May 07 cos it was A&amp;E admission. My Grandma didn't even notify when she went for scheduled surgery in March 08. Cos change in terms of NTUC's plan.

ALso, last time, NTUC maintained the right to approve claims based on doctors. But the list of doctors is not like IDAC. It was just a non-exhaustive list. If we want approval, we just inform NTUC of our doctor's name. That name NEED NOT be on NTUC's list. NTUC will check and tell us okay. But WEF last year, no longer this requirement to seek NTUC's approval.

Hope this clarifies!

TF, so coincidental!! This is the letter I was talking about! But I read it again leh.. it still says that the woman is complaining that Medishield won't cover congenital diseases leh.. just like private insurers? Am I missing something here?

"I WAS overjoyed when I read a pledge by Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan recently in the Health Ministry's website that every newborn baby will have insurance coverage at birth.

I am pregnant and my unborn child has been diagnosed with a congenital anomaly.

I was overjoyed when I read the pledge because private insurers will not cover my baby upon birth.

But when I called the ministry's hotline to find out about the coverage, I was told that MediShield won't cover my newborn either.

"

me no mood to work liao....today last day to start my early ML....

having a lot of tummy tightening in the nite...bb really didn't sleep when time for me to sleep...dats mean i will not be sleeping in the nite though if she is born hehehhe...

peachbloom,
Talked to Cordlife and their charges is like $1450, then subsequent is $250 per yr... find it rather ex... nv hear them got $800 one lei... can enlighten?

Felicia,
Ok, will check with StemCord on this if they do give discount. My gyne is Dr Lawrence Ang. Do I have to call up Dr Ang to check too??

TF,
My gf says that StemCord is international worr.. hmm, me confused liao... There's no website for StemCord for me to check out more... Anyone got any idea. Help...

Cactus,
Like you, was quite skeptial abt this cord blood storage... but after seeking my family dr's advise, hubby decided (last minute) to go for storage. And when I talked to Cordlife, they sais a bit late now for the arrangement, so now I "panicked" lor...

cactus
my AIA consultant told me after bb 1mth then we can sign up for them...like my 2nd child his 3rd year then covered wo....

Cactus
Yes, she wif Pru as agent. Then i will tell her NTUC has changed all these. Gd tat they change else there'll be hooha. I knw u wif NTUC, hw cum they got 2 types of shield? Incomeshield n Myshield?

Zuen: Yeah!! Little zuen gained weight le.. Once she starts to gain weight, it will be all th way le.. Hope little zuen can go back soon

Sharon: Congrats! You give bith le still can come online.. POWER!

Jessica
Huh y late. Just 2 weeks back when Cherlene fr Cordlife met me (i was only on get to knw more intention), she already come down wif the kit. So she explain n all ready to pass me anytime. Like very prompt.

Danryan, yah. most insurers only take bbs from 28 days onwards.

TF, no. NTUC have incomshield. Aviva is MyShield. Hope this clarifies!

<font color="aa00aa">Jessica,
Yes, you can called Dr Ang see wat is his advice.
Me under him too. Pls let me know if he'll asked for xtra charges to get the cord blood, coz i might donate to SCBB, a smy #1 was oredy bank with stemcord.
Btw, for stemcord website is www.stemcord.com</font>

thank you Tinyfeet! did u also sign up with them? will give Cherlene a call today. ok i will get a "referer" to get the discount.

am at 37 weeks 2 days today. 2 days ago, gynae said baby's head down but not engaged yet, but she wasn't too worried cause she said usually they engage ~37-38 weeks.

<font color="aa00aa">Jessica, i was browsing thru Stemcord website and found that if you were refered by an existing csutomer, you'll get disc for the 2nd yr annual fee. You might want to check with stemcord, i can be your referal if u need, as i can get disc too. hehe....no obligation.</font>