(2008/06) June 2008

feifei
good luck to u and hope the bb will be fine...

just asking u coz like my case last time was doc straight away use drip when i check in to labour rm....mayb i already dilate dat time

cactus,

Yesh my gynae is always open minded type.. she will only be cautious when necessary.. tats why i trusted her opinion. She said biscuits and bread is ok but not rice and curry. chix essence she told got 1 mum eat inside labour room also no problem.

cactus,

cramping.. ai yo.. rest rest!! more and more bbs going to pop soon !!
so happy

I'm very confused with what cramping signals...

I think it means either bb is pushing downwards, or cervix is dilating, or our body is just experiencing braxton hicks (I understnad sometimes these practice contractions can hurt).

Ellysia, did your doctor tell you if your cervix has thinned out? If so, what %?

Ellysia, hope you feel better after consulting your doctor.
Trust is most important. I think starchy things better not eat.. like noodles what not.. but porridge should be okay.. not the teochew type but the very very watery cantonese style type.

Dan,

I tink our clinic prefer to use pill first before drip bec' pill can go home first and rest whereas drip have to be at hosp. Me and feifei same clinic but different gynae.

feifei,

Me 38.5 weeks still not dilated also!! Now i am prepared next week also not dilated! I tink dr wong also tink not so soon now! Imagine she got to check my cervix for the past 4 weeks ored. This bb boy saboo me.. sigh...

Now i am trying to tink of ways to get my boss to agree to grant me 1 week AL after i end my ML.. so tat i can take care of my boy for full 3mths..

If not worst come to worst, maybe i take 1 day AL per week so tat my MIL only need to take care 4 days and not 5 days.. maybe tat is another way.

cactus,

Ya looks like i can eat lor.
But now persuading my mum is another!! haha...maybe i am too big mouth i shouldnt tell her i intend to eat. now she become so concern.. but my mum is like tat, sometimes she can be bo chap sometimes she can be overly concern.. tat is why we always quarrel bec i dun like to be control.

Dan, I think for most private clinic doctors, prefer to use pill cos no need to incur additional hospital charge but if we deliver at restructured hospital, it is usually drip, cos drip is faster.

Ellysia, don't be too stressed k. It's a good thing you took ML early right? Cos you can at least rest at home now that you are so advanced. Look at me! I only taking 8 weeks at a stretch. no choice but to work all the way up to delivery... if not, can't spend 8 weeks with bb.

cactus,

My gynae says MY CERVIX IS 0% open... means 100% closed.

But she told me the contractions i felt will help to open the cervix. And its proven tat those days when i encounter contractions are days when i do more walking. And gynae say contractions like to happen at night during sleep. so when go into labour maybe bb come out is next day. And to avoid going in too early due to false contractions, we must timed our contractions and only go in at 5min interval and persistent for over 1 hr. And the contractions will not go away despite resting or sleeping etc, we will not be able to sleep if real contractions.

Ellysia, I get your message about your cervix being 0% open... :p but I was asking you if you know how thinned out your cervix is... cos usually our cervix needs to be thinned out before it can be dilated. it is usually something like cervix 50% thinned out, 0cm dilated, 70% thinned out, 1cm dilated. so on and so forth. Effacement, I mean.

hi crystal
700ml of total EBM split into many small bottles... I thought was enough :p Maybe coz the nurses there also quite wasteful, they feed 90ml per bottle, he feed abt 70, they throw rest away *heartpain*
Yes, very difficult to catch bb awake, dun even say take poto :p But gwen looks so cute winking!

feifei.. JIA YOU JIA YOU!!!!!!! You can do it!!

BabyCupid, I think cramps is cramps, contractions feel like cramps. Then contractions can be true contractions or false contractions. I'm confused big time too!

cactus,

Ya but my mum still phobia over delivery experience.. sigh.

It is true tat at home did help me to relax mentally. At least i feel more happy and not so moody. Then i also dun feel disconnected bec got u all tok to me at forum and i msn with feifei so not boring.. (now feifei go deliver so i dunno how.. hee maybe msn with others :p) i plan to meet my fren tmr liao.. but meet nearby at AMK hub so its still safe, dun dare to go out too far also scare i faintx if contractions too pain.

hmm i dun tink its bec is private hosp tats why prefer pill.. cos i remember morraine case is also drip imm...
I remember i ask dr wong before on inducing.. she say more serious such as past due date (means definitely must come out) then will straightaway drip.. but prefer pill bec' pill can go home to rest whereas drip have to stay in hosp for v long.

babycupid and cactus,

BH is stomach tightening with no pain.
Contractions is menses cramp and is painful. Got false contractions and real contractions.

cactus,
hahahaha.. so the feeling of contractions are like cramps! jus tat mus see the frequency n intervals to judge whether it true or false alarm! ya?

Ellysia, Re: pill/drip, I see.
Aiyah. today whole day, I feel my bb pushing lower and lower.. but I'm quite sure not engaged yet.. just an uncomfortable sensation of pressure. I think there are different degrees of engagement. there are different "stations" If at "0" station, means completely engaged liao... my boss came back from overseas (1 week trip), saw my tummy this morning, then said it looks lower... haha... but I'm sure i tis not engaged yet cos last Thursday, doctor said not engaged yet...

Roxy,
Dun worry, we mummies are learning as well. I oso scare to feed Lil ZuEn. The nurses appeared to handle her roughly. Actually, it is bcos we are too oft, keep thinking that we will hurt her. Haha. Wah, Isaiah finished 700ml in one day!! Lil ZuEn must jia you. Hehe.

crystal,
You oso considering forgoing the massage? I tot all mummies who just gave birth all rushed for massage liao. Guessed our hands are all too full with the little bundle huh.
You think massage can clear choked/ unproductive breast? If can, maybe we + Roxy should try, hehe.

Feifei,
How, how, how? Can come home de? When my friend induce, she stayed in hospital thruout wor. I think stayed 3 or 4 days then finally popped.

Re: Bb's movement
Sob, I missed the feeling already. ;p

cactus,

I didn't ask if it has thin. Gynae also didnt say. I tink she dun want to disturb bb, so her check is a very swift one.

Its also possible tat there is no thinning at the moment bec she say looks like not so soon afterall, may have to wait until due date.

Tats why i panic, i say how i ored take ML.. then also bb weight is ored 3KG i scare i cannot push.. then dr say my ht is tall, so she tink no prob.. then i also worry bb head size now, bec his head size is 3.4 and if cross 3.5 is consider big and hard to deliver natural... so i ask gynae how.. i scare too big hard to deliver mah. gynae also say tats a good point.. so if we really want next week can consider induce since next week is ored 39 weeks, no difference from 40 weeks.

But then she say .. no medical reason there is no need to induce.. and its true. Tats why me and hb still considering cos inducing is like artifical like tat. dunno want to wait for him to come natural or wat.
maybe wait until next week appt then we consider ba.

Ellysia, I think 3kg is still okay for you. I remember last time you said the factor for you is really bb's head size... so think you should focus on that. I think as long as bb is less than 3.4kg should be okay for you.

cactus,

My contractions attack is become more painful each time it happen. The last one i almost tot i am to deliver, cos its v painful. I can't sleep no matter how i turn. and its backache + menses cramp + bb moving at same time + breatheless + want to poo feeling everything all come.

cactus,

I believe dr wong got consider my pelvic size when she say 3KG shd be no prob..
but the head size, i tink she got consider a bit.

actually tis week i eat less. but bb gain 0.2KG, from 2.8KG become 3KG.

cactus...hehehe like want to die like dat...very gd description...

when dat time i use drip abt 1hr time bb out liao...i had very fast n painful contraction and told my doc to lower down the drip...so dat my contraction timing not so fast.

Ellysia, ai yoh. sounds really bad. if your cramping is quite consistent and over a long period of time, you may want to check with your doctor if you can take panadol. Panadol is actually safe. but some doctors may not like us taking it cos it may dull the pain and we may not pay so much attention to the contractions or go to hopsital too late, esp if you plan to be guai guai (unlike me!).

Ellysia,
I think I will still do the massage. By right, should do 2 days after delivery. Today is my 11th day and I havent call auntie cos I too busy running around delivering milk, hehe.
I will consider calling auntie after Lil ZuEn is home. Maybe by then, no peace at home liao. ;p

icegal,

Just take ML on the date u prefer lor.. tell him it is gynae suggestion.. then will keep his mouth shut..

cactus,

MY IL never ask me how much i earn one.. maybe my hb ored told them. Only when i got promoted last year they ask me got increase salary or not.. then my MIL will ask my hb whether my salary is more or less than him. they only concern whether their son my hb earns more than me or not.. cos they feel no face if my hb earn less than me.. other than tat they dun bother i tink.

Zu En,

I tot u shd do massage b4 yr bb come home, at least easier. when she come home i tot u be more busy? actually if u do after 7 days still ok i tink.

cactus,

I will try to tahan the pain.. in fact the menses cramp feeling is same as my menses cramp.. i had severe menses cramp for years but all along i refuse to take hormones medicine, i also never take panadol when cramps come.. tats why can faint due to menses cramp pain.

It is just tat when it come at nite, and u want to sleep..it is horrible...
and worst, it is just a trial run only.. next day if still have to work, will be very tired.. u know wat i mean.

did u all notice that when bb move u can feel yr V also like opening or poking like dat. While sitting u have to lift up a bit somtimes when walking i have to stop walking for a while then continue coz feel uneasy below.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i remember you are the one telling us that if want bb to engage faster, when we sit must bend forward, issit? Like squeze in our stomach?
Sorry har, cannot remember the method you said liao. hehe...

Me start lose patience, really want bb come out fast, coz this few days quite suffering. And if baby can deliver early, my chances of VBAC will be higher coz bb wont be too big. </font>

Danryan, I do feel my bb very low and alot of pressure on pelvis when I walk... but I still continue walking and sitting up with soles of my feet against each other, cos want to encourage bb to engage... dun know if my efforts will be futile though. still keeping at it.

Dan,

YUP i also have this feeling.. gynae say it can help to push cervix open.. dunno can or not.

cactus,

I believe my hb said he never tell but i am not sure.

actually i dunno if hb remember my exact salary bec i have a few jumps over the past 2 years due to adjustment and 2 promotions. but last year my salary is higher than hb then now his is higher than mine so i guess he did remember. Howver on a yearly package mine will be higher bec' my company still earning well so usu got good bonus.. however i rememeber in bad times like year 2001 to 2003 where real estate is doing v badly, its horrible but we still get half month bonus cos company is big. Btw cos i getting fixed pay and not commission i am not doing sales so bonus is v impt.

Sorry Felicia, I must have said wrongly. to engage bb quicker, is to sit in a "tailor" pose, where we sit with our backs upright, on the floor, soles of both feet against each other, knees bent at an angle to our sides.

To bend foward is to encourage bb to rotate to a better position (not bb's spine against our spine) for an easier labour.

Felicia,

Me getting impatient too.. cos tiring esp this last month.. wish bb can come out soon.

leaning forward, i believe it help in engaging faster and keeping the anterior posture (vs posterior posture).

cactus,

tats why with my contractions i tot better i take leave rest at home. cos i won't know when these false contractions become real. Then if i am so tired at home and + lack of sleep + work stress, i dun tink i can cope with the pain.

<font color="aa00aa">oh cactus, oic! For the 'tailor' pose you mentioned i had been doing it since last week coz i read up in a book this pose can help bb engage.

But not convenient to do at office, so i tot wanna use the sit on chair method. Is ok. So, will continue with my 'tailor' pose at home.</font>

Felicia, when you are in office, don't lean back when you are seated. try to sit leaning forward, sit on a small pillow if really necessary, so that your pelvis is always just higher than your knees. this will encourage your bb's head (heaviest part of the body) to tip forward and away from the back of your spine.