(2008/06) June 2008

hi cactus, how much is the one with LUV, my hubby recently just signed up to be a member too. but i have not gotten the info

i know for if any of ur hubby is under ns home team under ntuc, the term is really cheap. but the only bad point is that they can stop cover anytime like if the group decided to stop, they just have to give 7 days written notice to us.

TF and felicia

actually it's not good for us to drink tea at this time, although at times i really have craving for ice lemon tea

cos the caffeine is very strong, even stronger than coffee

so i am not sure if u should consider getting the raspberry tea.

TF,

it's black tea leaves in satchet kind. my friend got it for me, who "chop chop" in her delivery.. hahaa.. so i'm not sure where she bought.

Felicia,

not sure where she get it .. i'll ask later then post here

<table border=1><tr><td>Delivery (Normal)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Private Hospital (1 Bedded)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hospitals</TD><TD>Volume1</TD><TD>Average Length</TD><TD>50th Percentile</TD><TD>90th Percentile </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Of Stay (Days)2</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)3</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ESH</TD><TD>300</TD><TD>2.1</TD><TD>3094</TD><TD>3846 </TD></TR><TR><TD>GH</TD><TD>649</TD><TD>2.3</TD><TD>4514</TD><TD>6216 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MAH</TD><TD>633</TD><TD>2.4</TD><TD>3953</TD><TD>5107 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MEH</TD><TD>817</TD><TD>2.7</TD><TD>4655</TD><TD>7726 </TD></TR><TR><TD>RH</TD><TD>234</TD><TD>2.1</TD><TD>4349</TD><TD>5427 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1989</TD><TD>2.5</TD><TD>3926</TD><TD>5321 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Delivery (Caesarean section)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Private Hospital (1 Bedded)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hospitals</TD><TD>Volume1</TD><TD>Average Length</TD><TD>50th Percentile</TD><TD>90th Percentile </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Of Stay (Days)2</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)3</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ESH</TD><TD>135</TD><TD>3.1</TD><TD>5649</TD><TD>6807 </TD></TR><TR><TD>GH</TD><TD>454</TD><TD>3.4</TD><TD>7436</TD><TD>10557 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MAH</TD><TD>438</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>5901</TD><TD>7333 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MEH</TD><TD>491</TD><TD>3.6</TD><TD>7280</TD><TD>11822 </TD></TR><TR><TD>RH</TD><TD>111</TD><TD>3.1</TD><TD>6970</TD><TD>8832 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TMC</TD><TD>894</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD>5909</TD><TD>7756 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Delivery (Normal)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Private Hospital (2 Bedded)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hospitals</TD><TD>Volume1</TD><TD>Average Length</TD><TD>50th Percentile</TD><TD>90th Percentile </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Of Stay (Days)2</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)3</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ESH</TD><TD>377</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2432</TD><TD>3154 </TD></TR><TR><TD>GH</TD><TD>751</TD><TD>2.2</TD><TD>3148</TD><TD>4275 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MAH</TD><TD>1576</TD><TD>2.3</TD><TD>3024</TD><TD>4161 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MEH</TD><TD>427</TD><TD>2.1</TD><TD>3405</TD><TD>4544 </TD></TR><TR><TD>RH</TD><TD>116</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>3725</TD><TD>4615 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TMC</TD><TD>520</TD><TD>2.3</TD><TD>2972</TD><TD>4034 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Delivery (Caesarean section)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Private Hospital (2 Bedded)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hospitals</TD><TD>Volume1</TD><TD>Average Length</TD><TD>50th Percentile</TD><TD>90th Percentile </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Of Stay (Days)2</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)3</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ESH</TD><TD>148</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>4842</TD><TD>6109 </TD></TR><TR><TD>GH</TD><TD>414</TD><TD>3.1</TD><TD>5691</TD><TD>7495 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MAH</TD><TD>742</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>4953</TD><TD>6324 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MEH</TD><TD>224</TD><TD>3.1</TD><TD>5721</TD><TD>7245 </TD></TR><TR><TD>RH</TD><TD>42</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>6025</TD><TD>7758 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TMC</TD><TD>270</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>4861</TD><TD>6256 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Delivery (Normal)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Private Hospital (4 Bedded)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hospitals</TD><TD>Volume1</TD><TD>Average Length</TD><TD>50th Percentile</TD><TD>90th Percentile </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Of Stay (Days)2</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)3</TD><TD>Bill Size ($)4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ESH</TD><TD>529</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2315</TD><TD>2955 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MAH</TD><TD>883</TD><TD>2.1</TD><TD>2578</TD><TD>3459 </TD></TR><TR><TD>RH</TD><TD>70</TD><TD>2.1</TD><TD>3162</TD><TD>4095 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2200</TD><TD>2.3</TD><TD>2487</TD><TD>3478 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Delivery (Caesarean section)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ESH</TD><TD>202</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>4755</TD><TD>5766 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MAH</TD><TD>529</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>4416</TD><TD>5627 </TD></TR><TR><TD>RH</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>5356</TD><TD>6789 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1185</TD><TD>3.1</TD><TD>4177</TD><TD>5563 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

thanks cactus for sharing. i think it really depends on individual as well as ur current situation.

i a bit more kiasu type...haha, cos i see many diagnosed with critical illness especially during retirement, and ended up eating into their retirement fund, so i may have build up my retirement fund by then but i also want to have an emergency fund to cater for the heavy medical cost that may arises...so that i wouldnt be a burden to my children.

cos both my mum and my father in law are stroke patient...i know how costly it is every month to fund for medical and stuff...

fortunately me and my hubby are able to support them together with a few of our siblings...

for my father in law, when he suffered from stroke, he actually got almost 300k payout, but dont be surprised...easily the sum was used up in less than 3 years...and he actually has h&amp;s plan to take care of the hospital bills, so that one we dont have to worry.

but when he is not in hospital...that's the worst part, everything have to fork out from our own pocket.

just a bit of sharing of my personal experience.

haha, the best is stay healthy, eat healthy and think healthy

then these money just leave for our children as legacy maybe to help them cope with the hyper inflation in times to come.

Felicia
I read in other forum tat some bgt fr Tanglin Mall Organic Shop, Mt. A Pharmacy, Paragon 5th floor health shop. But nt sure all these are the original leaves type of the tea type. I prefer the original.
I just called MIM. They say stock will come in by this weekend. Can go dwn to their showroom to collect if dun wnt delivery. So next week then avail.

Cactus
I will take a look at the NTUC/Aviva then. Tho' i dun quite like NTUC Income :p

Babycupid
Maybe day you sleep alot so nite difficult to slp.

Jenny/Cactus
Wow thanks. Let me go thru. I also tinking of increasing n dun wnt to mix wif investmts type.

hi tinyfeet

same here, i also dont really like ntuc, cos when comes to claim, they can be quite mafan...look at their car insurance claim,,,u will know liao...

will see the pro and cons then

anyway, on the topic of insurance, it's good that we are considering term policy cos it's important to have more coverage as opposed to some returns in the future.

Unless we have spare $ AFTER paying off our loans, no point giving $ to insurance companies to invest for us. It's better to have lots of coverage when we need it, and less debt when we are young. get more mileage for ourselves.

jenny,

i can totally understand what you mentioned above.. my FIL also stroke patient, for 3+ yr.. and used up a lot of money.. never back home at all and after a few major operation, we sent him to nursing home, Ju Eng.

your sentense "but when he is not in hospital...that's the worst part, everything have to fork out from our own pocket." i can feel it from my heart what are you trying to say!!! IT's a "nigthmare" for the family, the mentally, physically and emotionally burden!!

most of my hb's salary dumped into his nursing fees, costs 2k plus each month!! my SILs, elder one, claimed no $$, 2nd sil, $400 per month, 3rd SIL $300 per month.. plus a maid at home taking care my MIL!! i dun know how we "tong" for the 3yrs plus..

Anyway, it's "history" liao.. just hope that everyone having good health ahead!

Veniz
Oh, i saw this b4 in Tangs. Actually Raspberry n Raspberry Leaf has different component i tink. The one tat is for the uterine is the leaf.

Jenny
Ya, i also dun belief if its just those ordinary black tea wif flavor (wh u doubt its gd for preggie). So looking for the actual herb. Like b4 preggie, i also take Camomile n Peppermint, but in the real flower n leaves form, nt the black tea favour type.

<font color="aa00aa">aprilmum/ TF, thanks for the info. Think most probably will just purchase online from MIM. Easier.

Jenny, thanks for ur concern but hor, me had been drinking coffee since preggie, hard to quit this habit. So maybe will just take the tea and reduce coffee intake. </font>

Jenny, I only opted to be covered until 55 years old. Not 70. I took it up when I was 26 years old (turnin 27 at next bday). Paying less than $600/year. About $550 to $600 - can't recall how much.

hi aprilmum

ya...my fil have already suffered from stroke for 8 years, now cant walk, cant do anything but need someone to be there every now and then

and my mother suffered since 10 over years back...condition better, but also need to go see doc monthly and have to be quite careful cos emotionally they dont feel gd...so at times may be quite emotional and also feel that she is sick

so also need a lot of attention...

hai...monthly really spend lots of money on them

but no choice, we are been sandwiched. same like u, both me and my hubby are the eldest, the rest dont have much to contribute too.

hai....just be positive

Morning ladies...

Wow, so many posts here leh..

Piyoz &amp; maryann,
Dun worry ya, cos my bb only turn at 38wks..so naughty rite? at 1st her head was down at 35wks, then turn up at 37wks, then 38wks then turn down again..hiaz...my FIL says she is going to be a gd swimmer next time..haha...

Kelcqi,
U can join us here lor...I can understand how u feel cos i do read May's thread at times also..Most of them has given birth liao...Nvm lor, u are most welcome to join us here =D....*open arms big big*...=).

Jessia,
Cheerup ger, tink of the moment where u are going to see ur little one =D...Jiayou...

All,
me still no signs of labour yet..Only harden tummy and poopoo feeling..so i guess tmr is e day..

Hb was asking me hor, TMC will be giving us 2days parking coupon rite? meaning we can go in and out as many times as we wan on these 2days and its still free?

TF ya, this is the diff type, so may be different. Another place can check is Marks &amp; Spencer, where I got my organic peppermint from. I think you so free now and need to escape from the drillings, this is a good chance for you to go shopping.

thanks cactus for ur info. i am turning 28 end of this yr.

i just calculated if i wanna hold till 70 for ntuc, i will be paying abt 170 per month, then i will rather go for manulife where i pay 100 fixed a month and can get 180,000 cover and some more got returns.

unless i only intend to hold for a short period like until 55 then i think it's worthwhile

hi felicia
coffee intake is better than tea
cos tea has more caffeine

i attended a training on tea b4 so my advice is u should stick to coffee.

jenny, aprilmum: my fil also got stroke couple of years back. then now suffering from some sickness similar to pakinson...we r thinking of sending him to nursing home (in jurong or west area) but could hardly find one leh...all so super ex...where got $$ to send him there...any advise huh?

Veniz
Ha, today no drilling is very high floor, so nt so bad. Can't really hear. But Marks n Spencer i dun tink can get the Raspberry Leaf. Ya, i had a box of the peppermint fr Crabtree n Evelyn n until nw didnt consume, tink expire liao,so wasted. Maybe use as aroma room fragrance. :p 2mrw maybe i escape to S'pore Expo, saw today newspaper there's Robinson Anniversary b'day there, duno wat sale they hv, least unlike JL Expo sale, i hope.

Good Morning

Been reading all the previous post..........

Good news.....my boss approved and gave me early ML starts by next Monday....

hi juliet,

the most cost effective is really to get a maid, but provided u have someone to check on the maid and also space for the maid to stay. cos nursing home are too xpensive.

btw, anyone intend to use cloth diapers

me thinking of going united square to check out on the cloth diapers, cos really hear a lot of gd feedbacks on it.

and it helps to reduce the nappy rash, and probably reduce cost.

heard babies used a lot of pampers every day.

TF,

i'm not sure it's call as black leaves or dark green leaves.. hehe.. it's USA product, 50g.. and it stated organic food.. a packet is $5.40

jenny,

nope, my hb is the youngest!! the 2nd SIL staying condo and going to move to landed property soon!! monthly salary is $8-9k, and yet only spend $400 for the father.. anyway, my FIL passed away after 3.5 yrs suffering on bed.. he's a bedridder.. so we need to spend more for the extra expenses. So i always tell my MIL, if got anything not feeling well, must tell us... earlier treatment better than late treatment!

feifei,
me too. even i left 13days to EDD but i still no signs of labour yet also..instead my stomach got more stretch mark!!! angry!

I tink they all start their sales earlier to see who earn the customers first dollar most b4 the GSS. So the earlier the sale, customer spend money 1st on the earlier sale...ha..ha.. just over the weekend, i got the Tollyjoy Nappy Liner at %12.90 bef 20% disc from JL. I was surprise they gv 20% for a controlled item.

liew and feifei,

you both hor.. make me go and calculate how many days to EDD le.. hahahaha. 14 DAYS!!! hahahaa.. exactly 2 weeks!!

feifei,

i got the harden feeling aslo.. but not always.. so i think me "not there yet".. hehehe.. mayb next week bah!!

TF, ya, you go jalan jalan lar.

Jenny, this friday onwards is GSS liao, so can shop anywhere you want for good bargains.

Jenny
wat so special or feedback abt the cloth diaper in UE? Is nt the ordinary cloth tat fold?

Aprilmum
Then its shd b fr MIM too since same price n weight. Wow, 50gm so much huh if base on that pic u put is 50g!

Veniz
Hee..u knw sthg i find myself stupid. I find smtx when i go out jalan jalan n cum back, its so torturing to read for hours over the archives in June..haha..imagine hw addictive it is to come here n chat..

Aprilmum,
hehe..ops... =D...bery fast ur turn liao de..hee..I was tinking if i dun induce tmr, then could be anytime also...

Grace,
i hope to induce tmr if bb's head is still down and if she is not gaining anymore weight cos no point to keep her inside when she dun absorb liao...She is a big bb, 3.3kg liao lor =D...I can feel her pressing at my V there so i guess she has engaged..hope I am rite and gynae dun tell me its her legs or backside pressing..haha..then i faintz..

feifei,
got! i apply 3 layers somemore! seem my bb growing very very fast! or maybe my stomach no more space for expand more... now only hope can cure after give birth!
how abt u? don have any stretch mark at all?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">tinyfeet.. the bumwear nappy is not the ordinary type.. more absorbent but i feel a bit ex lor... </font></font>
1434006.jpg

jenny: we tot of getting maid, but dun think maid can handle leh...he's wheelchair bound, can't move himself from wheelchair to bed, now on pampers n urine bag too. scared maid will abuse him leh...no one at home to check on maid. somemore stay in such a small house...sigh...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">
a new way of folding nappy..

1. lay Chinese prefold diaper the long way and fold one section over on crease

2. fold other section on crease

3. lay folded Chinese prefold diaper onto diaper cover so folder are facing down

4. since boys wet more in the front, fold the chinese prefold diaper (bottom of picture) so cloth diaper fits into the diaper cover. Also unfolded the back of the cloth diaper creating wings....

</font></font>
1434018.gif

Jenny / Cactus
Oh ya, when buy from NTUC, Aviva, etc.. remember to check the fine prints n clauses especially on the coverage for Critical Illness or TPD cos some illness may nt be included compared to the bigger companies. Tat's wat i learn during my agent time. They lower the premium to capture the mass mkt but behind are exclusions.