(2008/06) June 2008

TF, Ellysia, ioio, I think I've been moody cos preggie, and I feel her pain cos I dont'k now what I would have done if I were in her shoes. I know it wouldn't have been easy for me either way. her excperience also reminds me of my testing high risk for downs and my worry that my own bb may not be normal. But worry also no point, cos we wno't terminate... but can't stop worrying too.. thankful I'm into my 36th week liao. Soon can see the baby and he looks so cute from the 3D scan...

babyjo,
maybe wor...scarli we are roomates like wat u said..hee..maybe u can PM me ur contact so once i admit, i sms u..hee

cactus,
ya lor, wat happen? y u cry?wan to share?

aprilmum,
our bb same weight wor...but duno if my bb has put on weight for this wk cos as of last tues, she is 3.3kg at 37wks+..=D.

Ellyisa and all,
I have also completed my blog, u can view it at http://www.charlotteleow.blogspot.com

Cactus
Ya, worrying also no point. Actually I'm suppose to do a D-George dwn syndrome test cos they associate it wif heart problem. But I also didnt wnt to do the test. Just let nature takes its course since we decided. But i knw the feeling esp when we hapen to see cases around us or dwn syndrome pictures or kids around, n may remind us. Hey, least u saw yr baby in 3D. Let's jiayou together n pray
Lots of hugs n love for u ya.

Hi cactus_79,
think i'll be all alone at night cos both my mother and MIL working... and b'cos wanting to give my hubby full attention in this work, so I'll be doing confinement in another room with my baby...

Hi Linda,
I'm afraid the night feeding (bf) will be very demanding... cos not enough sleep, will get very irritated... I scared I'll scold my mum or MIL...
Which hospital will you be delivering?

Hi Feifei,
Hehe... you excited to see baby? First time mum?

Hi ioio,
Think better make up yr mind fast on changing hospital... I visited my friend last Nov'07 and find that the room really spacious... Yap... telling my gal to be at right position, I hope she understands...

Hi Roxy,
Super tired...
I'm mentally prepared but dunno my body can take it or not... never sleep from 3-6am... wow lau, you can tahan?? I now getting scared liao... you take care, ok??

Jessia,
ya lor, 1st time mummy =D..hee..cos nite feeds and all will make us tired so best for us to rest is during e day =D..

cactus,
*Hugs* Hope u are feeling better. Just read abt ur SIL's case and can understand ur feeling sad for her esp when we are preggie now, somehow tend to feel more. I felt very sad when i saw in the papers, the pic of a toddler's cute little bum and legs stuck beneath some rubble in the china earthquake and the caption said the toddler did not survive. In your case, since there is a relation, u are bound to feel even more.

TF and Cactus,
The whole process of pregnancy has certainly been a roller-coaster ride of emotions for u both but take heart that we are almost there liao, just a couple more weeks and you will be able to see your babies! Hang in there, gals!

feifei,
u'll be seeing ur gynae on thurs ya? reading ur blog now, hehe.

Tera,
ya lor, this thurs will be seein gmy gynae in e morning..getting excited and at e sametime worried...=D...dou dou zhi jao hor..hee

But i duno how to add music to my blog still wor..hee..

All,
Anyone can advise me, after i sterlised those milk bottles in the sterilser, i assemble them and then leave them outside or hv to keep them in the sterliser itself?

hi fennie

yes, this is the cash portion after lessing off medisave. medisave is able to deduct 1800. hence the total bill is 3490. epi is an addiotnal of 370-520, and there is additional delivery suite facility charge for any time exceeding 8hrs...so i make sure i can deliver my baby within 8 hrs...

feifei: think can keep in ziplock bags if u r not using them immediately...else if jus leave outside, by the time u use it, dirty again liao...

juliet,
true lor, so i was tinking of sterilising my bottles in the morning..since only sterlise once a day, will have more than 1 bottle to sterlise de..so was tinking wat do i do with the rest of the bottles...Can I leave them in the sterliser until i used them?

jenny,
tink we only sterlise when bb comes home lor..
i did heard frm my frenz that we hv to sterlise our pump too but duno which portion leh..

thanks feifei...

now i am opening the stuff i have bought...think must read thru if not later no time and dont know how to use

TF, Tera, thanks for your concern. yeah..just the last lap to go...!!

feifei, I was sad earlier today and for most part of the weekend cos my SIL terminated her preg at 20 weeks. felt sad for her, her baby and brought new worries about mine.

Tera, Cactus, Feifei
Yes, yes. Let's join those happy mums tat already pop. So is ours too come.

Jenny
Wow, really KKH is more expv than pte. Tho' i'm wif KKH, but the subsidy. Was considering A1 ward nw n then. Then least nw i nt so xin tong nt staying A1 ward :p

ya, i tot it should be cheaper than pte...who knows...

but no choice my hubby wanna stay, so if not, i will be getting the 4 bedded...

but the consulation at the pte is definitely worthwhile cos the waiting time is really short and dont need to queue for the vitamins. per visit is only around 50+

cactus,

dun worry too much.. since u ored make the decision, yr bb shd be fine

pls try to fight the moodiness, me also encounter it many times w/o knowing it until recently when i recall and my colleague feedback.

Jenny,

How come KKH A ward is more exp than TMC single room? TMC listed cash portion for single bed (after medisave) is $1300 not including epi or other charges like bb nursery etc.

hi ladies, i read with some concern that most of you are letting baby take the bottle so early. Mrs Wong's advice is to only start baby on bottle about 5 to 6weeks old becoz if you start baby too early on bottle, they will not want to latch on the nipple anymore which is what some of you are experiencing. a baby's suckle is much more powerful than any breast pump so you might want to hold back on the bottles (those of you who haven't started yet) till baby is a little older
just sharing my experience with you as my first boy had nipple confusion (this is the term they use) too becoz i started him on the bottle early but after much help from the lactation consultant, we finally got him back to latching and suckling on the breast. and i breastfed him till 21months :D

ok, about 200+ difference for subsidised a ward and pte a ward...

at least not so bad. but think there are a lot of hidden cost...wouldnt know until the bill is here

Jenny
I also remember comparing the Ward rate of KKH n TMC, tat the price of KKH A1 ward is as gd as TMC A2 price, ie. KKH cheaper just on the ward rate itself. I nt sure if by package is the other way round. But nw seems KKH more expensive compare to Mt. A, yet Mt. A suppose to be more expensive then TMC. So confusing unless we get to see the TMC n Mt.A prices from some mummies here. KKH one I summarise in May 19 table liao.

maryann

i agree with u. this was mentioned during my antenatal programme with kk. the nurses advises that if there is a need to feed from expressed milk, for the initial few days, we should use spoon to feed. so that baby will not be confused..

and generally babies are born lazy, so they will take the easy way out.

TF,

TMC recently published their rates and say they are the 2nd cheapest among pte hosp. most cheapest is eastshore.

Ellysia
Didnt play games 2nite? Yeah, i tink TMC is going cheaper. I got this from KKH leaflet n the source is fr MOH website as at 21 Feb 07:

For Single Ward (Normal Vaginal)
SGH Avg Bill Size $2415
East Shore $3013
KKH $3088
NUH $3406
TMC $3483
Mt.A $3703
RH $4087

I'm nt sure when Jenny n Fennie compare, are you gals comparing Package Price to Package Price or Package Price to Estimated Bill Size (includg actual day estd bill).

Congrats to crystal and roxyz who haf popped recently!

Wanna ask if any mummies' haf breech babies? If yes, can ask if your gynaes say must cfm csec at 38 weeks? My bb is in breech and next appt this friday but i dun thk she has turned yet and i dun wanna csec so early..

Mummies with blogs,
Mind if I link mine to yours? so I can read during office hours when I am free :p

Ah Morr,
I read that you are going for checkup today. How's your gynae checkup?

Zuen,
Been reading your blog! Post more pics of Shauna cos she looks so cute! Wanna say m glad she is getting stronger everyday!

Feifei,
you can sterilise the items and keep them inside and assemble when you are ready to use them. of cse dun sterilise so early.

Linking others' blog:
Go to dashboard,
click "template",
scroll down and search for "sidebar" or similar in the template table,
type :
<li><a href="http://www.charlotteleow.blogspot.com">Feifei</a></li>

HTHs!

TF

got playing now, i put my player char there stationed then i pop in here take a look :p

I only know the published rates on room rates w/o considering gynae charges, epi charges/GA charges etc.

piyo,

if breech and yr bb weight is quite heavy, usu gynae will suggest c-sect one.

feifei,

If items inside steriliser but u didn't open the steriliser, they remain sterilised.

I tink we can put the 2nd bottle inside when we use the 1st bottle. then dun touch the 2nd bottle shd be fine ba.

hi tinyfeet

thanks for the posting, i do have the table in the package i signed up, but not sure why the amount they required me to pay is so much more. i guess the estimated bill sized is not the full amount paid. cos, like for mine, it will have already cost more than 3088 even without the consultant professional fee and the epi...or hopefully by end, they refund me...haha

think quite difficult...

Piyo
Tot u usu very busy in office to join us in forum (or u've been silent reader?), u can nw even read blogs in office liao ..hee..

If your baby is nt too big n yet all conditions (eg. placenta, nutrients, growth), you can still wait for him to turn down n go for natural. Nt necessary must C-sect, unless rch 40-41 weeks still dun turn dwn.

Hi Ellysia,
Ya I am aware... but generally for such cases, must csec by 38 weeks? csec/VBAC I am fine cos I wanna keep bb to full term if possible..

Hi TF,
you mean even if bb is breech, we can hang on and wait till full term? My Gynae told me if by 36wks chkup no turn, then must choose date csec by 38 weeks, then on that day , prior to csec, can still scan and c if she has turned.. if turned can go hme and continue to wait else csec.. fainted

Office got firewalls on some forums and SMH recently become 1 of them so I can't access in office but other webbies like blogs etc still can..:p

Jenny
Did u get the Pink copy of A1 hospitalization charges from the Birth Registration counter area? There's a table tat says:
A1 Package = $1550
Estimated Bill Size $3210 (includg prof fee)
Estd Medi claim = $1800
Initial Payment = $1410
Base on Normal delivery. So you mentioned u have to pay abt $1600 cash, is quite near wat they state. Just tat why more expensive that Mt. A, unless really your Consultant charge is very high

Piyo
I nt experienced lah. But isnt it logic tat if there's still space even at Week 38 n yet everything is ok, baby has the right to turn dwn in 2 weeks time right? Unless the baby is very big n gynae tink tat not possible to turn cos not enuf space. So the qn nw is did ur gynae concluded cos he realise not much space for yr baby to turn.

Like Feifei, tho baby head dwn, she came up again then down agn. And for mine, recently scan head down at week 35. Then the Sono so confident that my baby head won't go up (tho i keeping my finger cross) cos I tot week 35 is too early to judge, scardy turn up like Feifei n gv me a surprise. Unless this Sona really tink my baby is big so unlikely can go up again (cos mine abv avg).

hi tinyfeet

no leh, i didnt receive the pink copy...maybe when i go next week, i go check with them. thanks for your info.

TF,
sounds logical.My gynae mentioned that unlikely bb will turn after 38 weeks cos not much space liao but he never commented on my bb's wt so I assume is normal:p what's your bb wt now?

feifei,

ya.. think our bb consider big size and hence gynae asked to "on diet".. hehe.. i hope to give birth next week/ this weekend le.. but till now not much "actual" signs yet

TF,

wow.. never know that MAH single warm so exp le.. i thot MAH consider mid range pte hospital nia!!

Jenny
Tat's the one tat i summarize on the May 19 Archive, u can see a table as your scroll dwn the thread.

Piyo, 2.7kg at Week 35. Hw's has your bb weight been all this while?

Aprilmum
Yah, base on this survey seems MAH exp, but base on just nw the conversation betw Jenny n Fennie, Seems KKH more exp. But must see if they r comparing package to package OR one talking abt package n the other abt estimated Bill. Ha.. lots of mummies makes spelling error nowadays cos our mind n hand can't coordinate liao.. so am i :p

Piyo
U can also feel if your baby is up or dwn when he hiccups. If the concentration of the hiccups is near the lower part, then likely bb head is dwn. Initially i also duno, then since week 35 tat the scan showed him down, then i felt the hiccup there.

TF,
Thanks for the info.. will watch for the hiccups, they have been at the lower part this week..hope she is not in transverse position. You are giving me hope! haha!

Logging off liao.. talk to you again good night!

Are you all putting baby's dialect name into his/her BC? Me and hubby had big quarrel over this.. he wants to just put baby name as Isaiah Li Yu Zhe..so I told him then next time does he call himself Isaiah Lee or Isaiah Li since Lee does not appear in his IC. So he said hanyu pinyin put as Lee Yu Zhe.. I told him that's wrong, how can you put surname in dialect but the other name in hanyu pinyin coz I heard Zhe is Chek in teochew?
Does anyone know where I can find out the dialect (teochew) translation since the master who gave me his name claims he doesnt know? Thanks!!

Hi Piyo
My gynae said if still breech at wk 36, likely csect coz bb no space to turn already but did hear of people whose bb turn at wk 37/38... normally if csect, it's done by 38.. coz gynae dun want to take the risk of waterbag bursting etc then bb still breech, end up emergency csect..more dangerous
Err regarding hiccups, all this while, I always felt bb hiccups at lower tummy only but he's still in breech position too.. so i guess hiccups not that accurate?

Piyo
So yr bb also abv 50th percentile huh. Like mine. Oh, u hv nt pass week 34? Ha, like me last week. When most mummies had their bb head down, i was wonder'g y mine nt down too. So fear not, he still has time. Mine turn at mid to end week 34. I remember a very big left n right tugging. Could be then n i didnt knw he went down until the last week 35 scan. Ha, so we walk thru same worry. So more hope some more..haha