(2008/06) June 2008

hi girls...

with regards to the hospital bag, do we need to pack in milk bottles with brand new teats? coz i understand that the mother may not have much colostrum the first few days...will only come after 3-4 days.

so meanwhile, if no milk n no choice, the hospital will feed the baby with formula milk... will they be using their hospital bottles?? (eeeks) or we provide them with our own bottles and brand new teats?

so may problem abt MIL

my SIL goin to enggange on 7 June. The ceremony held at Pahang Malaysia...and my due on 12june which can be early or end May....but MIL insist my hb to attend the enggangement....since my MIL is a Singaporean all her sibling will go and stay there for the nite...if delivery after 2wks MIL want hb to go also....only enggange ma not wedding leh...

tinyfeet
no need ma..coz hospital will give formula in glass bottle....but will let them know which formula u are giving to yr bb

tinyfeet...
no... no need to pack... the hosp has got those milk bottles to feed the baby. the milk will come in small milk bottles. these bottles are only meant for one-time use... use already throw.

but i suggest u get the hosp to feed the baby by cup if u reali wan to bf. feeding the baby with bottle nipples could result in nipple confusion and cause baby not to latch well.

and oh... those glass milk bottles the hosp use... u can ask the hosp to give u some to bring home if u are going to bf. they are very good BM storage.

<font color="aa00aa">tinyfeet, hospital will feed our baby with glass bottle milk. (At least this is wat i saw during my #1 at Glen lah). So, basically they dont use our bottle milk. Hospital will had glass bottle milk which is ready for baby to consume.</font>

jess...
well... they say we cant touch water during confinement. but frankly, how far can we do that? :p everyday has to brush teeth and wash face, go loo oso hv to wash and clean after that. i wld say jus minimise water contact i guess.

veniz,
yup. trying to ignore watever my ILs ve to say now...
on my bb cot's (aka playpen too actually)...kekekkee.i bought tis colour cos i like the pic very much - from aussino during one of the member's sale last yr. cos the pic is tat of mouses n i tot it was kinda of cute n suit the theme cos bb will be a rat bb mah...

babycupid,
i bought tis musical mobile from Mums &amp; Babes @ AMK for abt S$60+. it is sonic activatated, meaning tat if bb cries, the musical mobile will start to play on its own.

christina,
not fast liao, considering tat mine is due tis thurs n hb will be wif me in hospital thru out till discharge on sat. if we didnt set it up over the wkend, bb will ve nowhere to sleep when she comes back wif us on sat.

soyabean,
i got 1 hand-me-down mattress too but hb used it to buff up the height of the playpen. we went n bought a new one from bb kingdom @ ard $39.90 (if i recall correctly) cos of hygiene concern...

yeah...i will be at gleneagles and my frn told me abt asking them for the milk bottles and buy this cover thingy from them to use as expressed milk storage bottles. hence no need to buy storage bags etc.

then what formula will they be feeding the baby? or we bring our own?? i dunnoe which brand is good...can tell me more so that i can stock it at hme in case ive no milk for the baby..i got the similac one from the abbott seminar a few mths back..is that good enough for a new born??

how do the hosptial feed the baby from cup??

and ive not opened up my medela pump box yet. the hospital nurse at gleneagles will teach me or not?? i got to sterilise them before bringing there or they will do the service for me??

<font color="ff6000">tinyfeet

yesh yesh jus asked them for empty glass milk bottles, at times they have stocks

as for formula choosing, they wil ask u which brand u want.. i chose similac tat time for my #1</font>

Crystal, the playpen good leh. actually hor, someone (from forum)taught me, on top baby can sleep, below can use as storage for diapers.

Actually, after joining forum, I learnt lots of things and meet lots of friends and friendly forumers.

<font color="aa00aa">During my 1st confinement, brushing teeth and washing face, i'm using boiled water. My MIL dont allowed me to use any tap water. So, the water i used is bit warm type.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">crystal,
Looking at your playpen, reminded me that i oso hvnt set up mine. Anyhow, me just in wk34, so hubby said will see wat gynae said in this coming Friday check up, only decide if need to set up so early.</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">felicia.. do they charge for the extra milk bottle when we ask for more? i actually bought pigeon milk storage bottle liao, wonder will the bottle nipple fit in the glass bottle as well ;p</font></font>

crystal
do your playpen have an extra board for changing of diapers....if so yrs is the same as mine...below have place for storage....if didn't lower down the playpen level.

<font color="aa00aa">ioio, as far as i know they dont charge you for the glass bottle, as they'll throw it even if you dont get it from them.

Actually last time when i delivered at Glen, i even asked for more milk bottle in glass to bring home. And the nurse was so good to give me few more w/o extra charges. hehe...</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">that would be great.. i will try to request from them.. btw i oso bought pigeon bottles.. but dun mind keeping extra at home.. for pigeon ones think will bring it out if there's need to express out of home.. as the bottles are lighter..</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Just now i had a sneeze, then can felt a sharp pain at my V part. Then my bb start to move a bit.
Now i had this funny thinking 'will my bb be pushed to lower end coz of my sneeze?' hehehe.....</font>

my bb cot is still inside my rm.. wif the plastic sheEts covering the mattress.. kekeke.. untouchable.. nw wanted to get the waterproof sheet b4 i open it up n put the bedsheet n beddings..
any idea where to get the waterproof sheet? to place between the mattress n bedsheet

shycloud, isit? so that means Thurs is indeed good day. So you attending your friend's wedding dinner on thurs evening lor? Me already attended my friend's solemnisation cum buffet lunch yesterday.

Felicia, I won't think of using boiled water to wash hands or clean face, etc. Will use tap water, dun really care 100% on traditional beliefs lor. Oh, btw, I also stubborn one lar, about VBAC. My hb ok with it, coz as long as he is not the person in pain, it will be fine. Told him the most when I in normal delivery, I may just grab his hair while screaming, just like korean gals when fighting. heehee.

haha tinyfeet...
i reali laff at ur last comment. :p i didnt follow this boiled water thingy wif my no1 actuali... and frankly i didnt know the water has to be boiled until i read the girls' comments here... :p

babycupid,

i just bought 1 from kiddy place.

its from babysafe brand witht he usual babysafe pink prints

abt $30 plus i think...abt size of cot
they got 2 options on size..another option is smaller in size but they give 2 sheets of it...diff in price..more ex for 2 sheets of smaller size

it says on the packaging that we just need to lay it on top of mattress then the bedsheet..its non slip and would run out of place

<font color="blue">can i ask something abt the steriliser huh?? i hv this new avent steriliser and it comes wif a few pack of some powder.. wat is it for huh?? we need to put the powder in when we sterilise the bottles is it?? n we must sterilise the steriliser once b4 we sterilise the bottles rite?? </font>

Babycupid, I bought pigeon brand waterproof sheets from Isetan some time back. It has a soft cotton layer on the top. Bought 4 pieces.. hehe.I plan to place it above the bedsheet.

veniz...
yes, but i wun be attending cos very xin ku to travel here and there..lol. furthermore, i pretty much can't eat most of the dishes...cos got all the seafood and stuff...haha so got excuse..

boiling water with gas is much much cheaper but i only got 1 kettle..and then bathing must boil so much maybe my glass surface stove will shatter in pieces!

i bought a phillips electric flask to put in baby room..so can use warm water to clean her ass etc.

and with the aircon on during confinement, electricty will be damn siong!

my electricity bill of just me n my hubby n maid is abt $180 per mth. it soar to $250 during CNY when we have frns at our place playing texas holdem marathon.

lets see if my confinement hit a record high!

i shall keep my fingers crossed on my endurance to stay thru confinement..if not..i will just XXXX it and shower for all i care!

Hi Veniz
Yes, victoria is born in Feb 04.
Those eyes are abt the only thing she got from me, the rest are Dad's. I wonder abt Maximus though.

Hi soyabean
We had a lot of prob when my MIL decided to go over to help my SIL. Cos all along we thot MIL will be here for good. But MIL thot we are going to put my girl in CC once she is old enough but we never wanted to. So best to really talk things out lor....

Felicia, thks for replying.. jus now i went out for long lunch. Jus back. Anyway you must be experience.. now having your second one. =)

Just to share my hospital bag list:

For myself:
Front button Pajamas,
Slippers and socks
Personal items -tooth paste and brush, comb,hair bands, facewash etc
Sanitary pads, small towel, disposable panties
Glasses
Nursing bra &amp; a couple of bra pads
Documents - Hospital pre-registration docs, ID, ROM cert,telephone book,
Receipts for gynae package - to claim medisave
Clothes and underwear for going home
My favourite Pillow
Some snacks (maybe chocs)
Books/magazine
Journal and pen.

For HB:
Camera and extra batteries
Toiletry

For baby:
Baby wrap
Clothes for going home
2 x Socks and mittens
2x cloth nappy
Not sure whether need to provide bb clothings during hospital stay, but will bring extra bb clothings

oh okok.. i will take a look at kiddy palace.. kekeke.. thanks..

my frend bot it in metro.. she told me is ard 10 over dollars.. mus go check it out..

felicia,
yurs oni 34wks, so still ve a wk or 2 to play ard wif. cos i no time liao, tat's y ve to settle it over the last wkend lor...if not sure last min karang kapok type....

danryan,
yes, mine is aka playpen type but double up as bb's cot. so i be using the bottom layer to store diapers n toys in the meantime while bb is still using the upper layer. nope, dun ve a separate diaper changing table.

veniz,
true, after i joined tis forum, then i realise how much things i ve learnt. w/o tis forum, think i prob be very blur, now still blur but not so bad...kekekekeeee....

<font color="ff6000">bizz

its called packets of citric acid for u to wash ur steriliser once a while.. keep it first.. for me the first time i used tat time.. i just so called sterlise empty 3 times as in place water den sterilise den pour away and repeat 3 times first before i start with my bottles..</font>

Bizsnow
The powder if I not wrong is citric acid. it is used to descale the steriliser. After a period of use,Follow instructions to de-scale the unit and you see plenty of dirt coming out. It is basically used to clean up the unit lor.

<font color="aa00aa">veniz, about hubby in labour room. Tat day was discussing to bring in the camera and my hubby misunderstood me thinking i want him to do video shot, then he was in very serious tone, telling me "R u kidding? You want me to be superman meh? Handle you oredy enuf and you still want me to do video shot?" muahahaha.... i think he oredy prepare himself for the worst scenario of me grapping him and shouting/ screaming like a crazy woman. haha....</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">mummies... do we really need socks? will feel cold at labour room? cos nowaday noramlly is feeling hot rather than cold.. ha ha....

nss.. do u wash your nappy first? btw.. i bought new ones but havent wash... for clothing, i am bringing romper</font></font>

Re:Waterproff sheets,
Won't those sheets feel hot for bb? I wanted to purchase to protect the mattress but alot ppl disagree to it as it will feel hot for bb. Any brand recommendation that is suitable?

<font color="aa00aa">Grace, not really experienced lah, still lot of thing to learn leh.
You really cannot imagine motherhood (fr pregnancy till bringing up kid) is really a never ending knowledge tat you need to keep learning.</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">grace.. me oso gleneagles if no complications... hee....</font></font>