(2008/06) June 2008

haha, a friend of mine was just telling me about this Vietnam custom that if pregnant mommy takes lots of durian, the bb will not drool too much when bb comes out.

leng leng, your gynae can help you turn bb nearer to the edd?

cactus, ioio, just started on fresh milk recently.Will definitely try to take more dairy product.

nss, fresh milk not that good for putting on weight. cos not high in protein. only high in calcium. those powdered milk is better cos it contains at least 100% RDA for preg women. can be a meal substitute even!

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus... glad to know this... so i will bb can to come out as and when he likes... but think not so soon as still not engaged yet and no feel of contraction...</font></font>

Everyone packed for the hospital already?
I'm packing this week.

nss,
yah, heard of the external cephalic version or ECV,
but it's not guranteed,
BB may turn back too...
It's going to hurt like HELL!!!

feifei,
i've oreadi done 1st rd steralising of my avent n pigeon bottles liao, now all packed in ziplock bags. was thinking when need to use, then re-steralise again lor...

gers,
jus to share...here some pics of my bb's cot tat hb n me set up yd, cant post here cos exceed dimensions stated of 600x600 in "Paint" application, anyone can teach me how to re-size to correct dimension to post here? in the meantime, i ve loaded the bb cot pics into our yahoo album...

regarding durians - I ate 3x in 2 weeks cos heard tt baby is small and ended up putting on 2kg. But hor, baby still small :p So no more durians for me!

i think I give up liao, better not try anything else, if not too hard to lose. I put on 12kg so far, first pregnancy only 10kg.

Hi leng leng, me all packed liao, all barang parked in the car
KS right? They say 2nd one normally will be earlier, my first was at 38wks. Can share your experience?

hi crystal,
When you fail to upload the pic, they will tell you the maximum dimension you can upload here. Follow that dimension.

shirley98,
if below 3KG still ok lah,
durian's the best this time of the year... haha

Yup, told my BB to turn,
asked my 2 older ones to ask naughty Di Di to turn too...

ioio,
my 1st 2 birth is by normal delivery.

Linda,
for 1st birth,
we're packed at 30th week,
bag in car at 35th week,
this time, Bo Chap leh... haha...
Too confident already...

For previous 2, 1 is 2 days earlier, 1 is 3 days earlier.

<font color="aa00aa">crystal,
I learn from Morraine the way to resize the picture. You right click on the picture, then click 'edit'. Under the 'Image' tab, chose 'stretch/ skew'. Then u change the % on the box. I remember for mine, i need to change to below 30%, only able to upload into here.

Go and try it.</font>

LengLeng
I am done with my packing....have false alarm over the wkend......

durian
when preg for #1 i ate a lot of durian, and now my son don't even like the smell or eat it....

Linda,
normal lah,
for each pregnancy we'll gain even more...
Do try to Breastfeed, it'll help us to shed our weight.

Danryan,
be prepared for MORE false alarm... keke...

I ate durians for my last 2 pregnancies,
both my kids love durians leh...
Don't give him the bitter ones,
give him the sweet ones.

ioio...
hehe... is this ur 1st child? if it is, then the later baby comes out the better. enjoy "er ren shi jie" wif hubby while u can... when baby comes along, its a totally 100% life transition.

crystal...
usu when i use Paint, i go to menu "Image", then "Scretch/Skew" to adjust the image size. depending on the original size of pic, sometimes i choose 60-70% for both horizontal and vertical. if size dun gets smaller, then Un-do and try again. :p

cactus...
i see... then not so bad... at least there will be some helping hands ard when u do confinement.
my mil will oso be doing confinement for me. but she will be coming over to my place, and my maid will be ard as well.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">soyabean.. yup no.1.. yup understand tt.. esp when mil may stay with us to take care of bb after i back to work.. she is a nice lady lah.. just that i feel that we are always in lack of chemistry and my "er ren shi jie" will be gone oso ;(... </font></font>

Crystal,
Aiya don be bother by what Mil say. They alway like this. Sometime also never think of how tiring we are and some mummies size can pop 3kg but some may not. FOr my case I big size so popping a 3kg plus for my #1 also very tiring but they see me as if a pig easy in easy out HAHA! So main is still U &amp; HB share the same sentiments is good enough

Aprilmum,
I not sure about Chin Chow cos I never take during whole pregnancy even though till now.. only heard my mum n others told me chin chow no good for bb. So just stick to coconut better

ioio...
it will take a while for a couple to adjust to parenthood. well, once things are settled, there will be those little things u and ur husband can do to enjoy coupletime tog...
my hubby and i used to go out once or twice a mth together for dinner/movie. lately hvnt been able to do so cos alot of happenings and we've been so busy...

i must say that when my no1 came along, it was a rude shock to both hubby and i. we knew being parents are not easy but the real truth didnt hit us until the baby reali comes along. there were alot of ups and downs during the 1st yr for us. but well, we live and learn...

cactus...
i see... my mil oso insisted doing confinement for me. but i insisted she comes over to my place, but for ur case, ur mil wldnt be able to do that cos of ur SIL's kid. its reali a pity that u cant get ur maid to help out during confinement. hv u selected ur maid yet though? and well, if space is not a constraint at ur MIL's, then why not tok to ur mil/hubby and see if it'll be ok to bring her in earlier?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">soyabean.. tks.. i will learn to be a good mother.. i think sacrificing "er ren shi jie" for the child is inevitable lah..jux that having to face in-law everyday is a hard learning process for me.. i know she cares for us.. but the gap is always there.. i hope I wont be too tiring managing the relationship rather than taking care of bb.. </font></font>

Feifei, crystal, just went for antenatal course last fri. told that bottles once sterilized have to be re-sterilised if not used within 24 hours.

Aprilmum, my mo says no chin chao. No good for bb. Causes fits or what ( I can't remember exactly the reason).

soyabean, ya, when I was 1st time parent, always quarrel with hb, even the way we take care of my son also quarrel, then later was about money, childcaring lar, etc. Only recent end of last yr we managed to be much settled down. Now 2nd one coming, I am afraid we are going to start our indifferences again. Haiz, so sick and tired of all these so stopping at two.

Aprilmum, just last week, Cactus and Ellysia had prep talk me about drinking chinchow drink. they said no good so now I stopped liao. I guess can drink once lar, but not everytime like me, who have craving for it everyweek.

hi Leng leng
haha... too confident? kekee... I can't wait for baby to pop, mainly cos I am looking forward to the adventure. Too bored. keke...

Is it a norm to put on more with each consecutive pregnancy? I thought normally #2 will be less cos not much time to rest unlike the first?

I will try to bf, but dunno how successful cos I have eczema on my aerolas and that cause a lot of pain and inconvenience when I had my first.

Hi Danryan
My girl LOVES durian too. She can smell it from a mile away.
i also had a lot when I was carrying her.

Guess i am just impatient for baby's arrival lah. Even hubby says that i kan cheong. But I really sian already lor, looking forward to an adventure.

danryan,

i also eat durian almost everyday during my 1st pregnancy, then my son n me after that see durian, think it is smelly, i just overcome the smell when I was about 6 months into this 2nd pregnancy, thought eating some will make my bb tougher

Cactus,
M trying not to let my MIL’s views bother me, I jus try not to think abt it lor. Wonder y pple like my MIL n yur SIL like to impose their views on others? It is as if, if we differ from their views/perceptions of things, like bbs’ wtg, we r not conforming to the “norm”. no offense, but I find such pple very narrow-minded n c stuff oni on micro-perspectives. I hate it….since u 1.56m tall, yur bb at 3kg oreadi consider very gd liao. I m 1.6m tall n mine is oni going to be 2.7kg max as est by my gynae at birth, so said good enf liao cos me n hb not very tall type (hb oni 1.76m), so she dun expect a gigantic bb. She said would be rather strange if both hb n me r petite n bb is huge…something must be wrong…

Roxy / feifei,
Good man, u gers may jus get to be neighbours on 15th may while poor me would be much on my own in RH ley….

Feifei,
Yup, ve to admit tat he reai very sweet tis time round… ;) sure, will keep everyone posted as soon as I m up to it….u too, keep us posted tomolo ok on yurs final decision whether to proceed on thurs or not, k?

Aprilmum,
Seems like it….kekekekee…

linda
ya lor...me also can't wait to pop already...too tired to carry my tummy now and pelvic born felt so much pain when walking....

fennie
but this preg i don't know y i don't feel like eating leh...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">ooh crystal.. you remind me that we will have 3 babies arriving tis Thurs.. ;p ps rem to post ur bb photos here.. ;p</font></font>

Hi jojo
I was very skeptical abt staying with my MIL too for my first confinement. But generally, I would think she is a nice lady and easy to live with. There will be differences definately, in views, habits. But have to close one eye somehow if the matter is not big. Cos understand that they are also having difficulties to adjust to you.

For me, the issue was when it comes to discipline lor. keke...the girl will tend to find ah ma when I am caning her. And I had to be REALLY firm.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">hi linda... yup.. it's two ways... so ur mil stays with you only for confrontment? or taking care of ur ger throughout? i am getting a confrontment lady for my confrontment as i hope tt i can learn the proper way from her as CL has been taking care of new born everyday.. so more professional..</font></font>

Linda,
will put on more,
cause "spare parts" enlarged liao...

BM - Can express out to feed?
Waiting is never nice.... hahaha....

cactus_79,
BB's cone head is only temporary lah...

MLP,
yes, can "fang xin" now tat she crosses the 2kg mark. was so scare she couldnt...yes, MILs are a headache. yur MIL reai hor, like u said, very "extra" lor, no offense, sounds a bit hypocritical lor to me, like mine also...in front of me n hb says boy or ger nvrmind, behind us, said something else to relatives n frens, not knowing tat wat she said will come back to our ears too. sianz...my FIL even better still, tis one is granddaughter, so nvrmind lar, he can still go travelling to china today n would not be back till a day before her 1st mth celebration. dunno wat kinda of grandfather is tis. dumb!

Hi crystal,
I agree with you ont he 'conforming' part. They expect us to think like them.
I will use reverse psychology/ humour on these people lor... If my MIL says 'something wrong' cos baby size dun tally with husband and wife size, i will say "Shh.... baby not his mah!!" Of course, it will depend on how serious is your MIL. In my case, it never fails lor, cos MIL will go choy choy choy...and forgot the whole incident.

hi catcus,
I also believe bigger babies are easier to care for. but also have to depend on fate how big baby is lor, cannot force one. Some elders say only is easy.

Just ignore your SIL. My girl via natural birth, was born with a round head, ended up sleep too much on her back, her head flat like anything for so long. now also ok liao.

hi Jojo
MIL took care of girl for 3 years. now taking care of SIL child, she will be back for my son after my 3 mths maternity.
actually no correct way to care for a child, the best way is the happiest way.
I believe a happy mummy results in a happy baby. take things in your stride!!! I am sure you can do it!!

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">ha ha.. crystal.. mine say in front of me she prefers ger cos it's cuter.. too bad i am expecting a boy so jux ignore her... she can pray for all the rest to give birth to ger lor...</font></font>

Linda, Victoria is born early 2004 rite? She has real big eyes, just like you, pretty gal.

About IL, crystal, dun care abt your FIL, just think of you, baby and your hb. IL can say lots of things without thinking one. Like Linda said, just 'swar swar kei' (ignore them). Mine also, said my son length short during the day I just gave birth in hospital, made me cried at night that two nights, then now, they claimed my son looks like my FIL (FIL not very tall also), and were in fact very proud of it now.

So dun let all these words affect you. You just prepare happy mood for your c-sect this thurs. Thurs is indeed a very good day for all, even my friend is having a wedding on Thurs, just too bad I have a big tummy now, otherwise I will join her as jie mei.

Cactus, your baby cot (or I can say playpen cot?) is very cute and nicely done. At least your beddings are neutral and versatile colour, suits both boys and gals. I can't wait to assembly mine, which will be most probably next monday.

Crystal,
You so fast set up the cot liao. Me not yet cos dad dun allow me to set up, can only do tat when i delivery liao then hb go home and do it b4 i go home. So now can only see the bb cot in box only.

ioio,
sure, will do tat as soon as i m up to it after delivery...

cactus,
yes, bigger size bbs easier to care for but if too big in size like 4kg &amp; above, i read in research papers before tat it may lead to health disease for bbs in later yrs in life. the desired wtg range is 2.5kg to 3.99kg according to the research paper.

crystal...
u jus hit me wif the fact that i hvnt set up our cot... and worse... hvnt even gone to buy the cot mattress (cos its a hand me down)...

veniz...
yeah... i still rembr the unhappy times after no1 came along... it was a painful adjustment for hubby and me.

ioio, linda, crystal, cactus...
well, to be frank, my relationship wif my mil was pretty good b4 the grandchild came along. our relationship actuali soured during confinement and it became strained from then onwards. i am still abit skeptical abt having her do confinement for me this round, but then again, i jus hv to tell myself that its oni a mth, and since i'm stopping at 2, tis is her last chance to do confinement for me.

i oso hate it when pple try to impose their thinking and opinions on me and make it seem like watever i do is wrong and watever they say is rite. but sometimes, i hv learnt to one ear in and one ear out on these things.