(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="e4287c">Anyone’s gynae have told to apply something and massage on the nipple’s surrounding and squeeze to see any liquid appear? Yesterday during checkup gynae have ask me to purchase medela’s purelan nipple cream. I’m still confused on how to do that. Anyone knows?</font>

Felicia
ok lah, you shall b my hugging partner. So whenever we see other couples hug here, u knw wat to do lah. We openly hug each other too. hee...

Medela Freestyle, u mean pump handsfree or wat so special?

angel_z, okok, i will seriously consider ameda. so glad you are the first to try it. about the lanoisoh milk bag(i think my spelling also off lar), the spree organiser, dramaqueen selling at $11.00/ box for 25bags. She had just sold all her stock but will be getting more in. I told her later when nearing my Edd, will get from her, and she also see can give me cheaper rates. So anyone wants we can combine and ask for good rates from her.

Cactus, yours more scary, milk came out from ears... So far, puke flow out from nose is common, but not ears lor.

Ellysia, at least breast expand a bit I will look much better and well endowed now mah. now is like tummy big, breast small, pple see liao also feel funny (One of them is my hb lor). My director was telling me one of the gals in his office in Holland who is peggie, now only 4th mth, wow, have great boobs, and tummy very fast round. I told him we different type of pple, and I dun drink milk to boost mine.

hi angel_z,

that's funny.
that time cos i hvnt bought my pump yet.
later i bought fr www.breastfeeding.org.sg. they hv 4 locations fr volunteers. can go their hse to test the pump. but seem like no such service now.

for those who is interested in pump but cant' decide.
can alway check out this website
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

but read this:-
The Group has demo pumps for nursing mothers or expectant mothers to try. For expectant mothers, you cannot try the pump directly on your breast but you can test it on your thigh area. Please note that any expressed breast milk will be discarded because of hygiene reasons.

Am back from my gynae visit. Praise God bb is growing, though he is still at the lower percentile, ie slower growth than other babies. Last week, bb body showed 32 wks, I was so worried, and asked God for miracle to let bb body be at least 35wks today (3 weeks growth in 1 weeks span) and God is good, today his body shows 34w6d. God did it!!
Though his head still bigger than body (39wk)and Im still considered a mild growth restriction case. Gynae now wants to keep bb inside till 38-39 weeks.. hence when I suggested 15th May he's not very keen as im only 37w2d then, but have so far made a tentative booking. He will see me next Tues again and decide c-sect date. BB is 2.5kg today. Now he tells me he prefer bb to be at least 2.6 - 2.7kg upon birth.

Veniz, my mom thought I was going to die when that happened!! :p

What's this freestyle pump? Sounds really cool! dun know if medela website has info not..

veniz: hopefully ameda will be useful to you too.. =)

rooller: maybe kkh change their style le loh. or maybe special care nursery still offer the pump jus that i never ask from them..

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">roxy... ur bb has meet the 2.5kg mark.... congrat!

rooler.. after a bit of research.. i realised that mumsfairy's bundle set is cheaper... unless u r a breastfeeding gp member... ;p</font></font>

Congrats Roxy!! That is very good news indeed!! Your doctor is greedy lah... :p dun mind me saying! My friend's bb come out at 39 weeks.. only 2.8kg.

babycupid... im 36w1d today based on EDD but i duno accurate or not coz i thot the cycle i conceived, I O late by a few days....

Thanks ioio... it's a relief to know bb is growing

Thanks cactus, Haha..I also agree my doctor is greedy... initially he told me bb estimated weight will only be 2.5 at birth, now today i hit 2.5 liao... he tells me he prefers 2.6 - 2.7kg.. But I guess it's better to keep baby inside longer if he is putting on weight inside.. if too light/too early come out might have complications...

Felicia, cactus
wow, really so high-tech until the motor so small n light, hands free some more.

Rooller
Hw old r u? Cos last time u tot u oldest? But if u paiseh your age, its ok

<font color="aa00aa">Roxy, tats good news! Actually my #1 was c-sec at Wk37 oso, so i'm not sure why your gynae is hesitate to do c-sec for you at wk37.

crystal,
FFY website description is too brief on the freestyle. Maybe you can try medela website.</font>

Roxy, did you do a dating scan when you were about 8 weeks pregnant (going by EDD)? That scan is supposed to be the most accurate in dating a pregnancy. It seems that your bb is in good shape no matter what the EDD is. hitting 2.5kg is very good news.. !!

Yah, TF. I just saw... cool hor...

Felicia, normally, doctors don't like to do c-section unless something wrong with bb, or placenta cannot cope, or if mother cannot carry on pregnancy. If bb is better off in mother, normally no c-section or will have later date for c-section.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, for my #1, i was placenta previa but no bleeding. My gynae insist me to do the c-sec on wk37 though i request to delay few more days due to my hubby working schedule. Not sure if my gynae want to do it at his convenience timing or he found tat i'm goin to labour soon. He just brush me off with his reason 'better c-sec at wk37'.</font>

felicia, yes feel so much better after today's visit as compared to last week...I also duno why he dun want to take bb out at 37, I guess his mentality is that if bb is growing inside and blood flow to womb, amniotic fluid level all ok, might as well keep bb inside to pile on more weight... will see wat he says again next Tues

yes cactus, you are right... he says normal date for c-sect is normally 38wks unless special case like not enuff fluid or cord around neck then no choice.. my 8 weeks scan showed edd as 4th June.. my current est edd is 3rd june so I guess should be quite accurate ah...

Thanks babycupid.. he's still considered lower growth than expected baby and also growth restriction, but feel much better liao. Thanks for everyone's prayers

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">felcia.. for placenta previa .. it is safer to have c section as there may be intensive bleeding if it's by natural delivery... </font></font>

I see. My understanding is normally doctors prefer not to have c-section unless really necessary. I'm not sure if placenta previa is reason for c-section at 37 weeks. but I understand that 37 weeks onwards, if bb is at 50th percentile wight, it's okay to take bb out. bb is considered at term at 37 weeks already.

Felicia, I think ioio has the answer to your question!
Your doctor may have been scared that you may go into natural delivery since you already touched 37 weeks.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">ooh come to the c-section.. if it's 38 weeks then mine will be 9th of June... ooh jux one day after the dragonboat festival and i get to eat my dumpling b4 giving brth.. ha ha.... but think best is i prefer to delivery naturally.. ;(</font></font>

Roxy, normally, doctors will take our LMP to calculate the EDD. Unless we dun know our LMP, or irregular cycle. The dating scan at about 8 weeks is known to be very accurate to date the pregnancy and estimate the EDD. So if the dating scan date is more than 1 week away from the calculated EDD (from LMP), doctors will use the dating scan EDD. But as we approach our final weeks, for various reasons (medical reasons), our doctors may again change our delivery date (due to reasons like aging placenta..etc).

ioio, I also prefer to deliver naturally... but just have to see how. keeping fingers crossed no complications... and bb guai guai stay in good position.

<font color="aa00aa">ioio/cactus, maybe you're right. Anyhow, my #1 was born at 3.1kg at wk37. So maybe if delay again, her weight might be heavier, if wait labour then maybe will ended up emergency c-sec.</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">yup... cactus.. my bb is breech at 29++ weeks... this week gg to see gynae again.. 33++ week.. doc says if still breech.. most prob will stay that way and have to c section.. but i think i dun wan to confirm c cestion with him till 36 weeks or later.. </font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, tats why i'm gaining 22kgs during my 1st pregnancy!!!
But cannot blame my #1 lah, coz i myself didnt ctrl my diet oso, keep eating and eating.</font>

ioio, if you are keen to go for natural birth, don't agree to a c-section yet unless medically need to take bb out as quickly as possible. my SIL's #1 turned head down only at 35 weeks!
You still have hope. your doctor seems to be quite pro c-section though...

ioio,
like wat cactus said.. dun agree to c section until ltr.. cos my sis 1st kid only headed down at 36 or so.. bery late..

<font color="ff6000">ioio

agree with wat the mummies said.. my sis #2 oso did not turned til delivery tat day itself, the bb gave in after my sis kip talking to him! *serious* tat was wat the gynae advised her</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">yup.. i will try to stick to the end of 36 weeks then decide... think my gynae want me to be mentally prepared that there might be the possibility... ;p</font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">roxy.. is that u who ordered the brestpump oversea? i am so tempted to do that as it's much cheaper.. why about the warranty part.. u sacrifice it?</font></font>

hihi ladies,
was too busy to chat with u all today..

Roxy,
REally happy for u cos ur bb has made e 2.5kg mark =D..yeah!...So now can relax and keep on talking to ur bb ya..

Angel,
u also must take care of urself lor..were u given some lotion to wash ur wound with?

Ellysia,
hows ur feet swell now? mine still swelling...changed my gynae appt to fri morning cos tmr still hv to attend a program training..

I can feel my bb sittin gat my V there also lor..tink my bb is engaged too =D.

hello ioio
Just woke up from my nap.. sleep like pig, keke but feel so much more relieved today to have a good sleep.... yes i bought my ameda from http://www.hackleyhme.com/product_info.php/products_id/239/2008_Pump_in_Style®_Advanced_Breastpump:_Backpack.html
retailing at us$224.95. Cost me about s$312. There's no international warranty so Im taking a risk by getting it. Just pray dun break down!! If you are thinking of getting from overseas, the anticipated time is about 5 business working days from Hackley to CGW then another1 - 1.5 wks from CGW to reach Sing so must order fast!!

hi feifei
Thanks!! Yeah, me and hubby very much relieved today also.. my hubby told gynae we were very worried last week, Dr says we should have called him and dun worry unnecessary... he says he see many such cases. Ooh.. yours and ellysia bb both engaged liao ah? That's good, both of you might pop anytime! My gf told me swelling feet is also a sign that you are about to deliver....

me just went with hb to pick up our new car and we went to NUS canteen to eat heee

feifei,

somehow when bb sit on V area, our v area seems to have bloated a bit and legs cannot be close when sitting, have to be apart to give way to tummy.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

ellysia, so got ur new car? Is this ur 1st car? I remember when i'm hvin my #1, me and hubby oso struggling whether to get a car or not and we finally brought urs and got the car just 10days before my schedule c-sec.

Aprilmum,
Ya, i had tat on my right armpit, look so ugly tat i dont like to wear sleveless. Actually i got tat lump during my 1st pregnancy and everyone told me it'll gone after delivery but hor it only reduce in size. Then coming this pregnancy it seems to grow bigger a bit again.
And i did ask my massage lady about it, she said most probably is milk duct. She told me she'll help me massage it when she's doin my post natal massage. Hopefully it'll permanently gone after tat lah.</font>

Good morning..

Angel_z,
I bought the Ameda dual pump from mumsfairy too. How do you sterilised the pump huh? The instruction manual says that certain parts cannot be thrown into boiling water to sterilise. Anyway, did you use boiling water or the normal milk bottle steriliser can liao?

Roxy,
Congrats! Lil Isaiah will be big &amp; strong. Haha. I oso flipped when my doc told me that if possible he wants to kip Lil ZuEn inside until 38th week. I guessed the longer they stay inside, the better it is (provided that the condition inside is conducive lah). Right now, I am just counting down every day, taking end of 38th week as the end point. I feel like I am runing a marathon race. Haha.

Feifei,
My feet oso still swelling. Last night, it was swelling badly, so they remain fat this morning. Haiz. I realised that the swelling is slowly moving upwards wor. Even certain part of my thigh is swelling. Yours leh? I am starting to have problem walking..

aprilmum,
No leh. Only got very dark pigmentation. Sob.

Morning ladies..

Roxy,
ya lor, now can fangxin and concentrate to prepare fr bb's arrival..

Ellysia,
ya lor..bery fast de...tmr will ask my gynae to check whether my bb has been engaged yet =D..

ZuEn,
no leh, only my ankle and feet swell wor..got ask ur hb to massage for u?

Aprilmum,
I dun hv e lumps, only pigmentation lor..hiaz..

Felicia,
u feel pain at e lump area?