(2008/06) June 2008

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">angel... no worries.. ur bb weight will catch up very fast... so long as healthy will do.... </font></font>

cactus,

Booking a room in advance has the benefit IF u wanted a ward on tat day and the hosp is near full, they will give priority to another mum who has pre-booked the type of ward.

If u book a ward, it does not guarantee tat u will get it on labour. But the hosp will try to give u. E.g. if want single ward but no more, they can sometimes give u 2-bedded ward until single ward available then straightaway can be transfer to single ward. But if u have not pre-book, u lose tat priority.

in addition, hosp will get our personal info first and key into their pc, so on delivery day registration process is shorten.

tis is wat i understand as per TMC policy.

Cactus, I think must book de la.. If not walk in delivery scared no bed for you ba...

Christina, i also booked 4 bedded de then will upgrade to 2 bedded...

Can anyone tell me the reason for early delivery?

few reasons i know is walking too much and having sex during last trimster...

Cactus: Thanks.. Ya.. when nurse told me baby might even lost weight during the first few days.. i wan to faint liao.. aiyo.. wan her to gain weight.. she still lose weight.. sigh..

ioio: thanks! =)

ah morr: thanks.. now feeling quite surreal.. that i m a mummy le.. so weird.. heehee..

babycupid: oh no... ok.. then your fren's bb stay in NICU for how long? ya.. my baby is jus too small so cant go home..

haahaa.. your this fren's bb very cute eh.. within 1 month and gain weight so fast to 4kg liao.. power..

<font color="blue">hey angel,
congrats!! dun worry so much lah..i am sure ur bb will be fine.. u take care and rest more hor.. </font>

babycupid,

NO u won't be charged in false alarm, however u will have to pay for any admin charges or checkup charges if done on tat day.

This is according to the TMC booklet they given me, i recently received cos i have booked my ward.

Icegal, i have not decided yet. Either Mt A or Glen E.

Tinyfeet, when is the latest we must make the booking for GLen E to avoid rise in cost ? Nurse said can wait so i tot will inform them only at next visit.

angel,
looking forward to seeing yur bb's photos here...

one of my uni klasmate gave birth at wk30 n her bb also borne very small @1.7kg oni, bb stayed in NICU for 3wks but now 2mths old, at hm doing well n good n in correct wtg range...so dun wori yeah...

angel,

My colleague case, her bb stay in ICU near to 2 mths i tink..

so 1-2 weeks still not so bad, dun be sad.

Ellysia, maybe your colleague's bb was born very premature. maybe week 28 or so? I think if bb have no other medical problems, once hit 2kg, can discharge already.

cactus,

I see, me also booked the highest grade ward, same as u, so no upgrade for me. If not available can only downgrade.

After i book the ward, the hosp send me a registration form and a hospital booklet (inside got many details which is v informative). The registration form state tat if my booked ward is not available on tat day, they will give me the next ward which could be 2-bedded, then will transfer me to single-bed as soon as available. Meaning they will give priority to pre-booked patients. I also understand from some past forum postings, tat in certain circumstances, the hosp will allow us to use 2-bedded room but they will not allow another patient to stay in, so in effect it is like a single bed room.

angel,

YUP but at least yr BB and yourself is safe! Now most impt is u take great care of yrself during confinement so u have energy to take care of your bb when he came back, as premature need more care and more checkups, more attention.

Ellysia, yeah.. that's what I read also.. actually, a 2-bedded room but only 1 person inside is better cos 2 bedder is so much bigger!

<font color="ff6000">cactus

downgraded arh.. hmm in GlenE case if we chose one bedded and no more vacancy den they wil give us a two bedded room but close up the room for us..

angel

slowly my dear.. one step at a time..

cactus,

Yesh she said around 28 weeks, bb less than 2KG and not so developed. We are v shocked tat time.
But her bb is ok leh, and ored 1 year old now.
so i telling angel not to worry.

Angel,
my frend bb stayed for 10days.. nw 3mths old le.. 5kgs plus hitting 6.. haha.. growing super fast..

ellysia,
icic.. ya.. tats my meaning of charging.. like nurse check dilation.. strap on machine to check contractions etc etc.. cos my frend false alarm once.. but was not charged.. cant remmeeber which hosp she went to..
Oh, it stated in the booklet? i did not see it.. kekeke.. mayb i miss out.. i oso booked my ward le..

cactus,

Better book the room lor, since no difference (cost wise still pay same deposit anyway) so may as well book.

oh ya ellysia,
Dr Wong gave me the admission letter.. the PD and Anthesiatic is already assigned.. did u get to choose the PD? I did not..

cactus,
ya lor.. she false alarm twice.. 1st time no charge.. 2nd time got.. but i dunno what she did on the 2nd time.

icegal,
me also told abt the upgrading, so the nurse suggest to me is 4-bedded ward. But have not donw the pre-admission yet maybe will ask the nurse on 17 may cos me will be going to see doc on tat day.

babycupid,

Yes it stated in booklet under FAQ, do check it out. i read the whole booklet ored.

cactus,

Yah the ICU room charges in pte hosp is v v expensive..

I read in TMC booklet, tink around $250 per day.

<font color="blue">angel,
@ least bb is ok..dat time my cousin gave birth to her bb in 31 week..only 1.2kg leh..too small..plus doc found dat there's a hole in the oesophagus (the food pipe)...so most of the milk that she was fed on got leaked out..and it causes her lungs to flood leh..no choice doc got to wait till she was 1.5kg then operate her..after dat they found her heart got a hole..a lot of complications..she was in NICU for 4mths plus then discharged..so i am sure urs will be fine 1..dun worry..</font>

babycupid,

Machine like fetal heartbeat machine, etc shd be chargeable.

I was charged in Dr Wong clinic when i was strapped on their CGT machine, tink around $50.

Then the doppler test i had to go bec need to check umbilical cord and blood flow of BB, i was charged like $100++ i tink... or $200 or so.

It probably depend on wat symptons she felt. Then some symptons may need certain machines or checkups and thus cost incurred.

ellysia: ya loh.. hubby oso say as long as baby is safe, thats more impt..

wa.. week 28 baby eh.. so her baby also stay in hosp for quite long loh..

ah morr: ya.. right now i m jus hoping that my op wound will heal faster.. still quite pain to stand, sit n walk..

cactus: wa... 60k eh.. thats alot.. thats why my gynae advised me to go kkh.. he predicted that if i stay in tmc, i baby will oso incur 20-30k.. i still dun know my bill yet but they told me its all deducted thru medisave so i dun need to pay cash..

Hi Ellysia and Bizznow, thanks for the carseats info. About TMC britax royale, already pass info to HB, if he looking for cheap cheap, will get him check out mum &amp; babes. Ellysia, weekend car is also good lor, KIA cars are good for value.

Felicia, you where got look like a gong with fringe? I find fringe for you is nice and sweet. I must have fringe to cover my high forehead coz I have small eyes, otherwise will look very alien.

Tinyfeet, mrswrx already sms me hers and your request for the desitin creamy, I had sms the spree organiser and confirm she has stock, will get for you both.

Angel_z, Congrats! Happy for you, as for your precious darling, I am sure she will do well in the hospital, so no worries ok.

babycupid: thanks for sharing.. after hearing so many real life stories, i feel better le.. jus hoping that time will pass faster..

bizznow: aiyo.. your cousin's baby so poor thing.. only 1.2kg!! and still need to operate.. so scary.. think i will freak out loh.. your cousin must be very strong..

my klasmate's cost for the NICU stay @ TMC for her bb was $9K excluding PD cost, etc. her total bill for the 3 wks stay + her own op cost came to $44K for a one-bedded ward...

cactus,

the PINK OF HEALTH covers up to $3000 for a PLAN 2 and thereafter, the CPF integrated plan will kick in. so u will be adequately covered for the deductibles.

there is also another plan that u can opt for instead of PINK OF HEALTH, which is either $150/$250 per year and covers yr entire bill, inclusive of deductible and co insurance and the rest fo the bill. meaning its total hospitalisation insurance coverage with pre and post hospitalisation reimbursement, A&amp;E and day surgury.(AIA ESSENTIAL)However, this does not have any hospitalisation income incentive(cash ebneift per day)

eg total bill of $10,000

deductibles of $3000
co insurance of 20%- ($10,000-$3000) x 20%=$1400
remaining bill of $5600
pre hospitalisation consultaiton $300
post hospitation treatment $200

the above will all be covered with a AIA CPF INTEGRATED PLAN + AIA ESSENTIAL.

so say u enrol for the 2 above plans that work hand in hand,it will cost u per year in total

$122.80 (from parents medisave)
$202.20 in cash.

Yrchild will be fully covered for his/her stay in the hospital.

i was warded for a day in glenE due to fever in a single bedded maternity ward (as i was already 7 mths pregnant then) my hubby stayed over with me with an additional bed and his 3 meals n tea breaks. that cost $30/day additional only. hence i dun think its a crucial factor u shld consider if the plan pays for yr overnite stay with the child or not.

PINK OF HEALTH pays you $100 per day in cash as an income incentive. $300 per day if you are warded for accident treatment.

its also only make sense that ANY company would not cover for any known complications of illness a child or unborn child may have in the doctors diagnosis records.

frankly, regardless which company's insurance plan you sign up with, in this competitive insurance market now, it takes no time for company A to review its products and upgrade/enhance it with better benefits than company's B. And the cycle goes on for company B to beat company C.

the safest bet will be to buy from an agent u are in good terms with, appears when any claims arises and the company has good track records of paying their clients promptly. there is a company which has very low premiums but often have to go thru a big hassle for claims be it in travel, health or motor accident claims..just ask any taxi driver which company has a reputation for that!

any agent, any company, any type of plan u may be considering, the paramount issue is to GET COVERED as soon as the child is born!

angel z,
rber to clean n dry your wound, and apply the drying spirit everytime you go to the toilet, it will heal fast that way

<font color="aa00aa"> Angel, did you wear the binder? Coz if c-sec , wearing binder at least can help to lessen the wound pain.

Dont worry, with all our blessing here, i'm sure your baby can soon be discharge.</font>

Tinyfeet, the AIA cost seems quite high leh...
$122.80 (from parents medisave)
$202.20 in cash.

For my NTUC plan (old plan) which covers from b irth to 30 years old, I think the cash component is only about $150 leh... covers the same thing.. pre and post, even have cash return for volunatary downgrade of ward and covers every dollar WITHOUT limits.

cactus: i went in as subsidised patient so that i can use medisave totally for my bill.. if private patient at kkh then will be the same as staying in tmc.. only can use medisave for a small % of the total bill..

fennie: the nurse changed my dressing in the hosp yesterday jus b4 i got discharged.. then she told me i dun have to do anything to the wound leh.. she told me it will auto heal in 5-7 days time.. i oso scare to open the wound n see.. =P

bonjovi..

haha..ive no idea..its a rumour and the doctors have not received any black n white memo as yet. so thete is no date known.

anyway, by now yr gynae would have asked for yr hospitalistaion ward preference and also the padetrician u would like to be attented by. yr gynae will fill in the appropriate forms and u just hand them to the addmission counter of glenE

<font color="aa00aa">veniz, normally my fringe is not so short, but yesterday i accidentally cut it too short, now look like 'gong-gong'. This is the price i pay for delaying my trip to hair salon.
I keep wanting to go for a hair cut/trimming before delivery but delay and delay again.</font>

crystal: your fren's gyane at tmc never advice her to go kkh? so ex..

felicia: ya.. kkh recommend me to buy the binder but i find that it doesnt reali work eh.. or cos i dun know how to wear.. hahhaa.. =P

tinyfeet,

LOL i know which company u refer when it come to big round to get claims. :p Many people told me tat.

Thks for explaining, ya it seems like most company plans are v similar.

Angel,
Not to worry about the confinement. 1st mth is important but as long you get ur health back &amp; tonic within 3mths not a prob one okie. I know how it feels to go to n fro hospital n home cos you wont be able to rest well at home too and worrying. BUT main is ur health. Get someone to deliver ur BM once awhile and u rest at home. U need to gain back health and prepare to take care when bb back home too ah okie
So just eat and rest what is required. I believe hospital will give u a binder to wrap ur tummy and for more easier walking n lessen pain. Just rember to also air ur wound stitiches n prevent infection too. Pls take care