(2008/06) June 2008

Icegal,
dun worry too much, my colleague is small in size and got no problem giving birth to a 4.5kg bb. so there will be okie for you too. Me bigger in size but does not mean easy for me also rite. When is your EDD?? mine is 20 june think your is ard mine rite.

<font color="aa00aa">i'm back from my lunch!
And now having my avocado juices. Hehe....

ZuEn,
2 years back to pre-preggy weight? Aiyo, me oredy got preggie when i'm 1.5yrs after my #1 delivery.
Tats why now must stop at 2. Else nvr ending.

Heard from lot mummies and oso saw it myself, BF mummies tend to slim down faster lor, so i must jia you.</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus... it's me who say reduce salt intake for myself does reduce the swelling.. think if stand / walk too much.. more pressure will be on the leg thus water retention gets worsen, when lying flat on bed, the water will spread evenly.. tt's y normally morning the swell will be gone or not so bad...</font></font>

ellysia
when you are pushing hard for the bb....yr buttock will also will lift up a bit....just try to hold the bedrail when pushing lor....dats is wat i did b4 and was told by the midwife (doc assistance)...

if yr cervic already dilated but still bb in correct position don't want to come out, the doc might be using forcep lor...like my #1 doc scared bb no air to breath so use forcep....dat time 1st time mum no experience and to tired to push and no strength liao....

felicia
My doc encouraged me to BF, so i will go slim much faster coz bb will drink our fats also...my #1 son BF till 14mths old then i conceive #2....or else #1 can BF much longer...so have to stop coz #2 on the way dat time...and end up #2 BF for 3 mths only

ioio, sorry! I forgot which mommy it was. preggies have bad memory. Mine is ultra bad memory!

Danryan, I really don't think doc use forcep cos bb cnanot breathe leh.. cos until the cord is cut, bb is still getting air through cord like when bb was inside womb... I think it's more like doc fear bb in distress if birth is too long... I remember pple saying once bb cry, that means bb has taken in first breath. Until the cord is cut, bb is still liked to mommy (as long as placenta is still in the womb) and can survive that way.

hi roxy and cactus,

hospitalisation policies definately has a waiting period of 30 days. it is to deter pple from enrolling into a policy when they already know that that are ill and are about to admit to the hospital for treatment.

for AIA hospitalisation plan, you can buy the standalone plan called PINK OF HEALTH which is the most popular product in AIA. It will cost abt $17.54/mth for PLAN 1, $30.43/mth for PLAN 2 and $65.47/mth for PLAN 3. if u buy this plan together with HEALTHSHIELD (CPF INTEGRATED PLAN-payable by medisave fo parents) u will get the 20% discounted rates which ive mentioned above...if u choose to have other compnay's CPF INTEGRATED plans, u will have to pay 20% more.

CPF INTEGRATED PLAN has no waiting periods..but the application approval process is slightly longer due to the specified dates of CPF premium deduction. CPF plans has co-insurance and deductibles and hence its important to get a rider or standalone plan to cover for it.

since all hospitalisation plans has waiting periods, if u dun enrol yr child since birth and go thru that waiting period anyway, then when?

ive actually tot of a couple of chinese names for the baby..upon birth, we will pick the most suitable one and register the baby name in the hospital before discharge. All in the name of buying hospitalisation protection IMMEDIATELY.

hope my info helps!

hi organiser of gathering.
im keen to come along for the merchant court dinner..can add me in please??

re: destin creamy (veniz)
hi girl..can u get 2 or 3 tubes for me? coz ive no idea where can i buy the creamy version..i know that Guardian pharmacy sells the oilment version. thanks!! see u on thurs!

thanks for the info, tinyfeet. I don't think I'll be getting pink of health. just need basic H&amp;S coverage but I want complete coverage from the very 1st dollar without any limits. I think so far, only Great Eastern and Prudential have this. NTUC only have partial coverage. I forget about Aviva. think Aviva has no cash rider and only have the base plan.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus.. me worse.. cant.. i will type can... does not.. i will type does... </font></font>

hi cactus,

guess u ve misunderstood...PINK OF HEALTH covers ffrom the very first dollar, regardless which ward u stsy in.

PLAN 1 hospital reimbursement covers up to $2000
PLAN 2 hospital reimbursement covers up to $3000
PLAN 3 hospital reimbursement covers up to $6000

so depending on the CPF integrated scheme u go under (usually for single bedded is 20% co-insurance and $3000 deductible) u may choose the plan accordingly to cover for it.

on top of that, PINK OF HEALTH is also claimable for PRE and POST hospitalisation services. eg, if u see a GP or did an xray with consultation charges from the doctor, u can claim up to $1000 for a PLAN 2. there is A&amp;E accident coverage and day surgry as well.

on top of that, u will get a daily hospital income benefit of $100 per day. say if im hospitalisaed due to an illness in hospital, i will get $400 in cash.

if 4 days in hospital due to accident, i get $1200 in cash on top of all the medical bills that was being charged up to $3000(medical bills) for a PLAN 2.

Update: I gave birth aledi.. on 2nd May 2008 (fri)..

I was actaully allowed to go home on labour day but doc's advice was to stay for a few more days jus to be safe.. I was quite upset.. But luckily i didnt go home..

Cos on labour day night i started experiencing contractions but i tried to tahan.. At 6am with contractions at 5min apart, i couldn't take it anymore.

Doc was summoned and did a check on me and found that i had dilated 5-6cm and she said that she could ffel the baby's legs too. She got a shock and immediately called for emergency c-section op cos baby is breech.

I was prepared for c-section ard 7am, told the doc that i wanted GA (complete sleep but not encouraged by doc, i m too scare so i insisted). Hubby told me baby was delivered at 759am on 2nd May 2008 (Fri) at 1.8kg at KKH (at 34 week). I only came out of the op theatre at 10 plus ba..

I was discharged yesterday (3 days after the op) but baby still has to stay in special care nursery (a lower level than NICU) and wait till she is 2kg then she can go home with us. But overall she is ok with her condition quite stabilised. Baby doc said that baby should be able to go home in 1-2 weeks time.

Right now i'm visiting baby every evening cos i'm breastfeeding so will bring her the milk every day. Then at the same time can see her too. She looks so tiny.. sigh..

Hi Christina,

My edd is 30 June.. =) later than u by 10 days.. Me delivering @ TMC...

Anyone of you booked the bed already?? and which hospital u all delivering at?

Thanks for explaining, tinyfeet.

I think I'll need to check it up also! The only thing I'm abit uneasy about is the limit... covers up to..

Cos at least, for NTUC (i'm under the old plan where there is a cash rider without limit). I have pre and post hospitliasation coverage also under the base policy. I just pay extra in cash to cover from the first dollar (co insurance and deductible). BUt NTUC has discontinued this cash rider, instead having a partial rider (assist rider) . so I'm looking at Great Eastern and Prudential.

What is good about AIA is the cash benefit. It doesnt come with NTUC H&amp;S.. need to attach a separate rider to that. But I think Prudential is better than NTUC and maybe AIA.. cos it allows a parent to stay in hospital FOC with child if child is warded... that's importantt to me.

ice_gal, i am also worried about me being small and having hard x delivering. I am only 53kg now. B4 preggie, 46kg at 1.6m. I am not skinny but rather small frame.

Ellysia, thanks for sharing the article. I am interested to find out more but the article v diff to understand.

Any mums knows where to get good nursing bra for small bustline but heavy breast?

wow wow wow!!! Angel~ U have given birth!! okok.. dun worry.. ur bb will be fine.. bery fast will reach 2kgs.. now rest well n supply more n more milk to ur bb! Congrats!!

angel z,
congratulations on your newborn!i was wondering on 2nd May what has happened cos you posted on 1st May that gynae dont allow you to be discharged

glad that bb is well

i already did a pre admission.

there is a rumour that the maternity ward in glenE will increase in pricing as they the maternity wards are renovating on the 6th floor and it will be opened by the time i deliver in june or july.

haha..shld be from reliable source coz a couple of doctors from GlenE told me the same thing when i see them to do claims for my clients. And they say that no harm doing a pre admission.

Babycupid: Ya loh.. so sudden.. i went into hosp not expecting to give birth loh.. i went in jus cos doc wan to check how come i m experiencing early contractions. sigh.. feeling quite weird now.. sitting at home without baby in my tummy anymore..

but whenever i look at baby so poor thing.. sigh.. cos baby is on drip so she is being poke with a tube.. looks painful..

Bonjovi, lets pray hard we will have a smooth delivery.. My pre-pregnancy weight is 44Kgs @ 1.6m as well .. =)

Angel, congrates to you...By the way, u mentioned u going to hospital every evening? that means u are not doing your confinement.. Poor mother!!

Hey Angel...
Do take care and rest more okie esp Csect u need longer recovery. Was wondering wher you have been these few days and thinking you pop is it... Don worry since bb oni in Special Nursery means able to do everything by himself and able to discharge real fast!!! Keep us update

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">angel... congrat!!! you are the first in June thread.. so surprised to know that you have delivered.. do take care and dun worry.. bb will be fine.... </font></font>

Angel...

Poor baby, but at least she is safe and sound now.. She will be very fast recover de.. Dun worry..Give her more BM and extra care for her and will gain weight very fast one...

hi angel,
CONGRATS!!!!! CONGRATS!!!!! CONGRATS!!!!!
u r the 1st mummy to pop here in our thread... YIPPPEEEEE!!!!
do post yur bb ger's photo here soonest, k? so all of us can take a look too...
dun wori too much abt yur bb cos although she is small, she is strong. she had made it thus far n even doc says tat she is ok n condition stable + wif u visiting her daily, she will jia you n before u knows it, she be back hm wif u liao...do take good care of yurself during tis confinement period, okie....*hugs*

Thanks, all mummies.

Danryan: Ya.. now giving baby breastmilk, hopefully she can grow up faster.. but hor.. she only gained 10grams in 3 days.. like very slow leh.. but at least she growing la.. so now she is 1810kg..

Icegal: Ya.. going hosp everyday.. so my parents all very concerned for me loh, not doing my confinement properly.. but no choice la.. i will miss baby so i dun mind traveling everyday.

Angel, don't worry too much about your bb. bbs are very strong people.bbs also forget their experience as newborns. don't worry too much k. Your bb will gain weight in no time. breast milk is very fattening.

cactus,

During the pre-natal class, instructor say if bb come out and if face is blue, not v good. I can't remember why not good.

Anyway my mum said she had prob in pushing me out tat time, and end up i have purple face when come out.

Felicia,

My colleagues who gave birth tend to slim back in time by 6-8months, those who breastfeed.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">angel.. can understand how you feel.. all mummies will miss the babies when they are not around.. jiayou!! your bb is strong.. mummy got to be strong oso... </font></font>

Angel, it is normal for bbs to lose some weight in the first couple of days. just keep at it k. Your bb will gain weight in no time. I think its a good thing the KKH doctors kept you in hospital... if not, you may be more flustered cos you are a first time mom.

<font color="ff6000">angel

GONG XI!!!! *wow* u did it!! u promoted to become a great mummy!! tats gonna be ur best Mother's Day present forever!!

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">tinyfeet.. for gleneagles.. does the increase in rates applies to those who have already booked also?</font></font>

Ellysia, maybe if you are concerned about lack of oxygen when bb is born, you can share your concerns with you your doctor. cos I know some doctors are not too keen to use forceps/vacumm too early unless bb is in distress. but if it is true that bb cannot breathe if too long in the pushng stage, then it's best that bb be taken out as quickly as possible.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Angel!!! 1st mummy to pop in this thread... I'm sure ur bb will hit the 2kg mark very soon with ur BM! Take care yah. *hugz*</font>

angel,
not to worry at all..i have a frend bb is born in 35wks.. though passed the 2kg mark but still need to be in NICU.. cos he dunno hw to breathe.. so doesnt mean weight lower is bad.. diff bb diff.. so u mentioned she is not in NICU.. i believe she is doin well.. jus the weight is slightly lower thats all..

n my frend bb 2.3kg when given birth.. b4 the full mth.. he already 4kgs.. so bery fast de.. no worry ok!

Cynthia: Haahaa.. ya loh.. i gave birth.. i was thinking MIA for so long so must faster come here to update you all when i m free..

ioio: ya.. but too early gave birth then baby so small.. sigh..

icegal: thanks.. hopefully she gain weight faster..

crystal: right now baby pics all in my hp.. will upload here asap.. thanks for the encouragemt..

Hey Angel, Congrats!!! Was wondering wat happened to u after your sharing of your contraction esipode last week. Good to hear bb doing well

angel,

dun be sad! My colleague also give birth to a v premature bb but her bb is so cute and strong now at 1 year old. Dun worry and stay strong.

U are the 1st mummy who deliver in our thread, do show us yr bb pix

dun worry 1-2 weeks is v fast le.

<font color="aa00aa">Angel, Congrats! I'm so surprised when i saw ur post! And as well happy for you as baby is ok. Dont worry about baby, as long as she's growing well.

Just weeks back, we still chatting about might bump into each oth at Dr Ang's clinic and now u had delivered. It really come as a surprised for me.
Btw, you need to take good care of yourself oso!
Really excited to see your baby pix soon!</font>

<font color="ff6000">cactus

im not sure how SGH practise but for GlenE if we did a pre-admission for a certain ward den if we admit tat day there is no vacancy for tat ward, we wil get upgraded FOC</font>