(2008/06) June 2008

H&S
Ladies, if you are referring to the Medishield H&S wif co-payment and premium paid thru your Medisave (nt cash), just to let you knw tat there's some changes recently that Medishield does cover unborn child wif anomaly too.
http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A1Story20080414-59734.html

Let me find the details as there's processing time too though. But will nt be excluded. However, i am nt sure if you change the plan to AIA, Great Eastern or NTUC shield plan, will they exclude the illness.

Roxy the AIA Ins agent is tinyfeet though, nt me.

RE: Car seats.

I recommend Britax Royale..... very good value for money, can sit nb to 4 years old. My boy always fall asleep inside. Very comfy too. Got it at robinsons sale around $360.... find buying britax cheaper than getting infant seat, then another car seat after bb turns 6 months.

<font color="aa00aa">morraine/veniz,

I'm not kwa zhang, coz my hubby called me elephant mah, in return i called him king kong lah! muahaha.......
Btw, wats wondering if ur hubby oso gaining weight when you preggie with #1?

For my 1st pregnancy, i gained 22kgs, and my hubby oso gained almost 10kgs. Then this pregnancy, i keep reminding him to keep fit but he still gain weight. He looks like 3mths preggie.

Veniz,
Me cute and sweet? haha.. Pix can be deceiving lar. Today i look like a 'bai ci' coz i accidentally cut my fringe too short.

Tinyfeet,
Thanks for your invite.

Zuen and cactus,
Thanks for the explanation for doppler
Cos seem like many mummies gg to take the test.

Jessica,

I encounter bad experience with gain city cos tat time i order TV then the volume totally not working, end up we have to call them twice to come down to repair. Then the delivery date keep getting delay also.

morr, ya lor eat my half....haiz

Ellysia &amp; cactus, im a agent. Can approach me if u need more advise. Nt under any insurance company, Im an independent FA.

Oh no, mummies here going to run away from me!!!

Veniz,

The infant car seat at mum &amp; babes, the brand i am not familar. Tink is not a famous brand, but it look comfortable. Can sit BB from NB to 1 year old.

Since not using for v long, so i tink no need to overspend on car seat.

I know mothercare also have quite a no of carseats but i haven't check out the price.

and kiddy palace @ Toa Payoh, no ideal infant carseat, i only see 1 and not v nice, and more ex than mum &amp; babes one.

Oh we bot Kia Rio but weekend car.

babyjo,

LOL last time i knew a agent friend from some forum, once she got my namecard she keep calling me! LOL. But then no scared u chase lah, u also preggy mah, both of us walk slow slow how to chase each other. :p

<font color="blue">hey ladies,
yday too bz to logon liao..now then got a bit of time..hehe.. eh..wat king kong?? wat gorilla?? i think no one can beat me lor..i c myself in the mirror i wanna faint liao..i am in my biggest size ever leh..think i look more like king kong lor..so much so dat i dun even dare to upload my pre-pregnancy photos ah..haha..i really very fat leh..wah biang..

Re: car seats
those who r giving birth in TMC can check out their in room sales for britax royale leh..i think they are selling @ $329 lor..which is much cheaper than outside i think..i saw the price on their poster..

Re:swelling of feet
tdy my feet juz start to swell..think i better do something to reduce the swelling..maybe walk more n drink water..sianz..</font>

icegirl, I think your bb is a bit above average. From baby center website, at 32 weeks, 50th percentile is 1.7kg. But according to local statistics, (from the chart I got during my growth scan which plotted 50th percentile at 32 weeks), my bb was 1.71kg and it was just under that 50th percentile line. Very marginal. Like 2 mm under the 50th percentile curve. If we assume your bb will put on 200gm/week, your bb may be over 3kg at 40 weeks. But Ellysia mentioned before, bb's head circumference also matters.I think if bb's head circumference is less than 35, have good chance of normal birth. From what I've heard, 32 and below can have birth without epidural even for small sized moms.At 32 weeks, my bb's head circumference is 29.9 so keeping fingers crossed. Oh, also, how did your doctor estimate bb's weight? If your doctor only took 1 or 2 measurements, it may not be as accurate as if your doctor took 4 or 5 measurements to compute the estimated weight. In the end, do remember that the weight is merely an estimation is it is usually plus/minus 200gm.

bizznow, drinking water will help reduce swelling but yesterday, someone from this thread (forget who.. ) told me standing and walking around will increase swelling...

Ellysia, my grandma had no problems with her NTUC claim for day surgery and for her 90 days pre and post hospitalization claim though.... She's the only one so far who claimed NTUC so far. I've not decided between prudential and Great Eastern yet though..

<font color="ff6000">yesh drinking lots of water helps to reduce swelling.. there is an old wives myth though.. if u swell and reduce swell 3 times in a row.. means u are going to delivery soon.. nope me not scaring anyone here but tot to share for fun! *lol*</font>

piyo,
Linked you liao.

iamsnow,
One is from HSBC (under Aviva) and the other one from AIA wor.

Felicia,
Your rational very cute. Haha. I was reading up yday that it might take anything from a few months to 2 years to get back pre-preggy figure. 2 years!!?? I faint.

bizznow,
I opposite from you. I dun dare to take photo after I preggy. During gathering, when people want to take photo, I will hide somewhere. I think I will only start taking photo after I give birth. Hahaha..
As for the swelling of feet, walking only make the swelling worse for me leh. The best is to put them up and rest. Hehe. I think drinking water is supposed to help too, but I realised that I drink alot liao, then never go toilet. Then middle of the night start gg toilet.. -.o"

Babyjo, would you have the benefits table and the premiums table for Prudential's and Great Eastern's medisave approved H&amp;S policy? I believe both plans can add on cash rider to take care of deductible and co-insurance. I'm looking for something which will cover from private hospital (standard/1 bedder ward) onwards. Keen to know if there are benefits such as parent stay with child FOC, cash payment if voluntary downgrade of ward, loyalty discount, and whether there is a waiting period after child's birth/after BC is issued. Many thanks in advance!

morraine,
Wat goes up must come down mah. If that old wives' tale is real, I think I give birth many times liao. My feet will swell if i never put them up and the swell will go down abit when I start to massage them. ;p

icegal,
My colleague just went for C-sect this morning at 40+ weeks. I noe of many whose bb refused to come out after 38 weeks too and have to induce for medical reasons. Inside our tummy should be quite comfy de. If I am the bb, I oso dun want to come out. Hehe.

icegal,

OIC if u petite size then indeed something to worry abt.

Me pre-pregnancy wt is 56KG and ht is 168cm tall, so me tink ideal bb size is around 3KG.

Icegal, my doctor told me small moms can have big bbs naturally without epi. big moms may not have small bbs delivered naturally and instead have to have c-section. I think there is a May 2008 mom who delivered a 4kg bb without epidural!!
I dun know what her size is, but 4kg is by no means an average sized bb loh!!

I'm hoping to do without epidural also. From the readings that I've gathered, and from speaking to my doctor, alot depends on the bb's position just before labour. If bb is facing side of our body, heads down, then it's the best position for delivery. If bb's spine is against our spine, not so ideal as delivery is likely to be long and drawn out. This is confirmed from speaking to my doctor.

cactus,

Yes BB head circumference is v impt. Gynae said everything also can squeeze through but head is the hardest to go through.

Head circumference not more than 35cm is ideal for natural, according to wat i knew from gynae.

I will expect the pelvic bones to be related to individual mum size. if is petite likely pelvic bone also smaller size. Another way is to see yr buttock size.

Position wise, anterior is the best right? Understand tat the smallest part of the head will go through in this position and thus easier for natural delivery.

Ellysia, buttock size is not a good indicator, I'm told. There's a better way to estimate. I don't know what way. But looking at buttock size only is quite unreliable. online articles.

I think pelvic bones may not be that related to individual mom size. Maybe pelvis bones are more related to the hips size, and not so much the height of the mom... just my guess.

I can't recall if the position is called anterior. My doctor told me bb will face sideways before labour starts, then as labour progresses, bb has to turn 90 degrees to face our spine. that's the easiest delivery .

cactus,

Hips size possible.

It is still possible for BB to turn either position even when engaged, understand from colleague. No choice but to pray for the best position.

hello all

cactus/ellysia
the best part i like most when comes to delivery time after the bb head out from our V part....then come the shoulder after that the rest of the bb body and etc...like ooohh wat a relief.

FYI
wat i know is when comes to labour or pushing time do not lift up yr buttock....

Ellysia, yeah. I think bb will still turn after engaged. engaged just means the head goes downwards and stays fixed (not breech). I'm hoping for the best too cos my bb still has alot of space to move inside. He keeps on shifting every couple of the days.. haha. If I lie on my back, he will shift more to my right side. Can feel him/see the lump.

How to estimate your Pelvic Bone Width (for nonprofessionals)

In pregnancy both the size and shape of your pelvis is important. It becomes important to know your pelvic bone measurement. If you are a lay person without anthropometry calipers, you may try to estimate your pelvic bone width using the following caliper method. Never attempt to use a tapeline as it does not measure straight across your pelvis to give its true width.

The method utilizes a yardstick or meterstick and mashing inward against the outside edges of your upper pelvis bone near the level of your umbilicus (belly button) to estimate your pelvic bone width.

It may be best to read the following text twice so you will not have to read it again while measuring:

Lay a yardstick or meterstick along the very front edge of an open drawer, shelf, or counter top that is approximately your belly button level. Keep the "0" mark on your left. Step toward the yardstick or meterstick with your hands resting on your upper “hipbones”. Mash in as hard as needed to feel where the very outside edges of your upper “hipbones” are located. Now with both thumbs pointing straight up and the middle fingers of both your hands pointing right at the measure stick -- straight ahead -- step closer toward the stick. Mash the heels of both hands very hard toward your middle and against the "outer sides" of your upper pelvic “hipbones”.

Now you are ready to measure. Keep your thumbs straight up and the heels of your hands mashing toward your middle and press in very hard on the "outside" of those bones, so that it hurts a little. Keep your long middle fingers pointed straight ahead at the measure stick (90 degrees to it) and read the measure between the "inside tips" of both your middle fingers -- from the 0 mark on the left over to where the "inside tip" of the right middle finger fits to the measure stick on the right. If your belly won't let you that close, use two one foot length rulers with one end of each ruler mashed by the heels of your hands strongly against each side of your hipbones and pointed at the yardstick or meterstick just like your fingers were. It is very important to make sure that each far end of the two one foot rulers meet the measure stick straight toward it's side (at right angles to it). If ends of the two rulers are mashed hard against the sides of your pelvis bones and the far ends of the two rulers meet the measure stick at true right angles, the geometry of your measurement is the same as a professional anthropometer, and should be very accurate.

If you are obese, remember your measurement could be 1 to 8 inches too wide due to fat at the sides of your pelvis -- unless you press inward hard enough to get the heels of your hands (or the one foot rulers) to press the fat out of the way to find the outer side of your bones. This works best if you feel like the heels of your hands are right up against the outside of your upper pelvis bone where the heels feel to be along the sides of your bones and just down about an inch from the very top crest level of your “hipbones”. To be very close to true measure, squeeze inward so hard that it hurts the sides of your pelvis a little. For your best estimate, take the average of several such measurements.

An alternate method you may try is to lie on your side on a firm floor with a vertical measure sick at your upper pelvic bone level and positioned in front of you. The method relies on the fact that the side of your pelvis that is toward the floor is very close to the floor level due to compression by the body weight. This makes the floor itself form one limb of your calipers that is at right angles to your measure stick. Have the 0 mark of the measure stick at floor level and for the other limb of your calipers use only one ruler to mash against your upper outer hip bone as described above. Make sure the ruler is level and its far end meets the measure stick at right angles. Simply read your pelvic bone width off that point where the ruler meets the long measure stick.

The above method is to help you know your pelvic bone width (biiliac width). If you are pregnant, and you find your pelvis is below the average width (28 cm or 11 inches), ask to find out if your OB doctor will measure your pelvis using his professional calipers.

Dan,

The best part is after head and shoulder then the rest will be breeze cos doc will also help to guide etc.. and won't be afraid tat bb cannot breathe also cos head is ored out.

Ellysia, thanks for the article! Sounds really chim!! I think 2 other factors with ease of birth/pelvic bone size is that our ligaments are relaxing in prep for birth... the more relaxin hormones are released, the more relased our ligaments are and it's going to be an easier birth cos the ligaments around the pelvis are looser. The other factor is our bbs' heads. The skull bones are not fused yet and they are designed to slip over each other. The easier this happens, the easier birth is for us.

Ellysia, I think the bb is still breathing through the help of the cord until the cord is cut. not so much the bb can breathe after the head is birthed. I read an article suggesting that natural birthed bbs breathe easier than c-section bbs cos the squeezing through birth canal actually squeezes our the fluids in bb's lungs which are naturally present and the squeezing out prepares bb's lungs to accept air shortly after birth.

Not sure if this will help to boost bb weight, as Women who consumed the most chocolate and those whose infants had the highest concentration of theobromine in their cord blood were the least likely to develop preeclampsia.

Preeclampsia is a complex disorder that affects 3 to 8 percent of pregnant women. A woman is diagnosed with preeclampsia if she has high blood pressure and protein in her urine after 20 weeks of pregnancy.

Preeclampsia causes the blood vessels to constrict, resulting in high blood pressure and a reduced blood flow that can affect organs throughout the body, including the liver, kidneys, and brain.

When less blood is being delivered to your uterus, it can mean problems for your baby, such as poor growth, too little amniotic fluid, and placental abruption (when the placenta separates from the uterine wall before delivery).

In addition, your baby may suffer the effects of prematurity if you need to deliver early.

http://www.babycenter.com/204_chocolate-may-ward-off-pregnancy-complication_5231635.bc?scid=momspreg_20080505:2&amp;pe=2UuzUxo

HI Cactus &amp; Zuen,

Thank you for your explanation... The mommy which givebirth to a 4Kgs baby without EPI is power man... As for me im those who is afraid of pain de... My Gynae say 3 weeks later, she going to check on me and briefly tell me about my REAL delivery date.. Hopefully i can get myself prepare as i gonna hand over my work to the new temp staff 1 month before my Edd and i will be on leave 2 weeks before edd....

Hope that baby can come out soon after im on leave if not i will have lesser days to see my baby le...

You all have a nice day!! =)

Great to share your experiences and tips!!

cactus
don't lift up buttock coz scared it will tear more bigger yr below...1've told by a lot of senior mommies...

my fren 3x c-sect and 1 normal birth....coz her pelvic born is to short or small...dat is wat her doc told her

Icegal, don't worry too much about size of your bb first. Take things one step at a time. I'm also very scared of pain so planning to take things one step at a time. but I recognise that knowledge (through articles, speaking with other moms/MTBs, and checking in with my doctor) empowers me to know my options and know what is happening. Knowing more is not harmful cos birth only happens a couple of times or just once to us ladies in our lifetime.

Ya lor, Its good to learn more things in life.. I also have sudden interest in babies after i am conceive.. I attended talks like first mum congress and the recent Pigeon Seminar by Mrs Wong... Any one attend that Pigeon Semina, $6 with lots of Freebies.. really great deal.. And Mrs Wong using real babies for demostration.. Interesting talk!!

cactus,

OIC but how come some people say if bb stay inside too long and can't get out even if pushing, then bb cannot breathe and get blue/purple colour?

The article is too chim for me, i cannot understand heee.

Dan,

No strength to lift up buttock when pushing le.. why got mummies want to lift up buttock?

<font color="blue">cactus n zuen, my gynae said walking will help..but not too much lah..juz now i walk walk a bit n rest my feet on top of my box got help to reduce a bit.. drinking water suppose to help..but cant drink too much @ 1 go..like a few sip @ 1 time n hor..cant wait till thristy then drink..like dat wont help 1..

zuen,
i also dun dare to take my photo after i get pregnant lor..my face super duper round leh..dat day took 1 family photo during my sis bday..wah lau..CMI leh..hehe..</font>

Fennie,

The first mum congress is interesting too hor? especially the conversation by Zoe Tay and Ivy Lee.. But the buffet a bit limited.. The bee hoon i ate a little and my fren din get to eat it at all... So sad =(

Good afternoon!!

TF,
My doc check the blood flow and blood pressure inside and can tell from a graph.

ICegal,
I have a colleague who give birth to a 4.5kg bb boy w/o epi and she dun have big buttock or hip. So dun know whether true anot tat have big buttock or hip is better?

Ellysia, I have no clue about the colour of bb's skin... why blue and purple. Maybe it is the vernix which covers the bb's skin when the bb is in us? It is after the cord is cut, that the bb is examined for the APGAR score which includes the breathing.