(2008/06) June 2008

Veniz,
Won't be joining u gers for the dinner next week cos will be meeting the gynae on thurs =D..Hope my bb won't grow too much =D.

<font color="0000ff">morr, haha tink our hubbies give up on us liao... my hubby working london hrs so he also very happy got people accompany me play mj coz he himself no time lol *winks* Tink our babies come out, first ting is recognise MJ tiles sound...Btw I checked the feed at raffles card liao, it's 25% off for 4 pax or more, up to 10 pax... but hor I work at science park leh.. so unlikely can go down.. science park so ulu!

hi TF
Will love to go down and meet you all... but ulu science park, transport is a big problem... you all eat more on my behalf k?

hi angel
I tink the KKH doctors know best. 3 cm dilated sounds ready to give birth. From what I heard, once youa re 5cm dilated, epi will be refused to you already as you are already halfway through labour. So better play safe and stay in hospital</font>

Roxy
Can lah, Science Park got free transport to nearest MRT rite, then from there take the train down. I used to worked in Tuas, most companies has transport service rite?

morning girls,
quite glad to see some of u are working today, like me. misery loves company, hehe!

feifei,
i think only the raffles place robinsons has this impressions brand PJs.
in fact, when i was at centrepoint, i didn't see karmy only saw some other brands and the sorella brand which is quite exp.

ZuEn,
We are in the last stage already, lil ZuEn has crossed so many hurdles already, am sure she will cross the final ones!

Cactus,
understand your SIL's situation cos it's not own sister so not so easy to talk to. and u've already tried your best by hinting to her. at the end of the day, it's her choice. oh yes, i read about the FISH test in one of the mags and the availability of the results in just 1 day - the gynae should not have made her go through the unnecessary agonising wait! what a horrible gynae.

liew,
i have a LOT of stretch marks on my stomach now..
despite me applying the cream. i realised a lot more came out when i was in my 8th month maybe cos bb was growing rapidly then.

TF,
On one hand, i dun mind seeing bb soon but on the other, also hope he dun come out too quickly. sounds contradicting hor? :p Wow, very sweet of you (which we already know) in offering to visit angel_z later!

<font color="ff0000">roxy

hee thanks for checking on the raffles card, but seems like they changing venue

i oso no mood to work........... sian leh!!</font>

Me also going to see my doc tomolo.... hope my bb can gain more weight by now (33 wks). Her head is down liao but have not engage yet. But tis few days me feel cramp at the bottom of my tummy like she pushing down.

tera,
my frnds ask me to apply more cream on it. she said as long our stretch mark still red purple colour now then sure can heal... as long don wait our stretch mark turn white colour. by that time hard to cure liao..

liew,
oh really? ok thanks, then i think i go back and apply more frequently. actually, when i saw so many appearing, i became quite bo-chup and only applied once a day..*kwa kwa*.. :p

liew/tera
if possible don't scratch anymore...the itchiness will come frequently especially if u are wearing tight panty or pant....just rub using yr palm

cactus,
Yes, u are right, sounds like the gynae only has money profits on his mind. Strangely, your SIL doesn't seem to think very well of him cos she din recommend him to her best friend but yet lack the courage to change. Oh well, what can we say, it's her bb and her choice at the end of the day.

Good morning mummies

Angel_Z, must hang in there okie. U n Bb would be fine. Just want to ask if u spot when u contract. Yest, saw a drop of blood on the panty. Was very worried. called gyn, he said it could be due to my frequent contractions. He said to observe further and if spotting n contraction continues, to go straight to hosp. May give birth anytime. Laid in bed n din dare to move, except to gg to toilet all of yest.

Cactus, did the Dr offer CVS for your sis in law? Its a chromosome tt could be done earlier than amnio. I did it at week 11 and got result by week 12.

Today, super no mood to work too

Tera, yeah, it's her choice at the end of the day. I just hope everything is okay with her baby. She's an amazingly strong lady though. She's able to function well day to day despite the amnio results hanging over her head...

Bonjovi, nothing at all. didn't do CVS. SIL didn't know anything apart from a 2nd trimester blood test for downs. Then she was told she's high risk 1:144, and better do amnio. She wans't told about FISH! She was told the results take 3 weeks!

bonjovi
i went for my check upon wednesday....i've told doc abt my frequently contraction he told me to monitor and to have more bed rest....

Tera, think some time back we were discussing position of baby, and how back pain is predominant if bb is not facing headdown properly (the anterior/posterior argument).

Articles online suggested that if bb is not properly positioned, labour will be long, contractions will be ineffective and there will be severe back pain.

I came across a post on May 2008 MTB on this... interesting read.

Sunshine (sun123)
Username: sun123

Post Number: 220
Posted on Thursday, May 01, 2008 - 3:58 am:

Thank you for all the hearty congrats. It'll be your turn real soon!

Pooh,
I had regular contractions every 10 mins for 2 nights and the 3rd morning, I had bleeding.
I'm only slightly above average, my ah lao (I like the way you address hubby, hehe) is the tall one. In fact, my 1st baby was even taller at birth- 56cm.

Here's my birth story

20th April:
11pm onwards- Felt BH contractions every 10 mins. Was not painful, just uncomfortable.

21st April:
9.30am- Went for ynae visit at 37 weeks. CTG indicated the presence of contractions every 10 mins. Gynae checked and found that cervix was dilated 1 cm.

22nd April:
After midnight- Contractions were getting more intense. Couldn't sleep for the whole night.

10am- Saw blood when I went to the toilet.

12 noon- More blood. Called gynae's clinic. Nurse asked me to go straight to the delivery suite.

4pm- Waited till hubby got home. Still did not feel like it was the "real thing". Actually didn't really know what to expect since my 1st baby was induced.

7pm- Pain was getting worse. Went to hospital.

8pm- At the labour ward, cervix was found to be 2cm dilated. Gynae suggested breaking of water bag and induction. Based on my previous birth experience, induction was a painful ordeal which I didn't wish to go through again. So I requested to be sent to the ward for monitoring.

1am- Pain was unbearable at every contraction especially at the lower back.

2am- Went back to labour ward. Cervix was only 3cm dilated after all those hours! Waited almost what seemed like forever for the anaesthetist to arrive who insered the epidural catheter. Water bag was burst by doctor.

5am- Cervix had dilated to 6cm! Yeah!

8.30am- Cervix fully dilated. Waiting for gynae to arrive.

9am- Was pushing like crazy. Baby was found to be facing upward instead of the usual downward-facing. No wonder I was having all those intense back labour pains! Baby Brandon finally arrived!

Feifei,
No lah, I not on leave. Even coming back tomorrow morning before gg for my gynae visit. -.o" Bo bian, better do my work 1st.

Veinz,
My normal knock off time is 6.30pm wor (official = 4.30pm). That's why I say by the time I reach town, you all finished dinner liao. And 6.30pm is a killer time to try to go down to town by cab, sure jam all the way from Jurong Town Hall to Steven Road. Looks like I will have to miss it too. Sorrie.

Cactus,
Actually, the nurse told me that the result for amnio test will take anything from 10 days to 3 weeks. This is bcos they need to cultivate the cells for testing and if the initial cultivation fails, it will take longer (up to 3 weeks). I paid more to get the result in 2 days' time. It is not call FISH, FISH is another test. Mine is like an initial test before the final result is out. My doc/ nurse didnt tell me that too. I asked about FISH, my nurse just told me that it is not encouraged in TMC or something. I found out about the quicker result in the brouchure on amnio test. It was given to me before I actually went for the test. To get the results faster, the doc has to withdrew an additional 5ml of fluid. My doc didnt think that it was necessary, probably bcos he didnt expect -ve results from the amnio test. In fact, he was quite surprised when he found out that I had requested for it.

I am back!
Went to Gynae visit. Little BB is sleep comfortably at that point. Only start kickin me after gynae done the scanning.
BB weigh 2kg @ 33weeks plus. Ok la alright for me yeah. Gynae mention bb head in the right position standing by my V entrance Ahahaha! BUT haven engaged. He was saying mayb within this 2weeks shld engage depending cos 2nd time mummies may not experienc engaged at all. And though my EDD is about 18-20june, He told me with the pain &amp; on off contractions I previously had, BB could arrive anytime 1st 2 weeks of june. Hai still long way leh... so sian to keep waiting.. sometime was wondering if try to let bb gain more weight and see even before reaching 38weeks bb can be out due to BIG gain in weight lo
No matter how let natural take its course bah

cactus,
Thanks for sharing the story to us. Wow she is so brave and quite a long labour even though this her 2nd. Sometime positioning of BB whether will affect the labour hours I am not sure about that as there are events when Bb is at e right position changed their position when in labour... So mayb for me, I will just pray and hope for smooth delivery. Most impt TALK to bb b good to us yeah!

Morr,
So today drag urself to work or? Hmm I have no preference in any makan place lo since I am used to travel around as long there is MRT will do

Dear ALL,
If majority is ok with the makan location Morr suggested and have 15% OFF total bill for selected Credit Card sounds not bad. Maybe can have 1 of the mummies to pay and we can trsf to her lo. Morr has been great help to search any place to accommodate us and also satisfy our craving in anyways

Ah morr: see ur tummy pics liao. hehe...

Me writing down "to buy" list. aiyo... never-ending one. Ask u all arh: which baby bath do u all buy? Kodomo or J&amp;J ones? which type is better huh?

Me at 33weeks+, think my baby haven't head down yet. cos still feeling breathless...

Thanks for sharing ZuEn. I dnot know if my SIL's case is the same as yours though... Cos she went for Amnio and had 5ml withdrawn. For FISH, only need 2ml withdrawn and results will be given next working day. At least, according to NUH website. NUH website also said for Amnio results, it is 7 to 10 days. There was no mention of chance of failed cultivation though.
My grouse with SIL's doctor is that he didnt appear to have properly advised my SIL for this pregnancy. Why didn't tell her have end of 1st trimester screening test (which most of us have done) and leave it to a blood test at 16 weeks? Also, why never advise her there is FISH, and leave it to her to make the decision? Also, why never tell her there is way to get the results quicker (like in your case - just have to pay more)? I think as patients, we have the right to know everything.. even if the doctor may nto provide those services loh...

<font color="ff0000">MLP

ha ha ha u jin fast hor!!

baby bath arh.. up to ur personal preference ba.. most oso quite nice smell! *lol*

my #1 using sebamed now coz of her sensitive skin so most likely #2 oso use the same lor.. save $$!! </font>

Cynthia, yeah! Bb will change their position in labour. But usually they change position from side to face down. Most common position for bb is spine against our side&amp;head down.If bb's spine is against our spine, then labour is much much harder and longer. bb may never turn head down ,like in the mother's case.

Morr n cactus: thanks... then i go smell smell and see which one I like. haha... tot of getting J&amp;J new one, no need to rinse after using. that's why they showed during antenatal class. tot can save one step. hahaa... lazy me.

Cactus: haha... super kiasu lor. I don't think i bought anything in Dec besides bigger bras and panties. lolz.... but this is our #1 kiddo. It feels good to buy something for the little one yah!

<font color="ff0000">MLP

J&amp;J shld be wise choice
anyway for infant, jus add a few drops inside the bathtub onli for smell!</font>