(2008/06) June 2008

Talking about Paul Tseng. Is any of u using him as ur gynae? I got an experience to share.

He was my gynae right fm the start of this pregnancy. And his package will only start from 5th month onwards. So happily, i pay per visit till 4.5mth detail scanning + consultation with him. After the consultation, i told the nurse I want to sign package liao.

Then the nurse told me the clinic decided to stop package thing so it will be pay per visit till u deliver. Moreoever, his delivery fees increase between $200 to $500!

I was quite mad and ask the nurse why last min then tell me. Then she said last month haven't confirm want to stop package. And only babies EDD before 1st June can still sign package. My EDD is 15-June. Feel abit cheated like tat lor. last min then informed me.

After thinking about it, I switched to another gynae which my SIL is using....

Just wanna share my story here.

mylittleprince,

if you are at OG website, click on in store, and you can find some items, but not sure if they are sale items, not much though, may have to make a trip

mylittleprince, I'm not use Paul Tseng, but as I understand it, some mommies have bad experiences with certain private doctors..
(1) those offering unlimited visits under package may find appointments hard to get, long wait between appointments, or if they keep seeing their doctor for non major complaints, their doctor tells them they have to pay per visit during the later stage of their pregnancy.
(2) Change in fees as you described.

<font color="aa00aa">luv, i dont agree with ur gynae on saying no advantage for VABC even if we dont plan to had 3-5kids.
For sure, our healing times will be much shorter and we can start latch on faster if we can go natural. And so on.

I get negative remarks from many ppl oso when they knows i'm trying for VBAC. But luckily my hubby supports my plan. In fact i read up a lot nowadays just to prepare myself on VBAC. We know our body better than anyone else. So, if u think u r mentally and physically prepare for VBAC, why not?!
Of course we had to take consideration on the risks as well. Tats why i told cactus if my bb is overdue i wud choose to go for c-sec as i know induce will increase the risk of wound rupture.

I think i bit stubborn oso lah coz if i dont try i'll feel regret in future. Tats why even go into emergency c-sec, i dont mind coz at least i had try. I know for VBAC patient, normally gynae will allow certain period of labour trial. If within that period, we are not able to dilate well or had some complications, gynae will perform c-sec.

Decision is on your hand.</font>

yeah Cactus cannot play play must pay attention to all details if labour is coming liao.

mylittleprince, aiyoh tell u a worse story: my gynae never gave me package! i paying 250-350 per visit! sob sob... say maybe at 32w then got package.. wan to deliver liao, then sign package strange rite? think no package liao.

wow Feli, after reading your tots, i feel more movitated liao. hehee yeah if i stopped at 2, maybe i will regret not even able to try natural birth when now i DO have a chance... THANK U! p/s: i think my gyane did not consider the emotional aspects, only think of technical aspects hahaa

actually I felt a bit sad for my SIL... for her #1, she was persuaded to be induced... before 41 weeks!!! She wondered why. she stood firm and said no. In the end, she found out her doctor wanted to go on holiday... so wanted to "earn" her money.. she refused to bring foward her delivery, and let the stand in doctor deliver her son. In the end, that younger less experienced doctor induced her cos her contractions were ineffective, allowed her to take epidural at 3cm only.. didn't warn her about prolonged labour, then she ended up in emerg c-section. now she goes back to that same doctor for her #2. her reason is she doesnt' know of any other doctor around... not good enough reason loh. I would have boy cotted that doctor.

<font color="0000ff">hi felicia
Yes June MTB can really yak keke, even got time to play with colours lol</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hi cynthia
me long time no chiong liao, feel like auntie haiz, gone are those days when can club 3 times a week </font>

actually I cannot understand why some doctors insist on delivering bb before a certain date..the 2 posts I posted from the May 08 MTB thread said something about a particular doctor who won't induce even if overdue as long as placenta is okay. I totally agree with that. cos our own EDD may not be accurate mah. why peg our bb's delivery date to the EDD? Since scans can tell water level and condition of placenta, shouldn't those be relied on?

Felicia, I initially thought TMC's facilities not conducive for emerg c-section cos I read about how one hospital's facilities are not up to scratch but I can't recall which one... Then it may be a mental block with your doctor liao... since Paul Tseng is using TMC too.

<font color="ff6000">cactus

yesh i agree on ur last post, like my gynae he oso kips saying its fine during my check ups during my 1st pregnancy but till my ger was 10 days late den i told him, im getting tired coz its getting heavy den he say ok u sure u wanna induce? den i was the one making the decision instead..</font>

BIG REMINDER: sometimes if the reason given by gynae to induce is valid and good, we should follow ley although before 40w. This is bcos my son at 38w cannot absorbed nutrients as my placenta is aging (can see got holes). then my son poo immediately after come out ley. so if poo inside worst! i was very lucky to csection just in time.. in fact gynae ask me to deliver in noon, but i say i mentally not prepared, tomorrow morning is better for me. i cannot imagine if bcos of my ignorance further delay the labour..bb poo inside ley..

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i'm quite surprised oso when my gynae seems bit back off when i said about VBAC, coz i know he's one of the gynae whom pro-VBAC.
But like wat u said before, maybe he encountered some problem before this, tats why he was more cautious nowadays.
Or maybe he's trying to test if i'm mentally prepare for it. Coz the 1st criteria he said i must really really mentally prepare to try VBAC and is w/o epidural.
Anyhow, i'll take one step by one step and see how it goes.</font>

Fennie/Tera,
ya. we all facing the same problem here. especially,when i lift up my leg to wear panties or shorts. sometimes will cramp for short while also. like abit "chou jing" like that...

yeah smtimes must really listen ley, but we must judge for ourselves too.. ah after chatting for today, i feel more excited abt labour liao hahaa

oh yeah will u all bring the breast pump to hospital, i still dunno if i wan to bring along or not..

felicia,
good idea.. incase unbalance then fall down jia lat man...
another things, i can't see v part anymore. do some cleaning also very difficult.

Felicia, yes. take things one step at a time. Since you know you won't be changing a doctor at this stage, you will need to be armed with all the information then speak with him again.important is trust. imagine, if you have a c-section (touch wood), you don't want not to have trust in this person who is cutting you up...

<font color="ff6000">liew

ask ur hubby to clean lor!! ha ha ha *RA* if not den u bring one mirror inside den sit down to clean! ha ha ha

will remind hubby this round must video cam something to show me during my labour!!</font>

<font color="#473C8B">liew,
Same here, I also thot i was the only one with such pain.
Try to sit down or hold on to something when wearing shorts, it is not so painful and safer as well.

Felicia,
Yeah, trust is very impt. I am going to speak to my gynae regarding induction on my next visit.

luz,
I intend to bring my breast pump cos just in case bb doesn't latch on, can pump to keep the supply going.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Ladies... lucky we are chatting. not talking. if not, our bb will be listening to RA conversation. LOL... Any of u will be doing waxing before delivery huh?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">luv, i'm bringing my own pump oso, but is a manual one lah, and oredy in my bag. hehe...
Btw, i heard if u use hospital one need to rent leh.</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> morraine, zhuo bor mummies is alike mah! haha...

Btw, i'm goin to pluck my mushroom now as i'll be going off soon. hehehe.....</font>

Felicia, yeah.. hospital one need to rent, but I also understand that hospital one is much more powerful than normal commercial pumps... (although PIS is promoted as being as good as heavy duty hospital pumps)... I'm thinking of using hospital pump cos will be too lazy to sterilize my own if I bring, rather leave everything to the nurses. also I think hospital pump is more efficient at expressing.. after delivery, will be tired. so dun want to waste too much time expressing.

<font color="ff6000">cactus &amp; felicia

yeap i saw my gfren using the kk's pump before, its more heavy duty and coz no milk flow yet but they let her use to stimulate the milk flow first</font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, ya, i think medela lactina is used in hospital and is more powerful than PIS. Anyhow, i had sterilised my manual pump and seal up in ziplock bag, and plan to boiled the pump again in hospital with hot water when want to use, coz not comfy to use used pump leh</font>

<font color="aa00aa">

ok finally i finish my work and have time to come here..

Cynthia,

Haaa.. yup the difference of specs and contact is a lot!

Since i started dating with my hb i have not been to clubbing ored. Both of us doesn't like clubbing, plus we getting older and doesn't blend with young crowd. But i do go clubbing occasionally @ age 25 cos still young, must experience a bit! Though i am sensitive to alcohol, so i can only take mild ones like cocktail! no shiok hor.

luz,

depend on whether its yr first or second. if its yr first maybe try natural first bec' once u do c-sect for 1st one, for 2nd one u can only do VBAC or c-sect and u cannot have natural with epidural for 2nd one if u done c-sect for 1st one.

I wont be bringing my pump to hosp, tink v ley chey. worst case, use the hospital one.

liew,

i most likely submit my application for ML on early May.

shinely,

tat is only when we are in subsquent week e.g. 32-36 weeks where space is really v little.

cactus,

I tink those pte doctors who clinic is not at the hospital (i,e elsewhere) tend to anyhow charge..whereas those located within the hospital seems to be more professional.

Just my opinion.

Btw yr SIL shd have gotten referral for other docs wat.. tat doc like not v ethical.

For me i check through forum postings before i decide on my gynae.</font>

cactus,

My colleague who use KKH pump say its smelly..maybe didn't clean well or wat.. i dunno.

but anyway after much deliberation, i won't be bring my own pump to hosp cos find ley chey.

hi fennie
U r not alone. I also experience that and gynae told me no choice as bb pressure on use so just gotta do everything slowly lo. Now even i lay on bed or slp i try to turn side way slowly. Always feel pain. My no. 1 stil not so serious like this round.

Does al mummies stil regularly have sex? Heehee bit rated liao oh. Sometime is i wan but tink of pain at v area reduce alot. Actually having sex i seen in article can help induce bb esp after 36weeks n soften our opening

<font color="aa00aa">i'm addicted to the forum liao. *cham!*

Just finished my dinner, but got craving to eat some biscuits.

cactus, my hubby will be responsible for most of the things after my delivery. Coz i had told him i want a totally peaceful rest/ recuperate during my confinement. So, he wont be able to escape his duty as hubby. hehe....</font>