(2008/06) June 2008

Ya lor, tat's why it still puzzle me why i nd to put on the IV Plug??? I rather just do wat those did, eg.. delivery in taxi, etc.. but just that i got a proper bed n baby taken care.

TF, I dun know if I want to do what they did though... just in case have complications during birth, dun want to regret... in Singapore home births are not encouraged.. it's very sad.

Kylene
Wow, just tot abt you y'day how cum so long didnt see you in this thread n wanted to sms u and today u r here!! Like i say y'day, seems like who i tink will start to appear. But my TOTO dun strike..haha..

Morr
Where u got the cream from? Shop or website?

I think IV plug is very important though... cos in case, we need blood, can have transfusion immediately. if we need to induce or augement contractions, may use IV drip also. If our bp drops, will need saline through our veins... so I think IV plug is the most important...

HMMM.... I just back from my 31w check-up, bb weights 1.49kg. Gynae says skinny
ask me to take more rest. Pressure to build up bb's weight ley...

Cactus
I dun mean to do wat they did as in home birth. What i meant is everythg natural on the hospital bed, w/o any needles n plugs :p Then when baby out, attention is there.

Opps TF! Sorry! Misunderstood you. I think in hospital, have policies. cannot avoid some things... also, with so many labouring mothers, nurses cannot give us 1-1 attention... so rather have everything set up.. so that if really need, easier for them.

hi hi!
Cactus,
I'm ok lah, just very busy at work and the home computer broke down so no access for a long time. just got the keys to my new place too, so busy with buying furniture and lights etc

TF,
wah u psychic liao!

tinyfeet,
since she can endure for that... so i believe i will try to delivery w/o epi.. i did ask her... but she seem can't talk much. cos still very painful now. she only said she shouted like a mad auntie loh..

Cactus
Ya, can understand all the policies n theories, like a corporate world. Wat's more is medically-related. Always a tough decision for the doctors. Like in my mums case, when doc encourage her for chemo aft her breast cancer ops, i totally against the chemo. The battle of which risk to take.

Kylene
So far this psychic on people been working on me since preggie. Dunno why. Where's your new place?

Catcus, no ley bcos i not working mah; worst thing is my hubby not happy with me; bcos he thinks i not working liao, still never let bb gain weight. ahhh i will rest and eat more liao; i will go eat buffet bah!

Luz, try to eat more protein and if you dun have diabetes/weight probs, take more carbs. May help. Just my guess only though.I think protein is the building blocks for bb's size.

TF,
my new place is at toh yi - near beauty world there.

Luz,
1 of my friends was told to lie on her left side more often when her baby wasn't gaining much weight. i'm not sure if that would help, it's supposed to increase the blood flow to the baby.

Cactus
She is. So far no more cancer cell detected (keeping finger cross n observe 5 years). Abt 3-4 years pass already. I actually resorted to changing her diet initially (nw she eat normal), changing her perception of things, increasing her oxygenated circulation (breathing meditation) to reverse her life at that time. Nw she's normal. Back then, is like the doc say its a must to go for chemo, some more a new trial chemo tat U.S discovered. But i didnt want her to lose her confidence after chemo effect cos i belief mental strength is very impt for recovery. I'm always the one that oppose/avoid medication as much as possible :p

<font color="119911">TF

forum sprees coz its not available locally and if it does oso very ex!

luz

rest more.. it helps!!</font>

Luz
Ya, was abt to tell u to eat my proteins. White fungus really rich in iron n proteins too. Make the Qing Ting style or soup.

Cactus
Wat's carps?

Kylene
Zhen xian mu. Sigh we waiting for our hse until neck long long. Still building.

TF,
your place still under construction? Shifting house is really very ma fan. I don't think we can finish everything by June so we'll prob shift in July after my confinement.

Hello!!!
MIA for sometime also.. hehehe was tired &amp; not feeling very well too.

Desitin Cream
---------------
I swear to use this ever since i bought for my 1st gal. Its good &amp; worth the price if gonna order in forum

Hi Luz,
31week - 1.49kg is ok ah. Don worry. BB start to gain about 200g per week from 32wk. I have friends who can give birth to 2.1kg and now also very healthy. I believe later stage will gain more &amp; more. Mine is about 1.67kg. But think this round should be having a 3kg bb since my 1st gal also 3kg plus when she is out.
Cheer up &amp; eat right to bb

TF, your mom had cancer? Can i know wat cancer is it? My mom oso had cancer (unfortunately she died last yr). She gone thru chemo as well and operated for 2 times.
Is not easy for them to accept all the after effect of chemo. I can understand this. You had to always encourage ur mom not to give up as i think mentally war is very very important.

TF,
I saw Desitin lotion selling at $10 at TMC, I too lazy to go search high and low for lobang, so just buy. Mine is blue colour de.

Ellysia,
I think why bb need to stay in NICU before 37th week is bcos the lungs not fully developed and has little to do with weight. By right, lungs should be fully developed by 37th week. But for watsoever reason, the lungs are still not developed by then, will still need NICU regardless of which week the bb comes out.

Luz,
Did your doc explain why is the weight low? In that way, easier for you to tackle. Stress? Food intake? If food, I guessed really have to eat more proteins lor.

TF, Carbohydrates. sorry. bad spelling. The thing about chemo is sometimes the chemo can kill.... it kills off good cells too, leaving the body very weak to fight the battle. My grandma died of cancer.

Hi Ladies, Good Morning
Sorry if i didnt replay last evening cos i had to go off as hb need to go to a project site

mylittleprince,
thks,i was already overweight pre pregnancy, actually shld not put more more than 11kg, but i already exceeded, hopefully this time will be able to shed 10kg after delivery, like the #1, when i was admitted, they took my weight, and when I got home, i was 10kg lighter

My boy is 1.4Kgs @ 29 week.. But based on his stomach, my gynae ask me eat more because his stomach is a bit small.. therefore i dunno whether weight is used to judge the bb appeitite or the stomach... My lady boss told me when bb at birth is 3kgs, after return home, the bb will become thinner than 3 kgs.. Becasue at birth, the baby is heavier with the fluid on it...

Luz, dun worry... Weight isnt that impt. as long as he is taking in food and nutrients from the placenta is good enough le...

<font color="119911">yesh wat oink said is true.. if ur bb weight at birth is 3kg for instance den when they take the weight again upon discharge will definitely be lesser den 3kg.. its normal

Felicia
She had breast cancer i tink in 2001, when for 1st ops. Then came again n tis time at lymph nodes (consider stage 2) in 2003, with 2nd ops. Nw ok n normal so far. Avoided the chemo, only took the medication. Yes, esp for woman old folks who are emotional, fighting the effect of chemo is difficult for them. Tat y i try to avoid tat. Wat abt ur mum case? Also breast? Stage? So i hope next time when we old, will our chances be high too nw tat we BF.

icegal,
yday my gynae also measured my bb's stomach and although i am 32wk3days, the bb's stomach circumference showed bb at 30wk, but hsi head circumference was just nice, and weight of bb is at 50percentile, so gynae said bb is average, anyway, these are just estimation, bcos if bb bone is heavy, like my #1, gynae was saying he is under weight, but we got him at 3.34kg

Fennie, my bb also like yours. tummy circumference a little smaller than the rest of the measurements!

I think it's normal that bb loses weight in the first 10 days of his/her life. but it's okay. it's just bb fat. then bb should start to pile on weight.

Kylene
Ya, under construction.

Zuen
Will bear the TMC one in mind if i dun get fr Dramaqueen spree.

Cactus
Wat abt Carbo? Ya, I was searching internet n reading lots abt natural cure for cancer n chemo effects etc.. back then.. So after weighing all the pros n cons, turn dwn the chemo since it kills gd cells tremendously. So was targeting on building her immune immediately aft ops, to prevent bad cell cuming back. Least the medication controlled the bad cell, while for her to work on gd cells.

Yo, Fennie. I went giant but didn't see the $2.90 disposable panties leh. End up i bot the maternity disposable panties at $4.50 per pack and bot 4 sets of karmy PJ

All,
ask u hor, now me 35wks, have been starting to eat the barley fu zhou dessert, my MIL told me since i started to eat liang thngs, cannot eat bird nest liao, is it true? Did u all do the same too? I tot last trim, bb starts to absorb more, so its better to conti to eat bird nest until i delivered?

Cactus, Ya, carboh really make us fat. Leukemia is more difficult to treat right cos its blood disorder already? So did she found any suitable cord stem cell from donors?

Feifei
i both still eating. Barley fuzhou is nt liang if u bgt the smaller barley seed type. Also if u mum really scared too liang, can put some red dates inside your barley fuzhou when u boil. I'm a person who very sensitive to liang things when eat, sure cramp. So far ok wif the barley fu zhou. Bird nest is liang meh? I tot its neutral. Just tat high in proteins.

TF, so far, she's still undergoing treatment. she did find donors but her cancer not in remission yet...

feifei, I dun know if bird nests cannot be absorbed well if we eat liang things.. I've been eating bird nests all this while, but lately, have been eating much more of it. my MIL doesnt' know what liang things I eat though. Oh! My MIL's daughter was eating both coconut and birds nest about the same time so I don't think my MIL shares the same belief as your MIL. actually, bb is just amino acids.. protein, works like collagen for us. It's not really anything "special"... if you don't eat bird nest, can take other stuff high in amino acids too.

TF,
Ya lor, bird nest is high in proteins de hor...hmm..put red dates in e barley?

cactus,
any idea wat are the food high in amino acids?

<font color="aa00aa">me back from meeting.

Zu En,

Yesh i tink so too. Was debating with cactus yesterday bec she said as long as hit 2KG bb dun need ICU even if before 37 weeks. So in the end, i guess it boils down to different hospital/special cases maybe.

feifei,

My colleague told me actually bird nest taken at last few week/mths is more impt and beneficial than earlier.

If i am not wrong, articles i read on last few weeks, BB is developing their skin so i guess bird nest will be more beneficial.

cactus,

You are right protein is more impt than carbo to make bb bigger. In fact this is wat i read throughout multiple articles i read on food for pregnancy.

icegal,

the machine at our gynae office uses the stomach of the bb to estimate the overall weight. So tats why if bb stomach is bigger, approx weight estimation will be higher.</font>

Feifei
Ha, both Cactus n i perceive your qn differently, whether your MIL concern is you too liang or scared the bird nest got no effect if counter wif liang.

Usu if you wnt to Bu (tonic) your body, we dun counteract with liang stuff on same day. Best is at least 1 day gap. Bird nest is nt really Bu, more like a rich man's dessert with proteins n belief for smooth skin, which of course have other substitute (like fuzhou, white fungus) having same effects too.

ZuEn, Ellysia,

I think there's a misunderstanding re: bb, 2kg, before 37 weeks.

What I was trying to say is hospital policy is if bb is under 2kg, confirm NICU. But if any baby (even if above 2kg) has health problems, also need NICU. A baby can be 36 weeks, healthy, above 2kg, no need NICU. Another bb can be 41 weeks, over 2kg, need NICU cos of health problems. At 32weeks, bb at 50th percentile should be about 1.8kg. So I'm guessing that a baby at 50th percentile at 34 weeks, would be over 2kg. So, a normal healthy baby above 34 weeks is unlikely to need NICU. Actually, most babies are born between 38 to 40 weeks.

Feifei
Yes, anything tat we scared too liang, put red dates (its sweet). Yet if scared too heaty wif red dates, then remove the seed out from the red dates.

cactus,

I pose the question to my gynae on last visit. Bec my BB is ored past 2KG mark now @ 34 weeks.
She said as long as before 36 weeks, will still ICU even if hit 2KG. But the ICU process will be different if hit 2KG bec' it probably just take 1-2 days or at most a week and likely tat can take bb back home when discharged.

Becos tat day i have this waterbag scare, so i ask her if i am to deliver then, will bb need to be in ICU since ored hit 2KG mark. She said still need to, but won't be serious case.

That is why i said maybe it really depend on hospital policy. maybe some hospital more kiasu or want to play safe, still have to put ICU.

Ellysia,
So the weight is linked to the size of the stomach.. No wonder my bb's stomach size &amp; weight both low.

Ellysia
I was abt to ask where is Cactus sparing partner..haha.. n u appear..lol
I still dare nt touch coconut yet, maybe after 37 weeks cos i very sensitive to liang.

Zu En,

It is a form of estimation method (probably due to some theory) but gynae said may not be totally accurate, i.e. actual weight may differ as machine is just estimations.