(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff6000">same as fennie.. my #1 time i oso walked alot and even travelled when i was 8 months to HK for a shopping spree but den still.. she refuse to come out!!</font>

<font color="ff6000">morraine,

why dun u take train to Marina Bay then back to Boon lay? tats wat i always do, i take to marina bay (no need to alight) then back to AMK, it only take an extra of 5mins cos the trains are v frequent at that time</font>

hehe... jus curious... how many stairs to walk is considered sufficient to help ensure we hv a smoother delivery? :p

btw... wat a relief gals... i jus managed to sort out my caretaking issues over the weekend... have decided to hire a maid... and i shld be able to get her next week... to start training her b4 the D-day comes...

<font color="0000ff">for me these days i took cab to my office at raffles, pay $20-$25 per day. Then when go back home, i took train to Marina Bay, can choose corner seat happily listen to my MP3 then remain at same train back to AMK.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia

it does not make sense for me to do so coz i wil be wasting easily another 20-30 mins
as from RP its a direct straight up to Boon Lay </font>

soyabean,
i didnt really take the stairs for walking, did alot of shopping in jb, now cannot go since mas selamat still hiding and the traffic jam is killing

Ellysia, you are right, now that you mentioned, could be the auntie who answered my call in the morning and forgot to pass the msg. Then the friendly nurse, the petite and wear specs one helped me make appt for me today. The tall and slim nurse helped me to take my blood just now. Think she more senior there.

cactus,

I have the same tot as u previously, cos i also tot 2KG no need ICU!! But end up my gynae said no, even if exceed 2KG but before week 36, must still go ICU though no need to plug to machines and will be out v fast one, maybe 1 day or few days type but still cannot escape ICU.

So u better check with yr gynae lor, different hospital may have fixed procedures tat they have to do.

TF, need to wait for my blood test results to be out on Friday to confirm, just now Dr Wong checked my heart and lungs, she said is normal, but my pulse rate is a bit fast and she could sense my breathlessness too.

Soyabean,

I dun think it's possible to say how many stairs to walk is considered sufficient. But I think if we believe that stair walking increases our physical stamina, builds up our lung fitness, helps us lose fat and be fitter, then it probably means we are fitter to deal with labour. At least, that's what I believe in.

Also, if we climb stairs now, chances are we will be able to climb stairs in between contractions during early labour and climbing stairs during early labour will help bb turn into a good position for birth. That's also part of my reason to climb stairs now.

But I dun think me climbing stairs = a shorter labour than another mother with less exercise. It probably means, me climbing stairs = a shorter labour than me with less exercise.

But having said that, before we do any serious exercising, to ensure we have green light from our doctor and try to exercise with someone responsible with us at all times. There was one evening, I climbed stairs then felt dizzy. Had to rest. My heart was racing at over 100beats/minute for over an hour after I stopped the stair climbing.

Mog,

yes the tall and slim nurse is the senior nurse. only she can draw blood.

cos the last time i took glucose test, the friendly nurse attend to me but when come to draw blood, senior nurse take over.

Then the other day, when i need to be strap to machine to monitor BB heartbeat (cos bb didn't move much for few days), senior nurse take over too and she even coach a newcomer on tat day on the machine.

I also always see her guide other nurses.

I tink next time if need to speak to dr wong urgently, and if tat lazy nurse pick up, better call back again if dr wong didn't return call.

Ellysia, for my case Dr Wong did offered the hosp. MC for me till Friday. She said I could only rest and no medication can help for the breathlessness lei.

<font color="ff6000">Fennie, good to know that ur bb is in the 50percentile! When's ur next checkup?

Heard my MIL says must climb more stairs so that will have a easier labour. haha... gonna start that soon.</font>

Ellysia, ya agree. Esp. if the auntie picks up the phone, we make sure we call back again. Yesterday afternoon I call back again but Dr Wong alr left the clinic, then it's the friendly nurse who helped me to contact Dr Wong and tell her about my case and she made appt for me today.

Ya, i spotted that. Ellysia, Marina Bay is for North/South bound. Nt East/West Bound

Ellysia/Cactus
Tot ICU really depend on state of baby when deliver too (whether bluish, etc). Tho' the chances is low if met the weight n/or gestation, so both of u r right. Tat y, sound like one chicken n one duck talking lah.

<font color="aa00aa">morraine,

why no sense to u? Its the same direction we are taking wat.

I also took train from Raffles place. But i took to Marina Bay. Stay inside same train, then same train will go reverse direction to AMK, then yishun and to Boon Lay.

which line u take?? blue-green line??</font>

morraine,
ya, even just pee, will leak some when i cough or yawn, try to do pelvic floor exercise whenever i remember

mylittleprince,
ya i was worried b4 checkup cos my tummy is not big for 32weeks, but again maybe bcos i am 165cm tall, and big built, so not obvious, next checkup is 2 weeks later, 10th May, just do alot of window shopping la, no need to climb stairs, morraine n me walked so much for our #1, yet bb still refused to come out, late for 9-10days,so it may not be true about walking

fennie...
yes... me too... i hv been feeling baby pressing hard in the lower area as well.

cactus...
everything in god's time i suppose...
has ur hubby been hearing horrifying births that he is contented that baby can stay in for 32 weeks.

TF, yeah. I think you are right about the chicken and duck talking.
actually on the topic of ICU, apart from cost, another issue is whether we can express milk without bb latching on. That's why the pump comes into play.

Mog,

yr case u need to rest lah.. take a good rest.

cactus,

Yes dun over-exert.. i always feel faintish after i climb stairs.

<font color="ff0000">For me, i cannot escape stairs because my house is on top of a super mountain!! LOL just joking lah.

To walk to my house from AMK central i need to climb long flight of stairs equivalent to 2-3 storeys. So no matter how i have to climb stairs, sob sob.

always after climbing the long flight, i either feel faint, legs wobby and cramp. need to stop to rest awhile before continuing. </font>

Morr
Same problem. Just pee, then feel like peeing. Smtx at Shopping mall, its like walking from 1 toilet n when arriving next toilet, must ask myself do i nd to go. Or smtx, i told my mum i nd to go toilet, then when we arrive one, i say no need already. U knw what i told her. The baby playing trick on me, maybe stepping or tickle me n make me feel i wnted to go.

<font color="aa00aa">TF,

haaa so u saying me and cactus is chix and duck lol.

I tink really depend on gynae and hospital policy. But i heard dr wong tell me hor, i believe her lah.</font>

Ellysia, we just have to walk slower... cos our tummies getting bigger and at least, I tend to forget that. no need to increase pace in walking.. cos tummy already increasing.. have resistance liao.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, in front of my house oso had a long flight of stairs which i really hate it. Since preggie, i almost fainted at that stairs case twice, so i had been avoiding tat staircase if possible</font>

TF...
i get that sometimes too... all of a sudden i will hv a strong urge to pee... then after a few secs it can be gone... i oso attribute it to bb playing wif my bladder... :p

cactus...
i see... but well sadly... the timing not within our control... :p

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,

why yr hb suspect yr bb head will be too big. so far wat is the size according to the scan?

i always ask my gynae how big is my bb head size and whether it is normal size or not etc, easy to natural delivery or not.

maybe u shd consider ask yr gynae instead of guessing. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">felicia,

for me i cannot escape tat flights of stairs.

if i dun go tat stairs, then the other alternative is a overhead bridge which is even worst.

So everyday i need to climb stairs one.. no escape</font>

<font color="ff6000">ellysia

coz i take the direct train from RP back to Boon Lay, i dun need to take one big round to AMK tat line den to Jurong East den change train again to Boon Lay.. get it?</font>

Soyabean
Is yours boy? Morr n me having boys..lets see if the boys are naughtier..haha

Ellysia
Paiseh, u make me burst laughing.. SOUND like chix n duck, but dun LOOK like chix n duck talking..got difference leh.

Cactus
I knw y your hb scared your bb may be big. Cos I also scared mine too, with their height at over 1.8 n yet we small built. But my hubby still duno this problem cos he knws nthg on wat's going on so far. So there will be a long education from me to him next week..lol

cactus,

Not really true.. i got colleague so fit but bb is overdue.. then not so fit one bb deliver early!

OH i also always suspect my bb head is big bec me and my hb head all big big one...but scan so far show ok.. then head size dun increase as much as tummy or elsewhere.. so dun worry so much.

Actually head size is v impt. if tummy is big or body big can still squeeze, head too big can't go out le.

Fennie, don't worry too much. Don't care abt what others say. Most imptly is ur bb is healthy and weight is normal. I see ur weight gained only 11.4kg, sure can lose weight very fast after giving birth! =)

I feel that leakage after coughing is normal lei even if pelvic muscle is strong(that's how I think). That time I having cough, i have to put a pad to feel more secure cos sure will leak. take some honey to soothe ur cough.

Ok ladies, time to log off now.

Morraine, hope ur conf call ends soon!

TF,

must kill u liao lah. :p u know me and cactus always debate one mah.

cactus,

i remember u say u are only 157cm tall.. petite size one. so maybe tats why u worry abt bb too big.

ellysia,
yaya.. i tink is the auntie nurse.. she do things bery 'lan lan san san' one.. kekeke.. the tall, pretty nurse oso drew blood for me on 1st occassion.. another time when we did some further test is done by another nurse quite plump one.. no spect.. frendly oso..

<font color="ff6000">ellysia

no prob!

TF

ha ha maybe leh!!! its the boys doing all the notti acts!!

mylittleprince

thanks! but unlikely since the clients have emailed to mentioned that they need to push back the darn call 1 hr later!!!!</font>

babycupid,

U know when i ask the auntie nurse on week 11 whether we can sign our package on week 12 as dr wong says we can consider, she can still tell us to wait until week 20 bec' week 20 is more confirmed and she hinted that some pregnancy can't last till week 20 so no point sign package at week 12 in case waste $$..

My hb when heard this was like "...."

Mog and babycupid,

Yah i try to boycott her since i found tat she didnt pass my call to dr wong..

so far i always look for eileen or the malay nurse to help me.

Ellysia
Ya, i enjoy both of your open debates too...hee..But i very analytical one lah, can't help it when 2 persons talking, smtx trying to mean same thing/goal, but put in different way. End up both dun get the emphasis to one another. So i veri KPO when like dat...legs kicking n laughing... so I blow whistle as referee lah.. as in times up...haha

Cactus
Hw cum he needs to learn from O&amp;G too if he didnt intend to specialise in dat area? or they must knw a bit of everythg?