(2008/06) June 2008

cactus and ioio,

yes.. true. S26 is more fatty milk powder. My elder i let her drinks similac from young. So, this 2nd darling, the same, will follow similac, unless she's not suitable, then only i'll change to other brand.

my ger is taking S26 since born, she's quite plump when still an infant, now was bit chubby oso lah. But then hor, not necessary all bb drinking S26 will become fat, some bb might not be suitable to it, like my friend's daughter. She's very thin despite drinking S26, so finally her doc ask her change to oth milk powder.

very fat bbs tend to develop heart problems when they are adults, so need to watch their weight even if the increase in weight is only caused by milk powder. just sharing. My nephew gave up S26 after 1 year old. Now drinking Gain IQ. also very high in DHA but not suitable for newborns.

How come no one start a spree from allaboard toys?

The FP musical mobile sounds cheap. But it cant off the music wor... wonder can we off it?

ya, i agreed that fat bb not very good oso. I read up an article on research done on fat babies, when they grow up, they tend to had more health problem.

Cactus, can i know why ur nephew gave up S26 after 1 yr old?

My ger had been continued follow up with the wyeth milk powder since i find her quite suitable with it, so dont think to change. Coz i got friend, after changing brand, her kid was not suitable and always sick.

cactus,

my elder darling is also drinking Similac Gain IQ, for 1 yr and above. I am going to get Similac stage 1, for 0-6 months, standby at home for my 2nd darling if i can't BFing totally.

cactus and felicia,

my friend's daughter also gave up S26 when she's 6 months old(she's now going 2 yrs old liao).. cos her PD said her weight is "too much" for her age and need to on "diet". So she changed her to Similac and skip 1 feeding per day for milk intake. So far, she's ok with Similac Gain IQ. That's why i let my girl to drink Similac since young. But, still i believe depends on indivual, some bb may get use to S26 and some may not.

aprilmum,

Yap, you reminded me that when my ger is at 6mths old, the PD asked me not to start solid with my ger 1st coz she said my ger weight is bit too much oso, but she din asked me to change milk powder lah. She juz asked me to delay solid food for my ger as afraid my ger weight will bounced too much.
But hor, after my ger started walking at 1 yr old, her weight is not increasing much liao, though she's quite tall compare to oth kids her age. Tats why i let her continue with it.

Moreover, i'm a S26 kid oso! hehe....

cactus,
U r really know how to help ur parent to save money. haha....
ACtually i brought a small tin of S26 to standby for my bb oso in case really cant BF or not enuf.

But if this bb is not suitable for S26, i'll change to oth brand as well.

re:FM
my fren gave me 3 cans of Friso..so i think likely gonna use dat lor since free mah..hehe..

roxy,
if u r organising a spree for jurong mummies count me in...i wanna get the FP musical mobile..cos i normally go to my mum's place in boon lay on wkends..so i can go n get from u..

hey ladies,
who else interested in the FP musical mobile?? cos i think their 50% discount is valid until tdy..if u all interested then we can order together lor..

Good Day ladies,

Last nite Insomia again. This is really torturing. I get breathless regardless how I sleep. I wonder what happened to me...

ANyone of you had numb fingers? These few mornings I wake up feeling some numbness or pain at finger joints.

Ellysia,

I try not to complain to hubby also. I know that will make him feel trapped in between. My MIL full of complaints abt me to him. Sometimes I also very irritated when she does that.

I bot 2 coconuts yesterday. Have a feeling either get eaten up or my MIL will complain to hubby again. Btw, issit ok to take coconut water at nite?? Some ppl said cocobut very liang, and when taken in e evening, will worsen e effect.

Catcus,
S26 will have fat babies ah? No wonder I so fat. Me flabby flabby kind. Must be the S26 I drank when I was a baby...

FM: I am sticking to Friso cos of the feedbacks I got. Plus I read that Friso contain fibres, so prevent constipation in children.

Kelcqi,

Does u start swelling? I believe ur numbness feeeling and pain at finger joints was due to water retention. I remember during my #1 pregnancy, i swollen a lot and even finger oso swelling.
Then late 2nd trimester, me start to feel pain at finger joints and sometime finger cannot bend.
Dont worry, normal prob when u r nearer to ur EDD.

Felicia,

Swelling as in where? My fingers and toes does become fatter nowadays. My fingers all e while already very short and round, now even worst le.

So numbness and pain at joints is normal lah? My hubby said I nv exercise my hand enough, thats why I have numbness at fingers. Is there anyway to reduce the water retention?

Kelcqi, mine is more on the feets.. will blow like elephant feet at nite.. then morning it will be better... coconut try not to drink at nite ba.. it's best to be eaten with fresh n water then not so "liang" btw, young coconut is better...

kelcqi,
I started to feel my fingers numb, wrist pain since when i in my 6th mths...Ask Mrs Wong ans she said its poor blood circulation wor...But now, seems to be better liao. U try to stretch ur fingers and close them like clutching something..Try to massage ur fingers, it helps..

Felicica,
I started to swell since 6th mths, these 2wks on HL, feet not swelling anymore...

bizznow,
I also going to get a tin of Friso 1 to standby...they only hv big tin hor?

elaine,
roxy not organising..i am trying to organise but need to order @ least 4 then can get further discount..but seems like only 2 of us interested leh..

feifei,
i dunno mine considered as big tin anot leh..it's 900grams lah..since free 1..so i take lor..anyway i think friso is not too bad also..hehe..

cactus,

hahaha.. we're the same type!! my mom also said i not suitable for S26, so ended up, she gave me a cheaper brand milk powder and i ok with the brand. We really somehow "save" our parents' money.. hehehehe..

Kelcqi and feifei,

i just took a coconut!! 10 mins ago..
.. So "refreshing".. real nice!

I started to feel my fingers numb too! This never happen before when i was having my #1. So sometimes, i try to massage my fingers or do some "close open" fingers excersice. As for legs swelling, me so far so good le. Not like when i was having my #1, my legs like elephant legs, so ugly!

hospital bag

Just start to pack my hospital today.
excited! wanna see my 2nd darling and hold her tight.

can i know, is't ok for me to bring my elder girl to stay with me and my hb in the hospital at night?? i really "bu fang xin" if she stays with the maid at home le.. even my MIL is around, but she dun know how to take care bb one. How huh?

Aprilmum,

I super hot juz now, so went to drink e coconut water also. But I scare of contraction, only drank half and left the half to hubby.

Feifei,

I think I did see Friso 1 for small bottle before at KKH pharmacy. Next Tue I go I help u see again.

ioio, feifei, aprilmum,

I also have swelling feet also. My thighs seem to double in size and my toes now so fat and short.

I tried massaging and doing finger exercise but I realized that the middle finger is especially more painful than the rest. Do you ladies experience that?

hi mummies to be

i am due end May and just started reading this thread. After reading the extensive discussion on epi, thot i shared my birth story to encourage. I delievered my first daughter 2 yrs ago without epi. I only used a bit of laughing gas during the actual delivery and mostly during stiching up time (too tired to endure pain anymore).

I admit myself during active labour and delivered her 3 hrs later. Its true that once in hospistal they will strapped you to baby monitoring machine, bed bound and just waiting for time and dilation to take place. Being home has advantage that I can walk and do many things. I was still doing laundry, cleaning baby room etc. The distraction helps to pass time esp early labour.

During active labour ie contractions 5 mins apart and more intense, i found breathing technique taught at antenatal class very effective. My hb will practise with me and pace me in the early stage. So by the time it was really intense, the technique is second nature to me. It kills the hyperventilation tendencies, fear and intense pain. I found that once i breathe right, i can rise above the pain literally. Its there, but i
am very calm and can take it. Walking around and changing positions eg. squat, sit etc. helps as well. I survive the most intense 4 hrs of active labour this way. Hope this sharing helps for those determined not to take epi.

after all that endurance, i thot i will take epi. but they told me i was too late and the worse is over. if i can handle that few hours, the next few is nothing. oh well....

so with some prep, it is possible to not take epi. And by the way, those ladies who suffer from intense menstrual cramps, take heart, you have a higher pain threshold than u think. Our mind is very powerful and critical when it comes to pain. If we are afriad, the pain is overwhelming. Breathing essentially takes away the fear for our body to manage the pain. As a mother, we always have to rise above ourselves to do the impossible. It starts with the experience of labour.

Kelcqi,
During my #1 pregnancy i had real bad swelling in finger and feet. And i had to take out my wedding ring around early 2nd trimester oredy. When finger swell, normally i'll try to do 'twinkle twinkle little star' exercise.
There're few times when i'm typing,my finger 'stucked' halfway. Then i had to slowly massage that finger. Is quite normal when ur finger start to swell, so juz do more finger exercise will do.

We are getting closer to the weekend. Hehe.

kelcqi, ioio, feifei, aprilmum,
My feet are starting to swell too. But it is always the right foot. A doc friend says that it is bcos the bb is lying on the right side. Good excuse to act ke lian in front of hb and make him massage for me. My swelling not too bad, I can still recognise my feet. My 38 weeks preggy colleague's feet are swelling so badly that she looks like walking on balloons..

Re: Breathing techniques
Err.. I never go for any classes wor. Can anybody share on teh breathing techniques? I think I will just anyhow breathe and scream during labour. Haha.

Morning felicia,
I oso took out my wedding band sometime in the 2nd trimester. Now can only wear ring fit for the bigger finger on the ring finger. ;p
But how can you tell that the fingers are swelling and not bcos we have grown fatter leh? ;p Hehe.

Morning ZuEn,

eh.... me not too sure how to differentiate b/t swelling and fat leh. But under normal circumstances, preggie lady shld be swelling lah. I remember during my #1 pregnancy, i cant even wore my watch (my watch is those chain type). But aft delivery, i can wore back, but my finger still cannot fix back to my wedding ring *sob*sob*.

Luckily for this pregnancy, so far not yet (*Touch wood*)swell lah, so can wear my old watch. My hubby even brought me a leather type watch (for standby) as valentine's gift as he afraid i swell like 1st pregnancy cannot wear the chain watch. heheeeeeeee....

Morning gals!

hi bizznow and elaine... sorry in the end I never organise any FP mobile spree, bizznow, can only organise for 3 FP mobile as they only have 3 left, then maybe get another small item to hit us$75 to get 10% off...

Re: swelling

My wedding band still can fit in cos its made a bit loose, but the other ring tat i always wear on the other hand is v tight liao. But i am used to it cos i wear both rings w/o removing. I can also wear my own watch too.

As for fingers, my fren told me finger joints will be become more brittle at last trim, so must be careful.

Swelling of feet so far i am still fine but i had many leg cramps incidents, almost everynight.. v sianz. yest cramp so badly tat my legs dun feel good the whole day.

Now i swell at where.. its all almost on buttocks and thigh area so badly that my maternity pants, they are so tight now!

I tink i cannot tahan liao, i need to buy maternity dresses liao..haiz waste $$.

Zu En,

for the breathing, u are suppose to breath in using your nose while yr tummy goes in; and breath out using yr mouth while yr tummy goes out. It is deep breathing exercise.

aprilmum

wat ward have u selected? I tink maybe only 1 bedded room then can allow yr gal to stay together with yr hb?

bizzsnow,

If u want to order, i can still join in cos i haven't join that spree organiser yet. But i can't meet u at Jurong so if u work near CBD area will be great.

Kelcqi,

Let her complain to yr hb lor.. it probably make yr hb dislike her more anyway.

My finger also feel numb, this morn the finger which i wear my wedding band swell and i feel numb too.

morning gals
Another keen to get another mobile? Im aiming another mobile - the tiny love one but like very expensive.. at least us$35....

<font color="119911">i saw tat u all talking abt musical mobile, jus tot of sharing.. do not place the musical mobile directly above where the baby is lying.. place it slightly at the side of the baby cot coz i read before that if u place directly den baby keep staring den will become 'cock eye'</font>

ellysia,
dun need to meet me in jurong lah..i work in amk mah..u stay there rite?? so if we buy then i can pass u @ amk lor..wat time u reach home??

hi morning!!

ellysia,
why do u need to buy dresses now?

as for water retention, so far i dun experience much... and i can still wear my ring. i still rembr when i had my #1, water retention set in as early as 20 weeks.

roxy...
i still rembr when i had my #1, the tiny love mobile was very very popular. :p not sure abt now. cos it seems the way they design their mobiles is very suitable for NBs. so i oso bgt a tiny love mobile, it was pretty ex oso... but i cant rembr the exact price i paid for it.

soyabean,

Because my thigh increase so much recently that my maternity pants are all tightly wrapped around my thigh and V-area and its v uncomfortable as it cut into my v-area. Then my top also become so short due to increased size in tummy (cos my tummy tend to grow out instead of grow at the sides) and i ored run out of long tops.

ellysia,
ok..ok..then i count u in lor..so now total we shld hv 3 liao..anymore takers??if u staying in jurong, amk or tampines i can pass to u...

roxy,
how come there's only 3 left??u saw from the website huh?? do u hv the promo code to be entitled for the additional 10%??

bizzsnow,

wah u can meet at 3 areas, north east and west, li hai.

maybe we can decide on another mobile in case this one run out of stock.