(2008/06) June 2008

Tera
Recently, u wrote tat you get V-pain, is it the bones at the V there? Cos I'm feel pain whenever i change position. Is it becos of expansion?

I called the Gdwood Deli. Alamak, its nt a buffet fiesta. Its ala carte lah. I tot its high tea buffet leh.

cactus
my both deliveries are at wk 37....but already felt the contraction and dilate...cervix open liao....but waterbag still not break yet...after breaking it bb was born abt 1 hr time....both are normal deliveries

roxy,

how much will we pay if we order through the online spree? i mean the musical mobile.

Is it sold in singapore? which shop u know?

cactus,

Actually i heard tat epidural will make labour go faster instead, not vice versa.

Understand tat dosage will be reduced nearly delivery so can still feel urge to push.

ladies, from time to time, I feel menstrual cramping at the bottom of my tummy.. below the belly button. Any one experiencing that sort of pain? Last evening, it was so painful and the pain shot down my thighs.. it lasted a couple of seconds and didn't happen again.

ellysia,
actually hor, for the 1st month, i was very frustrated, cos we always get to sleep thru the night before we deliver the bb, after bb is born, have to wake up few times throughout the night, very tired, therefore bad mood, and quarrel with hubby, fortunately i have my mom staying with me for that month, but slowly will get used to it liao, and when bb older, they will sleep through the night too

Ellysia, it depends. if the mother is anxious, tense, and very tired, epidural if correctly given late enough (between 4cm to 6cm) is okay. Yes, dosage will be reduced near delivery but it is arbitary. cos epidural is not patient controlled. the doctor may decrease it insufficiently or else, may decrease it too late, so it's hard to push. most of sthe time, if a mother is on epidural, the medical staff need to "instruct" the mother when to push by looking at the CTG printouts. The mother won't know how to push naturally. and also cos of decreased pain feeling, the mother may not push that effectively.

Just to add on to my post, if epidural is given too early in labour, studies have shown that labour is on an average 2 hours longer than if no epidural. The risk of emerg c-section is also higher with early epidural. but if epidural is given not too early, labour is usually okay. Just that only sideeffect is bb is more drowsy and cannot latch on so soon after bith.

cactus,

I check with pre-natal class, bb won't be drowsy after epidural.

The class said last time epidural just started tat time, tend to give more dosage tats why people always end up assisted delivery or C-sect, but nowadays one they will reduce dosage at the end so can still push.

I intend to tell my gynae i want epidural but i tell her to i want it to be administer when it is appropriate time, not to early or too late.

cactus,

i experienced tat pain before. a few times ored. Like menses cramp pain then shot down to v-area.

Told my gynae before, she say is not labour dun worry.

Roxy,
I am interested in the musical mobile oso.
How to go about huh?
I stay JW oso.

Ellysia,
I oso banging on epidural.
I duno if my pain threshold is high or not, but why risk it. Hehehe.. Preggy already so difficult, why make myself suffer more during deliver. Hehe. That is provided that I get to do it naturally lah. Got a feeling that I will be gg thru' C-sect dur to preggy complications.

HB don't want me to go for epidural cause of value. I heard of the amount also rather go without and do it natual. 1 jab for $600...!

At least u gals still had option for epidural, for my case, epidural is out of my choice if i were to opt for normal delivery. Coz my 1st delivery is via c-sec, so if wanna natural this round, i cannot use any epi.
So, either i endure the pain or i had to opt for emergency c-sec when i'm not able to hold the pain.

cactus,
same tot here.. i tinking of admitting only when the contractions is closer.. my frends advised me to do tat too.. their reasons are.. we will be more relax at home rather than in the hospital (dilation would be faster)..

iamsnow>> I'm gg to the Suntec bb talk this Sat... Anyone else gg?

I'm also hoping can bf successfully for 6 months after knowing the benefits of bm. =)

On topic of epidural... If you are thinking of opting for it, ask around for recommended anaethetist from your gynae. Mt E doesnt charge extra for that request. My SIL had 2 VERY diff experiences with 2 diff anaethetist, after effects also very diff.

I had a relatively good time as the on-call anaethetist for my first delivery happened to be one highly recommended by my "fussy" gynae. I didnt have shivering or extreme numbness nor vomitting. I had absolute control over when to push (though the mid wife will tell you when to). The only thing was my left leg was numb for quite a while.

As for being able to walk abt, for my case, I wasnt on epidural in the beginning, but they had to strap on the fetal monitoring machine to monitor the baby's heartbeat to see if baby is in distress during contractions. So I also had to stay in bed.

Contary to belief, there are also cases whereby the mother is so tired from all the pain that she has no more energy to push when the time comes, so end up vacuum or forceps or emergency c-section too.

However it is also known that epidural can cause prolonged labour. In your gyane's discretion, he can intro a drip via IV to hasten the process (or so I experienced in my case). I admitted at 11am, epidural at abt 1pm, drip 2+, gave birth 4.11pm, not too bad for a first pregnancy.

all in all, i just want to highlight the pros of epidural too. of course, there are medical & personal reasons why it should not be taken. But keep your options open, dun get stressed up and make an informed choice. most imptly, have a good recommended anaethetist in mind in the event that you wish to exercise the option.

Just got back from lunch.

Cactus,
Hehe, I also thought the mental sums part was quite innovative.
We prob can improvise to an area we are interested in eg movies (name me 3 movies starring Brad Pitt, kekeke).

TF,
Yah, the pain is in the bone in my v-area. Yes, I also feel pain when I change position eg turning to my side in bed, getting up after sitting for too long.

ellysia, not order through spree organiser.. through ourselves
I ordered with a May MTB forum friend... im anticipating the mobile to be abt S$50 or S$50 plus max with CGW shipping costs factored in... let me know whether you are keen or not boh, if you are then you collect directly from my friend who is in AMK/Bishan and I can organise one here for jurong mummies...but will be good if you dun mind, to take over my kiddopatu swaddle me wrap as well too which is also a very good buy as Sing Motherhood BP is selling it at S$20 plus...
http://www.allaboardtoys.com/all_aboard_babies/clearance/swaddleme_microfleece_blanket.asp
The FP mobile is selling in Sing, I saw it at Kidsmart, babytown.com.sg etc retail price is S$99...

hi zuen
If ellysia is keen to take over my FP mobile and kiddopatus swaddle me wrap then I can order back the same items so we can reach us$75 to get free shipping and 10% discount.. then we can order 3 FP mobile (provided got stock)and you can start to do some online shopping at the same website.. let me know what you want and I'll order... when I know how much is the costs then you all transfer $ to me or COD... expected to take 2-3 weeks for the goods to arrive...

hi ioio
If ellysia is ok and zuen is keen too, can start some shopping on www.allaboardtoys.com liao...
you all have msn? can add me in at [email protected] to discuss... easier :p

roxy,

Me dun want to get swaddle cos i feel not much of use.

I check with one overseas spree organiser, shipping is min $15-20 so the total price is min $52 plus. If u want also can include in his spree i tink.

me can't msn in office, its blocked.

cupid, I'm under NUH. the nurses told me that epidural is not in their package. If i would like to have epidural have to pay additional $600 for that jab.

hi ellysia
Is there a overseas spree going on for the same website? I havent been checking the overseas spree thread recently... so you will be joining the overseas spree organiser ah?

hi zuen and ioio
If ellysia dun take over my fp mobile from my friend, then i cannot order another fp mobile,wait end up too many :p

Or any mummies staying near amk/bishan interested to take over the fp mobile &/or kiddo wrap? Me is just lazy to go down to that area to collect... hence thot will be good if got mummy stay around there is interested

My SIL told me each time she called the anaesthetist for epidural (she called 3 times in total), the cost was $1k just for attendance. she delivered 3 years ago at Mt A.

most delivery packages are very basic. don't include epidural, or assisted delivery. these are all add on charges. as for how much the charge is, depends on the hospital charge + doctor fees.

hi roxy,

U mean u order the FP mobile ored and kiddo wrap and its with yr fren now at AMK? So u dun want both items liao and u asking whether we can take over both items? or just 1 item?

I tink so. He is willing to accept my order but i have to pay for the shipping cost. Yes, its in the oversee spree section. At first i want to order through u but later u say u bot liao.. so i tot maybe i buy from the overseas spree organiser.

hi ellysia
sorry i never make myself clear ^^

Ydae my friend ordered a FP mobile and a kiddo wrap for me. Was very kind of her to include me in her personal spree.. but because she's staying at amk/bishan so I will need to go down to that area to collect personally which Im abit lazy to do so as Im staying in jurong.. so I thought if you stay around that area and dun mind to take over my purchases from her,ie you pay her direct and collect from her place personally prob in 2/3 weeks time when the items arrive, then i'll organise a small one just for jurong mummies... somemore only left 3 FP mobile, as long as can reach us$75 for our own spree can liao...no need so many people...

Would prefer if you can help me take over the wrap too coz 3 FP mobile = 24.57 * 3 = 73.71. Doesnt hit us75 yet.. unless either zuen or ioio wants to buy something else to make up to 75...
thot if i get 1 more wrap 73.71+5.97 = us$79.68 just nice then can quickly order and close the spree liao...

hi tera
website is this
http://www.allaboardtoys.com/all_aboard_babies/clearance/rainforest_peek-a-boo_leaves_musical_mobile_by_fisher-price.asp

roxy,

OIC. No me not interested in wrap. Only want the mobile. In this case i order through the spree organiser lor, since i ored ask him liao.

hi ellysia
Sure... but the spree organiser is charging an exchange rate of 1.48... Prob trying to earn something out of it too

im going to back to work now.. surf too much net just now hee :p ellysia,zuen,ioio if keen on getting the mobile, get it quick, left 3 pieces only

Chat later!

TF,
I asked my gynae, she said it's cos bb's head is down and putting pressure on the V-area. Did u ask ur gynae yest?

roxy,

I just told the spree organiser i dun want liao.. cos he stay at Jurong is too far for me, then if normal postage will be too expensive.

Cupid, TMC's website is good! It actually breaks down the different charges on the hospital side. Yeah..specialist fee refers to the anaesthetist fee, your doctor's fee, and I think it doesn't include the hospital fee and PD fee for the baby too.

Tera
No, I dun hv gynae wan in subsidy. Tat's the nt so gd thing. Everything independent. Lucky got this thread to guide me wat's going on at different stages. Was the sonagrapher tat scan. Erhh.. my bb head nt dwn, yet pain. Then he must be stepping on my bottom..haha

mylittleprince,
i will be going to suntec this sat, but may not be there at 130pm when event starts, just going there to enrol for the Cordlife package, what time will you be there?

Fennie,
I will be there at around 1.30pm. I have signed up with Cordlife on 5-Apr at TMC liao but wanna listen to the other talks.

We can say Hi then!

I just realise many of my maternity clothes i can't fit in liao. top become too short to cover tummy and pants become tight due to further expansion at the thigh area. sianz.

feifei,
i cnf on friso gold oreadi if cannot BF. compared the nutrients/DHA/AAA values n find tat it is comparable to S26 which has the highest DHA/AAA values among the FM in the mkt.