(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,

Yah but heard from colleagues tat friso or other brands can also be heaty.

various colleagues who been using similac suggest tat i can use lesser milk powder then won't be heaty liao.

Fennie, I like your attitude. I'm adopting that attitude for natural delivery without epidural.. haha. no epidural or go to hospital too late cannot get epidural.. so no choice but have natural delivery. But I guess I won't be that hard on myself if I odn't manage to breastfeed bb.. will be a bit upset but won't force myself to breastfeed...

Ellysia,
i see...

Fennie,
At 1st i tot this way too..then i worried i might not hv enough MS for bb for 1st wk, so wan to buy to standby lor..

I bf my #2 for almost 6 mths. Tasted my own bm before, wah.....smelly leh....abit like goat milk. I wonder how cme bb still wanna drink.

bf is great, trust me. Esp when u see ur little one sucking while u curdle him/her. At night, lagi easy, carry the bb on the bed, bf the bb using the lie dwn position, latch sleep with the bb.

BUT of cos, ur "neh neh" will be exposed while sleeping...hehehehehe

Ellysia, I think it's not safe to dilute milk powder ... should always follow manufacturer's directions (although I dun understand what's the difference with more water in a milk bottle vs having water fed after a normal FM feed!). But most moms with FM fed bbs give their bbs more water.

babyjo, you drink goat milk? actually it not so smelly when you drink it cold... think i like the choc flavours 'p.. if i am not wrong goat milk is the closest to bm..

Ya, one more thing to take note. While latching the bb on one breast, ur the other side will start leaking. So must remember to put breast pad.

Dun worry abt the supply. As long as u latch the bb oftenly, or pump every 3 hrs. Ur MS will maintain. But of cos, some mummy tend to hv supply problem. You can take fenugreek or more milk plus. Seek advise frm Mrs Wong (parentcraft) if you are delivering in TMC. She was a great help to me when i bf my bb

Remember, bf cannot go diet hor. must eat healthy

ellysia/bbcupid
of i see...i am using my sons playpen cum cot which only have 2 wheels from the front and just nice to go thru the rooms door...

re : BM
its better to try BM all the time for the 1st few weeks...if bb not enough or yr BM dries up after bb drinks....than can use formula ma....
but not to worry 1st few days bb have to get use yr nipple....

in the nite if bb is full and drink enough BM or formula....bb won't disturb u....u can sleep well without disturbance.

Our BM taste also depends on individuals....wat we eat and drink bb also can taste it....

cactus,
i am on for bf, but i am not so brave on not using epidural, low threshold of pain, i had epidural for my #1

feifei,
what i understand from the breastfeeding mothers support group is that as long as bb can latch on immediately after birth(for those normal delivery), the milk will come in, and to maintain the supply, have to express it out to keep in freezer of lets say bb miss a feed, if not, supply will be reduced

babyjo,
ya,I am looking forward to bf my bb, when we go out, no need to bring so many barang barang, and nowadays so many nursing rooms in shopping centres

babyjo, i got mine from hay dairies.. not so smelly.. n the choc flavour covers all the smell ha ha... dunno how breastmilk taste ;p hee...

i BF my #1 till he is 14 months old.....he prefers BM.....by breastfeed its helps us to reduce our fats also....dat is wat my gynea told me...easy if we go outing, anywhere and anytime u can feed..

Fennie, I've not experienced childbirth before.. that's why can so "gung ho" say I hope not to use epidural.. Not that I'm brave lah. I may give in eventually to epidural. See how lah. But at the moment, still mentally preparing myself for a late admission to hospital and hopefully no epidural.

cactus... me oso thinking of giving up on epidural.. but i dunno whether can "ren" for how long... maybe mental preparation is very important and must not give ourself any other alternative.. think last time oso got no epidural.. so without choice jux got to bear with it ba..'p

ellysia
not so fast ma yr neneh will engorge...b4 sleep u can feed bb ma....sometime bb will fall asleep straight away while breastfeed.....

and its depend on the bb also....most bb if sleep in the daytime.....he will not sleep in the nite or vice versa

Dan,

OIC..

thks for advice

Tera,
High BP can cause bb to be too big? I tot bb only become too big for GD cases. In high BP, less blodd and oxygen goes to bb, so bb not enuff to grow, like my case. Sob..

Bizznow,
If the doc says fine, then should be okie bah. My doc says mine is under the norm, so I oso gan cheong. -.o" Will see how she is progressing during next week'c checkup.

BabyJo,
You tasted your own BM? I dun think I will be interested to do so, I dun even drink milk normally. Maybe pyscho hb to try and tell me how it taste. Haha.

hi roxy, for the musical mobile.. think i will kiv first as will get the cot first.. tks for informing... ;p

Fennie,
tks ger....shall try my best for bf lor =)...

My fren passed me those milk storage ziplock bags liao...in case hv MS, then can store the EBM in e freezer..

haaa for me i straightaway tink of epidural.. i am banking on it or else i worried i may faint due to pain.

Though i dun like the side effects but wat to do..low pain threshold.

Another ting i dun like is bec' when put epidural its so near the spine, a lot of risk leh.

ellysia,
its better to wake up to express if your bb misses any feeds as it will help to maintain the bm supply, it shows that it helps to reduce the size of the uterus if bf soon, that means our tummy will get smaller soon

cactus,
i oso aim for no epidural.. totally not giving myself tat option.. but bery scare that i cant resist the temptation.. kekeke.. majority of my frends is on epidural.. only my sis, sis in law and a gd fren.. i tink i will opt out of epidural is partly becos of my sis n sis in law.. hopefully i can be like them..

ZuEn, ya i tasted myself. I asked my hb taste, he dun dare. The funny part is, i mixed my bm with FM and let my elder girl drink. she dun even knw it. Within that mth, she put on wt hahahaha, so chubby.

Bo bian, my supply was too much liao. store in the freeze until my mil make noise (was staying with her that time). So i suggested let my elder girl drink lor.

Danryan, for my case i engorge in the middle of the night. And need to pump it out......bcos my #2 slept all the way till morning. so some of the night, no one help me to clear the milk, so hv to pump out

Fennie,

tats provided i can wake up during middle of night.. but i guess the 1st mth will ored make me practise liao. Maybe once i am used to the timings i can wake up.

actually during ML is better cos we can still sleep during the day. then maybe night time not so worrying, no need to sleep so much.

cactus, my sis told me that there may be some side effects when older.. she says she gives birth to all my nieces n nephew without taking it.. so encourage me to try to go without if possible.. she say laughing gas works on her so maybe i oso give it a try first...

ioio,
my sis too.. she encouraged me to go without.. she said can make it de.. jus bear for the last 1 or 2 hrs.. when the pain is tremedous.. b4 tat is bearable.. and she said if u r in pain, u can push better..

cactus,

Yes i see yellowish spots and fainting when i had menses cramps and the incidents are not pleasant, i experience them many times liao. Once i nearly fainted on a bus and have to alight halfway then an auntie saved me with medicated oil.

Then another time i nearly faint when with my ex and he has ferry me home immediately.

i even got times when i nearly faint due to constipation/LS pain.

Also i will faint when i see blood or bleed. Even small cuts on my leg also i can faint one.

I scared i will have this problem when i see blood coming out from my v-area.

ioio, there is a technique to using laughing gas well. we need to inhale when the contraction starst cos it takes time for it to work. if we inhale at the peak of the contraction, it may be too late and we end up feeling groggy after the contraction ended. I also heard that injection works well too, but note that it can cross over to bb through placenta so should be given as late as possible in labour if not bb also drowsy, very hard to descend.

cactus and ioio,
i am also hoping to go without epidural. actually, i only know of 1 person, my coll, who did not take epi and that was cos it was a very short labour so really wonder if i can endure but i will try my best. So let's hope all of us will be make to make it without epi! ;)

Ellysia, wah....then how? Contraction is same as menstruation cramp for the first phrase, then slowly it get mre intense. I know it bcos i tried natural for #1. 15 hrs (w/o epidural and the nurse will keep asking you, do you want)dilate 1.5cm onli, end up emergency c section

hi ellysia
http://www.allaboardtoys.com/all_aboard_babies/clearance/rainforest_peek-a-boo_leaves_musical_mobile_by_fisher-price.asp

Act fast if not stocks sold out fast..
I might be buying another 2nd hand mobile (put in mum's place cot)... i already bought a tiny love take along musical arch to put on his stroller.. then baby chair also has a mobile on it.. all together got 4 different mobiles liao.. wait he listen he get blur :p

hi cactus
Be careful of climbing too much stairs, that time my colleague climbed stairs had contractions and her gynae scolded her.. tell her climb stairs will lead to contractions and labour, so be careful pls

cactus
this is mt 3rd delivery....fr my 1st delivery my hb already inform me not to take epidural and he always on my side when i in labour....when i was in the labourward the waterbag still not burst yet but gynea breaks it...

bbjo
so far i never pump out my BM...coz my son don't like the taste after reheat it....as and when he cries in the nite i just BF him.

hi babycupid and cactus.. lets all work hard to achieve it.. 'p hope i wont end up with c section cos my bb still head up at 30 week.. ;p

hi ellysia, where do you stay ah?
My friend helped me order ydae liao plus one kiddopatus blue size S wrap..
http://www.allaboardtoys.com/all_aboard_babies/clearance/swaddleme_microfleece_blanket.asp

she's staying at amk or bishan i think, if it's near your area, perhaps you can take over my purchases so easier for u too and I can try to organise a spree for jurong mummies, so it's easier to collect...

ioio, you keen to buy the FP mobile? Want to get the swaddle me wrap too? I'm also getting that... if you keen and ellysia ok, just need to find 1 more jurong mummy to get the FP mobile.. then can get 10% discount and free shipping, but must make decision fast ah.. if not OOS

BabyCupid, yes without epidural, we can push better. Cos that's the way nature intended. Also, without epidural, we do not need to be confined to the bed.. we can walk around cos we can still feel our feet.. we can sit up, kneel, squat.. and all these positions encourage bb to descend. Labour is likely to be quicker.

Tera, really nice to know that there are so many of us trying to do without epidural!

Roxy, thanks for the tip. My doctor approved of climbing stairs so I'm going ahead with it. I think it may be dependent case-by-case for different women. But thanks for the warning. i will pay attention to possible signs of contractions and will listen to my body.

Danryan, why did your doctor break waterbag? Did he explain why? Cos I udnerstnad once waterbag broken, bb must be delivered within a certain number of hours. If bb can't be born, then emerg c-section... that's why I'm very worried about medical interventions. I think I will just question my doctor's every decision... I'm going to be a patient from hell.

ioio, don't worry about bb head up at 30 weeks. my SIL's bb turned down only at 35 weeks. really. a small number of bbs turn down during labour too!!

Ellysia,
When I saw the labour video during last week's antenatal class, and the part where the bb was coming out (crowning), I also felt weak.

cactus,
Yes!
Yah, I also worried epi will hinder our pushing. Oh now I recall a friend who just delivered without epi. It was her first labour, think around 6 hours only. She told me she walked alot prior to delivery + swim. She believed it helped in the easy labour plus she got her hubby to test her on mental sums so as to take her mind off the pain. Hee hee.

hi roxy.. i kiv first.. cos husband says to get the important ones first.. i hv not got the cot/ breastpump/ pram yet.. ;p and gg to move to our new house after confrontment so he says get later lor...